An unclassified exporter is a person who exports or causes to export, gasoline, outside the Commonwealth. In order to become an exporter, a person must be duly licensed in another state. The gasoline exported shall be purchased on a tax free basis. All other gasoline purchased within the Commonwealth shall include the state excise tax.
An unclassified importer is a person who imports or causes to be imported gasoline for use or sale within the Commonwealth. The tax is due on the total number of gallons imported. The gasoline purchased within the Commonwealth shall include the state excise tax.
Applications for Licenses: Distributors, importers and exporters of gasoline in Massachusetts must file with the Department a Gasoline License Application (Form GT-1). There is a $100 fee for all licenses. Licenses must be renewed each year by January 1 st . Effective January 1, 2012, distributors, importers and exporters of gasoline are no longer required to furnish a bond with the Gasoline License Application. All returns must be filed and outstanding taxes must be paid before a license as a distributor, importer or exporter will be granted or renewed.
Filing Requirements: Distributors, importers and exporters of gasoline in Massachusetts must file a Gasoline Tax Return, Form GT-456. Returns must be filed on or before the 20th day of each month for purchases and sales in the previous month. Returns must be filed even if no tax is due. Taxpayers licensed as both an unclassified importer and an unclassified exporter should report all activity on one return.
Payment: Distributors and importers with total annual payments in excess of $10,000 must make payments monthly via electronic funds transfer (EFT). Failure to make electronic payments may result in a penalty under G.L. c. 62C, § 33(g). For those not required to make electronic payments, the payment must be included with the monthly return. The check or money order for the exact amount should be made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Rate of Tax: As of July 31, 2013, the rate of tax is $.24 per gallon. For aviation fuel the rate is 7.5% of the average price, as determined by the Commissioner for each calendar quarter, computed to the nearest 10th of a cent per gallon; the minimum tax is $.10/gallon. All licensees filing aviation gasoline returns will be notified of the rate approximately four (4) weeks before the beginning of the calendar quarter. The current aviation gasoline tax rate is also published on the DOR website ( www.mass.gov/dor) in the Fuels Excise Information section.
Exemptions: The following sales or uses are either exempt from tax or may entitle the purchaser to a refund: (1) sales to the federal government; (2) sales in foreign or interstate commerce, except where permitted under the Constitution and laws of the United States; (3) sales to foreign embassies; (4) sales by one licensed distributor to another or to a person duly licensed in another state (under certain restrictions); (5) sales to regional transportation authorities and certain authorities including MWRA, MBTA and MASSPORT; (6) sales of gasoline for propelling any vehicle on a turnpike constructed by the Massachusetts Turnpike Authority; (7) sales of gasoline for off‑highway use; and (8) sales of gasoline for farm purposes. In certain instances, sales or use tax may nonetheless apply.
Interest and Penalties: If returns are not properly filed, interest and penalties may be assessed. As of January 1, 1993, the Massachusetts interest rate is based on the federal short‑term rate plus four percentage points, compounded daily. G.L. c. 62C, § 32, as amended. For more information on calculation of interest, see 830 CMR 62C.33.1, TIR 92-6 and the quarterly TIR that updates interest rates. The penalty for late filing is 1%/month or fraction thereof, not to exceed 25% of the amount due; and the penalty for late payment is 1%/month for each month or fraction thereof, not to exceed 25% of the amount due.
See TIR 99-18 regarding waiver of G.L. c. 62C, § 33(c) late‑pay penalties and suspension or involuntary collection activities under G.L. c. 62C, § 32(e) when the taxpayer disputes the assessment (or any portion thereof) administratively within DOR or with the Appellate Tax Board or Probate Court.
Extensions of Time to File: For good cause, the Commissioner may grant a reasonable extension of time for filing a return. Requests must be in writing to the address given below. However, failure to pay 80% of the tax required to be paid on or before the due date for payment of tax will void any extension of time to file and the return will be subject to penalty as a late return. See 830 CMR 62C.19.1.
Amended Returns: No special form is required to amend a return. Write "amended" on the appropriate form.
Refunds: Users of gasoline may submit refund applications.
Use the following forms to apply for gasoline refunds:
GT-9, Gasoline Refund Application
GT-9A, Gasoline Refund Application for Those Engaged in Farming
GT-9M, Gasoline Refund Application - Watercraft Use
GT-9T, Gasoline Refund Application for Massachusetts Turnpike Use
Motor carrier (IFTA)*
IFTA-100, IFTA Quarterly Fuel Use Tax Return*
* A motor carrier licensed under the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) applies for a gasoline tax refund for gasoline consumed on the Massachusetts Turnpike on its IFTA-100, IFTA Quarterly Fuel Use Tax Return. Massachusetts Turnpike miles are included in the total IFTA miles, but are excluded from the Massachusetts taxable miles. An IFTA motor carrier claiming this exemption must file a Business Use Tax Return (Form ST-10) and pay the 6.25% use tax on the fuel consumed in exempt travel on the Massachusetts Turnpike.
All refund claims must be filed within two years of the date of purchase except:
(1) farm: Form GT-9A must be filed on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month following the close of the taxable year of the purchase;
(2) watercraft: Form GT-9M must be filed within 6 months of the purchase or invoice.
No refund may be claimed for gasoline or special fuel for which Massachusetts fuels excise was not paid.
Abatements: Licensees may apply for abatements on Form CA-6, handled by the Customer Service Bureau.
Changing Information or Status: All changes must be submitted in writing by the taxpayer to the address given below.
For more information, contact:
Massachusetts Department of Revenue
Excises Unit, Gasoline Tax Section
P.O. Box 7012
Boston, MA 02204
G.L. c. 62C, §§ 32, 32(e), 33(c), 33(g)
830 CMR 62C19.1
830 CMR 62C.33.1
Form CA-6, Application for Abatement - Amended Return
Form GT-1, Gasoline License Application
Form GT-9, Gasoline Refund Application
Form GT-9A, Gasoline Refund Application for Those Engaged in Farming
Form GT-9M, Gasoline Refund Application - Watercraft Use
Form GT-9T, Gasoline Refund Application for Massachusetts Turnpike Use
Form GT-456, Gasoline Tax Return
Form ST-10, Business Use Tax Return
IFTA-100, IFTA Quarterly Fuel Use Tax Return
People also viewed...
You recently viewed...
Personalization is OFF. Your personal browsing history at Mass.gov is not visible because your personalization is turned off. To view your history, turn your personalization on.
Learn more on our .
*Recommendations are based on site visitor traffic patterns and are not endorsements of that content.