Introduction to Acute Cohort Hospital Profiles

How to read the cohorts (images with callouts)
See this page as a single pdf pdf format of how-to-read-hospital-cohorts.pdf
| Word docx format of how-to-read-hospital-cohorts.docx

Acute hospitals were grouped into cohorts of similar hospitals, as follows:

Academic Medical Centers

Academic Medical Centers (AMC's) are a subset of teaching hospitals. AMCs are characterized by (1) extensive research and teaching programs and (2) extensive resources for tertiary and quaternary care, and are (3) principal teaching hospitals for their respective medical schools and (4) full service hospitals with case mix intensity greater than 5% above the statewide average.

AMC Cohort
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston Medical Center
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Massachusetts General Hospital
Tufts Medical Center
UMass Memorial Medical Center

Teaching Hospitals

Teaching Hospitals are those hospitals that report at least 25 full-time equivalent medical school residents per one hundred inpatient beds in accordance with Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) and are not classified as AMCs.

Teaching Hospital Cohort
Baystate Medical Center
Berkshire Medical Center
Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital
Cambridge Health Alliance
Lahey Clinic
Mount Auburn Hospital
Saint Vincent Hospital
Steward Carney Hospital
Steward St. Elizabeth's Medical Center

Community Hospitals

Community Hospitals are hospitals that are not teaching hospitals and have a public payer mix of less than 63%.

Community Hospital Cohort
Anna Jaques Hospital
Baystate Mary Lane Hospital
Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital - Milton
Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital - Needham
Cooley Dickinson Hospital
Emerson Hospital
Hallmark Health
Harrington Memorial Hospital
Jordan Hospital
Lowell General Hospital
Marlborough Hospital
Martha's Vineyard Hospital
MetroWest Medical Center
Milford Regional Medical Center
Nantucket Cottage Hospital
Nashoba Valley Medical Center
Newton-Wellesley Hospital
Northeast Hospital
South Shore Hospital
Steward Norwood Hospital
Sturdy Memorial Hospital
Winchester Hospital

Community-Disproportionate Share Hospitals (DSH)

Community-Disproportionate Share Hospitals (DSH) are community hospitals that are disproportionately reliant upon public revenues by virtue of a public payer mix of 63% or greater. Public payers include Medicare, MassHealth and other government payers, including Commonwealth Care and the Health Safety Net.

Community-DSH Hospital Cohort
Athol Memorial Hospital
Baystate Franklin Medical Center
Cape Cod Hospital
Clinton Hospital
Fairview Hospital
Falmouth Hospital
HealthAlliance Hospital
Heywood Hospital
Holyoke Medical Center
Lawrence General Hospital
Mercy Medical Center
Merrimack Valley Hospital
Morton Hospital
Noble Hospital
North Adams Regional Hospital
North Shore Medical Center
Quincy Medical Center
Saints Medical Center
Signature Healthcare Brockton Hospital
Southcoast Hospitals Group
Steward Good Samaritan Medical Center
Steward Holy Family Hospital
Steward Saint Anne's Hospital
Wing Memorial Hospital

Specialty Hospitals

Specialty hospitals were not included in any cohort comparison analysis due the unique patient populations they serve and/or the unique sets of services they provide. Specialty hospitals may be included in statewide analyses. Individual profiles for these hospitals can be found in Section B.

Specialty Hospitals
Boston Children's Hospital
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Kindred Hospital - Boston
Kindred Hospital - Boston North Shore
Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary
New England Baptist Hospital

For detailed descriptions of the data sources and metrics used in the acute cohort profiles, please see the Technical Appendix.


How to Read the Cohorts

How to Read the Hospital Cohorts (Page 1 )

How to Read the Cohorts - page 2