Comptroller letterhead

July 3, 2015

Honorable Karen Spilka, Chair
Senate Committee on Ways and Means
State House – Room 212
Boston, MA  02133

Honorable Brian S. Dempsey, Chair
House Committee on Ways and Means
State House – Room 243
Boston, MA  02133

Dear Chairwoman Spilka and Chairman Dempsey:

Attached is the updated report required in legislation, section 12 of Chapter 19 of the Acts of 2015, An Act Relative to State Personnel (ERIP).

As required in section 4, the final day to file an application for the ERIP was Friday, June 12, 2015, and through the rules of the state board of retirement the deadline was midnight if filing electronically.

The last date to withdraw an application was midnight on June 30, 2015. 

The state retirement board provided 2,478 applicants.  The state retirement board transmittal included the following statement

”final number may change very slightly going forward as we work on the submissions, as we may uncover individual eligibility issues, or people have second thoughts and try to withdraw even though the date has passed.  Notwithstanding these possibilities, this should be reliable information for your purposes.”

This data was the basis for the required report.  My office has identified 4 applicant records that need further analysis to confirm compliance with the stated inclusion requirements. Please note that there are three tabs within the report. The first provides the data required by the legislation. The second tab is a summary of the data by secretariat and department.  The third tab is the summary by appropriation.

I have also included a data sheet for reference.  Please let me know if you have any questions or need anything further.


Thomas G. Shack III, Esq.
Comptroller of the Commonwealth

July 3 Report xlsx format of Early Retirement Incentive Program attch

Nicola Favorito Esq., Deputy Treasurer / Executive Director
Adriana Campos, Budget Director, Senate Ways and Means Committee
Kathryn Kendall, Budget Director, House Ways and Means Committee
Kristen Lepore, Secretary, Executive Office for Administration and Finance
Martha Walsh, Assistant Secretary, Administration and Finance
Paul Dietl, Chief Human Resources Officer
Kathy Sheppard, Deputy Comptroller