Christopher C. Bowman, Chairman


Chris Bowman is the Governor's designee to serve as Chairman of the Civil Service Commission. He was appointed to the Commission in 2006; re-appointed to a five-year term in 2011; and is currently serving his third five-year term. 

He began his career in state government working for the Department of Revenue's Child Support Enforcement Division in 1991. He then joined the Division of Employment of Training where he eventually served as Chief of Staff. Most recently, Bowman served as the Chief of Staff for the state's Executive Office of Economic Development until he was appointed to the Commission. He has served as a member of the state's Economic Assistance Coordinating Council; the Emerging Technology Fund; and the Massachusetts Educational Financing Authority (MEFA).

Bowman was a member of the Town of Yarmouth's Board of Selectmen for six years. He served as the Board's Chairman for two years and as Chairman of the Licensing Authority for two years. He also chaired the town's Scholarship Fund Committee for several years. He received a Bachelors in Business Administration from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, a Masters in Public Administration from Suffolk University and has been trained as a mediator.

Paul A. Camuso, Commissioner

(617) 727-2293

Paul Camuso was appointed to the Civil Service Commission in 2015. He served as an elected official in the City of Medford for sixteen years serving on both the School Committee and the City Council.  During his four years on the School Committee he was elected by his colleagues to serve as the Vice-Chairman. As a City Councilor he was elected by his peers to serve as the President in 2014.Commissioner Camuso began his career at the Middlesex Sheriff’s Office in 1997 where he is still employed as an Assistant Deputy Superintendent.


Cynthia A. Ittleman, Commissioner


Cynthia Ittleman was appointed to a five-year term on the Civil Service Commission in 2012.   She has worked in all three branches of government and in the private sector.  She has many years of experience in administrative law, including as the General Counsel to the Commission and as a Hearing Officer at the Mass. Division of Professional Licensure.   Ms. Ittleman holds a JD from Western New England University Law School, as well as graduate and undergraduate degrees in Political Science

Kevin M. Tivnan, Commissioner

(617) 727-2293

Kevin Tivnan was appointed to the Civil Service Commission in 2015.  He had previously served on the Commission from 1994 to 2001.  He has held several elected positions in the Town of Clinton and is currently a member of the Housing Authority.  He has more than 30 years of experience in the private and public sector.  

Mr. Tivnan holds a BA in political science and business from New England College and an MA from Anna Maria College. 

Paul M. Stein, Commissioner


Paul Stein was appointed to the Civil Service Commission in 2008 and re-appointed to a five-year term in 2013.

Commissioner Stein is a graduate of Trinity College (Conn.) and Vanderbilt Law School. His prior public service includes active duty as a commissioned officer with the United States Air Force, Senior Counsel of the State Rating Bureau in the Massachusetts Division of Insurance and Deputy Chief of the Insurance Division in the Office of Attorney General James M. Shannon.

He has practiced law with firms in New York, Boston and Framingham, where he concentrated in labor and employment, employee benefits, insurance, health care and consumer law. He is a member of the Massachusetts and New York State Bars.He is currently a resident of Westport.


Medes Diaz, Office Manager


This information is provided by the Civil Service Commission.