2003

Massachusetts

Form DL-2

Investment Privilege Excise Return Department of
for Domestic Life Insurance Companies Revenue
For calendar year 2003 or taxable year beginning 2003 and ending
Name of company Federal Identification number
> >
Principal business address City/Town State Zip

Name of treasurer

Check applicable investment income tax rate: » [114% [112% [19.6% [17.2% [14.8% [12.4%
Has the federal government changed your taxable income for any prior year which has not yet been reported to Massachusetts? []1Yes [No

Computation of Excise. Atacha copy of Schedule T of NAIC Annual Statement.

Income and excise before credits Use whole dollar method
1 Admitted assets as of December 31, 2003 (from Annual Statement, Pg. 2) . .. ... ..ottt »1
2 Credit recapture (attach Schedule H-2) . . ... ... > 2
3 Massachusetts taxable investment income (from Schedule C, line 9) ........ > $ x applicable rate » 3
4 Excise before credits. A INes2and 3 . . . ... ... 4

Credits
5 Credit if line 1 is less than $240,000,000. Enter $500 for each $1,000,000 (disregard a fraction thereof) that line 1

is below $240,000,000, up to a maximum of $20,000 . . . .. ... ..ottt »5
6 Economic Opportunity Area Credit (attach Schedule EOAC). Do not claim here if claimed on Form DL-1 or Form 176-1 ... » 6
7 Full Employment Credit (attach Schedule FEC). Do not claim here if claimed on Form DL-1 or Form 176- ............. »7
8 Low-Income Housing Credit (attach documentation). Do not claim here if claimed on Form DL-1 or Form 176-1.......... > 8

Excise after credits

9 Investment privilege excise due before voluntary contribution. Subtract total of lines 5 through 8 from line 4. Not less than “0” 9
10 Voluntary contribution for endangered wildlife conservation . .. ............ .. » 10
11 Total excise plus voluntary contribution. Add lines 9and 10. . .......... .. . . . . . i » 11

Payments

12 2002 overpayment applied to 2003 estimatedtax ............ ... .. ... ... »12
13 2003 Massachusetts estimated tax payments (do not include amount from line 12) . ... ...... » 13
14 Payments made with extension .. ......... ... . . » 14
15 Total payments. Add lines 12 through 14 . . . .. .o 15 |

Refund or balance due

16 Amount overpaid. Subtract line 11 fromline 15. . . . . .. . .. e 16 |
17 Amount overpaid to be credited to 2004 estimatedtax . ........... .. .. .. .. ... ... ... » 17

18 Amount overpaid to be refunded. Subtract line 17 fromline 16. . . . . .. .. .. e » 18

19 Balance due. Subtractline 15 from line 11 . . . . .. o e 19

20 M-2220 penalty » $ ; Other penaltes»_ ... ..... Total penalty 20

21 Interestonunpaid balance . . .. .. ... . » 21

22 Total payment due attime of filing. . . . . .. .. » 22

Under the penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return, including attachments, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is
true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which he/she has knowledge.

Signature of appropriate corporate officer (see instructions) Social Security number Telephone number Date
Signature of paid preparer Employer Identification number Address Date
>

If you are signing as an authorized delegate of the appropriate corporate officer, [ ] check here and attach Mass. Form M-2848, Power of Attorney.
The Privacy Act Notice is available upon request. Mail to: Massachusetts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7052, Boston, MA 02204. Make check or
money order payable to: Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Form Code 366 Tax Type 0124



Schedule A. Income Apportionment
1 Massachusetts premiums (from NAIC Annual Statement Schedule T, line 22, cols. 2, 3 and 4).

Exclude premiums (if included) for company employees’ groupplans . ....................... 1
2 Premiums in jurisdictions where no insurance tax is paid (from Schedule T, cols. 2,3and 4) . .. ... 2
3 AdAlINEs 1aNA 2. . . . . .o 3
4 Total premiums (from Schedule T, line 94, cols. 2, 3 and 4). Exclude premiums (if included) for
company employees’ group PlANS . . . . . ..ottt i e e 4
5 Adjustments to total premiums (from Schedule T, cols. 3, 4 and 5)
a Dividends to purchase paid-up additions and annuities (fromline91) ..................... 5a
b Dividends to shorten endowment or premium paying period (fromline92) . ................ 5b
¢ Considerations waived under contract provisions (fromline 93) .............. ... ... ..... 5c
d Addlines 5a through 5¢C . . . . . ... . 5d
6 Adjusted total premiums. Subtract line 5 from line 4 . . . .. .. . 6
7 Massachusetts premium apportionment percentage. Divide line 3by line 6 ................ $ x9=7 %
8 Massachusetts wages, salaries, commissions and other remuneration. . .. ... .. .. . i 8
9 Total wages, salaries, commissions and other remuneration. . . . ... ... . 9
10 Massachusetts payroll apportionment percentage. Divide line 8by line 9. .. .. ... .. .. . .. 10 %
11 Total apportionment percentage. Add lines 7and 10 .. .. .. .. ... . 11 %o
12 Massachusetts apportionment percentage. Divide line 11 by 10. . .. .. .. .. e 12 Y%
13 Applicable apportionment percentage (line 12 or .20, whichever is less). Enter here and in Schedule C, line 8. ........... 13 %

Schedule B. Dividends Deduction

Include separate account amounts in each line, if separately stated on Pro Forma 1120L.
1 Total dividends (Pro Forma 1120L, Schedule A, lines 2a through 2e, multiplied by Schedule C, line 3, Pro Forma 1120L) ... .1

2 Dividends from Massachusetts corporate trusts included in line 1 (attach schedule) . ............ 2
3 Dividends from non-wholly-owned DISCs included in line 1 (attach schedule). .. ............... 3
4 Dividends, if less than 15% of voting stock owned, included in line 1:
@ ON COMMON SEOCK . . . .o ot 4a
b Onpreferred StOCK . . . ... .o 4b
5 Total taxable dividends. Add lines 2 through 4. . . . . . ... 5
6 Dividends deduction. Attach schedule showing payers, amounts and percentage of voting stock owned by class of stock.
Subtract line 5 from line 1. Enter here and in Schedule C, N 6. . . . ... .. e 6

Schedule C. Taxable Investment Income
Include separate account amounts in each line, if separately stated on Pro Forma 1120L.

1 Taxable investment income as shown in Schedule C, line 12, Pro Forma 1120L*. . ... ... . ... .. .. 1
2 State and municipal bond interest not included in line 1 (from Schedule C, line 8b, Pro Forma 1120L) .. ................. 2
3 Foreign, state or local income, franchise, excise, capital stock or premium taxes deducted from federal investment income. ... 3
4 Dividends received deduction (from Schedule C, line 9f, Pro Forma 1120L). . ... ... ...ttt e >4
B Addlines 1through 4. . . . . . . 5
6 Dividends deduction (from Schedule B, iN€ B) . . . ... ... ot » 6
7 Income subject to apportionment. Subtract line 6 from line 5 .. .. ... ... . e »7
8 Income apportionment percentage (from Schedule A, line 13) .. ... .. »>8
9 Massachusetts taxable investment income. Multiply line 7by line 8 . .. .. .. ... . 9

%

*Companies to which Section 22D of Chapter 63 of the Massachusetts General Laws applies must attach a reconciliation if the amount shown on this line

differs from Schedule C, line 12, Pro Forma 1120L.




Form DL-2 Instructions

Who Must File Form DL-2?

All domestic life insurance companies, as defined by MGL Ch. 175
(secs. 118 and 47), which are subject to MGL, Ch. 63, sec. 22B and
also Ch. 816 of the Acts of 1977, which conduct any or all of their
business in Massachusetts, must complete and file Form DL-2.

A domestic life insurance company is a company incorporated or
formed in the Commonwealth.

When Must Form DL-2 Be Filed?
Form DL-2 must be filed on or before the 15th day of the third month
after the close of the company’s taxable year.

Can an Insurance Company Obtain an Extension
of Time to File?

Yes. Insurance companies may request a six-month extension of
time to file Form DL-2 by submitting Massachusetts Form 355-7004
Misc. on or before the original due date of the return. Any tax due at
the time for filing Form 355-7004 Misc. must be paid in full.

Note: An extension of time to file is not valid if the company fails to
pay at least 50% of the total tax liability through estimated payments
or with Form 355-7004 Misc.

What Are the Penalties for Late Returns?

Insurance excise returns which are not filed on or before the due date
are subject to interest and penalty charges. The penalty for failure to
pay the total payment due with this form is /2% of the balance due per
month (or fraction thereof), up to a maximum of 25% of the tax
reported as due on the return. A late payment penalty does not apply
to amended returns when the amount shown on the original return
was paid.

The penalty for failure to file a return by the due date is 1% of the bal-
ance due per month (or fraction thereof), up to a maximum of 25%.

Any tax not paid on or before the due date — without regard to the
extension — is subject to interest.

What Is a Valid Return?

A valid return is one upon which all required amounts have been en-
tered for all of the appropriate items on the form. Data sheets, account
forms, or other documents may be attached to explain these amounts.
Referencing items to attachments instead of properly entering all
amounts onto the return is not sufficient. The return must be signed
by either the treasurer or the assistant treasurer of the company.

To be valid, a return must also include the following:

* a copy of Schedule T, Exhibit of Premiums Written from the NAIC An-
nual Statement;

* a Certificate of Contribution from the Life Initiative from those com-
panies claiming a lower rate;

e a copy of Form 3, page 2 of the NAIC Annual Statement; and

* a 2003 Pro Forma 1120L and schedules required to substantiate the
Massachusetts excise must be attached to this return along with an
exact and complete copy of all pages of U.S. Form 1120L as filed.
Domestic life insurance companies must report income for purposes
of the investment privilege excise as if they filed federally under pre-
1984 law. Any return filed without copies of such information attached
is an incomplete return and is subject to assessment penalties.

Reproduction of returns must be approved by the DOR prior to filing
and meet the criteria provided in Technical Information Release 95-8.

Failure to meet any of the requirements detailed in this section may
result in a penalty for filing an insufficient return. Such a penalty may
be assessed at double the amount of the tax due.

When Are Estimated Tax Payments Required?

Any insurance company which reasonably estimates its excise to be
in excess of $1,000 for the taxable year is required to make estimated
tax payments to the Commonwealth. Estimated taxes may be paid
in full on or before the 15th day of the third month of the company’s
taxable year or in four installment payments according to the sched-
ule below. Insurance companies making estimated payments must
use Form 355-ES.

For taxable years ending on or after December 31, 1989, estimated
tax installments are paid as follows:

Pct. of
estimated Due date from start
Instaliment no. tax due of taxable year
1 40% 15th day of 3rd month
2 25% 15th day of 6th month
3 25% 15th day of 9th month
4 10% 15th day of 12th month

Note: New corporations in their first full taxable year with less than
10 employees have different estimated payment percentages — 30%,
25%, 25% and 20% respectively.

Special Optical Character Readable payment vouchers are mailed to
all companies who have made estimated payments or should be
making estimated payments. These special forms are easier to fill out
and facilitate processing.

Insurance companies that underpay, or fail to pay, their estimated
taxes may incur an additional penalty on the amount of the under-
payment for the period of the underpayment. Form M-2220, Under-
payment of Massachusetts Estimated Tax by Corporations, is used to
compute the additional charge.

Any corporation having $1 million or more of federal taxable income in
any of its three preceding taxable years (as defined in Section 6655 (g)
of the IRC) may only use its prior year’s tax liability to calculate its first
quarterly estimated tax payment. Any reduction in the first installment
payment that results from using this method must be added to the sec-
ond installment payment.

A company that claims the exception to the underpayment penalty of
equaling the prior year’s tax liability must provide federal tax re-
turns (front page only) for the three preceding taxable years to verify
that federal taxable income is less than $1 million.

Note: Any insurance company required to file more than one type of
excise return must also file separate estimated payment vouchers
since each type of tax is governed by a different section of the Mass-
achusetts General Laws.

For more information on corporate estimated taxes, refer to MGL,
Ch. 63B.



How Is the Excise Determined?

Every life insurance company that has contributed its full proportion-
ate share to the life initiative for the current taxable year shall annually
pay a reduced rate. The rate is 12% for the first year on or after Janu-
ary 1, 1999, in which it makes the required contribution or 9.6% for the
second year in which it makes the required contribution or 7.2% for
the third year in which it makes the required contribution. The rate is
4.8% in the fourth year in which the company makes the required con-
tribution. If a company does not make the required contribution in any
year, it will continue to be taxed at the rate for the last taxable year in
which it did make the required contribution. The tax rate is 2.4% in the
fifth year in which the company makes the required contribution. The
tax rate is 14% if a company has not made the required contribution
during 1999 through 2003. A Certificate of Contribution issued by the
Life Insurance Company Initiative must accompany the return if claim-
ing the lower rate.

Are Combined Returns Allowed?
No. Domestic insurance companies are not allowed to participate in
filing combined returns.

Line Instructions

Registration Information

Enter the company’s federal identification number in the box next to
the name and address of the company.

Federal Audit

If your corporation has undergone a federal audit for some prior year,
you must report any changes to Massachusetts on Form CA-6, Appli-
cation for Abatement/Amended Return. You must report any federal
audit changes within three months after the final determination by the
IRS of the correct taxable income. Otherwise, you will be subject to a
penalty. Answering “yes” to this question does not release the corpo-
ration from this filing obligation.

Apportionment

Massachusetts income apportionment is based on two factors: the
premium factor and the payroll factor. The premium apportionment
percentage and the payroll apportionment percentage are combined
and divided by 10 to arrive at the Massachusetts apportionment per-
centage. The apportionment percentage cannot exceed 20%.

The numerator of the premium factor is the sum of life insurance
premiums, annuity considerations and accident and health premiums
received during the taxable year with respect to direct business in the
Commonwealth. Premiums and annuities in jurisdictions where no
taxes are paid must be included in the numerator. Premiums for com-
panies’ employee group plans are excludable from the numerator of
the premium factor if they were included on Schedule T of the NAIC
annual statement.

The denominator of the premium factor is the total of all life in-
surance premiums, annuity considerations and accident and health
premiums received during the taxable year, excluding: dividends to
purchase paid-up additions; dividends to shorten premium paying
period; and considerations waived under contract provisions. Pre-
miums for company employees’ group plans are also excluded from
the denominator.

The numerator of the payroll factor equals all compensations paid
in Massachusetts during the taxable year. Compensation is defined
as wages, salaries, commissions and other remuneration, whether or
not paid to employees of the insurer.

The denominator of the payroll factor equals the total amount of
compensation paid both inside and outside Massachusetts.

Dividends Deduction

A deduction is provided for dividends reported on Pro Forma 1120L,
Schedule A, lines 2a through 2e, multiplied by the company’s share,
excluding: dividends from Massachusetts corporate trusts; dividends
from non-wholly owned DISCs; and dividends less than 15% of vot-
ing stock, if included in Schedule A of Pro Forma 1120L.

Credits Against Excise

Domestic life insurance companies with admitted assets of less than
$240 million are allowed a credit of $500 for each $1 million below
$240 million up to a maximum of $20 thousand.

Domestic life insurance companies can claim the Economic Opportu-
nity Area credit by entering the amount from Schedule EOAC, line 9 on
this form. Attach a completed Schedule EOAC to this return. For more
information, contact the Massachusetts Office of Business Develop-
ment at One Ashburton Place, Room 2101, Boston, MA 02108.

Enter the amount of any Low-Income Housing Credit being claimed
in line 8. Enclose documetation supporting the credit. For further infor-
mation on this credit, contact the DHDC, Division of Private Housing,
at (617) 727-7827.

If the corporation is required to recapture any amount of previously
claimed EOAC or Low-Income Housing Credit, complete Schedule
H-2 and enter the result in line 2 of the return.

Full Employment Program Credit

A qualified employer participarting in the Full Employment Program
may claim a credit of $100 per month of eligible employment per em-
ployee. The maximum amount of credit that may be applied in all tax-
able years with respect to each employee is $1,200. Attach Schedule
FEC to this return. For more information, contact the Department of
Transitional Assistance, 600 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111.

Low-Income Housing Credit

This credit is administered through the Massachusetts Department of
Housing and Community Development (DHCD). The low-income hous-
ing credit is available to taxpayers that claim a federal credit for the
construction or development of low-income housing. The state credit is
taken over five years, and the amount of credit a taxpayer may claim
for a qualified Massachusetts project is allocated by the DHCD, and
is based on a total pool of money awarded to the Commonwealth. In
order to claim the credit, a copy of the eligibility statement issued by
DHCD must be attached to the return.

For further information, contact the Department of Housing and Com-
munity Development, Division of Private Housing, at (617) 727-7824.

Voluntary Contribution for Endangered Wildlife
Conservation

Any corporation that wishes to contribute any amount to the Natural
Heritage and Endangered Species Fund may do so on this form. This
amount is added to the excise due. It increases the amount of the cor-
poration’s payment or reduces the amount of its refund.

The Natural Heritage and Endangered Species Fund is administered
by the Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Environmental Law En-
forcement to provide for conservation programs for rare, endangered
and nongame wildlife and plants in the Commonwealth.

Signature

When the form is complete, it must be signed by the treasurer or as-
sistant treasurer. If you are signing as an authorized delegate of the
appropriate corporate officer, check the box in the signature section
and attach a Massachusetts Form M-2848, Power of Attorney. Mail
forms to: Massachusetts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7052.
Boston, MA 02204.



