Youth Advisory Board members thank their parents and advisors for their support.

District Attorney David F. Capeless recognized the accomplishments of the 2010 - 2011 Youth Advisory Board at a ceremony at the Beacon Cinema in Pittsfield on May 19, 2011. Board members, who represent area high schools county-wide, attend monthly meetings at the District Attorney's Office and contribute their time, talent, creative thinking, opinions and ideas to Community Outreach and Education health and safety initiatives.

The ceremony featured a screening of video highlights from the STRIVE Youth Leadership Conference held on April 5, 2011. The conference, focused on engaging 8 th grade leaders to think about and discuss social issues and pressures facing today's teens, was the culmination of the years' work for the Board. Members identified the topics, selected the speakers, and planned the agenda, and created and delivered their own unique session entitled Surviving High School 101. They also performed a sing-off featuring their own adaptation of popular songs including lyrics they wrote to reflect the message of the conference. Each Board member received a copy of the video, an autographed copy of Brigette Berman's book Dorie Witt's Guide to Surviving Bullies, and a certificate of service from the District Attorney.

District Attorney Capeless acknowledged the school advisors and parents for their ongoing support and encouragement of the students and the program, and gave special thanks to Dr. Robert Putnam, Assistant Superintendent at Central Berkshire Regional School District, for his assistance with the musical entertainment at the STRIVE Conference, and to David Cachat, CityLink Coordinator at Pittsfield Community Television, for his tireless work in filming and editing the conference video. Massachusetts State Police Sergeant Steven DelNegro, Commander of the Massachusetts Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force, was also honored for his ongoing support of and assistance to the Board since its inception in 2008.

Youth Advisory Board members for the 2010 - 2011 academic year were: Mallorey Caron and Morgan Hussey, Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter School; Alexandra Bona and Vito Guerino, Drury High School; Cierra Andrews and Nathan Goyette, Hoosac Valley High School; Clayton Kohlenberger and Whitney Sitzer, Lee Middle and High School; Michelle Messana, Lenox Memorial Middle and High School; Amanda Cariddi and James Nowak, McCann Technical School; Emma Donfried, Miss Hall's School; Kyle Bailey and Anjelicia Cardillo, Monument Mt. Regional High School; Laura Smith and Tara Sullivan, Mt. Everett Regional High School; Kim Houston and Siri Mason, Mt. Greylock Regional High School; Tori Peaslee and Tyler Panetti, Pittsfield High School; Nicole Akromoff, Marcus Chiaretto and Erica Quallen, St. Joseph Central High School; Glen Bona, Dar'ya Matkovska, and Brian Kelly, Taconic High School; and Catherine Cherry and Jason Klem, Wahconah Regional High School.