District Attorney David F. Capeless joins members of the Youth Advisory Board

Twenty-three members of the Berkshire District Attorney's Youth Advisory Board joined District Attorney David F. Capeless and members of his staff for the 2009 - 2010 orientation program at the Lakeside Christian Camp and Conference Center in Pittsfield. The orientation welcomed 14 new members and nine students who were re-appointed for a second term. Five members were unable to attend.

The Youth Advisory Board works with members of the District Attorney's Community Outreach and Education Program in formulating effective education programs which address social issues impacting youth today.

The energy and creative ideas of the Board members are used to develop prevention programs and activities focusing on community health and safety.

Serving on this prestigious Board gives students the opportunity to take a leadership role in influencing positive change in the community and serves as a vehicle to enable the District Attorney's Office to better address critical risk factors affecting youth throughout Berkshire County.

Members are selected by their principals to serve on the Board, and 14 Berkshire County high schools are represented.

The half-day program prepared students for their participation in educational video projects addressing bullying, internet safety, and respectful relationships and identified the goals and objectives for the 2009-2010 Board.

Board members take part in an interactive exercise
Cynthia Quinones, Director of Education at Barrington Stage, also collaborated with the District Attorney's Office to lead interactive exercises to build confidence and teamwork among the Board members.

Youth Advisory Board members for the 2009 - 2010 year are: Mallory Caron and Morgan Hussey, Berkshire Arts & Technology Charter Public School; Casey Scott and Zachery Richards, Drury High School; Cierra Andrews and Briell Dzierga, Hoosac Valley High School; Clayton Kohlenberger and Whitney Sitzer, Lee Middle & High School; Daniel Fuore, Ashley Laptas and Michelle Messana, Lenox Memorial Middle & High School; Amanda Cariddi and James Nowak, McCann Technical School; Isabella Tobiason, Miss Hall's School; Nicholas Race and Kaitlyn Ryan, Monument Mountain Regional High School; Kassel Nightt and Elizabeth Tomich, Mt. Everett High School; Nicholas Del Negro, Mt. Greylock Regional High School; Rachel Quetti and Amanda Turner, Pittsfield High School; Marcus Chiaretto and Max Pastore, St. Joseph Central High School; Emily Fitzgerald, Brian Kelly and Shauna Wilcox, Taconic High School; and Brittany Breault and Jason Klem, Wahconah Regional High School.

Members enjoy an interactive exercise

Support for this program comes from the District Attorney in collaboration with the Massachusetts Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force and the Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security.