
Motor Vehicle & Trailer Excise

The Assessment Process

Motor Vehicles Subject to Excise
Pursuant to Ch. 60A of the Massachusetts General Laws, every motor vehicle and trailer
registered in the Commonwealth is subject to the motor vehicle excise unless expressly
exempted.

Definition of “Motor Vehicle”
The term “motor vehicles” is defined in Ch. 90 §1. The statute broadly defines motor
vehicles as “all vehicles constructed and designed for propulsion by power other than
muscular power including such vehicles when pulled or towed by another motor vehicle.”
The statute, however, proceeds to limit this definition by excluding the following:
• trains and trolleys, including trackless trolleys.
• vehicles used for other purposes than transportation of property and incapable of

being driven at a speed exceeding 12 miles per hour and
1. used exclusively for the building, repair and maintenance of highways or
2. designed especially for use elsewhere than on the traveled part of ways.

• wheelchairs owned and operated by invalids and operated or guided by a person on
foot.

• motorized bicycles.

Basis of the Excise Assessment
The motor vehicle excise is imposed for the privilege of registering a motor vehicle.
Registering a motor vehicle automatically triggers the assessment of the excise.

Period of Assessment
Motor vehicle registrations are issued for either one or two years. The following
registrations are issued for one year:

1. Vanity plates.
2. Section 5 plates. (Section 5 plates are those registration plates authorized by

Ch. 90 §5 and which may be issued to automobile manufacturers, dealers,
repairmen, farmers, owner-contractors, transporters and harvesters of forest
products. See definitions Ch. 90 §1.)

3. Commercial registrations for vehicles of 6,000 pounds or more.
All other plates and registrations are issued for two years.

Calendar Year Basis
Vanity plates and registrations for commercial vehicles of 6,000 pounds or more are
issued on a calendar year basis. Black’s Law Dictionary, Fourth Edition, defines calendar
year, “The period from January 1 to December 31, inclusive.” Therefore, a vanity plate
first effective on November 15th of some year will expire on the following December 31.
Section 5 plates are issued for one-year terms on a staggered basis, as follows:



Owner-contractor and transporter -- July 1 through June 30
Farm -- October 1 through September 30
Repair -- January 1 through December 31
Dealer -- April 1 through March 31

All other registration periods are staggered for two-year terms. For example, the
registration of a passenger vehicle registered on March 3 of some particular year will
expire on the last day of February of the second following year.

Registration Requirements Of (1) Non-Residents And (2) Owners Who
Acquire A Regular Place Of Business Or Abode In The Commonwealth
A non-resident of Massachusetts may, for a limited period of time, operate within the
Commonwealth a motor vehicle registered in some other state or country, so long as
he/she has complied with the laws relating to operation and registration in the other state
or country. G.L. Ch. 90 §3 limits the duration of such operation to not more than thirty
days in the aggregate in any one year.
Whenever a non-resident owner of a motor vehicle acquires a regular place of abode or
business or employment in Massachusetts, that person must either:
• register that vehicle in Massachusetts within 30 days or
• maintain in full force a policy of liability insurance at least in the amount or limits set

out in Ch. 90 §34A.


