Ricciuti Drive, West Quincy (617) 727-4573 or (617) 698-1802
open dawn to dusk
It was here in West Quincy that America's large
scale granite quarrying industry was born in 1825 when, after an
exhaustive search throughout New England, Solomon Willard selected
the area as the source of stone for the Bunker Hill Monument in
Charlestown. With his development of the revolutionary construction
techniques that made hard Quincy granite a practical building stone,
Willard earned the title "Father of the Granite Industry". The Granite
Railway, a Civil Engineering Landmark, was established in 1826.
It was designed and constructed by railway pioneer Gridley Bryant,
and many of his inventions are still in use today. Quincy became
known nationwide as "The Granite City". The last active quarry closed
in 1963; in 1985, the then Metropolitan District Commission purchased
22 acres including Granite Railway Quarry. Trail connections to
the Blue Hills Reservation are protected by recent parkland purchases.
DCR Park Rangers offer programs year-round which highlight the rich
history and natural resources of this unique area.
MBTA: Red Line to Quincy Center, take MBTA bus
#215 to Copeland and Willard Streets, turn left on Willard, cross
under the Expressway and take the first right onto Ricciuti Drive.
Quarries are 1/4 mile on the right.
By Car: Route 93 (Southwest Expressway) to Furnace Brook
Parkway (Exit 8) follow signs to Willard Street and cross under
Route 93. Take the first right onto Ricciuti Drive at Men's Wearhouse and Tux. Quarries
are 1/4 mile on the right.