The Berkshire District Attorney's Youth Advisory Board got off to a great start on Tuesday August 27, 2013, when members came together for their annual summer orientation.  The half-day orientation brings together both returning and newly appointed members who not only spend time getting to know one another but also begin their work together in brainstorming goals and objectives and  laying out the groundwork for their 2013 – 2014 agenda.  This year the Board also tested some new icebreaker and teamwork activities that will be used in the Peer Leader Program being conducted in 14 middle schools throughout the county this fall.  

The Board’s plans for the 2013 – 2014 school year include teaching their younger peers in elementary school a bullying and cyberbullying lesson as well as working on their year-long project of creating and hosting the STRIVE (Students Teaching Respect, Integrity, Values and Equality) Youth Leadership Conference.  The conference, to be held in April of 2014, gives middle school students across Berkshire County the opportunity to come together and to discuss current social topics impacting today’s teens.  The Board will also visit with residents at PineHill Assisted Living in Lenox and participate in the annual MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) Vigil of Remembrance in December, which honors the memory of those who have died in drunk driving accidents.  

Members of the Youth Advisory Board are:  Caitlin Moriarty and Dylan Quinn, Berkshire Arts & Technology Public Charter School; Joseph Liporace and Allison Meehan, Drury High School; Ian Hill and Jacob Tarjick, Hoosac Valley High School; Madeline Daoust and Michael Demos, Lee Middle & High School; Tucker McNinch and Taylor Tranfaglia, Lenox Memorial Middle & High School; Shane Fuller and Justin Schneider, McCann Technical School; Sophie Bellemare and Maggie Meisberger, Miss Hall’s School; John Carmichael and Sasha Nader, Monument Mountain Regional High School; Taylor Dorsey and Jonathan Ovitt, Mt. Everett High School; Ian Brink and Emily Kaegi, Mt. Greylock Regional High School; Dimitri Pixley and Rachele Rosiello, Pittsfield High School; Katherine Nugai and Timothy Wiles, St. Joseph Central High School; Crocker Tierney and Kaylee Wilcox, Taconic High School; and Nicole Gingras and Sean Peters, Wahconah Regional High School.