For Immediate Release - September 12, 2013

Supreme Judicial Court Announces Court Management Advisory Board Members

The Justices of the Supreme Judicial Court today announced the new Court Management Advisory Board, constituted by six newly appointed members and four who have been reappointed. Per G.L. c. 211B, §6A, the Advisory Board "shall advise the Justices of the Supreme Judicial Court, the Chief Justice of the Trial Court, and the Court Administrator on all matters of judicial reform including, but not limited to, a proposal for the allocation of resources based on the demonstrated workload of each court." Under the provisions of the statute, board members can serve up to two three-year terms.

Supreme Judicial Court Chief Justice Roderick L. Ireland said, "The Court is grateful to the new and reappointed Court Management Advisory Board members for being so willing to devote their time and expertise to assisting the judiciary as it moves forward with a strategic plan outlining a vision for excellence in the management and administration of justice in the Commonwealth.  The Court also thanks the outgoing members who served on the previous board and have lent their knowledge and depth of experience to the judiciary."

The statute stipulates that the board should consist of the attorney general, or her designee, the executive director of the Massachusetts Office for Victim Assistance and the ten additional members appointed by the Supreme Judicial Court, including two members who have significant experience in public administration, two who have significant experience in business administration, and lawyers who have significant experience in the practices of: criminal law, civil law, probate and family law, or the representation of juveniles in the courts. Additionally, one member who is a lawyer with significant judicial experience but not a current justice of the Commonwealth or a retired justice serving the Commonwealth pursuant to judicial recall, and one member who has significant experience in information technology. The Chief Justice of the Trial Court is the executive secretary of the advisory board.

The appointment of a board to advise the judiciary on court management was recommended in the 2003 Report of the Visiting Committee on Management in the Courts, headed by J. Donald Monan, S.J., former Chancellor of Boston College.  

The following individuals have been appointed or reappointed for a three-year term:

Hon. John J. Curran, Jr., retired First Justice of the Leominster District Court

Ruth Ellen Fitch, former President and Chief Executive Officer of The Dimock Center, and retired Partner, Palmer & Dodge

Hon. Gail Garinger, The Child Advocate, Office of The Child Advocate, and former First Justice of the Middlesex County Juvenile Court  

Lisa C. Goodheart, Partner, Sugarman, Rogers, Barshak & Cohen, PC

John A. Grossman, Partner and General Counsel, Third Sector Capital Partners

Scott Harshbarger, Senior Counsel, Proskauer, and former Massachusetts Attorney General

Allen B. Kachalia, MD, JD, Associate Chief Quality Officer, Brigham & Women's  Hospital, Boston

Gerard T. Leone, Jr., Partner, Nixon Peabody LLP, and former District Attorney for Middlesex County

Glenn Mangurian, Consultant, Frontier Works LLC

Denise Squillante, Esq., Denise Squillante PC

The following individuals serve as ex officio members of the board:

Liam Lowney, Executive Director, Massachusetts Office for Victim Assistance

Edward R. Bedrosian, Jr., First Assistant, Office of the Attorney General, designee of Attorney General Martha Coakley