I.  Dispositive Motions:

Only non-dispositive motions may be marked for hearing by a party.  Dispositive motions under Mass. R. Civ. P. 12 (b) (1), 12 (b) (6), 12 (c) and 56 will be scheduled by the court in all cases. See Land Court Rule 4.

II. Non-Dispositive Motions:

Non-dispositive motions may be marked for hearing before the judge to whom the case is assigned. See Land Court Rule 5.  Parties and counsel are strongly encouraged to confirm dates and times with other parties before marking non-dispositive motions for hearings.


Dates and Times When Non-Dispositive Motions May Be Marked For Hearing Before the Following Judges   

JudgeTimeDate
Speicher, J.10:00 a.m.Wednesday, November 15
   
Piper, J.10:00 a.m.Monday, November 20
Cutler, C.J.10:00 a.m.Tuesday, November 21
   
Cutler, C.J.10:00 a.m.Tuesday, November 28
Speicher, J.10:00 a.m.Wednesday, November 29
Piper, J.10:00 a.m.Thursday, November 30
   
Piper, J.10:00 a.m.Thursday, December 7
   
Piper, J.2:15 p.m.Tuesday, December 19
Speicher, J.10:00 a.m.Wednesday, December 20
   
Piper, J.10:00 a.m.Wednesday, December 27
   
Piper, J.2:30 p.m.Wednesday, January 3

To mark a non-dispositive motion for hearing before a Land Court judge not listed above, contact the Sessions Clerk for the judge assigned to the case.  Sessions Clerk Contact information can be found in the Land Court Contact Information section of this website.

III. Tax Lien Motions:

• All Hearing Sessions are held at the Land Court, 3 Pemberton Square, Boston.

• Courtroom assignments are posted at the Land Court Recorder’s Office (5th floor) on the day of the hearing.

• Motions in all tax lien cases may be marked for hearing any Thursday at 10:00 a.m. or 2:00 p.m. Forms for motions and notices of hearing can be found in the Land Court Forms section of this website.