As a driver, you no longer have passenger restrictions or time restrictions.
You can now obtain a commercial driver's license in order to operate a commercial motor vehicle.To learn more about a CDL and how to get one, read the Massachusetts RMV's Commercial Driver's License Manual.
If you do not yet have your license and are looking to get one:
You are no longer required to take professional driving lessons (though taking lessons will increase your chances of passing a driving test - see the Guide to Driver's Education Programs).
Other Laws To Keep In Mind
Drinking and driving is dangerous and illegal.
If you are under 21-years-old, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.01 or higher, which is equivalent to less than one alcoholic drink.
Click It or Ticket: in Massachusetts, you are required by law to be properly restrained by a safety belt while driving or riding in a car, van, or truck.
Massachusetts Safe Driving Law: As an 18 year old, you are now able to use your mobile phone while operating a a motor vehicle. However, certain restrictions remain on the use of your mobile phone while behind the wheel.
Make sure you are familiar with the Massachusetts Driver's Manual to avoid potential and avoidable problems.