Now Available: Request for Proposals
Charles River Speedway Headquarters Building
The Department of Conservation and Recreation’s (DCR) Historic Curatorship Program is seeking proposals from parties interested in the opportunity to rehabilitate, reuse and maintain the 1899 Charles River Reservation Speedway Administration Building. Through DCR’s Historic Curatorship Program, outside parties rehabilitate, reuse and maintain a historic property in return for a long-term lease. This is a unique opportunity to write the next chapter in the long and rich history of this significant treasure.
Curators are selected through an open and competitive process and proposed reuses must be compatible with the historic and natural character of the Charles River Reservation and surrounding neighborhood. Proposals are evaluated according to the experience of the applicant, the quality of the reuse plan, proof of sufficient resources to undertake the project, and level of public benefit beyond providing biannual public access.
Click here for a PDF version of the RFP
B. Sec. of the Interior’s Standards for Historic Rehabilitation
C. Historic Curatorship Program Enabling Legislation
D. Maintenance Standards
E. Rehabilitation Cost Estimates
F. Fair Market Rent Determination
G. Floor Plans
H. 2001 Wallace Floyd Report
I. 2006 Goody Clancy Historic Structures Report
J. Clark+ Green 2011 Conditions Assessment
K. National Register Nomination
L. Blc Study Report
M. Historic Plans (1904+1924)
N. Tax Credit Information
Responses to the RFP are due on July 8, 2013 by 3 p.m.
Two Open Houses are tentatively scheduled for Saturday, May 18, 10am-2pm & Wednesday, May 29, 3-6pm. The section of the building currently occupied by the Department of Fish and Game (Building G) will only be accessible during the May 29th Open House. Preregistration is required for the open houses: Call 617-626-1361 or send an email to HCP.Requests@state.ma.us.
NOTICE REGARDING OPEN HOUSES:
The 1940s concrete garage (Building B) will only be accessible on the Saturday, May 18th open house from 11am – 1pm. It will also be accessible for the entire 3-6pm period during the Wednesday, May 29th Open House. Because some of the building interiors are in poor condition, attendees will be required to sign a liability waiver before investigating the building interiors.
Built in 1899, the Speedway building is a living reminder of the origins of America’s urban park movement. The building was built to serve the adjacent Speedway - a harness track and pedestrian promenade – and has adapted to evolving agency functions while retaining its original architectural integrity. Despite its architectural and historic significance, this century-plus old facility from a more graceful age is no longer suitable for the maintenance needs of a modern parks agency without altering it or destroying the character which makes it special. DCR believes the Historic Curatorship Program model provides the mechanism to discover a dynamic and creative partner with a vision for this unique landmark and find a mutually beneficial solution that will allow the people of Massachusetts to appreciate and enjoy the building for generations to come.
To request hard copies of the documents:
Historic Curatorship Program
Department of Conservation and Recreation
7th floor, 251 Causeway St., Boston, MA 02114
THIS RFP RELEASE MAY BE FOLLOWED BY THE RELEASE OF ADDITIONAL MATERIAL THAT MAY HAVE BECOME AVAILABLE FOLLOWING THE RELEASE DATE AND MAY PROVIDE IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO PROPOSERS. ANY ADDENDA WILL BE AVAILABLE AT THE PROGRAM WEBSITE AND BY REQUEST.
If you would like to be notified directly of any potential addenda, please send your contact information to the Program Manager at HCP.Requests@state.ma.us, or 251 Causeway St., Suite 700, Boston, MA 02114.