A variety of specialty license plates are available to veterans. Any veteran as defined by Massachusetts law is eligible to purchase a veterans license plate. Other specialty plates are available to veterans who have earned certain honors such as a purple heart. Generally, standard fees apply. A portion of the fees is used to fund the Massachusetts Soldiers Homes. To purchase specialty veterans license plates contact your local Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV).

Veterans who have a 60 percent or greater physical disability and meet certain eligibility criteria are eligible to purchase disabled veteran license plates. There is no fee for disabled veteran license plates, but they must be renewed every two years.

To apply for disabled veteran license plates complete the RMV's Application for Disabled Parking Placard/Plate. Submit the application with a photocopy of your DV plate letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs stating that your disability is at least 60 percent service connected to:

Registry of Motor Vehicles
Attn: Medical Affairs
PO Box 55889
Boston, MA 02205-5889

For more information, visit the Disabled Veterans' Plate section of the RMV website.