WHAT HAPPENS AFTER DCF RECEIVES
A REPORT OF SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE
OR NEGLECT?

There are several possibilities, depending on the
allegations reported and other case-specific
circumstances:

If the Department determines there is reasonable
cause to believe that a child has been abused or
neglected, a social worker is assigned to investigate
the report. The investigation, called a 51B, includes
a home visit during which the social worker meets
and talks with the child and the caretaker. If DCF
determines that there is an immediate danger of
abuse and neglect, an investigation begins within 2
hours with an interim determination within 24 hours
and a final determination within 5 business days. All
other investigations begin within 2 business days and
a final determination is made within 15 business days.

If the Department determines that there is
reasonable cause to believe that an incident of
abuse or neglect did occur, the report is supported
and the Department provides the family with
services to reduce the risk of harm to the child.

If the report is unsupported but the family appears
to be in need of services, the Department may offer
the family services on a voluntary basis. DCF will

notify the mandated reporter, in writing, of its decision.

Referrals to the District Attorney

The Department of Children and Families must
notify the District Attorney and law enforcement
if it determines that a child has been the subject
of multiple 51As, has been sexually abused or
sexually exploited, has suffered serious physical
abuse or injury, or has died as a result of abuse
or neglect.
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REPORT ABUSE

If you suspect that a child has been a victim of abuse or neglect, report to the Department of Children and Families in
Massachusetts. Certain circumstances may warrant an immediate call to 91| or local police department.

Police 911
Child-at-Risk Hotline 1-800-792-5200
MA Department of Children and Familiess —— 617 748-2000

www.mass.gov/dss

Parental Stress Line 1-800-632-8188
www.pcsonline.org/helplines

LOCAL DCF OFFICES

* Arlington Area Office 781-641-8500
Covers Canton, Dedham, Foxboro,
Medfield, Millis, Norfolk, Needham,
Norwood, Plainville, Sharon, Walpole,
Wellesley, Westwood, Wrentham

* Brockton Area Office 508-894-3700

Covers Avon, Holbrook, Stoughton

* Coastal Area Office 781-682-0800

Covers Braintree, Cohasset, Milton,
Quincy, Randolph, Weymouth

* Dimock Area Office 617-989-2800

Covers Brookline

* Framingham Area Office 508-424-0100

Covers Dover

* South Central Area Office 508-234-1000

Covers Franklin, Medway

Norfolk Advocates for Children

508-543-0500 | www.NorfolkAdvocatesf

Norfolk Advocates for Children is a program of the Norfolk District Attorney's Office, in partnership with the NAC, a 501(c)3




Mandated Reporters who are staff members of medical
or other public or private institutions, schools or
facilities, must either notify the Department directly

or notify the person in charge of the institution, school
or facility, or his/her designee, who then becomes
responsible for filing the report. However, staff
members retain the right to contact DCF directly.

AS A MANDATED REPORTER,
WHAT ARE MY RESPONSIBILITIES?

Massachusetts law requires mandated reporters to
immediately make an oral report to the Department
of Children and Families when, in their professional
capacity, they have reasonable cause to believe that
a child under the age of 18 years is suffering from
abuse or neglect.

You should report any physical or emotional injury
resulting from abuse, including sexual abuse; or any
indication of neglect, including malnutrition; or any
instance in which a child is determined to be physically
dependent upon an addictive drug at birth.

A written report must be submitted to DCF within
48 hours after the oral report has been made. Please
note that any mandated reporter who fails to make
required oral and written reports can be punished

by a fine of $5,000 and/or 2 1/2 years in jail.

During the screening and investigation of a 51 A
report, any mandated reporter who has information
which he/she believes might aid the Department in
determining whether a child has been abused or
neglected shall, upon request by DCE, disclose

the relevant information to the Department.
Under the law, mandated reporters are

protected from liability in any civil

or criminal action and from

any discriminatory or

retaliatory actions by

an employer.

HOW DO | MAKE A REPORT OF
SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE OR NEGLECT?
WHEN MUST | FILE IT?

When you suspect that a child is being abused or
neglected, you should immediately telephone the

DCEF Area Office serving the child’s residence and
ask for the Protective Screening Unit.

You will find a directory of the DCF Area Offices
serving Norfolk County at the back of this Guide.
Offices are staffed between 9 a.m.and 5 p.m.
weekdays.

To make a report at any other time, including after
5 p.m. and on weekends and holidays, call the
Child-At-Risk Hotline at 1-800-792-5200.

Certain circumstances may warrant an immediate
call to 911 or local police department.

As a mandated reporter, you are also required

by law to mail or fax a child abuse & neglect written
report form to the Department within 48 hours after
making the oral report. The form for filing this report
can be obtained from your local DCF Area Office or
online to the following URL:
www.mass.gov/Eeohhs2/docs/dss/can_reporting_form.pdf

Your report should include

» All identifying information you have about the
child, family, caretaker; or any other person living
or frequenting the home, if known;

* The nature and extent of the suspected abuse
or neglect, including any evidence or knowledge
of prior injury, abuse, maltreatment, or neglect;

* The circumstances under which you first became
aware of the child’s injuries, abuse, maltreatment
or neglect;

* What action, if any, has been taken thus far to
treat, shelter, or otherwise assist the child; and

* Any other information you believe might be
helpful in establishing the cause of the injury
and/or person responsible.




