• Manuel Carballo sitting

    Performance Recognition Program logo

    The Manuel Carballo Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Service is the Commonwealth's highest honor for Executive Department employees. The award recognizes and honors state employees who personify excellence in public service. Six individuals and four groups have been selected to receive the award this year. The recipients have demonstrated exemplary leadership, creativity and innovation, and their efforts have resulted in significant improvements in productivity and cost savings to their agencies.

    A special Selection Committee reviews nominations received from state agencies and makes recommendations to the Governor. The committee is comprised of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the President of the Senate, and various appointees chosen by the Governor from business, labor, academia, media and community groups.

    As Secretary of the Executive Office of Health and Human Services, Manuel Carballo oversaw fourteen state agencies. His dedication and commitment to the physically and mentally challenged, older citizens and children, families in crisis and the less fortunate is remembered through the twenty-second annual presentation of the Manuel Carballo Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Service.

    2013 Recipients of the Manuel Carballo Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Service

  • Kazim Ozyurt, Director, Office of Tax Policy and Analysis

    Department of Revenue

  • MassHR Project Team

    Human Resources Division, Information Technology Division and Office of the State Comptroller

  • Robert Brun, Associate Commissioner, Office of Student Financial Aid

    Department of Higher Education

  • David Goodwin, Assistant State Lands Manager

    Department of Conservation and Recreation

  • Colleen Pritoni, Social Worker

    Department of Children and Families

  • Donna Jean McCrorey, Occupational Therapist II

    Department of Public Health

  • Central Region Reception Center

    Department of Youth Services
  • Mobile Eye Clinic Team

    Massachusetts Commission for the Blind
  • Gary Howe, Disabled Veterans Outreach Program Specialist

    Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development, Department of Career Services
  • Rolland Management Team

    Department of Developmental Services