Stories in Stone - Preservation Month 2013
Plymouth Rock c.1920 (courtesy Pilgrim Hall Museum)
This year DCR’s Preservation Month program features the work DCR is doing to preserve the Commonwealth’s Stories in Stone. Visitors can learn about quarrying at Halibut Point in Rockport, the restoration of the stone mansion and Rock Garden at Borderland State Park, and the new stories developing through the adaptive reuse of DCR’s Historic Curatorship Program properties across the state. Sites range from single family farmhouses to a Civilian Conservation Corps-built lodge atop the state’s highest peak. DCR directly preserves historic buildings, landscapes and structures through programs, projects, partnerships, and management.
Preservation Month 2013 Stories in Stone
Join us in celebrating DCR’s work to preserve the rich heritage of our Commonwealth in our state parks.
Sites and Events
Most programs are free, but parking fees may apply. Parking is free for ParksPass holders, vehicles with Handicapped, disabled veteran plates/placard, and seniors 62 and older with the Massachusetts Senior Pass. In case of inclement weather, call the park for cancellation information. Programs are rain or shine, pouring rain cancels.
Opening Our Doors
As a special feature of Preservation Month, DCR will open its doors at buildings and sites usually limited from public view. Doors Open events are indicated in red.
Castle Island, Day Boulevard, South Boston. 617-727-5290
- Doors Open – Fort Independence Tours, May 25th, 26th and 27th, 12-3:30pm. Castle Island is the oldest continuously fortified site in British North America! The first fort on Castle Island was built in 1634 for the coastal defense of Boston. Fort Independence, a pentagonal five-bastioned fort built between 1834 and 1851, is Castle Island's 8th fort and was built with granite from the quarries in Rockport, MA. The fort is a National Historic Landmark. Free one hour tours of Fort Independence are sponsored by the Castle Island Association in partnership with DCR.
Charles River Reservation, Magazine Beach, Memorial Drive, Cambridge
- Doors Open – Powder Magazine, May 11, 2013 12:00-3:30pm. DCR’s Magazine Beach is named after the historic Powder Magazine located on the shore of the Charles River. Built in 1818 for storage of gunpowder for the Massachusetts Militia and private use, the building was converted into a bathhouse as part of the Olmsted plan for this swimming destination in 1899. Vacant and underutilized for many years, DCR is now partnering with the Cambridgeport Neighborhood Association on a Historic Structures Report which will guide the building’s long term preservation. Local historians will be on hand to share the rich history of the Powder Magazine with visitors.
Neponset River Reservation, Milton and Dorchester, Meet at the public parking lot in Milton Lower Mills, beside the Milton Yacht Club at 36 Wharf Street in Milton.
- Sweet History Stroll along the Neponset River Saturday May 11th 1-2:30pm. What do chocolate and the Neponset River have in common? Join a DCR Park Ranger on a scenic stroll in Milton and Dorchester Lower Mills to find out. We’ll explore the former Baker Chocolate Factory site and learn about the sweet history of Lower Mills. We’ll end our tour at the Baker Chocolate Artist Lofts and learn about the DCR’s Historic Curatorship program. For ages 10 and up.
Dorothy Quincy Homestead Located at the intersection of Hancock Street and Butler Street, Quincy. For more information, please call Karen Melican Co-Chairman of the Quincy Homestead Committee for the Colonial Dames at 781-237-4099 or visit their website at www.nscda.org/ma/quincy_homestead.php.
- Doors Open, Saturday May 4th, 1-4pm – A National Historic Landmark, the Quincy Homestead is significant for its role in early American history, for its architecture, and for its Quincy family association. The original 1686 rooms of the house are embedded in the 18th century Georgian colonial mansion that stands today. It is furnished with period antiques and artifacts on two floors. In addition to the architecture and furnishings, docents share stories of the Quincy family during the colonial era. The tour is free. Donations welcome. In addition, the grounds of the Quincy Homestead can be visited during daylight hours. This small park, owned and maintained by the DCR, can be accessed through the driveway gate.
Bradley Palmer State Park, Asbury Street, Topsfield, 978-887-5931
In 1903 noted Boston attorney Bradley Palmer converted former farmlands into his country estate, complete with carriage roads, a steeplechase course, an 18th century farmhouse, stone mansion and outbuildings. DCR’s partners at Willowdale Lodge and the Lamson House have brought new life to the historic properties through the Historic Curatorship Program. Park open daily dawn to dusk.
- Doors Open - Artist Spotlight Series: Garden Tour with Kim Smith at Willowdale Estate Monday May13th 6-8pm. Artist and garden designer Kim Smith used the Butterfly Garden at Willowdale as the background for an illustrated guide in how to create a garden for people and pollinators. See the plants she highlights in the guide and learn how to attract butterflies and bees in your own backyard. For information contact Sarah Boucher at 978-887-8211 x313.
Breakheart Reservation, 177 Forest Street, Saugus, 781-233-0834
- The Flume, Sunday, May 19th 1-3pm Hosted by: Dan Donovan. The Flume was constructed by the CCC in the 1930s for flood control and a viable damming system for recreation and preservation of the lakes. For all ages. Rain or shine, pouring rain cancels. Hike is around one mile, moderate difficulty; wear appropriate hiking shoes.
- Lodge Trail and Ben Johnson’s Lodge Site, Sunday, May 5th 1-3pm. Hosted by: Dan Donovan. Tour the Lodge Trail with a ranger to learn about how Ben Johnson spearheaded the preservation of Breakheart Reservation by creating a private hunting reserve in the 1890s. Visit the foundation of Johnson’s lodge and hear the stories surrounding this property prior to the Commonwealth’s purchase. For all ages. Terrain is moderate, wear appropriate hiking shoes. Hike is about ½ mile. Rain or shine, pouring rain cancels.
Great Brook Farm State Park, 984 Lowell Street, Carlisle, MA 978 369-6312
- Doors Open - Litchfield House, Sunday, May 12th 2-4pm,.247 North Road, This mid-19th century residence is a reminder of the park’s agricultural past. The house is preserved and maintained through DCR’s Historic Curatorship Program where parties rehabilitate, reuse & maintain some of DCR’s threatened historic properties in return for a long term lease. The Curators will be on site to answer questions about this unique preservation partnership project. Rain or shine. RSVP:HCP.Requests@state.ma.us
Halibut Point State Park, Gott Avenue, Rockport, 978 546-2997
- Babson Farm Quarry Tour, Saturday, May 18th 12-1:30pm – The Babson Farm Quarry was the scene of extensive granite quarrying from the 1840s to the 1920s until the collapse of the granite industry. Starting in the 1840s, granite began to be quarried from the area around Halibut Point, first primarily along the coast on a small scale and then on a much larger scale when the Rockport Granite Company acquired the Babson Farm Quarry and expanded its operation. Interpreter will utilize various locations on the trail and around quarry to explain how granite was quarried. Specific lessons include the splitting of granite with traditional quarry tools. Meet at the Visitors Center in the park. For all ages. Rain or shine, pouring rain cancels.
- Doors Open: Glenledge Cottage 13 Gott Ave, Saturday May 18th 2-4pm. Glenledge Cottage has been preserved and maintained through DCR’s Historic Curatorship Program. Through the program, some of the DCR’s unused but significant historic buildings are rehabilitated, reused and maintained by an outside party in return for a long term lease. This Queen Anne residence was once home to Pulitzer Prize winning Peter Viereck and represents the summer cottage culture of turn-of-the-century Cape Ann. The Curators will be on site and available for questions about the history of this unique preservation project. House is located past the parking lot on left (past the sharp turn). Rain or shine. Please RSVP to HCP.Requests@state.ma.us or 617-626-1361.
- Doors Open: Visitors Center and Tower will be open May 18th 10-4pm.
Harold Parker State Forest 978-686-3391
- The Blue Soapstone Quarry, May 25th, 2-3:30 pm. Hosted by: Park Interpreter Bob Anderson. The Blue Soap Stone Quarry was run by the Jenkins family in the mid-1800s, and remains one of the few blue soap stone sites in Massachusetts. This is one of the softest quarried stones in existence. The Quarry is adjacent to the former Jenkins mill, where the stone was actually worked using saw blades to cut the stone. Remains of a finishing shed and some finished stones can be seen, as well as the face of the quarry and the contact point with the granite bedrock. Along the walk is also a glacial erratic left by the Wisconsin Ice Sheet. Meet at Berry Pond on Middleton Rd. Mapquest Berry Pond, Harold Parker State Forest, MA. Hike is moderately difficult, about 1 mile. All ages.
Lawrence Heritage State Park, One Jackson Street, Lawrence 978 794-1655
A restored brick boarding house with two floors of interactive exhibits tells the tale of Lawrence, one of the nation's first planned industrial cities. Along with stories of Lawrence's mill workers and industry, the workers' role in the 1912 Bread and Roses Strike is relived with images and sounds. Walk along the esplanade of a 19th century canal amid an industrial landscape.
- The Great Stone Dam, Sunday, May 26th 1-2:30 pm. Join Visitors Services Supervisor Jim Beauchesne for an historic view of the dam construction and its role in the mill industry. The Great Stone Dam in Lawrence, MA was constructed as part of the mill system for Lawrence. The water that was retained by the dam was used in powering the looms downstream in the mills. Meet at the Visitors Center, One Canal St., Lawrence, MA. For all ages. Rain or shine, pouring rain cancels.
- Doors Open - Visitor Center and Exhibits are open daily 9am -4pm.
Maudslay State Park, Curzon Mill Road, Newburyport 978-465-7223
The former estate of the Moseley family offers restored formal gardens, riverside trails, and extensive horticultural collections along the historic carriage roads. DCR rehabilitated the Martha Brookes Hutcheson designed Italian and Rose Gardens in 2000. The historic Farm Complex and Farmhouse have been rehabilitated for new uses through the Historic Curatorship Program, and DCR has entered into a new partnership for the preservation of the Coachman’s House complex.
- The Bridges of Maudslay State Park, Saturday May 11, 3pm - 4:30pm. Hosted by Park Interpreter Donna Sudak. See the stone bridges of the former estate of the Moseley family. Learn how the bridges served to beautify the estate and provide routes for their carriages and walks. Learn about the history of their construction and how they are being preserved today. Tour ends with the viewing of the Gardener’s Stone Office near the formal gardens. For all ages. Rain or shine, pouring rain cancels. Meet at the Visitors Center. Walk is approximately one mile, moderate difficulty.
- Doors Open – Gardener’s Office at Greenhouse Complex, Saturday May 11, 4:30-5:30pm
- Doors Open: Maudslay Farmhouse, Saturday, May 18th 2-4pm. This early 19th century farmhouse has been preserved and maintained through DCR’s Historic Curatorship Program, where some of the DCR’s unused but significant historic buildings are rehabilitated, reused and maintained by an outside party in return for a long term lease. The Curators will be available for questions about the history of this unique preservation project. House is located across Hoyt’s Lane from the main parking lot. Rain or shine. Please RSVP to HCP.Requests@state.ma.us.
Middlesex Fells Reservation, Wright’s Tower, South Border Road (Bellevue Pond entrance), Medford, 617-727-5380
- Heydays of Haywardville, May 18th 12-1:30pm. Hosted by: Ellen Berkland, DCR Archaeologist. Enjoy an illustrated walking tour of the former mill-town of Haywardville. In 1858 Nathaniel Hayward bought 20 acres of the property and operated a rubber mill, expanding the complex to 10 buildings visible today as foundations. Walk is on fairly rugged, hilly terrain. Meet in parking lot adjacent to the caretaker house at corner of Pond Street and Woodland Road. Older children and adults. Bring appropriate footwear, water and bug spray.
- Doors Open - Wright’s Tower is open weekends in May 10am-5pm. Wright’s Tower was built by the Works Progress Administration in 1937 and named in memory of Elizur Wright, who owned an estate in the vicinity of Pine Hill in the late 1800s and was an early advocate for the preservation of the Fells. DCR completed a restoration of the tower in 2008 and installed a bronze plaque honoring Wright inside. Park at Bellevue Pond on South Border Road off Roosevelt Circle (Exit 33) on Rt. 93. Round trip hike is less than a mile.
Borderland State Park, 259 Massapoag Avenue, North Easton, 508/238-6566. There is a $2.00 per car parking fee.
The historic estate of Oakes and Blanche Ames features farmlands, ponds, and a stone Mansion and designed gardens. The Ames Mansion and Rock Garden are currently undergoing extensive preservation efforts.
- Garden Tour: Restoration in Process - Ames Mansion and Rock Garden Preserved. Sunday May 5th, 1-2pm. Come along on a guided walk around the Ames Mansion Estate with a DCR Preservation Planner and Interpretive staff. They will share the story of this preservation work as well as some of the interesting history of the Ames Family and Borderland State Park. Refreshments will be served after the program. Meet in front of the Ames Mansion. Program is best suited for adults. Rain or shine.
- Doors Open – Ames Mansion Tour. Sunday May 19th, 1-3pm. Explore the history of the Ames Mansion while supporting the Friends of Borderland State Park! Join volunteer guides as they conduct tours of the stately home of Oakes and Blanche Ames. See the ornate two-story library, the dining room, and the family room, and more! Tours run about every 20 minutes. Meet in front of the mansion. For adults and older children. Optional donation requested by The Friends of Borderland State Park.
- Doors Open – Wilbur Farmhouse May 5th, 12-2pm. Visit the Wilbur Farmhouse and hear about the exciting project to preserve the 18th century farmhouse through DCR's Historic Curatorship Program. Curator will be on site to answer questions while visitors explore the property. Gather at the house at 12 and 1 for a 15 minute overview of the history of the house, planned rehabilitation and the innovative Curatorship program. Certain areas inside the house are construction sites and will not be accessible. Adults and older children. Cancelled in the event of heavy rain.
Dighton Rock State Park, Bay View Avenue, Berkley (call Freetown Fall River State Forest at 508-644-5522)
An 11-foot-high "glacial erratic" boulder known as Dighton Rock once rested on the shore of the Taunton River adjacent to this park. Covered with petroglyphs, carved designs of ancient and uncertain origin, the rock is now installed in a small museum. The museum exhibits several explanations of the carvings, which range from Portuguese explorers to Native Americans. Visit the museum to learn more about this fascinating Story in Stone. Co-sponsored by DCR and the Friends of Dighton Rock Museum. For all ages. Rain or shine.
- Doors Open - Dighton Rock Museum is open Sunday, May 12th,1-3pm
Ellisville Harbor State Park, Rte 3A, Plymouth 508-866-2580
- Doors Open - Harlow Farmhouse, Saturday May 11th 12-2pm. This Colonial Revival residence is built on the foundation of a 17th century tavern, and is the last reminder of Ellisville's active farming and harbor community. The house is now preserved and maintained through DCR’s Historic Curatorship Program. Curators will be on site to answer questions about the history of this unique preservation partnership project. Rain or shine. Please RSVP to HCP.Requests@state.ma.us or 617-626-1361.
Myles Standish Monument State Reservation, Crescent St., Duxbury (call Pilgrim Memorial State Park 508-747-5360)
High atop Captain’s Hill, 200 feet above sea level, stands the Myles Standish Monument. This 116-foot granite shaft is crowned by a 14-foot statue of Captain Myles Standish, military leader of Plymouth Colony. Myles Standish Monument will be open for visitors to climb and explore; staff will be on hand to share information about Captain Myles Standish and the monument. Take the 125 step journey to the top and enjoy a panoramic scenic vista of the Cape and Southeastern Massachusetts. All ages. Rain or shine; lightning will cancel.
- Doors Open – Myles Standish Monument is open May 26th, 10am-2pm
National Monument to the Forefathers, Allerton Street, Plymouth 508-747-5360.
- Forefathers History Walk, Saturday May 18th, 3-4pm. DCR's monumental sculpture, the National Monument to the Forefathers is a monumental preservation challenge. The 81-foot tall granite work was designed by Boston architect Hammatt Billings and constructed between 1859 and 1889. The central figure is Faith, surrounded by Liberty, Law, Morality and Education. Learn about the sculpture's history and the challenges of preserving public art and commemorative landscapes.
Plymouth Rock, Pilgrim Memorial State Park, Water Street, Plymouth 508-747-5360
- Plymouth Rock Preserved, Saturday May 18th, 10-10:30am and 2-2:30pm. The Massachusetts landscape is dotted with symbolic stones, but none are as famous as Plymouth Rock. Nearly one million people a year come from all over the world to visit the town where in 1620 Europeans first made a home in New England and to see Plymouth Rock. This simple glacial erratic boulder on the shore of Plymouth Harbor has become a world famous symbol of the courage and faith of the men and women who founded the first New England colony. Join us at the Plymouth Waterfront to learn about the fascinating history of Plymouth Rock, Pilgrim Memorial State Park, and the Pilgrims as well as learn about DCR’s preservation efforts. Meet at the kiosk between the restroom building and the Mayflower II. All ages. Rain or shine.
Blackstone River and Canal Heritage State Park, River Bend Farm, 287 Oak Street, Uxbridge 508-278-7604
The Blackstone Canal was used from 1828-1848 to transport agricultural products and manufactured goods between emerging industrial centers in Rhode Island and Massachusetts. Walk along restored sections of the Blackstone River Canal and Towpath. Visit the "Following the Plough" exhibits located in a restored barn.
- Visitor Center Following the Plough self-guided exhibits are open daily 10am-4pm.
- Canal and Towpath Walk, Sunday May 12, 2012 1:00-2:15pm - Meet at the Visitors Center for a two mile long walk along the historic towpath, learning about the canal and the transformation of the agricultural landscape featuring control gates set in stone dam, two stone arch bridges, some stone walls, early stone quarry site and remnants of a stone lock, one of 48 such structures used to lift and lower canal barges along their 45 mile route. All ages are welcome on this easy walk. Rain cancels.
Dinosaur Footprints Reservation, Route 5 (Northampton Road), Holyoke, 413-584-6788
Dinosaur Footprints Reservation is on Route 5 in Holyoke, approximately 2 miles north of Interstate 91 northbound Exit 17A and approximately 5.5 miles south of Interstate 91 Exit 18. Look for the small pull-off parking area and the informational kiosk. Site is owned by Trustees of Reservations and maintained by the Department of Conservation and Recreation.
- Dinosaur Footprints: Preserving the Pre-Historic and Discerning their Story, Saturday May 4th 9-10am - Walk where dinosaurs once roamed. How were their footprints preserved in rock? What do we learn from studying their tracks? Suitable for age 6 and up. Meet in the parking lot. Rain or shine, severe weather cancels.
Moore State Park, One Sawmill Road, Paxton, 508-792-3969.
Moore was the site of grist and saw mills from 1747 through the early part of the 20th century when it was adapted into a private estate. What remains today is the best of both: stone mill foundations, a restored sawmill amid rhododendron, azalea and mountain laurel.
- Moore’s 18th Century Mill Village, Sunday May 5th 3-4:30pm. Now known for its flowering rhododendrons and azaleas, Moore State Park began its existence as the center of commerce in Paxton, a flourishing mill village that operated for over 180 years. The idle land was then transformed into a country estate, and later a park. Stroll through the landscape and “time-travel” to the mid18th century and beyond, where the stone features and remnant foundations still stand to help reveal stories. You can even see the ledge that was quarried to create the stone features here! This 1.5 hour program is suitable for all ages and will include moderate walking on trails with varying elevations. Wear comfortable walking shoes, dress for the weather and bring water, bug spray. Park open dawn to dusk. Contact for the guided walk: 508-769-7011
- Self Guided Stroll Daily dawn to dusk. – Enjoy the historic landscape of Moore State Park at your own pace. Take a short walk on the Healthy Heart Trail, past an American chestnut research orchard, and through the largest collection of rhododendrons and azaleas in New England. See the evidence of the park’s history as an agriculture-based, rural mill village, and a 1930s country estate. Taking in views of dramatic stone work, 94 feet of waterfalls and cascades and a covered bridge, it is easy to see why the former owners called this place “Enchanta.” Wear comfortable shoes, bring water, insect repellant. Don’t forget your camera, it’s bloom time!
Purgatory Chasm State Park 198 Purgatory Rd., Visitor Services 508-234-9610. Park phone 508-234-2733
A unique natural landmark, Purgatory Chasm runs for a quarter of a mile between granite walls rising as high as 70 feet. The Chasm is believed to have its origin in the sudden release of dammed-up glacial meltwater near the end of the last Ice Age, approximately 14,000 years ago. Created in 1919, Purgatory Chasm features a stone picnic pavilion and other stone features dating back to the 1920s. Trails lead to a wide variety of rock formations.
- Mystery to History Stroll, Saturday May 4th 1-2pm. Purgatory Chasm became a state reservation in 1919 to preserve the scenic beauty of this unique landmark. Get an introduction to this park as we take an easy stroll to historical structures and natural features and unravel some of the mystery surrounding Purgatory Chasm. Find out the purpose of the romantic, naturalistic style stone buildings, and consider the formation of fantastic geological features. Meet at the Visitor Center. Walk is 1/4 mile on paved/packed surface with some inclines. Visitors are encouraged to enjoy the picnic areas or try a more adventurous trail after learning to decipher this park's stories in stone. Sturdy footwear recommended. All ages welcome.
- The Life of a Rock, May 19th 1-2:30pm Stone tool making is the oldest craft in the world. Come learn about how this technology has evolved over time, from the earliest days of human habitation to the present. Presented by the DCR Educator and Archaeologist. Suitable for all ages. Meet at the Visitor Center.
Upton State Forest, 189 Westboro Road, Upton, 508-278-6486.
- Preserving the Architecture of the CCC Camp, May 14th 3-4pm. The Administration Building at Upton is one of only two surviving buildings from the Civilian Conservation Corps camp that once served Upton. DCR is stabilizing the foundation and restoring the CCC era framing of the building. The project presents a unique preservation challenge: how to provide for the long term stabilization of a building that was built to be dismantled in a few years, all while retaining the historic appearance of a temporary building. Program will describe the plan, update the progress, and if possible take a look inside. Rain or shine. Please RSVP to email@example.com or 617-626-1361 - appropriate for adults and older children.
Wachusett Mountain State Reservation, 345 Mountain Road, Princeton, 978 464-2987
- Summit Tour, Saturday, May 25th 1:15-2:45pm. At 2,006 feet, Wachusett Mountain is the tallest peak in Massachusetts east of the Connecticut River. This tour of the summit area will introduce visitors to the history of the mountain, including its formation, literary history, and 100-year history of the summit houses, with a focus on the historic stone features built by the Civilian Conservation Corps and Works Progress Administration. All ages welcome. The tour is an easy walk around the summit, but there is some uneven footing and one short, gradual, incline at the beginning. Meet at the summit pool. Severe weather cancels. The program is free, but there is a small fee to drive to the summit.
Kenneth Dubuque Memorial State Forest, Parking available behind Hawley Fire Station, 16 Plainfield Road, Hawley, MA. Contact Alec Gillman at Mount Greylock State Reservation,
- Stories in Stone: Hawley charcoal kiln and ghost town hike Saturday, May 18th, 10am – 1:30pm. Join DCR staff and explore fantastic stone structure remnants in the wilds of Dubuque State Forest, once a vibrant agricultural community, now remote and reverted to hardwood forest. Stonewalls, cellar holes, mill sites and an impressive beehive-shaped stone charcoal kiln are visible reminders of past human occupation. Meet with DCR Management Forester, Nick Anzuoni, on the historical effects of the charcoal industry on the forests and the long-term effects since agricultural use. Program has options to visit the kiln and take a short walk, or to go for a longer 5-mile moderate hike along former town roads with gradual slope to visit additional historic sites. Bring a lunch, snack, dress appropriately for weather conditions and wear sturdy walking shoes. Rain or shine, severe weather cancels. Appropriate for all ages.
Beartown State Forest, 69 Blue Hill Rd., Monterey. For information call (413) 528-0904
- Doors Open – Sat. May 18th, 2-4pm. Come learn about the history of Swann Lodge and the efforts of its Curators Youth Enrichment Services who’ve preserved the building while serving MA youth by introducing them to the beauty of nature.
Mount Tom State Reservation, 125 Reservation Road, Holyoke, 413-584-6788. $2 vehicle entrance fee. Mt. Tom boasts an unparalleled view of the Connecticut Valley north and south, the Berkshire mountains to the west and the Pelham hills to the east.
- Mt. Tom Rocks: Bedrock, Rock Quarry, Stone Structures Sunday May 26th 3-5:15pm. Stone is the very essence of Mount Tom State Reservation, forming the park's soaring landscape. See old quarries, examine a variety of structures, including the ruins of the Eyrie House, a 19th Century mountaintop resort, and the Stone House Visitor Center, built in the 1930's with the help of the Civilian Conservation Corps. Meet at the Stone House Visitor Center, 77 Christopher Clark Road. Walk is approximately three miles round trip along a steady, gentle hill (uphill going out). We retrace our steps for the return journey. The Eyrie House ruins themselves are a short, rocky scramble. It's well worth the effort, and we will walk at an easy pace. Wear sturdy shoes, bring water if the day is hot and bug spray if you are bothered by mosquitoes. All are welcome, but program is geared toward older children and adults. Rain or shine, severe weather cancels.
Natural Bridge State Park, McCauley Road, off Rte. 8, North Adams, (413) 663-6392 (Off-season: 413-499-4262 Mt. Greylock)
Discover a geologic wonder at this 48 acre park. Examine the only naturally formed white marble arch and man-made white marble dam in North America, and walk through an abandoned marble quarry. The "natural bridge" for which the park is named, according to geologists, is 550 million year old bedrock marble, carved into an arch by the force of glacial melt water over 13,000 years ago; one of the best places in New England to demonstrate the effects of glaciation. The bridge spans rushing Hudson Brook as it twists and tumbles through a steep 60-foot deep gorge. The site was an active commercial quarry from 1810 to 1947, producing coarse-grained white marble used in local buildings and cemeteries. From 1950 to 1983 it was a privately-owned and popular roadside tourist attraction off the Mohawk Trail. Natural Bridge became a state park in 1985, to preserve its unique geologic features. There is a 0.25 mile walkway above and through the chasm, and a 0.5 mile wooded walking trail. The park is open dawn to dusk Memorial Day – Columbus Day. Parking fee is $2.
Mount Greylock State Reservation, Visitor Center, 30 Rockwell Road, Lanesboro
Visitors can drive or hike to the summit of Mount Greylock, site of the Commonwealth’s official War Memorial Tower. The 90 foot tall tower is made of blocks of Quincy granite and provides 360 views from its observation deck. Roads open on May 18th, and the Tower is open 9am-5pm on weekends and Memorial Day.
- Doors Open – Greylock War Memorial Tower, open weekends after May 18th 9am-5pm, and on May 27th 9am for Memorial Day Observances by Adams American Legion Post 160.
DCR's Division of Water Supply Protection
Wachusett Reservoir, 978-365-3800
The 4,135-acre reservoir was built between 1897-1908 by damming the South Branch of the Nashua River. Water was sent via an aqueduct to the Weston reservoir. It now receives some of its water from Quabbin Reservoir and still supplies the Boston area. DCR’s mamangement of the watershed has included the preservation of many historic properties.
- Old Stone Church Beaman and Sterling Streets, West Boylston. Built in 1892 by the Baptist Society, the Old Stone Church sits on the shores of Wachusett Reservoir. The church stands today as a monument to the Town of West Boylston which was partially displaced during the Reservoir construction. The church is open daily dawn to dusk, parking roadside.
- Springdale Mill, Mass Central Rail Trail (Route 140), West Boylston Foundation & partial walls of an18th Century Woolen Mill built of granite along with the dam and other building foundations can be viewed while learning about the early wool making process. Open daily dawn to dusk.
- Stonewalls of Wachusett Reservoir May 5th 10am-12pm - Explore the stonewalls of the Wachusett area and learn what their design tells us about their function. Meet at 228 Redemption Rock Road, Sterling. Walk is appropriate for teenagers and adults. Short, easy walk at 2 locations. Bathroom facilities at Stillwater Farm. Rain or Shine, but heavy rain cancels.
- Doors Open- Clinton Dam, May 11th 2-5pm - Walkway across dam will be open for the public to enjoy the view of Wachusett Reservoir. The landscape around the dam is open daily. No bathroom facilities.
- Interpretive Talk at the Old Stone Church, Saturday May 25th 2-3pm. Join DCR’s Wachusett Rangers to learn about the history of Wachusett Reservoir. Program will include the history of the Church. All ages, Rain or shine.
Quabbin Reservoir, Quabbin Visitor Center, 485 Ware Road (Rte. 9) Belchertown. 413-323-7221.
Quabbin Reservoir is one of the largest man-made public water supplies in the United States. It was created in the 1930s by the construction of two huge earthen dams on the Swift River, flooding the four towns Enfield, Dana, Greenwich and Prescott. In 1933 burials from 34 cemeteries in the four abandoned towns were moved to the Quabbin Park Cemetery. Memorial Day weekend services honor servicemen and women, specifically recognizing the sacrifices made by Swift River valley residents and the disincorporation of the four valley towns.
- Guided Tour along Webster Road Trail, May 11th 10-11am. Hidden in the Quabbin Forest are clues to life in the four drowned towns.
- Presentation - Quabbin Reservoir History in Photographs, Sunday, May 26th 2-3pm. During the construction of the Quabbin Reservoir, photographers were hired by the state to document the destruction of the Swift River Valley and the creation of the reservoir. Compare the historic images with contemporary views taken from the same spot as the originals over 75 years ago.
- Quabbin Park Cemetery Memorial Day Service, Sunday May 26th 10am-12pm. Please join us for our annual Memorial Day services with a special remembrance of the former towns of the Swift River Valley that were disincorporated when the Quabbin Reservoir was built. The Quabbin Park Cemetery is located off Route 9 between Belchertown and Ware. Guests are encouraged to bring lawn chairs as seating is not available on-site.