District Court

There are four District Courts in Plymouth County.
They are located in Brockton, Hingham, Plymouth, and Wareham.

A case begins in the District Court when a criminal complaint is issued by the Clerk Magistrate.

The District Attorney´s Office prosecutes most of the cases that are brought in the District Court.

Trials in the District court can be before a judge or a six person jury.

A defendant is entitled to a jury trial but can decide to waive the jury and have a judge decide the case.

After a conviction, a District Court judge can sentence up to two and one half years in the House of Correction on any single offense.


Plymouth County District Attorney´s Office
166 Main Street
Brockton, MA 02301