I’m scheduled to perform grand jury service. Does my employer have to pay me while I’m serving as a grand juror?
Yes, for the first three days. Some employers choose to pay some or all of a grand juror’s compensation for the duration of the grand jury service – be sure you know your employer’s policy before you report for jury duty.

If you work in Massachusetts (as a full-time, part-time, temporary, or casual employee), your employer is required to pay your regular wages for any work missed for the first three days of your service. After the third day, the state compensates grand jurors at a rate that is determined by the court on your first day of grand juror service. Your daily compensation rate depends on a number of factors, including whether your employer will continue to pay your full wages for the duration of your service. Make sure you know your employer’s policy regarding whether you’ll be paid for the full term of your grand juror service before you report to the court on your first day of grand juror service.

If you work out of state, your employer cannot be required to pay you while you perform grand juror service. Massachusetts law governing juror compensation is not enforceable in other states. If the loss of income is a hardship for you, you may request compensation of no more than $50 per day of juror service for the first three days of service. After the third day of grand juror service, the state pays a daily compensation rate, not to exceed $50, that is determined by the court on your first day of grand juror service. You should bring proof of your out-of-state employment with you to the court.

Can I request to be reimbursed for my expenses in coming to grand jury duty?
If your employer is paying your regular wages, and your daily travel expenses coming to the courthouse are greater than the expenses you normally incur traveling to work, the Commonwealth will pay you the difference between the two (but not more than $50 per day). You will not be reimbursed for any other out-of-pocket expenses.

I’m scheduled to perform grand jury service, but I’m unemployed. Will I be paid anything for my grand juror service?
For the first three days of your grand jury service, you can ask to be reimbursed up to $50 per day for your reasonable travel, childcare and other necessary out-of-pocket expenses, except food. After your third day of service, the state will pay you at the rate of $50 per day.

I think my employer is treating me differently because of my grand jury service (for example, urging me not to go, cutting my hours, changing my work conditions). What can I do?
Employers are prohibited from interfering with a juror’s jury service obligation by harassing or coercing the employee or depriving the employee of any of the benefits of employment. You should speak to the Assistant District Attorney in charge of the grand jury so that he or she can bring the matter to the attention of the judge.