Pursuant to G.L. c. 4, s. 7, below is a list of the Commonwealth’s Legal Holidays for calendar years 2015 and 2016 and the dates on which each will be observed:


New Year's Day 
Martin Luther King Day 
President's Day 
Patriots' Day 
Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day 
Columbus Day 
Veterans' Day 
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day

2016
January 1 (Friday)
January 18 (Monday)
February 15 (Monday)
April 18 (Monday)
May 30 (Monday)
July 4 (Monday)
September 5 (Monday)
October 10 (Monday)
November 11 (Friday)
November 24 (Thursday)
December 25 (Sunday)**

2017
January 1 (Sunday)**
January 16 (Monday) 
February 20 (Monday)
April 17 (Monday) 
May 29 (Monday)
July 4 (Tuesday)
September 4 (Monday)
October 9 (Monday) 
November 11 (Saturday)*
November 23 (Thursday)
December 25 (Monday)

All court offices will remain open for business on March 17 and June 17.  

* In the event a legal holiday falls on a Saturday, all offices under the jurisdiction of any department of state government shall be open to the public for business on the Friday immediately preceding any Saturday holiday.  Employees are entitled to a day off with pay, within 12 months following the holiday, to be taken at a time approved by his or her immediate manager.

** In the event a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, the holiday will be observed on the following Monday.