June 2011

Download this layer: ESRI Shapefile


The Massachusetts Senate Legislative Districts (2002) datalayer reflects the state Senate district boundaries as defined by Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 57: Section 3. These 40 districts are those used in the Fall 2002 elections. Names of elected officials are up-to-date as of June 22, 2011. The names of the statewide datalayers are SENATE02_POLY (polygons) and SENATE02_ARC (arcs). This replaces the older SENATE93 layer.


Staff at the Massachusetts Senate developed this layer with its contractor, Caliper Corp. (Newton, MA) using Maptitude for Redistricting software. MassGIS appended the 1:100,000 coastline and state outline and added the senators' name and party attributes. Final election results were obtained from a "Return of Votes" report (in PDF format) from the Secretary of State.


The polygon attribute table has the following items:

SEN_DIST 43 / C Name of Senate District
SENDISTNUM 2 / I Senate District number
SEN_FIRST 13 / C First name of Senator
SEN_LAST 15 / C Last name of Senator
SEN_PARTY 3 / C Senator's political party
SENATOR 40 / C Senator's full name and party

Note: The SENDISTNUM item is also found in the Census 2000 Blocks layer, where it may be used for relating demographic information to Senate districts.

In the arc attribute table, the item OUTLINE is coded as follows:

  • 0  =  Internal district boundaries
  • 1  =  State
  • 2  =  Coastline


MassGIS maintains the layer and will make attribute updates following fall and special elections. In March 2003 the boundary between Sen. Fargo's district and that of Sen. Jacques was adjusted.

Last Updated 6/24/2011