2001
FOI‘m M '22 10 Massachusetts

Underpayment of Massachusetts Department of _
Estimated Income Tax Revenue

Enclose this form with your income tax return. Please print in ink or type.

Name(s) as shown on page 1 of return Social Security or U.S. Tax Identification number

Exceptions to the Underpayment Penalty
You may qualify for an exception to the underpayment penalty if:

[J Your 2001 income tax due after credits and withholding is $200 or less.

[J You are a qualified farmer or fisherman filing and paying your full amount due on or before 3/1/02.

[J You were a resident of Massachusetts for 12 months and not liable for taxes during 2000.

[J Your estimated payments and withholding equal or exceed your 2000 tax (where taxable year was 12 months and a return was filed).

Part 1. Required Annual Payment

1. 2001 tax (from Form 1, line 27; Form 1-NR/PY, line 31; Form 2, line 42; Form 3F, line 24; or Form 3M, line8) ...........

2. Total credits (from Form 1, lines 30, 37 and 38; Form 1-NR/PY, lines 35, 42 and 43; Form 2, line 43; Form 3F, lines 25—-29)

3. Balance. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Not less than “0” . . .. ... . e e e

4. Enter 80% of line 3 or 662/3% of line 3 if you are a qualified farmer or fisherman. .. ........ ... ... .. .. .. .. ... .. ...

5. Enter 2000 tax liability after credits (from 2000 return) (See INStrUCtiONS) . . . . . ..ottt e

6. Enterthe smaller of IN@ 4 Or INE 5 . . . ... e e e e e

Part 2. Figuring Your Underpayment
Installment due dates

a. April 15, 2001 b.June 15, 2001 c. Sept. 24, 2001 d. Jan. 15, 2002

7. Divide the amount in line 6 by the number of
installments required for the year. Enter the
result in the appropriate columns .............

8. Estimated taxes paid and taxes withheld for
eachinstallment...........................

9. Overpayment of previous installment . . .. ......

10. Total. Addline8andline9 ..................

11. Overpayment. Subtract line 7 from line 10.. . . . ..

12. Underpayment. Subtract line 10 from line 7. . . ..

Part 3. Figuring Your Underpayment Penalty

13. Enter the date you paid the amount in line 12
or the 15th day of the 4th month after the close
of the taxable year, whichever is earlier .. ... ...

14. Number of days from the due date of installment
to the date showninline13..................

15. Number of days in line 14 after 4/15/01 and
before 7/1/01 .. ........ ... ... . L

16. Number of days in line 14 after 6/30/01 and
before1/1/02 .. ... ... .. ... ... L

17. Number of days in line 14 after 12/31/01 and
before 4/16/02 . ... ........ ... ... ... ... . ...

18. Underpayment in line 12 x (number of days in
liNel5+365)%9%.........ccovvviiiinnn..

19. Underpayment in line 12 x (number of days in
liNne16+365)%8%.........ccvvvviiiinnn..

20. Underpayment in line 12 x (number of days in
liNnel7+365)%X7% ........ccoviiinnnnon..

21. Penalty. Add all amounts shown in lines 18—20. Enter this amount on line 44 of Form 1; line 49 of Form 1-NR/PY;
line 54 of Form 2; line 38 of Form 3F; orline 17 of FOrm 3M. . . ... ... o




Form M-2210 Instructions

General Information

Who should use this form. If you are an individual, or a tax-
payer taxed as an individual, you should use Form M-2210 to
determine if your 2001 estimated and/or withholding tax pay-
ments were sufficient. If they were not, an underpayment penalty
will be imposed, unless you qualify for one of the exceptions or
waivers explained below.

Filing estimated tax vouchers. You are required to file esti-
mated tax vouchers if you reasonably expect to pay more than
$200 in Massachusetts income tax on income which is not covered
by withholding. For further information regarding estimated taxes,
see the instructions for Form 1-ES Payment Vouchers or the
publication Should You Be Paying Estimated Taxes?

Exceptions which avoid the penalty. No underpayment penalty
will be imposed if:

1. Your 2001 tax due after credits and withholding is $200 or less.

2. You were a qualified farmer or fisherman who filed and paid in
full with your return by March 1, 2002. To qualify, your gross in-
come from farming or fishing must be at least 2/ of the annual
gross income shown on your 2000 or 2001 return.

3. You were a resident of Massachusetts for the full 12 months
of the previous taxable year and were not liable for taxes.

4. Your 2001 estimated payments and withholding (line 8) made
on or before each installment due date in the taxable year equal
or exceed the tax shown on your 2000 return divided among the
four installment due dates provided that such return was for a
full 12-month period.

If you qualify for an exception, do not complete lines 13 through
21. Instead, check the appropriate box on the front of this form
and fill in the “EX” oval on the back of Form 1 or Form 1-NR/PY.
Enclose this form with your return. If you qualify for the first ex-
ception (your 2001 tax due after credits and withholding is $200
or less) you do not need to complete this form.

Waiver of underpayment penalty. A waiver of underpayment
penalty for one or more installments may be granted if:

1. Your underpayment was by reason of casualty, disaster or un-
usual circumstance; or

2. You retired in 2000 or 2001 after reaching age 62, or you be-
came disabled and your underpayment was due to reasonable
cause and not willful neglect.

If you qualify for the waiver, complete lines 7 through 12 for the
installment(s) for which you are claiming a waiver, and write
“WAIVER” in the appropriate box(es) in line 13. Fill in the “EX”
oval on the back of Form 1 or Form 1-NR/PY. Enclose this form
and an explanation of your reasons for claiming the waiver with
your return.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Figuring your underpayment and penalty. To determine the
underpayment amount, complete lines 1 through 12, in order of
installment due dates, taking care to complete all four columns for
lines 7 through 12.

Line 5
« If you filed a return for 2000 and it was for a full 12 months,
enter your 2000 tax liability after credits.

13M 12/01 CRP0102

« If you were a resident of Massachusetts for 12 months in 2000
and you were not liable for taxes, enter “0.”

« If you did not file a return for 2000, or if your 2000 tax year was
less than 12 months, do not complete line 5. Instead, enter the
amount from line 4 in line 6.

Note: The due date and payment date for returns and payments
required to be filed between September 11, 2001 and September
24, 2001 will be extended to September 24, 2001 for all taxpayers.
This extension covers the filing of returns as well as the payment
of tax, including payment of estimated tax. During the time of this
extension, no interest or penalties will accrue. The due date and
payment date for returns and payments required to be filed be-
tween September 11, 2001 and September 30, 2001 will be ex-
tended to December 15, 2001 for taxpayers affected by the
September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, as defined in Technical In-
formation Release (TIR) 01-16. This extension covers the filing of
returns as well as the payment of tax, including payment of esti-
mated tax. During the time of this extension, no interest or penal-
ties will accrue. For further information, see TIR 01-16.

Line 8
If more than one payment is made for a given installment, attach
a separate penalty computation for each payment.

If you had any taxes withheld during the year, you may apply an
equal part of those taxes as payment on each required install-
ment(s). If you can establish the actual dates and amounts of
your withholding, you may consider those amounts as payments
on the dates they were actually withheld.

Line 11

If line 11 shows an overpayment, that overpayment may be used
as payment of any existing underpayment amount. Overpayments
used as payments of prior underpayment amounts do not de-
crease the actual underpayment amount but serve to reduce
instead the period of underpayment subject to penalty. If there
are no existing underpayment amounts, the overpayment is
applied as a credit against the next installment.

Line 12

If line 12 shows an underpayment, see the General Information
section to determine whether you qualify for an exception to, or
waiver of, the underpayment penalty. If you do not qualify, con-
tinue on through line 16 to determine your underpayment penalty.

Annualized income installment method. If you do not receive
taxable income evenly throughout the year, you may wish to
annualize your income to adjust your required installment
amount(s). Enter any adjusted installment amount in the appro-
priate column in line 7 and calculate any underpayment penalty
from those figures. Write “ANNUALIZED” under the column in
line 21. For more information on using the Annualized Income
Installment method, please refer to the Massachusetts Depart-
ment of Revenue’s Annualized Income Installment Worksheet,
Form M-2210A. Form M-2210A may be obtained at any DOR
location or by calling (617) 887-MDOR.

Fiscal year taxpayers. If you file on a fiscal year basis and are
subject to an underpayment penalty, attach a separate statement
to calculate the penalty due based on the interest rate(s) in effect
for the period(s) of the underpayment(s).
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