In 1990, the Supreme Judicial Court promulgated SJC Rule 3:12, the Code of Professional Responsibility for Clerks of the Courts, and shortly thereafter appointed the first Committee on Professional Responsibility for Clerks of the Courts, SJC Rule 3:13. The Code expresses standards and expectations to encourage and support professionalism among clerk-magistrates in the Commonwealth.  The Committee may receive information, investigate, and make recommendations to the Supreme Judicial Court with respect to conduct, as defined in Rule 3:13, of any Clerk-Magistrate, as defined in SJC Rule 3:12. Rules governing the Committee's operating procedures were promulgated in 1991.
Chair:  Hon. Gilbert J. Nadeau, Jr., of the District Court Department
Secretaries:  Christine Burak, Esq., and Thomas Ambrosino, Esq., Supreme Judicial Court