March 10, 2004

Jill Pearson
Executive Director



BOSTON, MA (March 10, 2004) -- Massachusetts’ Commission on Judicial Conduct announced today that it has elected new officers. The new Chairman is Robert Guttentag of Newton, and the Vice Chairman is Judge William W. Teahan, Jr., of Longmeadow. Great thanks are extended to the out-going Chairman, Superior Court Judge Margot Botsford, for four valiant years at the helm.

Mr. Guttentag has been a lay-member of the nine-person Commission since 2001, and its Vice Chairman since 2002. Mr. Guttentag worked for many years for the Gillette Co. of Boston, retiring as Division Manager of Engineering Services. He is a graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Business School, as well as having served in the US Navy. Mr. Guttentag also serves currently as a member of the Board of Bar Overseers. His other civic activities have included major roles in the Governor’s Management Task Force, the Women’s Technical Institute, and the Justice Resource Institute. Mr. Guttentag has also given his time to the Pretrial Services Resource Center in Washington, DC; the Massachusetts Public Health Council; the Judicial Nominating Committee; the Boston Police Foundation; and the Key Program.

Judge Teahan was appointed to the bench in 1987 and to the Commission in 2000. He is the Regional Administrative Judge of the District Courts in Western Massachusetts, as well as Justice of the Springfield District Court. A graduate of Dartmouth College and Boston College Law School, Judge Teahan was a First Lieutenant in the US Army Intelligence Corps. He was in private practice before joining the Hampden County District Attorney’s Office, where he became First Assistant. Judge Teahan has taught at Western New England College Law School and served as chairman of the Longmeadow School Committee.

The Commission on Judicial Conduct investigates complaints of misconduct against state judges, pursuant to Mass. General Laws chapter 211C. The Commission is made up of three judges appointed by the Supreme Judicial Court, three attorneys appointed by the Chief Justice for Administration and Management, and three lay people appointed by the Governor. Members serve non-renewable terms of six years.