For Immediate Release - December 31, 2014

AG Coakley Issues Minimum Wage Advisory Before January 1

BOSTON –Attorney General Martha Coakley has issued the following to the public and employers about the increase in the minimum wage that is set to go into effect on Jan. 1.

“Our office wants to remind employers of their obligations under the new minimum wage law that will go into effect this week,” AG Coakley said. “This increase is an important step in helping to bridge the gap in income equality in the Commonwealth. I want to commend the grassroots organizing – particularly those involved with Raise Up Massachusetts – for their work to put this issue to the forefront and to the Legislature and Governor for passing this law.”

In July, the Legislature passed the first increase to the minimum wage since 2008. Effective Jan. 1, the minimum wage will increase to $9 per hour. The minimum wage is set to increase again in 2016 to $10 per hour and again in 2017 to $11.  

The Attorney General’s Fair Labor Division consists of lawyers, investigators, and staff, and it enforces various laws that protect workers, including the minimum wage, payment of wages, overtime, tip pooling, child labor, Sunday and holiday premium pay, and the public construction bid laws. The Division has broad powers to investigate and enforce violations of these laws through criminal and civil enforcement actions. The Division uses this authority to protect employees from exploitation by an employer, prosecute employers who are failing to follow the Commonwealth’s wage and hour laws, and set a level playing field with clear rules that the Commonwealth’s employers can follow, ensuring that strong economic growth and fairness for workers go hand-in-hand.

For more information about filing a Minimum Wage complaint, .

For further information about the Minimum Wage Law, contact the Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards, which administers the law at (617) 626-6952. 

Those wishing to report violations of the Commonwealth’s labor standards laws can call (617) 727-3465.

##########