For Immediate Release - October 25, 2012

Supreme Judicial Court Appoints Committee to Study the Code of Judicial Conduct

The Justices of the Supreme Judicial Court announce the appointment of the members of a newly-formed Committee to Study the Massachusetts Code of Judicial Conduct.  Appeals Court Justice Cynthia J. Cohen will chair this Committee.  The Justices have asked the Committee to review the Massachusetts Code of Judicial Conduct in light of the Model Code of Judicial Conduct adopted by the American Bar Association in 2007.  The current Massachusetts Code of Judicial Conduct, adopted in 2003, is based on the American Bar Association's Model Code of 1990.

In addition to Justice Cohen, the Justices have appointed the following to serve on the Committee:

Honorable Peter W. Agnes, Jr  .Appeals Court
Professor Luke BiermanNortheastern University School of Law
Honorable Kenneth V. Desmond, Jr.   Boston Municipal Court
Honorable Judith Fabricant      Superior Court
Honorable Linda S. Fidnick     Probate & Family Court
Lisa C. Goodheart, Esq.Sugarman, Rogers, Barshak & Cohen, P.C
Michael S. Greco, Esq.K & L Gates  LLP
Honorable Diana H. HoranHousing Court
Honorable Angel Kelley-BrownDistrict Court
Professor Renee M. LandersSuffolk University Law School
Honorable Mark D. Mason     District Court
Honorable James F. McHugh  Appeals Court (ret.)
Professor Nancy J. MooreBoston University School of Law
Honorable Karyn F. ScheierChief Justice, Land Court
Honorable John S. Spinale       Juvenile Court