For many people, witnessing violence or being the victim of a crime is life altering. Even those with a strong support system can experience a difficult adjustment period. Military service members and their families have access to a host of military, government, and non-government supports to assist them with crime related needs. The following is a list of agencies and services available to provide resources and assistance.
Military Sexual Assault Response Coordinators/Domestic Violence Advocates/Family Advocacy Centers
Hanscom Air Force Base
US Coast Guard D-1
Location: Boston, MA
Sexual Assault Response
(617) 223-5012 (duty hours)
(617) 894-9603 (after hours)
Office of Health, Safety, & Work Life
(800) 872-4957 Ext. 301
Massachusetts National Guard –
Joint Force Headquarters
Location: Bedford, MA (Hanscom AFB)
Phone: (339) 202-3999
Hotline: (508) 889-6644
Massachusetts Crime Victim’s Compensation
Violent crime; such as rape, sexual assault, child abuse, assault and battery, arson, and homicide, can impact many aspects of a person’s life. The financial burden of monetary losses incurred by these crimes should not further victimize or add additional undue stress to those who were affected by violent crimes. The Massachusetts Crime Victim’s Compensation Program seeks to provide financial assistance to eligible victims of violent crime in order to assist with related medical and dental care, mental health counseling, funeral and burial costs, crime scene clean up services, and security measures.
Victims of violent crimes that occurred in Massachusetts, regardless of whether the incident happened on a military installation or off, may be eligible to receive compensation. Eligibility requirements include:
- The crime must have been reported to the police within five days unless there is a good cause for delay.
- The victim must cooperate with law enforcement officials in the investigation and prosecution of the crime unless there is a reasonable excuse not to cooperate.
- The victim, or parent/guardian of an underage victim, must apply for compensation within three years of the date of the crime.
A variety of crime related expenses may be covered for an eligible applicant through the Crime Victims’ Compensation Fund. The types of expenses include:
- Medical and dental expenses (including equipment, supplies, and medications) not covered by insurance
- Counseling expenses (for victims, for family members of homicide victims, and for children who witness violence against a family member)
- Funeral/burial costs of up to $6,500, with an additional $700 for ancillary burial expenses
- Lost wages (for victims only)
- Loss of financial support (for dependents of homicide victims)
- Security measures (including replacement locks and security/alarm systems)
- Replacement bedding/clothing (for those items seized or rendered unusable as a result of a criminal investigation)
Applications for the Victims of Violent Crime Compensation Fund may be accessed online through the Attorney General’s website at http://www.mass.gov/ago/public-safety/resources-for-victims/victims-of-violent-crime/. You may also contact the Attorney General’s Victim Compensation Division at (617) 727-2200 Ext. 2160 with question or to have an application mailed to you.
Additional information regarding victim rights and services may be found by contacting the victim witness assistance program at your local District Attorney’s Office.
District Attorney Victim Witness Assistance Programs
|Berkshire County||(413) 443-3500|
|Bristol County||(508) 997-0711|
|Cape & Islands||(508) 362-8103|
|Essex County||(978) 745-6610|
|Hampden County||(413) 505-5901|
|Middlesex County||(781) 897-8300|
|Norfolk County||(781) 830-4800|
|Northwestern District (Franklin & Hampshire Counties)||(413) 586-9225|
|Plymouth County||(508) 584-8120|
|Suffolk County||(617) 619-4000|
|Worcester County||(508) 755-8601|
For more general information regarding victim services contact:
Massachusetts Office for Victim Assistance
One Ashburton Place, Suite 1101
Boston Massachusetts 02108