For Immediate Release - December 30, 2015

AG Healey Issues Advisory on Minimum Wage Increase

Minimum Wage Set to Increase to $10 on Jan. 1

BOSTON – Attorney General Maura Healey has issued a bulletin pdf format of Wage and Hour Poster
to remind the public and employers about the increase in the minimum wage that is set to go into effect on Jan. 1.

“Employers must be aware of their obligations under the new minimum wage law that will go into effect this week,” AG Healey said. “This increase in the minimum wage provides some additional security for our lowest paid workers, but there is still much more work to be done to fight poverty and advance economic security for Massachusetts families.”

In July 2014, the Legislature passed the first increase to the minimum wage since 2008. Pursuant to that legislation, effective Jan. 1, the minimum wage will increase to $10 per hour. The minimum wage is set to increase again in 2017 to $11.  

Also effective Jan. 1, tipped employees (those who receive more than $20 a month in tips) must be paid a minimum of $3.35 per hour, provided that, with tips, the employee receives at least $10 per hour. If the total hourly rate for the employee, including tips, does not equal $10, then the employer must make up the difference.

The Attorney General’s Fair Labor Division enforces laws that protect workers, including minimum wage, payment of wages, overtime, tip pooling, child labor, Sunday and holiday premium pay, and the public construction bid laws.

The Division has broad powers to investigate violations and enforce these laws through criminal and civil actions. The Division uses this authority to protect employees from exploitation by an employer, prosecute employers who are failing to follow the Commonwealth’s wage and hour laws, and set a level playing field with clear rules that the Commonwealth’s employers can follow, ensuring that strong economic growth and fairness for workers go hand-in-hand.

For further information about the Minimum Wage Law, contact the Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards, which administers the law at (617) 626-6952. 

Those wishing to report violations of the Commonwealth’s labor standards laws can call the AG’s Fair Labor Division hotline at (617) 727-3465 or file a complaint here.

This press release is also available in Portuguese pdf format of AG HEALEY EMITE INFORMATIVO SOBRE AUMENTO DE SALÁRIO
and Spanish pdf format of AG HEALEY PUBLICA ASESORÍA SOBRE AUMENTO DEL SALARIO
.

#######