
Major 2011 Tax Changes  
 
Filing Due Date.  The 2011 Form 2 is due on or before April 17, 2012. April 15, 2012 is 
a Sunday. In Massachusetts, April 16, 2012 is Patriot’s Day, a legal holiday in the 
Commonwealth.  The filing due date for Massachusetts returns, normally due on April 
15, will therefore be April 17, 2012.   
 
Conservation Land Tax Credit.  Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2011, a credit is allowed for qualified donations of certified land to a public or private 
conservation agency.  The credit is equal to 50% of the fair market value of the qualified 
donation.  The amount of the credit that may be claimed by a taxpayer for each qualified 
donation cannot exceed $50,000.  The credit is refundable but not transferable.  The 
certification process is conducted by the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental 
Affairs (“EEA”).  EEA has promulgated a regulation, 301 CMR 14.00, entitled 
Conservation Land Tax Credit, which sets forth criteria for authorizing and certifying the 
credit.  See also, Department of Revenue (“DOR”) working draft - 830 CMR 62.6.4, 
entitled Conservation Land Tax Credit, available on DOR’s website at 
www.mass.gov/dor, which explains the calculation of the allowable credit.     

New Current Code Provisions Massachusetts Adopts  
As a general rule, Massachusetts does not adopt any federal tax law changes incorporated 
into the Internal Revenue Code (“IRC” or “Code”) after January 1, 2005. However, 
certain specific provisions of the personal income tax automatically adopt the current 
Code. Provisions of the Code adopted on a current Code basis are (i) Roth IRAs, (ii) 
IRAs, (iii) the exclusion for gain on the sale of a principal residence, (iv) trade or 
business expenses, (v) travel expenses, (vi) meals and entertainment expenses, (vii) the 
maximum deferral amount of government employees’ deferred compensation plans, (viii) 
deduction for health insurance costs of self employed, (ix) medical and dental expenses, 
(x) annuities, and (xi) health savings accounts. See TIRs 98-8, 02-11, 07-4, and 09-21 for 
further details on Massachusetts’ personal income tax current Code provisions.  

 
Temporary Increase in Section 179 Expensing.  Effective for tax years beginning in 
2010 and 2011,for federal income tax purposes, the federal Small Business Jobs Act of 
2010 (Public Law 111-240) increased the IRC § 179 election to expense property in its 
initial year from $250,000 to $500,000. The federal Act also increased the § 179 overall 
investment phase-out threshold for the 2010 and 2011 tax years from $800,000 to 
$2,000,000. Further, the Act allows up to $250,000 of specified “qualified real property” 
to qualify for the expense election in 2010 and 2011. Massachusetts adopts these changes 
because IRC § 179 is a trade or business expense deduction; these deductions are adopted 
by Massachusetts on a current Code basis. 
 

 
 

http://www.mass.gov/dor


 
New Current Code Provisions Massachusetts Does Not Adopt 
 
Federal “Bonus” Depreciation Deduction — Not Allowed.  For federal income tax 
purposes, the Tax Relief Act of 2010 expands the additional first-year depreciation 
deduction (“bonus depreciation”) under IRC § 168(k) to equal 100% of the cost of 
“qualified property;” the property must be placed in service after September 8, 2010 and 
before January 1, 2012. Under 2002 legislation, Massachusetts decoupled from bonus 
depreciation allowed under IRC § 168(k), as amended and in effect for the current year. 
Therefore, Massachusetts does not adopt this additional depreciation deduction. See TIRs 
02-11 and 03-25 for further details.      
 
Domestic Production Activity Deduction – Not Allowed.  For federal income tax 
purposes, a business entity that pays wages to employees and conducts eligible domestic 
production activities is allowed a deduction for domestic production activities under IRC 
§ 199. Generally, in the case of a non-corporate taxpayer, the deduction allows a business 
with qualified production activities to deduct 9% of its U.S. adjusted gross income. Under 
2004 legislation, Massachusetts decoupled from the production activity deduction 
allowed under IRC § 199, as amended and in effect for the current year. Therefore, 
Massachusetts does not adopt this deduction. See TIR 05-5.     
     

Privacy Act Notice  
Under the authority of 42 U.S.C. § 405(c)(2)(c)(i), and G.L. c. 62C, § 5, the Department 
of Revenue (“Department”) has the right to require a taxpayer to furnish his employer 
identification number and/or social security number, as the case may be, on a state tax 
return. This information is mandatory. The Department uses these numbers for taxpayer 
identification, to assist in processing and keeping track of returns, and in determining and 
collecting the proper amount of tax due. Under G.L. c. 62C, § 40, the taxpayer’s 
identifying number is required to process a refund of overpaid taxes. Although tax return 
information is generally confidential pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, § 21, the Department may 
disclose return information to other taxing authorities and those entities specified in G.L. 
c. 62C, §§ 21, 22, or 23, and as otherwise authorized by law.  

Common Form 2 Mistakes  
An incomplete or incorrect return can delay processing of your return. Below are tips to 
help us process your return as quickly as possible.  

Incorrect Computation  
Many returns must be corrected by the Department each year due to simple errors in 
computation. Before mailing your return, check your arithmetic to make sure the 
computations are correct.  



Filing Status  
Be sure to select the correct oval for filing status. This requirement is frequently 
overlooked.  

Fiscal Year 
Clearly mark tax return "Fiscal Year" if applicable. 

Missing Withholding Statement(s)  
Make certain the state copy of all Forms W-2 (Wages), W-2G (Winnings), and 1099-G, 
or 1099-R that show Massachusetts income tax withheld are enclosed. These forms are 
frequently missing and must be obtained from you later in order to process the return.  

Missing Supporting Schedules  
Make sure you have enclosed all required schedules and forms to support the information 
on your Form 2. These include Massachusetts Form 2 Schedules B, B/R, D, E, F, H, IDD, 
and 2K-1, and Form 2G. We cannot process your return without these schedules and 
forms.  

Credits – Missing Certificate or Other Identification Numbers 
and/or Supporting Schedules 
Make sure you have included all required certificate or other identification numbers and/ 
or schedules to support the credits you are claiming. Failure to include certificate or other 
identification numbers and/or schedules will result in the credit being disallowed on your 
tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax. 

Missing Signatures  
Thousands of unsigned returns are received by the Department every year. These returns 
must be returned to taxpayers for signatures. Make sure signatures are on the correct 
lines.  

Definitions  

Complex Trust  
Any trust that, for any given taxable year, does not qualify as a “simple trust,” as defined 
below. Complex trusts are governed by §§ 661 and 662 of the Code.  

Grantor Trust  
Under G.L. c. 62, § 10(e), if the grantor or another person is treated as the owner of any 
portion of a trust by reason of the provisions of §§ 671 to 678, inclusive, of the Code, the 
trust is a grantor trust and its income is taxable to the grantor or such other person, not to 
the trust. The fiduciary of a grantor trust is required to file with the Department an 
informational return, Form 2G, and send a copy to the grantor/owner, who is required to 



report the income, deductions, and credits thereon on his Massachusetts individual 
income tax return.  

A resident grantor treated as an owner of a grantor-type trust is liable for making his own 
estimated tax payments, as applicable, on Form 1-ES. This is not the case when the 
owner is a nonresident grantor, however. In such cases, the trustee must make estimated 
tax payments on behalf of the nonresident grantor on Form 2-ES.  

Massachusetts Source Income  
Gross income derived from or effectively connected with: (1) any trade or business, 
including any employment carried on by the taxpayer in the Commonwealth, regardless 
of where or when the income is received; (2) the participation in any lottery or wagering 
transaction within the Commonwealth; or (3) the ownership of any interest in real or 
tangible personal property located in the Commonwealth. Gross income derived from or 
effectively connected with any trade or business, including any employment, carried on 
by the taxpayer in the Commonwealth includes: gain from the sale of a business or of an 
interest in a business; distributive share income; separation, sick, or vacation pay; 
deferred compensation and nonqualified pension income not prevented from state 
taxation by the laws of the United States; and income from a covenant not to compete.  

Nonresident Estate  
An estate of a deceased non-Massachusetts resident. A nonresident estate is subject to the 
taxing jurisdiction of Massachusetts to the extent it earns Massachusetts source income. 
In other words, the income of a nonresident estate is taxable to the extent it would be 
taxable to a nonresident individual.  

Nonresident Trust  
A trust that earns Massachusetts source income and that is (1) a trust under the will of a 
decedent who was a non-Massachusetts resident at death, (2) a trust all of whose trustees 
are nonresidents, or (3) a trust all of whose grantors are nonresidents at the time of the 
creation of the trust or at any time during the year for which the income is computed. 
These conditions must be met in order to subject the trust to the taxing jurisdiction of 
Massachusetts.  

Qualified Settlement Fund 
A “qualified settlement fund” as defined in IRC § 468B(g) and Treas. Reg. § 1.468B-1 et 
seq.  See also LR 08-7.     

Resident Estate  
An estate of a deceased Massachusetts resident.  

Resident Trust  
A “resident trust” may be one of two types. It may be a “testamentary trust” – a trust 
under the will of an individual who died a Massachusetts resident. Alternatively, it may 
be an “inter vivos trust” – a trust created during the life of the grantor. To subject an inter 
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vivos trust to the taxing jurisdiction of Massachusetts, the following conditions must 
exist: the trustee or other fiduciary, or at least one of them, is a Massachusetts resident, 
and (1) the grantor, or at least one of them, was a Massachusetts resident when the trust 
was created; or (2) the grantor, or at least one of them, resided in Massachusetts during 
any part of the year for which the income is computed; or (3) the grantor or at least one of 
them, died a Massachusetts resident.  

Simple Trust  
A trust that is required to distribute all of its income currently, may not make 
distributions of principal, and does not provide for charitable contributions. Simple trusts 
are governed by §§ 651 and 652 of the Code.  

Unascertained Persons  
A class of persons who cannot be identified with certainty until the happening of a 
specified event. The term also applies to those of a class who fulfill some special 
qualification. It is the trust termination provisions that determine whether a remainder 
interest is ascertained or not. For example, if the termination provisions read – “income to 
X for life, remainder to Y, if living, or, if not, to Y’s estate” - the remainder interest is 
vested in Y and is not unascertained. However, if they read – “to X for life, remainder to 
Y, if living, or, if not, to Y’s issue then living” - the remainder interest is not vested in Y 
or Y’s issue and is unascertained because it cannot be known for certain who will take the 
remainder interest until X’s death. In the latter case, gains realized by the trust will be 
deemed to be income accumulated for the benefit of unascertained persons and taxable in 
full to the trust.  

Uncertain Interest  
A type of future interest such as a contingent remainder or a vested remainder subject to 
being cut off upon the happening of a contingency. In determining whether a person has 
an “uncertain interest,” a remainder interest in a trust that is vested and not subject to 
being divested by the happening of any contingency expressly mentioned in the trust 
instrument is not classified as an uncertain interest. Any other type of future interest is an 
uncertain interest.  

Common Questions:  

Once Massachusetts Jurisdiction is Established, to 
Whom is the Income Taxable?  
Resident Estate or Trust. When income of a resident estate or trust subject to the taxing 
jurisdiction of Massachusetts is being accumulated for a Massachusetts beneficiary(ies), 
unborn persons, unascertained persons, or persons with uncertain interests, such income 
is taxable to the estate or trust. Otherwise, income from such resident estate or trust 
includable in the federal gross income of a beneficiary(ies) by reason of Code §§ 652 and 
662 is taxable to the beneficiary(ies).  



Nonresident Estate or Trust. When Massachusetts source income of a nonresident 
estate or trust is being accumulated, such income is taxable to the estate or trust 
regardless of whether it is being accumulated for a Massachusetts beneficiary(ies), non-
Massachusetts beneficiary(ies), unborn persons, unascertained persons, or persons with 
uncertain interests. Massachusetts source income of a nonresident estate or trust 
includable in the federal gross income of a Massachusetts or non-Massachusetts 
beneficiary(ies) by reason of Code §§ 652 and 662, however, is taxable in Massachusetts 
to the beneficiary(ies). All other income of a nonresident estate or trust, i.e., all non-
Massachusetts source income, is taxable to a Massachusetts beneficiary(ies) if he receives 
it.  

Who Must File a Massachusetts Fiduciary Return?  
Every executor, administrator, trustee, guardian, conservator, trustee in a noncorporate 
bankruptcy or receiver of a trust or estate that received income in excess of $100 that is 
taxable under c. 62 at the entity level or to a beneficiary(ies) and that is subject to 
Massachusetts jurisdiction must file a Form 2.  

What Other Forms Must Be Filed?  
All applicable U.S. schedules, forms and enclosures must be filed with Form 2. A copy of 
U.S. Schedule K-1 must be enclosed in all cases where a deduction is taken for the 
payment of income to a nonresident. The Department has developed an extensive 
information exchange program that includes the following returns:  

1. Form 1, Resident Income Tax Return;  

2. Form 1-NR/PY, Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Tax Return;  

3. Form M-1310, Statement of Claimant to Refund Due on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer;  

4. Form 2, Fiduciary Income Tax Return; and 
5. Form M-706, Estate Tax Return.  
Discrepancies and nonfilings, except those allowed under Massachusetts law, will be 
identified and may result in an audit or further investigation.  

When is Form 2 Due?  
The 2011 Form 2 is due on or before April 17, 2012. April 15, 2012 is a Sunday. In 
Massachusetts, April 16, 2012 is Patriot’s Day, a legal holiday in the Commonwealth.  
The filing due date for Massachusetts returns, normally due on April 15, will therefore be 
April 17, 2012.  
 

Fiscal Year Filers.  If permission has been granted to file on a fiscal year basis, the 
return is generally due on or before the 15th day of the fourth month after the close of the 
fiscal year. Prior consent must be requested in order to file a return on a fiscal year basis. 
An application can be made on Form 13. Fiduciaries failing to obtain prior consent will 
be placed on a calendar year basis.  

 



Short Year and Fiscal Year Filers. Fiscal year filers whose fiscal year began in 2011 
and ended in 2012 should file the 2011 Form 2 return. Short year filers should file using 
the tax form for the calendar year within which the short year falls. If the short year spans 
more than one calendar year, the filer should file using the tax form for the calendar year 
in which the short year began. If the current form is not available at the time the short 
year filer must file, the filer should follow the rules explained in TIR 11-12. 
   

What Should I Do If I Make a Mistake or Leave Something 
Off My Return?  
If after filing Form 2 you receive an additional tax statement, such as a W-2 or 1099, or 
discover that an error was made, submit a second tax return containing the correct 
information. Clearly mark the new return “Amended” across the top and select the 
amended return oval. If the change reduces the tax liability, enclose Form CA-6, 
Application for Abatement/Amended Return, and a copy of the return that you originally 
filed. Form 2 or Form CA-6 is available at any Department of Revenue location, or you 
may have one mailed to you by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in Massachusetts at 
1-800-392-6089.  

What If I Am Unable to Pay?  
If you are unable to pay the full amount of tax that you owe, you should pay as much of 
your tax liability as possible with your return. You will receive a bill from the 
Department for the remaining amount of tax due plus accrued interest and penalty 
charges. If the amount of the bill is less than $5,000 and you still cannot pay it in full, you 
must apply formally to the Department for a small payment agreement in order to avoid 
collection activity. Setting up a small payment agreement will allow you to make 
monthly payments over a set period to meet your unpaid liability.  You can apply for a 
small payment agreement by visiting WebFile for Income at www.mass.gov/dor.  

  

How Do I Request An Extension?  
To receive an extension of time to file, you generally must file Form M-8736, and pay the 
amount of tax you expect to owe on or before the due date for filing your Massachusetts 
income tax return. The filing and approval of this form will extend the due date for six 
months. Interest is charged on any tax not paid by the original due date. 

Please Note: Your extension will not be valid if you fail to pay 80% of your total tax 
liability through withholding, estimated tax payments, or with your Massachusetts Form 
M-8736. 

Exception to Form M-8736 Filing Requirement. Notwithstanding the above, the 
Commissioner of Revenue will grant certain fiduciaries an automatic six month extension 
of time to file a tax return, without the need for an application (Form M-8736) by such 
taxpayer, provided the following criteria are met: (1) the taxpayer owes no tax with the 
return (including cases where the taxpayer is due a refund); and (2) 100% of the tax due 

http://www.mass.gov/dor
http://www.mass.gov/Ador/docs/dor/Forms/IncTax09/addl/m_8736.pdf


for the taxable year has been paid, through one of the means described below, by the 
original due date for filing the return.  

For purposes of applying the second criteria, in calculating whether 100% of the tax due 
for the taxable year has been paid by the original tax filing due date, the Commissioner 
will only consider the following as relevant:  

1. taxes paid through withholding;  
2. timely estimated payments of tax;  
3. credits from the current year return; and  
4. credits forwarded from the previous tax period, but limited only to a refund from the 
prior tax year applied to the next year’s tax liability.  

For more information, see TIR 06-21. 

Are Wholly Charitable Trusts/Private Foundations Required 
to File Form 2?  
Funds held in trust for public charitable purposes are exempt from tax under G.L. c. 62, § 
3, if such income is currently payable to, or irrevocably set aside for, public charitable 
purposes. Trustees of wholly charitable trusts, i.e., trusts with no non-charitable interests, 
are required to file a Form 2 however, even though such trusts’ taxable income may be 
zero.  Trustees of split-interest trusts, e.g., pooled income funds, charitable remainder 
annuity trusts, and charitable remainder unitrusts, are to file a Form 2G, not Form 2.  

 

What Deductions and Exemptions Are Allowable on the 
Guardianship/ Conservatorship Form 2?  
Every deduction and exemption that an individual is entitled to take on Form 1 may be 
claimed by a guardian or conservator on behalf of a ward on Form 2. Supporting 
documentation must be enclosed, including all applicable schedules from U.S. Form 
1040, e.g., Schedule A, Itemized Deductions, if claiming the medical expense exemption.  

Generally, deductions may be used only against 5.3% income. See Schedule C-2 for the 
limited circumstances under which deductions may be applied against interest (other than 
interest from Massachusetts banks), dividends, and capital gain income. Any deduction or 
exemption claimed must be entered first on Form 2, line 10, and then on line 17, line 26, 
and line 34, as appropriate; lines typically used by an estate or trust to claim an income 
distribution deduction. Such deduction is not allowable to a guardianship or 
conservatorship, however, thus, these lines are available to a guardian or conservator for 
claiming deductions and exemptions on behalf of a ward. Any deduction or exemption 
claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 2. The 
preprinted language on lines 10, 17, 26, and 34 should be crossed out and the words “see 
supporting statement” should be added.  

Should I Be Making Estimated Tax Payments?  
Generally, every fiduciary receiving income taxable at the entity level must make 
estimated tax payments on Massachusetts Form 2-ES, if the entity expects to owe more 
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than $400 in taxes for the taxable year. Estimated tax payments made by a fiduciary on 
behalf of a beneficiary of a pooled income fund, charitable remainder annuity trust, 
charitable remainder unitrust, or on behalf of a non-resident grantor of a grantor-type 
trust or a nonresident entity beneficiary that is a trust or other entity also must be made on 
Form 2-ES. Fiduciaries required to deduct and withhold payments under G.L. c. 62, § 
10(g) on behalf of a nonresident individual beneficiary, in contrast, must make estimated 
tax payments on the beneficiary’s behalf on Form 1-ES. For more information, see DOR 
Directive 07-4.  

Fiduciaries filing Form 2 with total net taxable income of $50,000 or more must make all 
estimated tax payments by electronic means. Fiduciaries with income less than the above 
cited threshold may make payments electronically as well, but are not required to. 
Generally, the first payment voucher must be filed on or before April 15 of the taxable 
year.  The estimated tax may be paid in full with the first payment voucher or in four 
installments on or before April 15, June 15, September 15 of the taxable year, and 
January 15 of the following year. Fiscal year taxpayers must file their first payment 
voucher on or before the 15th day of the fourth month of the fiscal year. The estimated tax 
may be paid in full with the first payment voucher or in four equal installments on or 
before the 15th day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of the fiscal year, and the 15th 
day of the next fiscal year. Be sure to use the appropriate voucher for each payment and 
fill in the tax year and date. Whenever a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday, the filing and payment may be made on the next succeeding business day. 
Fiduciaries who underpay or fail to pay their estimated taxes may incur a penalty. Form 
M-2210F, Underpayment of Massachusetts Estimated Income Tax for Fiduciaries, is used 
to compute the additional charge.  

Finally, a resident beneficiary subject to tax at the beneficiary level pursuant to G.L. c. 
62, § 10 (h) must make estimated tax payments on his distributable share of the estate or 
trust income. Such payments are to be made on Massachusetts Form 1-ES. For more 
information, see DOR Directive 07-4.  

Can Unused Capital Losses be Passed Through to 
Beneficiaries?  
Unused capital losses of an estate or trust are allocable to the estate’s or trust’s corpus 
and can be used by the estate or trust itself in future years. These losses cannot be passed 
through to beneficiaries, even in the year of termination.  

Does Massachusetts Have a 65 Day Election?  
No. In determining the amount paid, credited, or otherwise required to be distributed to a 
beneficiary (lines 3, 8, 13, and 18 of Schedule IDD, Income Distribution Deduction), 
Massachusetts has not adopted the 65 day election available to estates and complex trusts 
federally under Code § 663(b). Therefore, any distribution or portion thereof to a 
beneficiary made within the first 65 days following the close of the 2011 taxable year, 
treated federally as having been distributed in 2011, is to be treated for Massachusetts 
purposes in 2011 as accumulated income and is taxable at the estate or trust level, with 
one exception. Non-Massachusetts source income accumulated for a vested nonresident 
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beneficiary is not taxable at the estate or trust level, but is deductible on Form 2, lines 12, 
19, 28, or 36, as applicable. Moreover, any distribution or portion thereof to a beneficiary 
made within the first 65 days following the close of the 2011 taxable year will be treated 
in the year of distribution, i.e., 2012 as a tax free distribution. 

 

Does the Pass-Through Entity Withholding Program Apply to 
Estates and Trusts? 
Although the term “pass-through entity,” as used in the pass-through entity withholding 
program, applicable to most pass-through entities and their non-resident members or 
beneficiaries, which Massachusetts adopted for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2009, refers to an entity whose income, loss, deductions, and credits flow through to 
members or beneficiaries for Massachusetts tax purposes, such as estates and trusts not 
taxed at the entity level, most estates and trusts are not required to participate in the pass-
through entity withholding program because they are required to withhold under other 
Massachusetts provisions.  See, e.g., G.L. c. 62, § 10(g), requiring trusts and estates to 
withhold or make estimated payments on payments to nonresidents, including 
nonresident grantors of grantor trusts. 
  

For more information on the applicability of the pass-through entity withholding program 
to trusts and estates, see the Guide for Pass-Through Entities – Including Registration 
Information.  See also, 830 CMR 62B.2.2, Pass-Through Entity Withholding. 

  

Filling out the Return – Line by Line Instructions  
Line items without specific instructions are considered to be self-explanatory.  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing 
instrument. Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court 
ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, 
Application for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the 
number is not available at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied 
in the boxes provided. Do not use a decedent’s social security number for an estate. A 
separate Employer Identification Number is required for the estate and for each trust 
entity.  

Name and Title of Fiduciary  
Enter the exact legal name and title of the fiduciary. In case of multiple fiduciaries, one 
name is sufficient.  



Mailing Address of Fiduciary  
Enter the mailing address of the fiduciary listed on the first line.  

C/O  
If the mailing address is the address of a legal firm or of a person other than the fiduciary, 
that person or firm should be listed on the C/O line.  

Company Account Number  
If applicable, enter the company account number your firm has assigned to this entity.  

Date Entity Created  
Enter the date the trust was created. If filing a return for an estate, enter the date of death. 
All other fiduciaries should enter the date of appointment.  

Filing Status  
Select all applicable ovals. For example, if you are filing a first year return for an estate, 
select the ovals for “Decedent’s Estate” and “Initial Return.” If filing an amended return, 
select the oval for “Increase in tax,” “No change in tax,” or “Decrease in tax,” as 
applicable and write “Amended” across the top of the return. Grantor-type trusts should 
file Form 2G and select the “Consolidated Form 2G” oval if also filing Form 2. If filing 
on a fiscal year basis, enter your fiscal year’s beginning and ending dates in the 
appropriate boxes at the top of the return. If you have elected to file as a Qualified 
Funeral Trust (QFT) on U.S. Form 1041-QFT, select the oval for “Qualified Funeral 
Trust.” If you file a composite Form 1041-QFT, you may also file a composite Form 2.  

Select the oval for “Qualified Funeral Trust” and write “Composite QFT” across the top 
of the return. You must enclose a schedule with a Composite QFT Form 2 that includes 
the following information for each QFT (or separate interest treated as a separate QFT): 
(1) the name of the owner or the beneficiary (if you list the name of the owner and that 
trust has more than one beneficiary, you must separate the trust into shares held by the 
separate beneficiaries); (2) the type and gross amount of each type of income earned by 
the QFT for the tax year (for long-term capital gains, identify separately the amount of 
capital gain by holding period); (3) the type of each deduction allocable to the QFT; (4) 
the tax and payments made for each QFT; and (5) if the QFT was terminated during the 
year, give the date of termination.  

Schedule TDS – Inconsistent Filing Position Penalty  
Fill in the oval and attach Schedule TDS, Taxpayer Disclosure Statement, if you are 
disclosing any inconsistent filing positions. Schedule TDS is available on the DOR 
website at www.mass.gov/dor.  The inconsistent filing position penalty (see TIR 06-5, 
section IV) applies to taxpayers that take an inconsistent position in reporting income. 
These taxpayers must “disclose the inconsistency” when filing their Massachusetts 
return. If such inconsistency is not disclosed, the taxpayer will be subject to a penalty 
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equal to the amount of tax attributable to the inconsistency. This penalty is in addition to 
any other penalties that may apply.  

A taxpayer is deemed to have taken an “inconsistent position” when the taxpayer pays 
less tax in Massachusetts based upon an interpretation of Massachusetts law that differs 
from the position taken by the taxpayer in another state where the taxpayer files a return 
and the governing law in that other state “is the same in all material respects” as the 
Massachusetts law. The Commissioner of Revenue may waive or abate the penalty if the 
inconsistency or failure to disclose was attributable to reasonable cause and not willful 
neglect. 

 

Member of a Lower-Tier Entity  
A tiered structure is a pass-through entity that has a pass-through entity as a member.  
The term “pass-through entity” refers to an entity whose income, loss, deductions and 
credits flow through to members for Massachusetts tax purposes, and includes estates and 
trusts not taxed at the entity level. The term “member” includes beneficiaries of a pass-
through entity.  As between two entities, the pass-through entity that is a member is the 
upper-tier entity, and the entity of which it is a member is the lower-tier entity.  If the 
estate or trust is a member of another pass-through entity, it should answer “yes” to this 
question.   
  

Part B Income  

Line 1. Wages, Salaries, Tips, Other Employee Compensation  
Enter wages, salaries, tips, and other compensation earned and received, and, if 
applicable, enter the amount reported as Massachusetts wages on Form W-2. For a 
decedent’s estate, income in respect of a decedent is taxed on Form 2, line 1, in addition 
to being taxed on the Form M-706, Massachusetts Estate Tax Return, as an asset of the 
estate. “Income in respect of a decedent” is income the decedent had a right to receive 
prior to his date of death, but payment of which was made to the estate after the date of 
death. Wages, salaries, or other forms of compensation, including any fixed sum amount 
attributable to services rendered prior to the decedent’s death, are to be included on line 
1.  

Line 2. Taxable Pensions and Annuities  
Income from most private pension or annuity plans is taxable in Massachusetts; however, 
income from a contributory annuity, pension, endowment or retirement fund of the U.S. 
government, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or its political subdivisions, or any 
noncontributory pension or survivorship benefits from the United States uniformed 
services (Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, commissioned corps of the 
U.S. Public Health Service and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) is 
exempt. Massachusetts allows a deduction for contributory pension income received from 
another state or one of its political subdivisions that does not tax such income from 
Massachusetts or its political subdivisions. For guidelines on determining which state 



pensions are exempt in Massachusetts, see TIR 95-9. Enter the fully taxable amounts 
received from pension or annuity plans on line 2. Amounts distributed from an IRA or 
Keogh plan should also be reported on line 2.  

Line 3. Business/Profession or Farm Income or Loss  
Enter on line 3 the amount of income or loss from a business or profession from 
Massachusetts Schedule C, line 31 or 33. Also, enclose Massachusetts Schedule C with 
this return. Alternatively, enclose a copy of U.S. Schedule C or C-EZ as a substitute.  

Please Note: U.S. Schedule C-EZ may be substituted for the Massachusetts Schedule C 
if there are no differences between the amounts reported on U.S. Schedule C-EZ and 
amounts that would be reported on Massachusetts Schedule C. Be sure to write “No 
Massachusetts Differences” on the top of the U.S. Schedule C-EZ. For entities engaged in 
operating a farm business, enter on line 3 the amount of income or loss from operating 
such business from U.S. Schedule F, line 34. Enclose a copy of U.S. Schedule F. 
Additionally, complete and enclose a pro-forma U.S. Schedule F to report Massachusetts 
differences, if any, such as bonus depreciation.  

Line 4. Rental, Royalty and REMIC Income or Loss  
Rental, Royalty, and Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC) residual income 
are generally taxable in Massachusetts. Enter the amount from Massachusetts Form 2, 
Schedule E, line4. Enclose Massachusetts Schedule E. Enter and explain any differences 
between total rental, royalty, and REMIC income on the U.S. Schedule E and the 
Massachusetts Schedule E. Possible differences include part-year residency, trust 
provisions, deductible royalties from approved U.S. energy conservation plants, passive 
losses, and “bonus” depreciation. See the Massachusetts Schedule E instructions for 
further details of possible differences in reporting rental, royalty, and REMIC income or 
loss.  

Line 5. Interest from Massachusetts Banks  
Enter in line 5 the total amount of interest received or credited to deposit accounts (term 
and time deposits, including certificates of deposit, savings accounts, savings shares, and 
NOW accounts) in all savings banks, cooperative banks, savings and loan associations, or 
credit unions located in Massachusetts. All other interest, unless exempt, should be 
entered on Schedule B, line 1.  

Line 6. Other 5.3% Income  
Other 5.3% income not reported elsewhere must be included here. Items reported here 
include: partnership and S corporation income or loss; gambling winnings from lotteries, 
raffles, races or other events of chance, wherever held; fair market value of prizes and 
awards; lump-sum distributions from qualified employee benefit plans in excess of 
employee’s contributions; and any other miscellaneous income. Income received by a 
Massachusetts trust or estate from sources not previously subject to Massachusetts 
jurisdiction or taxed in Massachusetts is reportable on the Form 2 as follows. Sources not 
previously subject to Massachusetts taxation include non-Massachusetts estates, trusts, 



and partnerships, wherever located. Enter the income or loss from these entities on the 
appropriate lines on Form 2 and Schedule D, according to the character and source of 
income. If no other line applies, enter the income or loss from these entities on line 6 of 
Form 2.  

Line 8. Deductions Allowed Decedents  
The amount of any deduction attributable to a decedent that is not properly allowable to 
the decedent as a deduction on the income tax return for the taxable period in which his 
death occurs, or any prior period, shall be specifically allowed as a deduction on this line, 
provided the estate of the decedent is liable to discharge the obligation for which the 
deduction relates. The following deductions are allowed if attributable to the decedent 
and paid after the decedent’s date of death (enclose a copy of Form 1 or 1-NR/PY):  

1. Amounts paid into Social Security (FICA), Railroad, U.S. or Massachusetts Retirement 
Systems are deductible up to a maximum of $2,000. Payments to an IRA, Keogh, 
Simplified Employee Pension Plan (SEP), or Savings Incentive Match Plan for 
Employees (SIMPLE) Account are not deductible.  

2. Amounts paid to someone to care for one (or more) qualified child under age 13, or for 
a disabled dependent(s), or spouse so that the decedent could work or look for work, are 
deductible as an employment related expense up to a maximum of $4,800 if there is one 
qualifying individual or $9,600 if there are two or more qualifying individuals.  

3. A deduction of $3,600 for one or $7,200 for two or more dependent members of the 
decedent’s household under age 12, or dependent age 65 or over (not the decedent or his 
spouse), or disabled dependent at the close of the taxable year in which the decedent’s 
death falls. This deduction may only be claimed as long as the employment-related 
expense deduction discussed above is not claimed.  

4. Amounts paid for rent for the decedent’s principal residence are deductible equal to 
50% of the rent paid during the taxable year, up to a maximum of $3,000. Enclose a 
supplemental statement listing the landlord’s name(s) and address(es), dates rented, and 
amount(s) of rent paid for each residence.  

5. The deduction for unreimbursed travel and transportation expenses incurred by any 
employee and unreimbursed gifts, entertainment, and other employee business expenses 
incurred by employees who solicit business for an employer away from the employer’s 
place of business are allowed, but only if the decedent itemizes deductions on his U.S. 
income tax return and only for amounts that exceed 2% of U.S. adjusted gross income. 
The amount an employee is reimbursed for business expenses continues to be an 
allowable deduction.  

6. A penalty charge for early withdrawal of savings and interest is deductible but only if 
the interest that the penalty is related to is reported on Form 2.  

7. Amounts paid to a former spouse during the taxable year for alimony or separate 
maintenance pursuant to a court decree, or for excess alimony amounts recaptured, as 
reported on U.S. Form 1040, line 31a.  Alimony payments specified as child support are 
not deductible.  



8. In addition, certain federal deductions are allowed including: interest payments due 
and paid on qualified student loans; qualified moving expenses paid or incurred with the 
commencement of work at a new principal place of work; business expenses of state and 
local government employees who are compensated on a fee basis; jury duty pay 
surrendered by the decedent to his employer; and contributions to a Medical Savings 
Account by the decedent as an employee of a small business or as a self-employed 
individual.  

Line 10. Income Distribution Deduction  
Enter on line 10 the amount reported on line 5 of Schedule IDD, Income Distribution 
Deduction.  

Guardianships/Conservatorships  
Enter on line 10 deductions and exemptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduction 
or exemption claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 
2. The preprinted language on line 10 should be crossed out and the words “see 
supporting statement” should be added.  

Line 12. Nonresident/Charitable Deduction  
With one exception, the deductions under G.L. c. 62, § 3.B(a)(1) and (2) for Part B 5.3% 
income accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or 
charities are allowed on Line 12. Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested 
nonresident beneficiaries is not deductible on Line 12 however, but is taxable at the 
fiduciary level.  

Please Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities 
are not reportable on Line 12. Rather, they are to be included as part of the income 
distribution deduction calculation and, thus, are reportable, as appropriate, on lines 2 
through 5 of Schedule IDD, Part 1. Enter on Line 12 the amount of Part B 5.3% income 
included in Line 11 accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident 
beneficiaries and or charities. Do not include on Line 12 any Massachusetts source 
income accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries or any amounts actually paid to 
vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities.  

Part A Interest and Dividend Income  

Line 14. Part A 5.3% Interest & Dividend Income  
Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 39. See Schedule B instructions for detailed 
information. Complete and enclose Schedule B.  



Line 15. Part A 5.3% Common Trust Fund Interest & 
Dividend Income  
Enter the amount of Part A 5.3% interest and dividend income received from common 
trust funds, including any unrelated business taxable Part A 5.3% interest and dividend 
income.  

Line 17. Income Distribution Deduction  
Enter on line 17 the amount reported on line 10 of Schedule IDD, Income Distribution 
Deduction.  

Guardianships/Conservatorships  
Enter on line 17 deductions and exemptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduction 
or exemption claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 
2. The preprinted language on line 17 should be crossed out and the words “see 
supporting statement” should be added.  

Line 19. Nonresident/Charitable Deduction  
With one exception, the deductions under G.L. c. 62, § 3.A(a)(1) and (2) for Part A 5.3% 
income accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or 
charities are allowed on Line 19. Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested 
nonresident beneficiaries is not deductible on Line 19 however, but is taxable at the 
fiduciary level.  

Please Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities 
are not reportable on Line 19. Rather, they are to be included as part of the income 
distribution deduction calculation and are thus reportable, as appropriate, on lines 7 
through 10 of Schedule IDD, Part 2.  

Enter on Line 19 the amount of Part A 5.3% income included on Line 18 accumulated or 
irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities. Do not include 
on Line 19 any Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested nonresident 
beneficiaries or any amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or 
charities.  

Line 22. Tax from Table  
Based upon the amount on line 21, find the proper amount of tax in the table and enter 
the tax on line 22. If line 21 is greater than $24,000, multiply the amount on line 21 by 
.053 and enter the result on line 22. You must use the tax table if line 21 is $24,000 or 
less.  



Part A 12% Capital Gains  

Line 23. Part A 12% Capital Gains  
Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 40. See Schedule B instructions for detailed 
information. Complete and enclose Schedule B.  

Line 24. Part A 12% Short-Term Common Trust Fund Capital 
Gains  
Enter the amount of Part A 12% short-term capital gains received from common trust 
funds, including any unrelated business taxable Part A 12% short-term capital gain 
income.  

Line 26. Income Distribution Deduction  
Enter on line 26 the amount reported on line 15 of Schedule IDD.  

Guardianships/Conservatorships  
Enter on line 26 deductions and exemptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduction 
or exemption claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 
2. The preprinted language on line 26 should be crossed out and the words “see 
supporting statement” should be added.  

Line 28. Nonresident/Charitable Deduction  
With one exception, the deductions under G.L. c. 62, § 3.A(a)(1) and (2) for Part A 12% 
capital gain income accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident 
beneficiaries and or charities are allowed on Line 28. Massachusetts source income 
accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries is not deductible on Line 28 however, 
but is taxable at the fiduciary level.  

Please Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities 
are not reportable on Line 28. Rather, they are to be included as part of the income 
distribution deduction calculation and, thus, are reportable, as appropriate, on lines 12 
through 15 of Schedule IDD, Part 3.  

Enter on Line 28 the amount of Part A 12% capital gain income included on Line 27 
accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities. 
Do not include on Line 28 any Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested 
nonresident beneficiaries or any amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries 
and or charities.  

Part C 5.3% Capital Gains  

Line 31. Part C 5.3% Long-Term Capital Gains  
Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 18. See Schedule D instructions for detailed 
information. Complete and enclose Schedule D.  



Line 32. Part C 5.3% Long-Term Common Trust Fund Capital 
Gains  
Enter the amount of Part C 5.3% long-term capital gains received from common trust 
funds including any unrelated business taxable Part C 5.3% long-term capital gain 
income.  

Line 34. Income Distribution Deduction  
Enter on line 34 the amount reported on line 20 of Schedule IDD.  

Guardianships/Conservatorships  
Enter on line 34 deductions and exemptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduction 
or exemption claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 
2. The preprinted language on line 34 should be crossed out and the words “see 
supporting statement” should be added.  

Line 36. Nonresident/Charitable Deduction  
With one exception, the deductions under G.L. c. 62, § 3.C(a)(1) and (2) for Part C 5.3% 
long-term capital gain income accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested 
nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are allowed on Line 36. Massachusetts source 
income accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries is not deductible on Line 36 
however, but is taxable at the fiduciary level.  

Please Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities 
are not reportable on Line 36. Rather, they are to be included as part of the income 
distribution deduction calculation and are thus reportable, as appropriate, on lines 17 
through 20 of Schedule IDD, Part 4.  

Enter on Line 36 the amount of Part C 5.3% long-term capital gain income included on 
Line 35 accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or 
charities. Do not include on Line 36 any Massachusetts source income accumulated for 
vested nonresident beneficiaries or any amounts actually paid to vested nonresident 
beneficiaries and or charities.  

Line 39. Credit Recapture  
If any Brownfields Credit (BC), Economic Opportunity Area Credit (EOA), Low-Income 
Housing Credit (LIH), or Historic Rehabilitation Credit (HR) property is disposed of or 
ceases to be in qualified use prior to the end of its useful life, the difference between the 
credit taken and the total credit allowed for actual use must be added back to the tax and 
reported on line 39. Complete and enclose Schedule H-2, Credit Recapture and fill in the 
appropriate oval(s) on line 39. 

Line 40. Additional Tax on Installment Sale  
An addition to tax applies for taxpayers who have deferred the gain, and the tax 
associated with that gain, on certain installment sales. This addition to tax is measured by 
an interest charge on the tax that has been deferred.   
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Enter on line 40 an additional tax, measured by an interest charge on the deferred tax, on 
gain from certain installment sales with a sales price over $150,000 if you are not a dealer 
and the aggregate face amount of installment obligations arising during the tax year and 
outstanding as of the close of the tax year exceeds $5 million. For more information see 
G.L. c. 62C, § 32A (a) and I.R.C. § 453A (a)–(c). 
 
Also, include on line 40 an additional tax amount measured by an interest charge on the 
deferred gain from the installment sale of timeshares and residential lots, if the sale meets 
one of the following criteria: 1) the sale is of a timeshare right for 6 weeks or less; 2) the 
sale is for the recreational use of specified campgrounds; or 3) the sale is for a residential 
lot and neither the dealer nor someone related to the dealer is obligated to 
make any improvements on the lot. For more information see G.L. c. 62C, § 32A (b) and 
I.R.C. § 453(l)(2)(B). 
 
To the extent practicable, Massachusetts follows federal income tax rules in determining 
the deferred gain from installment sales subject to the interest-charge addition to tax. For 
more information visit DOR’s website at www.mass.gov/dor and Internal Revenue 
Service Publication 537.  

Line 42. Credit for Income Taxes Due to Other Jurisdictions  
This credit is available to resident beneficiaries and to resident estates and trusts. It is not 
available to pooled income funds, charitable remainder annuity trusts, or charitable 
remainder unitrusts. If any of the income reported on this return is subject to taxation in 
another state or jurisdiction and you have filed a return and paid taxes in the other state or 
jurisdiction, complete Form 2, Schedule F, Credit for Income Taxes Due to Other 
Jurisdictions, and enter the amount of credit allowed (from line 7 of Schedule F) on line 
42 of Form 2. Do not include taxes paid to the U.S. government or local or city taxes. 
Enclose Schedule F. The total credit which you calculate on Schedule F is the smaller of 
the amount of taxes due to other jurisdictions (net of certain adjustments) or the portion 
of your Massachusetts tax due on your gross income that is taxed in such other 
jurisdictions. Credit is not given for a property tax due to another jurisdiction on account 
of capital stock or property. This does not refer to a tax on gain or income from the sale 
of capital stock or property, as included on Form 2, Schedule B or D however. Credit is 
also not given for any interest and penalties paid on a tax due to another jurisdiction.  

Line 43. Lead Paint Credit  
A credit for up to $1,500 for each residential unit is given for expenses incurred for 
removing or covering lead paint on residential premises in Massachusetts. A seven-year 
carryover of any unused credit is provided.  A credit is allowed for interim controls, 
abatement measures that have been taken pending the complete removal of lead paint, for 
up to $500 per dwelling unit. This $500 amount is counted towards the $1,500 limit. 
Strict regulations govern who can cover or remove lead paint. The basic rules are 
explained in Massachusetts Schedule LP, Credit for Removing or Covering Lead Paint on 
Residential Premises. If you qualify for the credit, complete Massachusetts Schedule LP 
and enter the amount of the credit on line 43. Enclose Schedule LP with your return.  



Note: Failure to enclose Schedule LP will result in this credit being disallowed on your 
tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax. 

Line 44. Economic Opportunity Area Credit  
Massachusetts allows a credit equal to 5% of the cost of qualifying property purchased 
for business use within an Economic Opportunity Area (EOA).  If you qualify for the 
credit, complete Massachusetts Schedule EOAC and enter the amount of the credit on 
line 44. Enclose Schedule EOAC with your return.  Note: Failure to enclose Schedule 
EOAC will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of 
your reported tax. 

Line 45. Brownfields Credit  
Recent legislation extends the Brownfields credit to nonprofit organizations, extends the 
time frame for eligibility for the credit, and permits the credit to be transferred, sold, or 
assigned. Under prior law, net response and removal costs incurred by a taxpayer 
between August 1, 1998 and August 5, 2005, were eligible for the credit provided that the 
taxpayer commenced and diligently pursued an environmental response action before 
August 5, 2005. As a result of the recent legislation, the environmental response action 
commencement cut-off date is changed from August 5, 2005 to August 5, 2013, and the 
time for incurring eligible costs that qualify for the credit is extended to January 1, 2014. 
For more information, see TIR 10-15. If you qualify for this credit, complete 
Massachusetts Schedule BC, Brownfields Credit, and enter the amount of the credit on 
line 45. Also, enter the Department of Revenue issued certificate number in the space 
provided on line 45.  Note:  Failure to enter the certificate number will result in this 
credit being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax. 

Line 46. Low-Income Housing Credit  
A low-income housing credit is available to taxpayers. The Department of Housing and 
Community Development will allocate the low-income housing credit from a pool of 
available credits granted under § 42 of the Code among qualified low-income housing 
projects. A taxpayer allocated a federal low-income housing credit also may be eligible 
for a state credit based on the credit amount allocated to a low-income housing project 
that the taxpayer owns. A five-year carryforward of unused credit is allowed. See TIR 99-
19 for more information. If you qualify for this credit, enter the amount of the credit on 
line 46. Also, enter the building identification number in the space provided on line 46.  
Note:  Failure to enter the building identification number will result in this credit being 
disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax. 

Line 47. Historic Rehabilitation Credit  
Effective for tax years beginning on January 1, 2005 and ending on or before December 
31, 2017, taxpayers may be eligible for the Historic Rehabilitation Credit (HRC). To 
claim this credit, a historic rehabilitation project must be completed and certified by the 
Massachusetts Historical Commission. Unused portions of the credit may be carried 
forward for 5 years. The credit may be transferred or sold to another taxpayer. The HRC 
is not subject to the 50% limitation rule for corporate taxpayers. If the taxpayer disposes 
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of the property generating the HRC, a portion of the credit may be subject to recapture. 
For further information, see TIR 10-11 and 830 CMR 63.38R.1, Massachusetts Historic 
Rehabilitation Credit.  If you qualify for this credit, enter the amount of the credit on line 
47. Also, enter the certificate number in the space provided on line 47.  Note:  Failure to 
enter the certificate number will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return 
and an adjustment of your reported tax. 

Line 48. Film Incentive  
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006 and before January 1, 2023, motion 
picture production companies may claim (1) a credit equal to 25% of the total qualifying 
aggregate payroll for employing persons within the Commonwealth in connection with 
the filming and production of a motion picture and (2) a credit equal to 25% of their 
Massachusetts production expenses. Each credit has its own qualification requirements 
and a taxpayer is allowed to qualify for and claim both credits. The credits are also 
transferable. For more information, see TIR 07-15. If you qualify for this credit, enter the 
amount of credit on line 48. Also, enter the Department of Revenue issued certificate 
number in the space provided on line 48. Note:  Failure to enter the certificate number 
will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your 
reported tax. 

Also Note: Motion picture production companies qualify to elect a refundable film credit 
if they have not transferred or carried forward a portion of the film credit for the 
production/certificate number to be refunded. If you qualify for this election, enter the 
amount from line 5 of Schedule RFC, Refundable Film Credit, in line 59 of Form 2, but 
only if taking the credit at the estate or trust level. If passing the credit out to a 
beneficiary(ies), see instructions for line 59 below.  

Line 49. Medical Device Credit  
Medical device companies that develop or manufacture medical devices in Massachusetts 
can claim a credit equal to 100% of the user fees paid by them when submitting certain 
medical device applications and supplements to the United States Food and Drug 
Administration. The credit is also transferable. For more information, see TIR 06-22. If 
you qualify for this credit, enter the amount of credit on line 49. Also, enter the 
Department of Revenue issued certificate number in the space provided on line 49. Note:  
Failure to enter the certificate number will result in this credit being disallowed on your 
tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax. Certificate application forms and 
additional information are available at www.mass.gov/dor.  

Line 51. Credits Passed Through to Beneficiaries  
The credits reported on lines 42 through 49 may be passed through to beneficiaries on 
line 51 and the applicable lines on Schedule 2K-1. Alternatively, they may be taken at the 
estate or trust level on line 52. These alternatives are mutually exclusive. If credits are 
passed through to a beneficiary, any credits that cannot be applied in the taxable year for 
which a carryover is allowed may be carried over and applied against the beneficiary’s 
personal income tax liability in succeeding taxable years. Carryovers may not be claimed 
at the estate or trust level in such cases.  
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Line 52. Credits Remaining with Fiduciary  
If the credits reported on lines 42 through 49 are taken at the estate or trust level on line 
52, any credits that cannot be applied in the taxable year for which a carryover is allowed 
may be carried over and applied against the estate’s or trust’s income tax liability in 
succeeding taxable years. Unused credits may not be passed through to beneficiaries on 
line 51. Either the fiduciary or the beneficiaries may take the credits, but not both.  

Line 54. Massachusetts Income Tax Withheld  

Massachusetts income taxes withheld under the employer identification number of the 
estate or trust, as indicated on your copies of Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-G, and 1099-R, 
should be included on line 54 only if not passed through to a beneficiary(ies) on Schedule 
2K-1, line 26. Be sure you attach copies of these forms to the left-hand margin of the 
front of your return; otherwise your claim of amounts withheld will not be allowed. If 
you have lost a form, ask the payer for a duplicate. Copies of Forms 1099-G and 1099-R 
need only be attached if they show an amount for Massachusetts tax withheld. For more 
information, see instructions for Schedule 2K-1, line 26.  

Line 56. 2011 Massachusetts Estimated Tax Payments  
Enter the total amount of Massachusetts Form 2-ES, estimated tax payments made for 
2011  on line 56. Do not include on line 56 estimated tax payments made on Form 1-ES 
or Form 2-ES on behalf of beneficiaries or the amount in line 55. See Directive 07-4.  

Line 57. Payments Made with Extension  
If an Application for Extension of Time to File Fiduciary or Partnership Return, 
Massachusetts Form M-8736, was made for 2011 on or before the due date of the return, 
enter in line 57 the amount paid with Massachusetts Form M-8736. An extension of time 
to file does not extend the due date for payment of the tax. Any tax not paid on or before 
the due date, without regard to the extension, will be charged interest. Any tax not paid 
within the extended period is subject to a penalty of 1 % per month, up to a maximum of 
25% from the due date of the return.  

Line 58. Payment with Original Return 
Use this line only if you are amending the original return. Enter in line 58 the amount of 
tax you paid with the original return from line 66, “Tax Due.” If estimated tax payments 
were made on the original return, they should be reflected on line 56, as on the original 
return. Select the appropriate amended return oval on page 1. Complete the entire return, 
correct the appropriate line(s) with the new information and recompute the tax liability. 
On an enclosed sheet, explain the reason for the amendment(s) and identify the line(s) 
and amount(s) being changed on the amended return. If the change reduces the tax 
liability, enclose Form CA-6, Application for Abatement/Amended Return, and a copy of 
the return that you originally filed. Mail the amended return, with Form CA-6 on top, to:  

Massachusetts Department of Revenue  
PO Box 7031  
Boston, MA 02204  



If you owe additional tax, mail the amended Form 2 to:  
Massachusetts Department of Revenue  
PO Box 7018  
Boston, MA 02204  
 

Line 59. Refundable Film Credit  
Motion picture production companies qualify to elect a refundable film credit if they have 
not transferred or carried forward a portion of the film credit for the production/certificate 
number to be refunded. Transferees of the film credit do not qualify for the refundable 
film credit. Transferees should claim their credit on Schedule Z, line 7.  

If an election to refund the film credit for a production/certificate number is made, the 
entire film credit remaining after reducing the tax liability and other credits will be 
refunded at 90%. A motion picture production company that elects to claim a refund of 
the film credit is not permitted to seek a partial refund and a partial transfer or carryover 
of the credit. However, the refund can be applied as an estimated payment for the 
subsequent tax year.  

The refundable film credit may be taken at the estate or trust level on line 59 or passed 
through to a beneficiary(ies) on line 23 of Schedule(s) 2K-1. Enter in line 59 any amount 
of refundable film credit from Schedule RFC, Refundable Film Credit, line 5, to be 
claimed at the estate or trust level. Enclose Schedule RFC with your return. Note: Failure 
to enclose Schedule RFC will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return and 
an adjustment of your reported tax.  

Also Note: If the credit is to be passed through to a beneficiary(ies), “0” should be 
entered on line 59 and the words “ flowed through to beneficiary(ies)” should be noted on 
the dotted line.  

Line 60. Refundable Dairy Credit  
The Massachusetts dairy farmer tax credit was established to offset the cyclical 
downturns in milk prices paid to dairy farmers and is based on the U.S. Federal Milk 
Marketing Order for the applicable market. A taxpayer who holds a certificate of 
registration as a dairy farmer pursuant to G.L. c. 94, s. 16A is allowed a refundable tax 
credit based on the amount of milk produced and sold. The dairy farmer tax credit as 
originally enacted was 90% refundable. Under recent legislation, the dairy farmer tax 
credit is now 100% refundable.  
 
The refundable dairy credit may be taken at the estate or trust level on line 60 or passed 
through to a beneficiary(ies) on line 24 of Schedule(s) 2K-1. Enter in line 60 the amount 
of refundable dairy credit from the Department of Agricultural Resources’ Dairy Farmer 
Certified Tax Credit Statement to be claimed at the estate or trust level. Also, enter the 
Department of Agricultural Resources-issued certificate number in the space provided on 
line 60. Note: Failure to enter the certificate number on line 60 will result in this credit 
being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax. 
 



Also Note: If the credit is to be passed through to a beneficiary(ies), “0” should be 
entered on line 60 and the words “ flowed through to beneficiary(ies)” should be noted on 
the dotted line. 
 

Line 61. Refundable Conservation Land Tax Credit 
Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, a credit is allowed for 
qualified donations of certified land to a public or private conservation agency.  The 
credit is equal to 50% of the fair market value of the qualified donation.  The amount of 
the credit that may be claimed by a taxpayer for each qualified donation cannot exceed 
$50,000.  The credit is refundable but not transferable.  The certification process is 
conducted by the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs (“EEA”).  EEA 
has promulgated a regulation, 301 CMR 14.00, entitled Conservation Land Tax Credit, 
which sets forth criteria for authorizing and certifying the credit.  See also, DOR’s 830 
CMR 62.6.4, entitled Conservation Land Tax Credit, available on the DOR’s website as a 
working draft at www.mass.gov/dor, which explains the calculation of the allowable 
credit.   
 
The refundable conservation land tax credit may be taken at the estate or trust level on 
line 61 or passed through to a beneficiary(ies) on line 25 of Schedule(s) 2K-1. Enter in 
line 61 the amount of refundable conservation land tax credit to be claimed at the estate 
or trust level. Also, enter the DOR-issued certificate number in the space provided on line 
61. Note: Failure to enter the certificate number on line 61 will result in this credit being 
disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax. 
 
Also Note: If the credit is to be passed through to a beneficiary(ies), “0” should be 
entered on line 61 and the words “ flowed through to beneficiary(ies)” should be noted on 
the dotted line. 
 

Line 64. Amount of Overpayment to be Applied to 2012 
Massachusetts Estimated Taxes  
Enter the amount of the 2011 overpayment from line 63 that you want applied to your 
2012 Massachusetts estimated taxes.  

Line 65. Amount of Refund  
Subtract line 64 from line 63, and enter the result in line 65. This is the amount of your 
refund.  

Line 66 Tax Due  
If line 53 is larger than line 62, subtract line 62 from line 53, and enter the result on line 
66. Include in line 66 any additional payment for interest and/or penalty(ies) as described 
below. Pay this amount in full with the return when filed. Make the check or money order 
payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and write the estate or trust employer 
identification number on the front of the check in the lower left front corner.  

http://www.mass.gov/dor


Interest  
If you fail to pay the tax when due, interest will be charged. For an explanation of how 
interest is compounded in Massachusetts, see TIR 92-6 or call the Customer Service 
Bureau at (617)887-MDOR or toll-free, in Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089.  

Penalty for Late Payment  
The penalty for late payment is 1 % of the tax due, per month (or fraction thereof) up to a 
maximum of 25%.  

Penalty for Failure to File  
The penalty for failure to file a tax return by the due date is 1% of the tax due, per month 
(or fraction thereof) up to a maximum of 25%.  

Penalty for Protested (“Bad”) Check  
If any check sent in payment of tax or other charge is not honored by your bank because 
of insufficient funds or for any other reason, a penalty of $30 or the amount of the 
payment, whichever is less, may be charged.  

Federal (Audit) Change Penalty  
If the U.S. Internal Revenue Service changes a tax return for a prior year (generally 
through audit), file an amended Form 2 together with any required schedules or 
additional payments within one year of the final federal determination to avoid a penalty. 
The penalty is equal to 10% of the additional tax due. Remember to select the appropriate 
amended return oval on page 1 of Form 2. If the change indicates a refund, file 
Massachusetts Form CA-6, Application for Abatement/Amended Return, within one 
year.  

Addition for underpayment of estimated tax  
If withholding and/or estimated tax payments do not equal 80% of the total tax liability 
required to be paid, an addition to tax will generally apply if your 2011 tax due after 
credits and withholding is greater than $400. If you failed to meet these requirements, 
you must complete and enclose Massachusetts Form M-2210F to calculate the amount of 
penalty you must add to line 66, or to show which exception applies. Most taxpayers who 
qualify for an exception made withholding and/or estimated payments equal to their tax 
liability for the previous year. You do not have to complete Form M-2210F if the balance 
due with your return is $400 or less.  

Taxpayer’s Declaration  
At least one of the fiduciaries must sign and date the return, under penalties of perjury. 
Fiduciaries using facsimile signatures must follow the procedures in DOR Directive 89-9. 
Staple all state copies of any Forms W-2, W-2G, and any 1099 with Massachusetts 
withholding on the front of the Form 2. If making a payment, staple your check or money 
order to Form 2-PV. Form 2-PV can be found on the inside front cover of this booklet. 

http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=dorterminal&L=6&L0=Home&L1=Businesses&L2=Help+%26+Resources&L3=Legal+Library&L4=Regulations+(CMRs)&L5=63.00%3a+Taxation+of+Corporations&sid=Ador&b=terminalcontent&f=dor_rul_reg_reg_830_cmr_+63.38r_1_fact&csid=Ador


Make the check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and be 
sure to sign the check. The estate or trust employer identification number should be 
entered on the front of the check. Enclose all required U.S. forms and schedules to the 
back. Please enclose Massachusetts forms and schedules first, followed by Massachusetts  

Form M-2210F.  

 

The return, together with payment in full, is due, for calendar year filers on or before 
April 17, 2012. Fiscal year returns are generally due on the 15th day of the fourth month 
after the close of the fiscal year. Mail to:  

Massachusetts Department of Revenue  
PO Box 7018  
Boston, MA 02204  
Direct fiduciary inquiries (not returns) to:  

Massachusetts Department of Revenue  
Customer Service Bureau  
PO Box 7010  
Boston, MA 02204  
Telephone: (617) 887-MDOR  
 

Schedule B/R. Beneficiary/Remaindermen  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing 
instrument. Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court 
ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, 
Application for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the 
number is not available at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied 
in the boxes provided. Do not use a decedent’s social security number for an estate. A 
separate Employer Identification Number is required for the estate and for each trust 
entity.  

Name of Beneficiary  
As used in this form, “beneficiary” means income beneficiary. A “trust income 
beneficiary” is a beneficiary who is entitled to receive the income from the trust. If filing 
for other than a trust, enter the name and address of the person receiving the income.  



Name of Remainderman  
A remainderman is the person or entity entitled to an estate after the prior estate has 
expired. In returns where taxable stock dividends, taxable gains from the purchase or sale 
of real estate, tangible and intangible personal property, or dividends which are wholly or 
in part credited to capital have been received by the fiduciary during the tax year covered 
by this return and in all cases where all or part of the taxable income is accumulated for 
remainder interests, Schedule B/R must include the complete name and address of each 
remainderman.  

Beneficiary’s/Remainderman’s Identification Number  
Enter the social security number of the income beneficiary or remainderman, if the 
income beneficiary or remainderman is an individual.  Enter the employer identification 
number of the income beneficiary or remainderman, if the income beneficiary or 
remainderman is an entity. 

Legal Domicile  
A legal domicile is a person’s permanent home. Enter the legal domicile of the income 
beneficiary or remainderman.  

Total Income  
Enter the dollar amount of the income the beneficiary or remainderman received during 
the tax period covered by the return.  

Percentage of Income  
Enter the percentage of total income that was paid to/or accumulated for each beneficiary 
or remainderman.  

Percentage of Taxable Income  
Indicate the percentage of total income taxable in Massachusetts for each beneficiary or 
remainderman.  

Income Summary  

Line 1. Accumulated Income  
Enter the amount of income accumulated, i.e., retained by the entity, for the year.  

Line 3. Accumulated Capital Gain  
Enter the amount of capital gain accumulated, i.e., retained by the entity, for the year.  

Schedule B. Interest, Dividends and Certain Capital Gains and 
Losses  
You must file Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule B if you have:  



1.  dividend income in excess of $1,500;  

2.   any interest income other than from Massachusetts banks taxed at 5.3%;  

3. short-term capital gains or losses;  
4. carryover short-term losses from prior years;  
5. long-term gains on collectibles or pre-1996 installment sales classified as capital gain 

income for Massachusetts purposes;  
6. gains or losses from the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion of property used in 

a trade or business;  
7. net long-term capital gains or losses; or  
8. excess exemptions.  
 
“Collectibles” are defined as any capital asset that is a collectible within the meaning of 
Internal Revenue Code (“Code”) § 408(m), as amended and in effect for the taxable year. 
“Collectibles” include works of art, rugs, antiques, metals, gems, stamps, alcoholic 
beverages, certain coins, and any other items treated as collectibles for federal tax 
purposes.  

You need not fill out Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule B if the only interest income you 
have is from Massachusetts banks. Report it on Form 2, line 5 instead. You must 
complete Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule B if your interest or dividend income includes: 
dividends taxed directly to trusts or estates on a Form 2, Fiduciary Income Tax Return; 
distributions that are returns of capital; or exempt portions of any interest or dividends 
from a mutual fund.  

Line by Line Instructions:  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing 
instrument. Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court 
ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, 
Application for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the 
number is not available at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied 
in the boxes provided. Do not use a decedent’s social security number for an estate. A 
separate Employer Identification Number is required for the estate and for each trust 
entity.  

Line 1. Total Interest  
Enter total interest from U.S. Form 1041 or 1041-QFT, line 1.  

Note. Interest from a common trust fund may be excluded here, provided it is entered on 
Form 2, line 15. If common trust fund interest is included in this line, enter the amount on 
line 7 and on Form 2, line 15.  



Line 2. Total Dividends  
Enter total dividends from U.S. Form 1041 or 1041-QFT, line 2a. Dividends from a 
common trust fund may be excluded here, provided they are entered on Form 2, line 15. 
If common trust fund dividends are included in this line, enter the amount on line 7 and 
on Form 2, line 15.  

Line 3. Other Interest and Dividends  
Enter on line 3 any other interest and dividends not included on lines 1 and 2. Line 3 
includes such items as interest from obligations of other states and their political 
subdivisions that are not taxable federally but are taxable in Massachusetts. Any tax 
exempt municipal interest, including interest from all Massachusetts municipalities, 
should be entered here for Schedule H computations.  

Line 4. Total Interest and Dividends  
Add lines 1 through 3 and enter the total on line 4.  

Line 5. Interest on U.S. Debt Obligations  
Enter the total amount of U.S. government obligation interest included on line 4. Interest 
from obligations of the U.S. government are not taxable by the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts.  

Line 6. Total Interest from Massachusetts Banks  
Enter the total amount of interest from savings in Massachusetts banks included on Form 
2, line 5.  

Line 7. Other Exclusions  
Enter any other interest or dividends to be excluded. A schedule and statement of 
explanation must be enclosed. Common trust fund interest or dividends included on lines 
1 or 2 must be entered here. Any tax-exempt municipal interest entered on line 3, for 
Schedule H computations, must be entered here.  

Line 8. Total Adjustments  
Add lines 5 through 7, and enter the total on line 8.  

Line 9. Subtotal  
Subtract line 8 from line 4, and enter the result on line 9.  

Note. If there are any differences between U.S. and Massachusetts amounts reported on 
lines 12, 13, 14, 18, and 19, be sure to enter the Massachusetts amount and enclose a 
statement that includes the line item and an explanation of the differences. Exclude short-
term capital gains received from common trust funds from Form 2, Schedule B and enter 
short-term capital gains received from common trust funds on Form 2, line 24.  



Line 10. Allowable Deductions From Your Trade or Business  
Enter the amount from Massachusetts Schedule C-2, line 8 if you qualify for an excess 
trade or business deduction. See the instructions for Massachusetts Schedule C-2.  

Line 11. Subtotal  
Subtract line 10 from line 9, and enter the result on line 11.  

Line 12. Short-Term Capital Gains  
Enter the total short-term capital gains included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, Part I, 
lines 1, 2 and 3.  

Line 13. Long-Term Capital Gains on Collectibles and Pre-
1996 Installment Sales  
Enter the total amount of long-term capital gains on collectibles and pre-1996 installment 
sales from Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 11.  

Line 14. Gain on Sale of Business Property  
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of gain from the sale, exchange, or involuntary 
conversion of property used in a trade or business and held for one year or less. Be sure 
to enclose U.S. Form 4797 with your return.  

Line 15. Gross Interest, Dividends and Certain Capital Gains  
Add lines 12 through 14.  

Line 16. Allowable Deductions From Your Trade or Business  
Enter the amount from Massachusetts Schedule C-2, line 11 if you qualify for an excess 
trade or business deduction. See the instructions for Massachusetts Schedule C-2.  

Line 17. Subtotal  
Subtract line 16 from line 15.  

Line 18. Short-Term Capital Losses  
Enter the total short-term capital losses included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, Part I, 
lines 1, 2 and 3.  

Line 19. Loss on Sale of Business Property  
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of loss from the sale, exchange, or involuntary 
conversion of property used in a trade or business and held for one year or less. Be sure 
to enclose U.S. Form 4797 with your return.  



Line 20. Prior Years Short-Term Unused Losses  
You may use short-term losses accumulated in the previous taxable years beginning after 
1981 in the computation of short-term gain or loss for the current year. Enter here the 
short-term loss amount from your 2010 Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule B, line 41.  

Line 21. Subtotal  
Combine lines 17 through 20. If a positive amount, omit lines 22 through 25 and go to 
line 26. If the total is a loss, go to line 22.  

Line 22. Short-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest 
and Dividends  
Enter the smaller of line 11 or line 21 (as a positive amount), but not more than $2,000.  

Line 23. Subtotal  
Combine lines 21 and 22. If line 23 is less than “0”, go to line 24. If line 23 is “0”, omit 
lines 24 through 30 and go to line 31. If  Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a loss and Form 
2, Schedule D, line 12 is a loss, omit line 24, enter the amount from line 23 on line 25 and 
line 41, omit lines 26 through 30 and complete lines 31 through 39.  

Line 24. Short-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Long-
Term Capital Gains  
If  Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a loss and Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is greater than 
“0,” enter the smaller of  Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 (considered as a positive amount) 
or Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 on Form 2, Schedule B, line 24 and on Form 2, Schedule 
D, line 13.  

Line 25. Short-Term Capital Losses for Carryover in 2012  
Combine lines 23 and 24 and enter the result on lines 25 and 41, omit lines 26 through 
29, enter “0” on line 30, and complete lines 31 through 40.  

Line 26. Short-Term Capital Gains and Long-Term Gains on 
Collectible  
Enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 21. If  Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is 
“0”, or greater, omit line 27 and enter the amount from line 26 on line 28. If Form 2, 
Schedule D, line 12 is a loss go to Form 2, Schedule B, line 27.  

Line 27. Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Short-
Term Capital Gains  
If  Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 is greater than “0”, and Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a 
loss, enter the smaller of  Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 or Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 
(considered as a positive amount) on Form 2, Schedule B, line 27 and on Form 2, 
Schedule D, line 13.  



Line 28. Subtotal  
Subtract line 27 from line 26. If line 28 is “0,” omit line 29 and enter “0” on line 30.  

Line 29. Long-Term Gain Deduction  
If there is no entry in line 13, enter “0.” If line 13 shows a gain, enter 50% of line 13 less 
50% of the losses on lines 18, 19, 20, and 27, but not less than “0.”  

Line 30. Short-Term Gains After Long-Term Gains Deduction  
Subtract line 29 from line 28. Not less than “0.”  

Line 31. Subtotal  
Enter the amount from line 11.  

Line 32. Short-Term Losses Applied Against Interest and 
Dividends  
Enter the amount from line 22. If line 22 is not completed, enter “0.”  

Line 33. Subtotal  
Subtract line 32 from line 31. If  Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is “0” or greater omit line 
34 and enter the amount from line 33 on line 35. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is a loss 
go to line 34.  

Line 34. Long-Term Losses Applied Against Interest and 
Dividends  
If Form 2, Schedule B, line 33 is a positive amount and Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is a 
loss, complete the Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends 
Worksheet for Form 2, Schedule B, line 34 and Form 2, Schedule D, line 15.  

Note: Although under TIR 04-23, unused capital losses of a trust generally are allocable 
to trust corpus and cannot be passed through to beneficiaries, this does not preclude 
trustees or other fiduciaries from claiming on line 34 the deduction allowed under G.L. c 
62, § 2(c)(4) of not more than an aggregate amount of $2,000 in Part A capital loss and 
Part C capital loss against interest and dividends included in Part A income.  

Line 35. Adjusted Interest and Dividends  
Subtract line 34 from line 33.  

Line 36. Adjusted Gross Interest, Dividends and Certain 
Capital Gains  
Add lines 30 and 35. Not less than “0.”  



Line 37. Expense and Fiduciary Compensation Deduction  
Enter on 37a the allowable portion of expenses as computed on Schedule H, Part 1, line 
5. Enter on 37b compensation as computed on Schedule H, Part 2, line 18. Enclose a 
copy of Schedule H.  

Line 38. Taxable Interest, Dividends and Certain Capital Gains  
Subtract line 37 from line 36. Not less than “0.”  

Line 39. Interest and Dividends Taxable at 5.3%  
If line 38 is greater than or equal to line 11, enter the amount from line 11 here and on 
Form 2, line 14. If line 38 is less than line 11, enter the amount from line 38 here and on 
Form 2, line 14.  

Line 40. Taxable 12% Capital Gains  
Subtract line 39 from line 38. Not less than ‘0.” Enter the result here and on Form 2, line 
23.  

Line 41. Available Short-Term Losses for Carryover in 2012 
Enter the amount from line 25, only if it is a loss.  

Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends Worksheet for Form 
2, Schedule B, Line 34 and Form 2, Schedule D, Line 15. Complete only if Form 2, 
Schedule B, line 33 is a positive amount and Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is a loss. Enter 
all losses as positive amounts.  

1. Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
2. Enter the lesser of line 1 or $2,000  
3. Enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If “0”or less omit the remainder of worksheet. Otherwise, 

complete  
lines 5 and 6 . . . . . . . . . .  

5. Enter any loss from Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 as a positive amount. Otherwise, 
enter “0” . . .  

6. If line 4 is smaller than or equal to line 5, enter line 4 here and on Form 2, Schedule 
B, line 34 and on Form 2, Schedule D, line 15. If line 4 is larger than line 5, enter line 
5 here and on Form 2, Schedule B, line 34 and on Form 2, Schedule D, line 15 . . . . . . 
. . . . .  

 

Schedule D. Capital Gains and Losses — Long-Term 
Capital Gains and Losses Excluding Collectibles  
You must complete Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D if you had long-term capital 
gains or losses from the sale or exchange of capital assets or from similar transactions 
which are granted capital gain or loss treatment on your U.S. return or, if you had 
capital gain distributions. Include gains from all property, wherever located. “Long-



term capital gains” are gains on the sale or exchange of capital assets that have been 
held for more than one year on the date of the sale or exchange. “Long term capital 
losses” are losses on the sale or exchange of capital assets that have been held for 
more than one year on the date of the sale or exchange. “Capital gain income” is 
defined as gain from the sale or exchange of a capital asset. The definition of “capital 
asset” includes: (1) an asset which is a capital asset under Internal Revenue Code 
(“Code”) § 1221, or (2) property that is used in a trade or business within the meaning 
of Code § 1231(b), without regard to the holding period as defined in said section.  

Significant Differences Between U.S. and Massachusetts 
Capital Gain Provisions Are:  

1. Code § 1244 losses reported as ordinary losses on your U.S. return must be reported 
on Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D;  

2. If you made a federal election under § 311 of the Tax Relief Act of 1997 to recognize 
gain on the deemed sale of a capital asset held on January 1, 2001, Massachusetts 
does not follow the federal rules at § 311 for determining the basis of the asset. See 
TIR 02-3. If you sold a capital asset in 2011 for which you made a federal § 311 
election, the Massachusetts initial basis will not be the federal basis. The 
Massachusetts initial basis will be determined as of the date the asset was first 
acquired;  

3. Upon the sale of stock of an S corporation, the federal basis must be modified 
according to Massachusetts Income Tax Regulation, 830 CMR 62.17A.1;  

4. Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment rules to take into account differences 
between Massachusetts and federal tax laws. For more information regarding basis 
adjustment rules, see TIR 88-7; and  

5. Net ordinary losses that are itemized deductions on U.S. Schedule A are not 
allowable.  

 

Installment Sales  
Effective for sales on or after January 1, 2005, taxpayers who are treated as electing 
installment sale treatment federally will automatically be treated as electing 
Massachusetts installment sale treatment if the Massachusetts gain for the entire 
transaction is less than $1 million. Such taxpayers are not allowed to elect out of 
Massachusetts installment sales treatment and do not have to post security with the 
Commissioner of Revenue (“Commissioner”).  

In contrast to the above, taxpayers who are treated as electing installment sale treatment 
federally must file a separate Massachusetts installment sale election and post security 
with the Commissioner if their Massachusetts gain for the entire transaction is equal to or 
greater than $1 million. An explanatory statement must be enclosed with each return for 
the life of the installment sale. For further information see TIR 04-28 or contact the 
Installment Sales Unit at (617) 887-6950.  

Please Note. If you are reporting capital gains on installment sales that occurred during 
January 1, 1996 through December 31, 2002, do not file Form 2, Schedule D. Instead, 

http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=dorterminal&L=6&L0=Home&L1=Businesses&L2=Help+%26+Resources&L3=Legal+Library&L4=Regulations+(CMRs)&L5=62.00%3a+Income+Tax&sid=Ador&b=terminalcontent&f=dor_rul_reg_reg_830_cmr_62_17a_1&csid=Ador
http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=dorterminal&L=7&L0=Home&L1=Businesses&L2=Help+%26+Resources&L3=Legal+Library&L4=Technical+Information+Releases&L5=TIRs+-+By+Year(s)&L6=(1980-1989)+Releases&sid=Ador&b=terminalcontent&f=dor_rul_reg_tir_tir_88_7&csid=Ador
http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=dorterminal&L=7&L0=Home&L1=Businesses&L2=Help+%26+Resources&L3=Legal+Library&L4=Technical+Information+Releases&L5=TIRs+-+By+Year(s)&L6=2004+Releases&sid=Ador&b=terminalcontent&f=dor_rul_reg_tir_tir_04_28&csid=Ador


you must file Schedule D-IS, Installment Sales. If you are reporting an installment sale 
occurring on or after January 1, 2003, report those gains on Form 2, Schedule D. 

Line by Line Instructions:  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing 
instrument. Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court 
ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, 
Application for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the 
number is not available at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied 
in the boxes provided. Do not use a decedent’s social security number for an estate. A 
separate Employer Identification Number is required for the estate and for each trust 
entity.  

Line 1. Long-Term Capital Gains and Losses  
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 6, column f.  

Line 2. Additional Long-Term Capital Gains and Losses  
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 7, column f.  

Line 3. Net Long-Term Gain or Loss from Partnerships, S 
Corporations, Estates, and Trusts  
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 8, column f.  

Line 4. Capital Gain Distributions  
Enter the amount of capital gain distributions reported to you by a mutual fund or real 
estate investment trust included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 9, column f.  

Line 5. Gain From U.S. Form 4797  
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 10, column f.  

Line 6. Massachusetts Long-Term Capital Gains and Losses 
Included in U.S. Form 4797, Part II  
Enter amounts included on U.S. Form 4797, Part II treated as capital gains or losses for 
Massachusetts purposes (not included on lines 1 through 5 above). These include 
ordinary gains from sales of Code § 1231 property; recapture amounts under Code §§ 
1245, 1250 and 1255; Code § 1244 losses (losses on small business stock); and the loss 
on the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion of property used in a trade or business.  

http://www.mass.gov/Ador/docs/dor/Forms/IncTax09/addl/sch_dis.pdf


Line 7. Carryover Losses from Previous Years  
If you have a carryover loss from a prior year, enter on line 7 the amount of carryover 
loss from your 2010 Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 19.  

Line 8. Subtotal  
Combine lines 1 through 7 and enter the result on line 8.  

Line 9. Differences  
Enter any differences between the gains or losses reportable for Massachusetts tax 
purposes and the U.S. gains or losses reported on Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D and 
U.S. Form 4797, Part II. Enter the amount of common trust fund gain included on line 8. 
This amount would have been carried over from your U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, and 
is properly reported on Form 2, line 32.  

Differences include:  

1. capital gains or losses that occurred while the taxpayer was legally domiciled in 
another state or country during the taxable year;  

2. capital gains or losses from transactions reported as installment sales for U.S. income 
tax purposes but not for Massachusetts;  

3. Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment rules to take into account differences 
between Massachusetts and U.S. tax laws; and  

4. Gains from pre-1996 installment sales classified as ordinary income for 
Massachusetts purposes and reported on Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 8 
should be reported on Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 9 (“Differences”). The 
amount of such gain classified as ordinary income should then be reported on Form 2, 
line 6 (“Other income”) and identified as “2011 gain from pre-1996 installment sale.” 
Any entry on line 9 must be clearly explained in an enclosed statement.  

 

Line 10. Massachusetts 2011 Gains or Losses  
Exclude/subtract line 9 from line 8.  

Line 11. Long-Term Gains on Collectibles and Pre-1996 
Installment Sales  
Enter on line 11 the amount of long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996 installment 
sales classified as capital gain income for Massachusetts purposes that are included on 
line 10. Gains from pre-1996 installment sales are classified as either capital gains or 
ordinary income under the Massachusetts law in effect on the date the sale or exchange 
took place. Gains from pre-1996 installment sales that are classified as capital gains 
should be reported as 12% income on Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule B, line 13. If the 
asset was held for more than one year when it was sold, the gain will be eligible for a 
50% long-term deduction. Gains from pre-1996 installment sales classified as ordinary 
income and reported on Massachusetts Form 2,  Schedule D, line 8 should be reported on 
Massachusetts Schedule D, line 9 (“Differences”). The amount of such gain classified as 



ordinary income should then be reported on Form 2, line 6 (“Other income”) and 
identified as “2011 gain from pre-1996 installment sale.” “Collectibles” are defined as 
any capital asset that is a collectible within the meaning of Code § 408(m), as amended 
and in effect for the taxable year, including works of art, rugs, antiques, metals, gems, 
stamps, alcoholic beverages, certain coins, and any other items treated as collectibles for 
federal tax purposes.  

Line 12. Subtotal  
Subtract line 11 from line 10 and enter the result on line 12. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 
12 is a loss and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is “0” or less, omit Form 2, Schedule D, line 
13 and enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 on Form 2, Schedule D, line 
14 and enter “0” on Form 2, line 31. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a gain and Form 2, 
Schedule B, line 23 is a loss, go to Form 2, Schedule D, line 13. If Form 2, Schedule D, 
line 12 is a loss and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a positive amount, go to Form 2, 
Schedule D, line 13. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a gain, and Form 2, Schedule B, 
line 23 is “0” or greater, omit Form 2, Schedule D, lines 13 through 15 and enter the 
amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 on Form 2, Schedule D, line 16.  

Line 13. Capital Losses Applied Against Capital Gains  
If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a positive amount and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a 
loss, enter the smaller of Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 or Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 
(considered as positive amount) on Form 2, Schedule D, line 13 and Form 2, Schedule B, 
line 24. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a loss and Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 is a 
positive amount, enter the smaller of Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 (considered as a 
positive amount) or Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 on Form 2, Schedule D, line 13 and in 
Form 2, Schedule B, line 27.  

Line 14. Subtotal  
If line 12 is less than “0,” combine lines 12 and 13. If line 12 is greater than “0,” subtract 
line 13 from line 12.  

Line 15. Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest 
and Dividends  
Complete the Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends 
Worksheet for Form 2, Schedule B, Line 34 and Form 2, Schedule D, Line 15 only if 
Form 2, Schedule B, line 33 is a positive amount and Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is a 
loss.  

Line 16. Subtotal  
Combine line 14 with line 15 and enter the result on line 16. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 
16 is “0”, enter “0” in lines 17 through 19. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 16 is a loss, omit 
lines 17 and 18 and enter the amount from line 16 on line 19 and enter “0” on Form 2, 
line 31.  



Line 17. Allowable Deductions From Your Trade or Business  
Generally, taxpayers may not use excess 5.3% trade or business deductions to offset other 
income. However, Massachusetts law allows such offsets if the following requirements 
are met: the excess 5.3% deductions must be adjusted gross income deductions allowed 
under G.L. c. 62, § 2(d) and these excess deductions may only be used to offset other 
income which is effectively connected with the active conduct of a trade of business or 
any other income allowed under Code § 469(d)(1)(B) to offset losses from passive 
activities. Enclose Schedule C-2 with your return. Enter on line 17 the amount from 
Schedule C-2, line 14.  

Line 18. Subtotal  
Subtract line 17 from line 16 and enter the result on line 18 and on Form 2, line 31. Not 
less than “0.”  

Line 19. Available Losses for Carryover  
Enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 16, only if it is a loss.  

Schedule E. Rental, Royalty and REMIC Income or Loss  
Enclose a copy of the U.S. Schedule E and U.S. Form 8582.  

Please Note: Income from rental property located in or outside Massachusetts is subject 
to taxation on Form 2, Fiduciary Income tax Return, if it is accumulated for unknown or 
unascertained persons, or persons with uncertain interests. For a decedent’s estate, if the 
executor is authorized or directed in the will to occupy the decedent’s realty and collect 
rents therefrom, or in the absence of a will, the court decree, appointing a temporary 
executor or administrator, authorizes the same, then to the extent of any income collected, 
it is reported on line 1a. Generally, the income is reported on the personal income tax 
return of the heir or devisee taking either title or control and possession of the property, 
because under Massachusetts law, title to real property vests immediately upon death in 
the devisees or heirs at law. However, the income is reported on Form 2 when the real 
estate is under administration or the person taking title or possession is the executor or 
administrator.  

Line by Line Instructions:  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing 
instrument. Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court 
ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, 
Application for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the 
number is not available at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied 



in the boxes provided. Do not use a decedent’s social security number for an estate. A 
separate Employer Identification Number is required for the estate and for each trust 
entity.  

Line 1a. Rental and Royalty Income or Loss  
Enter on line 1a the total rental and royalty income or loss from U.S. Form 1040, 
Schedule E, Part I, line 26 and Part V, line 40.  

Line 1b. Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC) 
Income or Loss  
Enter on line 1b the total Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC) residual 
income or loss from U.S. Schedule E, Part IV, line 39.  

Line 1. Subtotal  
Combine lines 1a and 1b, and enter on line 1.  

Line 2. Massachusetts Differences  
Enter and explain on line 2 any differences between rental, royalty, and REMIC income 
reported on your U.S. return and your Massachusetts return. Possible differences include 
part-year resident status, trust provisions, deductible royalties from approved U.S. energy 
conservation patents, and passive losses as described below. Explain the differences in 
the space provided or enclose an additional sheet if necessary.  

Deductible Royalties From Approved U.S. Energy Conservation Patents. Enter any 
income you received from certain U.S. patents that are approved by the Massachusetts 
Division of Energy Resources as being useful for energy conservation or for alternative 
energy development. For more information, contact the Division of Energy Resources at 
(617)727-4732. If such approved patent income is other than royalty income, use the 
applicable schedule and explain.  

Passive Losses. As a result of differences in U.S. and Massachusetts rules in 1987, the 
calculations you made for passive losses on your 1987 U.S. and Massachusetts returns 
may have differed. Differences in amounts reported in 1987 for U.S. and Massachusetts 
tax purposes should be adjusted when the property is disposed of or the deduction is used 
up. In addition, passive losses allowed for Massachusetts tax purposes in 1987, but 
carried over for U.S. tax purposes, cannot be used again for Massachusetts tax purposes 
when such carryover losses are eventually allowed for U.S. tax purposes. To the extent 
there are applicable adjustments for Massachusetts differences, taxpayers must calculate 
allowable losses on a pro forma U.S. Form 8582, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, 
which should then be attached to the Form 2.  

Line 3. Abandoned Building Renovation Deduction  
In line 3 enter 10% of the costs incurred in renovating a qualifying abandoned building in 
an Economic Opportunity Area. For further information, contact the Massachusetts 
Office of Business Development at (617) 973-8600.  



Line 4. Total Rental, Royalty and REMIC Income or Loss for 
Massachusetts  
Combine lines 1, 2 and 3. Enter the total on line 4 of Schedule E and on Form 2, line 4.  

Schedule F. Credit for Income Taxes Due to Other 
Jurisdictions  
Complete Schedule F to calculate your credit for income taxes paid by you to another 
state or jurisdiction on income reported on Form 2. Enclose a complete copy of the 
return(s) filed in the other jurisdictions. Do not include taxes paid to the U.S. government 
or local or city taxes. You are allowed to claim a credit for taxes paid to the following 
jurisdictions: (a) other states in the U.S.; (b) any territory or dependency of the U.S. 
(including Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, the District of Columbia); or (c) the 
Dominion of Canada or any of its provinces (less any U.S. credit amount allowable from 
U.S. Form 1116).  

Please Note: Canada is the only foreign country for which you may claim a tax credit on 
Schedule F. First deduct any U.S. credit amount allowable. The total credit which you 
calculate on Schedule F is the smaller of the amount of taxes due to other jurisdictions 
(net of certain adjustments) or the portion of your Massachusetts tax due on your gross 
income that is taxed in such other jurisdictions. Credit is not given for a property tax due 
to another jurisdiction on account of capital stock or property. This does not refer to a tax 
on gain or income from the sale of capital stock or property, as included on Form 2, 
Schedule B or D. Credit is also not given for any interest and penalties paid on a tax due 
to another jurisdiction.  

You must complete separate schedules if you had Part B 5.3% income, Part A interest 
(other than interest from Massachusetts banks) and dividend income, Part A 12% capital 
gain income, or Part C 5.3% capital gain income taxed by another jurisdiction. If you use 
this schedule to calculate a credit for Part A interest (other than interest from 
Massachusetts banks) and dividend income, Part A 12% capital gain income, or Part C 
5.3% capital gain income, substitute such income for Part B 5.3% income on lines 1, 2, 
and 4. You must also substitute Form 2, Schedule B, line 9 and line 15 or Form 2, 
Schedule D, line 12, but not less than “0,” for Form 2, line 7 on line 2 of Schedule F, and 
the total of Form 2, line 20 multiplied by .053 and Form 2, line 30 or line 38 for Part B 
5.3% tax on line 4 of Schedule F.  

Please Note: When using this schedule to calculate credit for Part A interest (other than 
interest from Massachusetts banks) and dividend income, Part A 12% capital gain 
income, or Part C 5.3% capital gain income, enter on line 1 such income taxed in another 
jurisdiction calculated as if it was earned in Massachusetts.  

Line 6. Income Tax Paid to Other Jurisdictions  
Enter the total tax paid to other jurisdictions on income also reported on this return unless 
the tax was paid to Canada. If the tax was paid to Canada, the amount reported on this 
line must be reduced by the amount claimed as a foreign tax credit on U.S. Form 1041, 
Schedule G, line 2a. Credit is only allowable for amount of tax paid.  



Form 2G. Grantor’s/Owner’s Share of a Grantor-Type Trust  
Massachusetts follows the Internal Revenue Code (“Code”) grantor-type trust rules as 
contained in Code §§ 671 through 678. See G.L. c. 62, § 10. Accordingly, the trustee of a 
grantor-type trust is required to file Form 2G and send a copy of it to the grantor/owner 
who is required to report the income, deductions and credits on his/her Massachusetts 
individual income tax return. A resident grantor or other owner must include grantor-type 
trust income in calculating his/her estimated tax. Generally, a grantor-type trust exists  

when one of the following is present:  

1. the trust income is distributable to/or accumulated for the benefit of the grantor or the 
grantor’s spouse;  

2. the grantor holds a reversionary interest in the trust which is not postponed beyond a 
10-year period;  

3. the grantor has the power to revoke the trust in his/her favor;  
4. the grantor has the power to control the beneficial enjoyment of the trust corpus or 

income;  
5. the grantor has retained certain administrative powers with respect to the trust; and  
6. a person, other than the grantor, has the power to obtain the trust corpus or income.  
Fiduciary expenses and compensation are not deductible. All supporting details, e.g.,., 
Form 2, Schedule D, if there are long-term capital gains or losses must be enclosed.  

Please Note. Massachusetts has not adopted Treas. Reg. § 1.671-4(b) regarding 
consolidated filing of grantor-type trusts.  

Consolidated Form 2G Filing  
If you are required to file more than one Form 2G, you can file on a “consolidated” basis. 
Use Form 2 as the coversheet for the return and select the “Consolidated Form 2G” oval 
on Form 2. The Form 2 signature section must also be completed and signed. No other 
section or line on the Form 2 is to be completed if checking the oval “consolidated Form 
2G.  Each Form 2G, or preapproved substitute, can then be enclosed with the 
“consolidated” Form 2 without the requirement of each Form 2G being signed. Mail the 
Consolidated Form 2G to the same address as Form 2G.  
 

Due Date of Return  
Form 2G is due on or before April 17, 2012. If filing on a fiscal year basis, the return is 
generally due on or before the 15th day of the fourth month after the close of the fiscal 
year. Mail Form 2G to: Massachusetts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7017, Boston, 
MA 02204. Direct fiduciary inquiries (not returns) to: Massachusetts Department of 
Revenue, Customer Service Bureau, PO Box 7010, Boston, MA 02204; or call (617) 887-
MDOR.  



Line 22. Massachusetts Income Tax Paid by Trustee  
Enter on line 22 the following: (1) nonresident withholding, (2) pooled income 
fund/charitable remainder annuity or unitrust withholding, and (3) Massachusetts income 
tax withheld on Forms W-2,W-2G, 1099-G and 1099R. For more information, see below.  

Nonresident Withholding  
A trustee is required to deduct and withhold from any income subject to taxation 
(Massachusetts source income-G.L. c. 62, § 5A) at the applicable rates when the grantor 
or other owner is a nonresident. Form 2-ES, Massachusetts Estimated Income Tax for 
Filers of Forms 23M, and M-990T-62, is to be used for this purpose. The total payments 
withheld must be entered on line 22 of Form 2G, and the nonresident grantor or owner 
must claim such total paid over by the trustee on his/her individual income tax return. 

Pooled Income Fund/Charitable Remainder Annuity or 
Unitrust Withholding  
A Massachusetts trustee of a pooled income fund, a charitable remainder annuity trust or 
a charitable remainder unitrust who makes payment to a Massachusetts beneficiary of 
taxable income is required to deduct and withhold tax on that income at the applicable 
rates. Form 2-ES is to be used for this purpose. The total payments withheld must be 
entered on line 22 of Form 2G, and the beneficiary must claim such total paid over by the 
trustee on his/her individual income tax return.  

Massachusetts Income Tax Withheld on Forms W-2, 
W-2G, 1099-G and 1099R  
Enter on line 22 any income tax withheld on a Form W-2,W-2G, 1099-G or 1099R.  

Schedule H. Expenses and Fiduciary Compensation  
The Schedule H deductions apply to every executor, administrator, trustee, guardian, 
conservator, trustee in bankruptcy or receiver of a trust or estate, with the exception of a 
trustee of a pooled income fund or a trustee of a charitable remainder annuity trust or 
unitrust. Schedule H deductions are specifically allowed by statute and include an 
expense deduction and a fiduciary compensation deduction.  

Expense Deduction  
Fiduciaries may take an amortization deduction for premiums paid upon bonds held by 
the estate or trust, but only if the bond income is taxable. In addition, fiduciaries may take 
a deduction for a portion of their expenses for safe deposit box rentals and surety bond 
premiums. These expenses must have been incurred and actually paid during the tax year 
covered by the return in order to be allowed as a deduction. The expense deduction must 
be allocated between taxable and nontaxable Part A income, and only the taxable portion 
is deductible. No deduction is allowed against Part B 5.3% income or Part C 5.3% 
Capital Gains. The deductible portion is calculated by computing the ratio of taxable Part 
A income, over total taxable and nontaxable Part A income, from all sources.  



Expenses of Trustees in Bankruptcy  
Ordinary and necessary business expenses of a trustee in bankruptcy engaged in the 
business of managing and liquidating a bankrupt estate are deductible against Part B 
5.3% income. The remainder of these expenses may be taken as an excess trade or 
business deduction against other income as long as such income is derived from the 
trustee’s investment of the liquidated assets which have not yet been distributed. For 
more information, see LR 82-66. Please Note: these expenses are not deductible on  

Schedule H. They are to be reported on Massachusetts Schedule C-2, and a copy of 
Massachusetts Schedules C and C-2 must be enclosed to Form 2.  

Part 1. Expense Deduction Computation  

Line 1  
Enter on line 1a the amount actually paid during the taxable year for safe deposit box 
rentals. Enter on line 1b the amount actually paid during the taxable year for premiums 
on surety bonds. Add lines 1a and 1b, and enter the total on line 1.  

Line 2  
Add Form 2, Schedule B, line 36 and Form 2, lines 15 and 24. This is your total taxable 
Part A income for the year.  

Line 3  
Add Form 2, Schedule B, lines 4, 12, 13, 14 and Form 2, line 24; then subtract Form 2, 
Schedule B, line 6. This is your total Part A income (taxable and nontaxable) for the year. 
If common trust fund interest and dividends are not included in Form 2, Schedule B, line 
4, add in the amount from Form 2, line 15.  

Line 4  
Divide line 2 by line 3, and enter the percentage here. This is your percentage of taxable 
Part A income to total Part A income for the year.  

Line 5  
Multiply your total expenses in line 1 by the percentage in line 4, and enter the result here 
and on Form 2, Schedule B, line 37a. This is the maximum expense deduction you are 
allowed against Part A income.  

Part 2. Fiduciary Compensation Deduction Computation  

Line 6  
Enter the fiduciary compensation actually paid during the taxable year. Please Note: none 
of the following expenses are deductible on Form 2: estate administrative expenses, 
executor’s expenses, executor’s commissions, attorney fees, accountant fees, and tax 
preparer fees.  



Line 7  
Enter here the amount from Form 2, line 7. This is your total Part B 5.3% income for the 
year.  

Line 8  
Add Form 2, Schedule B, lines 4, 12, 13, 14 and Form 2, line 24; then subtract Form 2, 
Schedule B, line 6. This is your total Part A income (taxable and nontaxable) for the year. 
If common trust fund interest and dividends are not included in Form 2, Schedule B, line 
4, add in the amount from Form 2, line 15, but not less than 0.  

Line 9  
Subtract Form 2, Schedule D, line 11 from Form 2, Schedule D, line 8 and add Form 2, 
line 32, and enter the total here.  

Line 10  
Add lines 7 through 9, and enter the total here.  

Line 11  
Divide line 8 by line 10 and enter the percentage here. This is your percentage of taxable 
Part A income to total income (Part B 5.3% income, Part A interest, dividend, and 12% 
capital gain income, and Part C capital gain income) for the year.  

Line 12  
Multiply line 11 by line 6, and enter the result here. This represents the amount of 
fiduciary compensation actually paid on Part A income. Compensation paid on Part B 
5.3% or Part C capital gain income is not deductible.  

Line 13  
Add Form 2, Schedule B, line 36 and Form 2, lines 15 and 24, and enter the total here.  

Line 14  
Enter the amount from line 8. This is your total Part A income (taxable and nontaxable) 
for the year.  

Line 15  
Divide line 13 by line 14, and enter the percentage here. This is your percentage of 
taxable Part A income to total Part A income for the year.  

Line 16  
Multiply line 15 by line 12, and enter the total here. This represents the amount of 
fiduciary compensation actually paid on taxable Part A income. Compensation allocated 
to nontaxable Part A income is not deductible.  



Line 17  
Enter here 7% of line 13.  

Line 18  
Enter here and on Form 2, Schedule B, line 37b, the amount from line 16 or 17, 
whichever is smaller. This is the maximum fiduciary compensation deduction you are 
allowed to take against Part A income.  

Schedule IDD. Income Distribution Deduction  
Estate and trust income includable in the federal gross income of a beneficiary by reason 
of Internal Revenue Code (“Code”) § 652 (the section of the Code that determines the 
amount and character of the gross income includable by a simple trust beneficiary) or § 
662 (the section of the Code that determines the amount and character of the gross 
income includable by a complex trust beneficiary) is no longer taxable at the estate or 
trust level; rather it is to be taken into account in calculating the beneficiary’s 
Massachusetts taxable income under G.L. c. 62, § 2. To avoid double taxation, a trustee 
or other fiduciary receiving income included in the gross income of a beneficiary by 
reason of Code §§ 652 or 662 is allowed a deduction on Form 2 in computing the taxable 
income of the estate or trust for that portion of Part A, B, or C income attributable to such 
beneficiary.  

The amount deductible on Form 2, line 10 from Part B income; line 17 from part A 
Interest and Dividend Income; line 26 from Part A 12% Capital Gains; and line 34 from 
Part C 5.3% Capital Gains is to be calculated on Schedule IDD, Income Distribution 
Deduction.  

Please Note: Schedule IDD does not apply when all of the income is accumulated within 
the estate or trust. Also Note: the taxation of grantor-type trusts, pooled income funds, 
charitable remainder annuity trusts, and charitable remainder unitrusts has not been 
affected by the above law change. The income from these entities continues to be taxed 
as it has been taxed in the past. Additionally, estate or trust income not includable in the 
federal gross income of a beneficiary by reason of the above Code sections continues to 
be taxable at the trust level.  

65 Day Election Does Not Apply  
In determining the amount paid, credited, or otherwise required to be distributed to a 
beneficiary (lines 3, 8, 13, and 18 of Schedule IDD), Massachusetts has not adopted the 
65 day election available to estates and complex trusts federally under Code § 663(b). 
Therefore, any distribution or portion thereof to a beneficiary made within the first 65 
days following the close of the 2011 taxable year, treated federally as having been 
distributed in2011, is not includible on Schedule IDD. Rather, it is to be treated for 
Massachusetts purposes in the 2011 taxable year as accumulated income and is taxable at 
the estate or trust level, with one exception. Non-Massachusetts source income 
accumulated for a vested nonresident beneficiary is not taxable at the estate or trust level, 
but is deductible on Form 2, lines 12, 19, 28, or 36, as applicable.  



Please Note: any distribution or portion thereof to a beneficiary made within the first 65 
days following the close of the 2011 taxable year will be treated in the year of 
distribution, i.e., 2012, as a tax free distribution and will not be includible on the 2012 
Schedule IDD.  

Vested Nonresidents and Charities  
Income actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities is to be included 
as part of the income distribution deduction calculation and is reportable on Schedule 
IDD, as applicable. Such income is not subject to the Nonresident/Charitable Deduction 
and is not includible on Form 2, lines 12, 19, 28, or 36. Income accumulated or 
irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities, on the other 
hand, is not subject to an income distribution deduction and is not reportable on Schedule 
IDD.  

Schedule 2K-1. Beneficiary’s Massachusetts Information  

Purpose  
Use Schedule 2K-1, Beneficiary’s Massachusetts Information, to report a beneficiary’s 
share of income, deductions, and credits from a decedent’s estate or a trust. Grantor-type 
trusts do not use Schedule 2K-1 to report the income, deductions or credits of the grantor 
or other person treated as the owner. Form 2G, Grantor’s/Owner’s Share of a Grantor-
Type Trust, is used for that purpose.  

Who Must File  
Trustees or other fiduciaries must enclose a copy of Schedule 2K-1 for each beneficiary 
with the estate’s or trust’s Form 2, Fiduciary Income Tax Return, filed with the 
Commonwealth. Each beneficiary must also be given a copy of his respective Schedule 
2K-1 along with instructions on how to report the items on the Schedule 2K-1 on his 
personal income tax return. One copy of each Schedule 2K-1 must be retained for the 
trustee’s or fiduciary’s records.  

Beneficiary’s Tax Year  
The beneficiary’s income from the estate or trust must be included in the beneficiary’s 
return for the taxable year in which the estate’s or trust’s taxable year ends.  

Nonresident Beneficiaries  
A nonresident beneficiary receiving income from an estate or trust is taxed only on 
income that is derived from Massachusetts sources. Where an estate or trust derives 
income from both within and outside Massachusetts, it will be necessary to determine 
what portion of the beneficiary’s share of income is from sources within and outside 
Massachusetts so as to properly allocate and report the income on Schedule 2K-1.  



Massachusetts Source Income  
Income derived from or effectively connected with: (1) any trade or business, including 
any employment carried on by the taxpayer in the Commonwealth, whether or not the 
nonresident is actively engaged in a trade or business or employment in the 
Commonwealth in the year in which the income is received; (2) the participation in any 
lottery or wagering transaction within the Commonwealth; or (3) the ownership of any 
interest in real or tangible personal property located in the Commonwealth.  Gross 
income derived from or effectively connected with any trade or business, including any 
employment, carried on by the taxpayer in the Commonwealth includes: gain from the 
sale of a business or of an interest in a business; distributive share income; separation, 
sick, or vacation pay; deferred compensation and nonqualified pension income not 
prevented from state taxation by the laws of the United States; and income from a 
covenant not to compete.  

Examples of Massachusetts source income include:  
1. all wages, salaries, tips, bonuses, fees, and other compensation which relate to 

activities carried on in Massachusetts, regardless of where or when the income is 
received;  

2. unemployment compensation related to previous Massachusetts employment;  
3. profit from a business, trade, profession, partnership, or S corporation conducted in 

Massachusetts;  
4. rents and royalties from real and tangible personal property located in Massachusetts 

or from other business activities in Massachusetts;  
5. gain from the sale of real or tangible personal property located in Massachusetts;  
6. interest and dividends, but only if derived from or connected with a Massachusetts 

business activity or the ownership of Massachusetts real estate or tangible personal 
property; and  

7. the definition of Massachusetts source income now includes gain from the sale of a 
business or an interest in a business, separation, sick or vacation pay, deferred 
compensation, income from covenants not to compete, and nonqualified pension 
income that federal law allows states to tax.  

 

Line by Line Instructions  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing 
instrument. Other fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court 
ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, 
Application for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the 
number is not available at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied 
in the boxes provided. Do not use a decedent’s social security number for an estate. A 



separate employer identification number is required for the estate and for each trust 
entity.  

Name of Beneficiary  
As used in this Schedule, “beneficiary” means income beneficiary. A “trust income 
beneficiary” is a beneficiary who is entitled to receive the income from the trust. If filing 
for other than a trust, enter the name and address of the person receiving the income.  

Legal Domicile of Beneficiary  
A legal domicile is a person’s permanent home.  

Beneficiary’s Identification Number  
Enter the social security number of the beneficiary if the beneficiary is an individual 
beneficiary. Enter the employer identification number of the beneficiary if the beneficiary 
is an entity beneficiary.  

Name of Fiduciary  
Enter the exact legal name and title of the fiduciary. In case of multiple fiduciaries, one 
name is sufficient.  

Mailing Address of Fiduciary  
Enter the mailing address of the fiduciary listed on the first line.  

In Care of Address  
If the mailing address is the address of a legal firm or of a person other than the fiduciary, 
that person or firm should be listed on the C/O line.  

Allocable Share Items, Columns (a), (b),(c), and (d)  
Column (a). Enter the amounts from your federal 1041, Schedule K-1, allocable to the 
beneficiary.  

Column (b). Enter the adjustments resulting from differences between Massachusetts and 
federal law for each specific line item.  

Column (c). Combine columns (a) and (b) and enter the result in column (c). The 
amounts entered in column (c) are used to report the amount entered on Form 2 for each 
specific line item allocable to the beneficiary.  

Column (d). The amounts entered are used to report Massachusetts source income, loss, 
and credits allocable to the beneficiary, but only if the beneficiary is a nonresident of 
Massachusetts.  

Line 22. Estimated Tax Payments Made on Behalf of 
Nonresident Beneficiary by Fiduciary  



A trustee or other fiduciary having control of the payment to a nonresident individual 
beneficiary subject to tax at the beneficiary level under G.L. c. 62, §§ 5A and 10(h), must 
make estimated tax payments on behalf of the nonresident individual beneficiary on Form 
1-ES, Massachusetts Estimated Income Tax. In reporting the estimated tax payments 
made on behalf of the nonresident individual beneficiary on Schedule 2K-1, the amount 
withheld should be entered on line 22. Such amount cannot be used to reduce the amount 
of income taxable to the beneficiary; rather, it is allowed as a credit on his return of 
income against the amount of income tax computed thereon and should be reported by 
the beneficiary on the “Massachusetts estimated tax payments” line of Form 1NR/PY. 
For more information, see DOR Directive 07-4.  

A trustee or other fiduciary having control of the payment to a nonresident entity 
beneficiary subject to tax at the beneficiary level under G.L. c. 62, §§ 5A and 10(h), must 
make estimated tax payments on behalf of the nonresident entity beneficiary on Form 2-
ES, Massachusetts Estimated Income Tax for Filers of Forms 2, 3M, and M-990T-62. In 
reporting the estimated tax payments made on behalf of the nonresident entity beneficiary 
on Schedule 2K-1, the amount withheld should be entered on line 22. Such amount 
cannot be used to reduce the amount of income taxable to the entity beneficiary; rather, it 
is allowed as a credit on its return of income against the amount of income tax computed 
thereon and should be reported by the entity beneficiary on the “Massachusetts estimated 
tax payments” line of Form 2,  Form 3M, Form M-990T-62or other form used as an 
income tax return by the beneficiary. For more information, see DOR Directive 07-4.  

Line 23. Refundable Film Credit  
The refundable film credit may be passed through to a beneficiary on line 23 of Schedule 
2K-1 only if not claimed at the estate or trust level on line 59 of Form 2. These 
alternatives are mutually exclusive. For more information, see the instructions for Form 
2, line 59. If the credit is passed through to a beneficiary on line 23 be sure to enclose 
Schedule RFC. Failure to enclose Schedule RFC will result in the credit being disallowed 
on the beneficiary’s tax return and an adjustment of the beneficiary’s reported tax.  

 

Line 24. Refundable Dairy Credit 

The refundable dairy credit may be passed through to a beneficiary on line 24 of 
Schedule 2K-1 only if not claimed at the estate or trust level on line 60 of Form 2. These 
alternatives are mutually exclusive. For more information, see the instructions for Form 
2, line 60.  If the credit is passed through to a beneficiary on line 24 be sure to enter the 
Department of Agricultural Resources-issued certificate number in the space provided on 
line 24. 

 

Line 25. Refundable Conservation Land Tax Credit  
The refundable conservation land tax credit may be passed through to a beneficiary on 
line 25 of Schedule 2K-1 only if not claimed at the estate or trust level on line 61 of Form 
2. These alternatives are mutually exclusive. For more information, see the instructions 

http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=dorterminal&L=7&L0=Home&L1=Businesses&L2=Help+%26+Resources&L3=Legal+Library&L4=Directives&L5=Directives+-+By+Decade&L6=(2000-2009)+Directives&sid=Ador&b=terminalcontent&f=dor_rul_reg_dir_dir_07_4&csid=Ador
http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=dorterminal&L=7&L0=Home&L1=Businesses&L2=Help+%26+Resources&L3=Legal+Library&L4=Directives&L5=Directives+-+By+Decade&L6=(2000-2009)+Directives&sid=Ador&b=terminalcontent&f=dor_rul_reg_dir_dir_07_4&csid=Ador


for Form 2, line 61.  If the credit is passed through to a beneficiary on line 25 be sure to 
enter the DOR -issued certificate number in the space provided on line 25. 

Line26. Other Payments  
Enter here Massachusetts income taxes withheld under the employer identification 
number of the estate or trust on Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-G, and 1099-R, but only if not 
claimed at the estate or trust level on line 54 of Form 2. For more information, see the 
instructions for Form 2, line 54. 
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