For Immediate Release - April 30, 2012

Supreme Judicial Court Standing Committee on Pro Bono Legal Services Seeks Nominations for 2012 Adams Pro Bono Publico Awards

To recognize outstanding commitment to volunteer legal services for the poor and disadvantaged, the Supreme Judicial Court’s Standing Committee on Pro Bono Legal Services is for the 2012 Adams Pro Bono Publico Awards.  The deadline for nominations is June 30, 2012.

Nominations should be submitted to:  Robert C. Sacco, Esq., The 2012 Adams Pro Bono Publico Awards, c/o Lyon & Fitzpatrick, LLP, 14 Bobala Road, 4th Floor, Holyoke, MA 01040. Contact Crystal Barnes at (413) 536 – 4000, ext. 122 or by email with questions. Nominations submitted in 2011 remain active for consideration in the 2012 awards program provided that the nominating party submits a letter restating the intent to nominate the candidate and updating the narrative with any relevant information. Eligibility for the awards has been expanded this year to include law schools and law students.

This year the prestigious Adams Pro Bono Publico Awards will be presented in a ceremony at the John Adams Courthouse on October 24, 2012, in conjunction with the American Bar Association’s recognition of National Pro Bono Week.

Named in honor of Attorneys John Adams and John Quincy Adams, the Adams Pro BonoPublico Awards recognize individual lawyers, law students, small and large law firms, government attorney offices, corporate law departments, law schools and other institutions in the legal profession in Massachusetts that have “enhanced the human dignity of others by improving or delivering volunteer legal services to our Commonwealth’s poor and disadvantaged.”

The Standing Committee on Pro Bono Legal Services will select awardees from among those who have excelled in providing volunteer services in one or more of the following ways: 

  1. volunteer participation in an activity or pro bono program which resulted in satisfying previously unmet needs or in extending services to underserved segments of the population;
  2. successfully litigated pro bono cases that favorably affected the provision of other services to the poor; and/or
  3. successfully achieved legislation that contributed substantially to legal services to the poor.  

In 2011, awards were presented to Kerry Elizabeth, Esq., Boston; Donal Eoin Reilly, Esq., Boston; and Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C., Boston.

Established in August 1999, the Standing Committee on Pro Bono Legal Services works to promote volunteer legal work in Massachusetts to help people of limited means who are in need of legal representation, in accordance with SJC Rule 6.1, Voluntary Pro Bono Publico Service (“for the public good”).  Attorney Bernard J. Bonn III of Dechert LLP chairs the Committee.       

>> Notice Seeking Nominations for the 2012 Adams Pro Bono Publico Awards