
 

 Major 2012 Tax Changes  
Filing Due Date. The 2012 Form 2 is due on or before April 16, 2013. In Massachusetts, April 15, 

2013 is Patriot‟s Day, a legal holiday in the Commonwealth. The filing due date for Massachusetts 

returns, normally due on April 15, will therefore be April 16, 2013.  

 

Personal Income Tax Rate Change. G. L. c. 62, §4 establishes the personal income tax rates to be 

applied against different classes of Massachusetts taxable income.  The tax rate on most classes of 

income is scheduled to decrease in years where the state achieves revenue growth benchmarks set 

forth in a formula in subsection (b) of § 4.     

 

Accordingly, effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, the 5.3% tax rate on most 

classes of taxable income is decreased to 5.25%.  The tax rate on short-term gains from the sale or 

exchange of capital assets and on long-term gains from the sale or exchange of collectibles (after a 

50% deduction remains at 12%.   

 

 

New Current Code Provisions Massachusetts Adopts  
As a general rule, Massachusetts does not adopt any federal tax law changes incorporated into the 

Internal Revenue Code (“IRC” or “Code”) after January 1, 2005. However, certain specific 

provisions of the personal income tax automatically adopt the current Code. Provisions of the Code 

adopted on a current Code basis are (i) Roth IRAs, (ii) IRAs, (iii) the exclusion for gain on the sale of 

a principal residence, (iv) trade or business expenses, (v) travel expenses, (vi) meals and 

entertainment expenses, (vii) the maximum deferral amount of government employees‟ deferred 

compensation plans, (viii) deduction for health insurance costs of self-employed, (ix) medical and 

dental expenses, (x) annuities, (xi) health savings accounts, and (xii) employer-provided health 

insurance coverage and amounts received by an employee under a health and accident plan. See TIRs 

98-8, 02-11, 07-4, and 09-21 for further details on Massachusetts‟ personal income tax current Code 

provisions.  

Temporary Change to IRC Sec. 179 Expensing 

Under the federal American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 (H.R. 8), effective for tax years beginning 

in 2012 and 2013, the dollar limitation for an election under IRC sec. 179 to expense property in its 

initial year is $500,000, and the IRC sec. 179 overall investment phase-out threshold is $2,000,000. 

Massachusetts adopts these changes because IRC sec. 179 is a trade or business expense deduction; 

these deductions are adopted by Massachusetts on a current Code basis.  



New Current Code Provisions Massachusetts Does Not Adopt  
Federal ―Bonus‖ Depreciation Deduction — Not Allowed. For federal income tax purposes under 

IRC § 168(k), bonus depreciation applies to eligible property acquired after December 31, 2007 and 

placed in service before January 1, 2013.  The bonus depreciation rate for property placed in service 

during this period is generally 50%.  Under 2002 legislation, Massachusetts decoupled from bonus 

depreciation allowed under IRC § 168(k), as amended and in effect for the current year.  Therefore, 

Massachusetts does not adopt this additional depreciation deduction. See TIRs 02-11 and 03-25 for 

further details.  

Domestic Production Activity Deduction – Not Allowed. For federal income tax purposes, a 

business entity that pays wages to employees and conducts eligible domestic production activities is 

allowed a deduction for domestic production activities under IRC § 199. Generally, in the case of a 

non-corporate taxpayer, the deduction allows a business with qualified production activities to deduct 

9% of its U.S. adjusted gross income. Under 2004 legislation, Massachusetts decoupled from the 

production activity deduction allowed under IRC § 199, as amended and in effect for the current 

year. Therefore, Massachusetts does not adopt this deduction. See TIR 05-5.  

Privacy Act Notice  
Under the authority of 42 U.S.C. § 405(c)(2)(c)(i), and G.L. c. 62C, § 5, the Department of Revenue 

(“Department”) has the right to require a taxpayer to furnish his employer identification number 

and/or social security number, as the case may be, on a state tax return. This information is 

mandatory. The Department uses these numbers for taxpayer identification, to assist in processing 

and keeping track of returns, and in determining and collecting the proper amount of tax due. Under 

G.L. c. 62C, § 40, the taxpayer‟s identifying number is required to process a refund of overpaid 

taxes. Although tax return information is generally confidential pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, § 21, the 

Department may disclose return information to other taxing authorities and those entities specified in 

G.L. c. 62C, §§ 21, 22, or 23, and as otherwise authorized by law.  

Common Form 2 Mistakes  
An incomplete or incorrect return can delay processing of your return. Below are tips to help us 

process your return as quickly as possible.  

Incorrect Computation  
Many returns must be corrected by the Department each year due to simple errors in computation. 

Before mailing your return, check your arithmetic to make sure the computations are correct.  



Filing Status  
Be sure to select the correct oval for filing status. This requirement is frequently overlooked.  

Fiscal Year Clearly mark tax return "Fiscal Year" if applicable.  

Missing Withholding Statement(s)  
Make certain the state copy of all Forms W-2 (Wages), W-2G (Winnings), and 1099-G, or 1099-R 

that show Massachusetts income tax withheld are enclosed. These forms are frequently missing and 

must be obtained from you later in order to process the return.  

Missing Supporting Schedules  
Make sure you have enclosed all required schedules and forms to support the information on your 

Form 2. These include Massachusetts Form 2 Schedules B, B/R, D, E, F, H, IDD, and 2K-1, and 

Form 2G. We cannot process your return without these schedules and forms.  

Credits – Missing Certificate or Other Identification Numbers 

and/or Supporting Schedules  

Make sure you have included all required certificate or other identification numbers and/ or 

schedules to support the credits you are claiming. Failure to include certificate or other identification 

numbers and/or schedules will result in the credit being disallowed on your tax return and an 

adjustment of your reported tax.  

Missing Signatures  
Thousands of unsigned returns are received by the Department every year. These returns must be 

returned to taxpayers for signatures. Make sure signatures are on the correct lines.  

Definitions  

Complex Trust  
Any trust that, for any given taxable year, does not qualify as a “simple trust,” as defined below. 

Complex trusts are governed by §§ 661 and 662 of the Code.  

Grantor Trust  
Under G.L. c. 62, § 10(e), if the grantor or another person is treated as the owner of any portion of a 

trust by reason of the provisions of §§ 671 to 678, inclusive, of the Code, the trust is a grantor trust 

and its income is taxable to the grantor or such other person, not to the trust. The fiduciary of a 

grantor trust is required to file with the Department an informational return, Form 2G, and send a 

copy to the grantor/owner, who is required to  



report the income, deductions, and credits thereon on his Massachusetts individual income tax return.  

A resident grantor treated as an owner of a grantor-type trust is liable for making his own estimated 

tax payments, as applicable, on Form 1-ES. This is not the case when the owner is a nonresident 

grantor, however. In such cases, the trustee must make estimated tax payments on behalf of the 

nonresident grantor on Form 2-ES.  

Massachusetts Source Income  
Gross income derived from or effectively connected with: (1) any trade or business, including any 

employment carried on by the taxpayer in the Commonwealth, regardless of where or when the 

income is received; (2) the participation in any lottery or wagering transaction within the 

Commonwealth; or (3) the ownership of any interest in real or tangible personal property located in 

the Commonwealth. Gross income derived from or effectively connected with any trade or business, 

including any employment, carried on by the taxpayer in the Commonwealth includes: gain from the 

sale of a business or of an interest in a business; distributive share income; separation, sick, or 

vacation pay; deferred compensation and nonqualified pension income not prevented from state 

taxation by the laws of the United States; and income from a covenant not to compete.  

Nonresident Estate  
An estate of a deceased non-Massachusetts resident. A nonresident estate is subject to the taxing 

jurisdiction of Massachusetts to the extent it earns Massachusetts source income. In other words, the 

income of a nonresident estate is taxable to the extent it would be taxable to a nonresident individual.  

Nonresident Trust  
A trust that earns Massachusetts source income and that is (1) a trust under the will of a decedent 

who was a non-Massachusetts resident at death, (2) a trust all of whose trustees are nonresidents, or 

(3) a trust all of whose grantors are nonresidents at the time of the creation of the trust or at any time 

during the year for which the income is computed. These conditions must be met in order to subject 

the trust to the taxing jurisdiction of Massachusetts.  

Qualified Settlement Fund  
A “qualified settlement fund” as defined in IRC § 468B(g) and Treas. Reg. § 1.468B-1 et seq. See 

also LR 08-7.  

Resident Estate  
An estate of a deceased Massachusetts resident.  

Resident Trust  
A “resident trust” may be one of two types. It may be a “testamentary trust” – a trust under the will 

of an individual who died a Massachusetts resident. Alternatively, it may be an “inter vivos trust” – a 

trust created during the life of the grantor. To subject an inter  



vivos trust to the taxing jurisdiction of Massachusetts, the following conditions must exist: the trustee 

or other fiduciary, or at least one of them, is a Massachusetts resident, and (1) the grantor, or at least 

one of them, was a Massachusetts resident when the trust was created; or (2) the grantor, or at least 

one of them, resided in Massachusetts during any part of the year for which the income is computed; 

or (3) the grantor or at least one of them, died a Massachusetts resident.  

Simple Trust  
A trust that is required to distribute all of its income currently, may not make distributions of 

principal, and does not provide for charitable contributions. Simple trusts are governed by §§ 651 and 

652 of the Code.  

Unascertained Persons  
A class of persons who cannot be identified with certainty until the happening of a specified event. 

The term also applies to those of a class who fulfill some special qualification. It is the trust 

termination provisions that determine whether a remainder interest is ascertained or not. For 

example, if the termination provisions read – “income to X for life, remainder to Y, if living, or, if 

not, to Y‟s estate” - the remainder interest is vested in Y and is not unascertained. However, if they 

read – “to X for life, remainder to Y, if living, or, if not, to Y‟s issue then living” - the remainder 

interest is not vested in Y or Y‟s issue and is unascertained because it cannot be known for certain 

who will take the remainder interest until X‟s death. In the latter case, gains realized by the trust will 

be deemed to be income accumulated for the benefit of unascertained persons and taxable in full to 

the trust.  

Uncertain Interest  
A type of future interest such as a contingent remainder or a vested remainder subject to being cut off 

upon the happening of a contingency. In determining whether a person has an “uncertain interest,” a 

remainder interest in a trust that is vested and not subject to being divested by the happening of any 

contingency expressly mentioned in the trust instrument is not classified as an uncertain interest. Any 

other type of future interest is an uncertain interest.  

Common Questions:  

Once Massachusetts Jurisdiction is Established, to Whom is 
the Income Taxable?  
Resident Estate or Trust. When income of a resident estate or trust subject to the taxing jurisdiction 

of Massachusetts is being accumulated for a Massachusetts beneficiary(ies), unborn persons, 

unascertained persons, or persons with uncertain interests, such income is taxable to the estate or 

trust. Otherwise, income from such resident estate or trust includable in the federal gross income of a 

beneficiary(ies) by reason of Code §§ 652 and 662 is taxable to the beneficiary(ies).  



Nonresident Estate or Trust. When Massachusetts source income of a nonresident estate or trust is 

being accumulated, such income is taxable to the estate or trust regardless of whether it is being 

accumulated for a Massachusetts beneficiary(ies), non-Massachusetts beneficiary(ies), unborn 

persons, unascertained persons, or persons with uncertain interests. Massachusetts source income of a 

nonresident estate or trust includable in the federal gross income of a Massachusetts or non-

Massachusetts beneficiary(ies) by reason of Code §§ 652 and 662, however, is taxable in 

Massachusetts to the beneficiary(ies). All other income of a nonresident estate or trust, i.e., all non-

Massachusetts source income, is taxable to a Massachusetts beneficiary(ies) if he receives it.  

Who Must File a Massachusetts Fiduciary Return?  
Every executor, administrator, trustee, guardian, conservator, trustee in a noncorporate bankruptcy or 

receiver of a trust or estate that received income in excess of $100 that is taxable under c. 62 at the 

entity level or to a beneficiary(ies) and that is subject to Massachusetts jurisdiction must file a Form 

2.  

What Other Forms Must Be Filed?  
All applicable U.S. schedules, forms and enclosures must be filed with Form 2. A copy of U.S. 

Schedule K-1 must be enclosed in all cases where a deduction is taken for the payment of income to 

a nonresident. The Department has developed an extensive information exchange program that 

includes the following returns:  

1. Form 1, Resident Income Tax Return;  

2. Form 1-NR/PY, Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Tax Return;  

3. Form M-1310, Statement of Claimant to Refund Due on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer;  

4. Form 2, Fiduciary Income Tax Return; and  

5. Form M-706, Estate Tax Return.  

Discrepancies and nonfilings, except those allowed under Massachusetts law, will be identified and 

may result in an audit or further investigation.  

When is Form 2 Due?  
The 2012 Form 2 is due on or before April 16, 2013. April 15, 2013 is Patriot‟s Day, a legal holiday 

in the Commonwealth. The filing due date for Massachusetts returns, normally due on April 15, will 

therefore be April 16, 2013.  

Fiscal Year Filers. If permission has been granted to file on a fiscal year basis, the return is 

generally due on or before the 15
th 

day of the fourth month after the close of the fiscal year. Prior 

consent must be requested in order to file a return on a fiscal year basis. An application can be made 

on Form 13. Fiduciaries failing to obtain prior consent will be placed on a calendar year basis.  



Short Year and Fiscal Year Filers. Fiscal year filers whose fiscal year began in 2012 and ended in 

2013 should file the 2012 Form 2 return. Short year filers should file using the tax form for the 

calendar year within which the short year falls. If the short year spans more than one calendar year, 

the filer should file using the tax form for the calendar year in which the short year began. If the 

current form is not available at the time the short year filer must file, the filer should follow the rules 

explained in TIR 11-12.  

What Should I Do If I Make a Mistake or Leave Something Off My 

Return?  

If after filing Form 2 you receive an additional tax statement, such as a W-2 or 1099, or discover that 

an error was made, submit a second tax return containing the correct information. Clearly mark the 

new return “Amended” across the top and select the amended return oval. If the change reduces the 

tax liability, enclose Form CA-6, Application for Abatement/Amended Return, and a copy of the 

return that you originally filed. Form 2 or Form CA-6 is available at any Department of Revenue 

location, or you may have one mailed to you by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in 

Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089.  

What If I Am Unable to Pay?  
If you are unable to pay the full amount of tax that you owe, you should pay as much of your tax 

liability as possible with your return. You will receive a bill from the Department for the remaining 

amount of tax due plus accrued interest and penalty charges. If the amount of the bill is less than 

$5,000 and you still cannot pay it in full, you must apply formally to the Department for a small 

payment agreement in order to avoid collection activity. Setting up a small payment agreement will 

allow you to make monthly payments over a set period to meet your unpaid liability. You can apply 

for a small payment agreement by visiting WebFile for Income at www.mass.gov/dor.  

How Do I Request An Extension?  
To receive an extension of time to file, you generally must file Form M-8736, and pay the amount of 

tax you expect to owe on or before the due date for filing your Massachusetts income tax return. The 

filing and approval of this form will extend the due date for six months. Interest is charged on any tax 

not paid by the original due date.  

Please Note: Your extension will not be valid if you fail to pay 80% of your total tax liability 

through withholding, estimated tax payments, or with your Massachusetts Form M-8736.  

Exception to Form M-8736 Filing Requirement. Notwithstanding the above, the Commissioner of 

Revenue will grant certain fiduciaries an automatic six month extension of time to file a tax return, 

without the need for an application (Form M-8736) by such taxpayer, provided the following criteria 

are met: (1) the taxpayer owes no tax with the return (including cases where the taxpayer is due a 

refund); and (2) 100% of the tax due  



for the taxable year has been paid, through one of the means described below, by the original due 

date for filing the return.  

For purposes of applying the second criteria, in calculating whether 100% of the tax due for the 

taxable year has been paid by the original tax filing due date, the Commissioner will only consider 

the following as relevant:  

1. taxes paid through withholding;  

2. timely estimated payments of tax;  

3. credits from the current year return; and  

4. credits forwarded from the previous tax period, but limited only to a refund from the prior tax year 

applied to the next year‟s tax liability.  

For more information, see TIR 06-21.  

Are Wholly Charitable Trusts/Private Foundations Required to File 

Form 2?  
Funds held in trust for public charitable purposes are exempt from tax under G.L. c. 62, § 3, if such 

income is currently payable to, or irrevocably set aside for, public charitable purposes. Trustees of 

wholly charitable trusts, i.e., trusts with no non-charitable interests, are required to file a Form 2 

however, even though such trusts‟ taxable income may be zero. Trustees of split-interest trusts, e.g., 

pooled income funds, charitable remainder annuity trusts, and charitable remainder unitrusts, are to 

file a Form 2G, not Form 2.  

What Deductions and Exemptions Are Allowable on the 

Guardianship/ Conservatorship Form 2?  

Every deduction and exemption that an individual is entitled to take on Form 1 may be claimed by a 

guardian or conservator on behalf of a ward on Form 2. Supporting documentation must be enclosed, 

including all applicable schedules from U.S. Form 1040, e.g., Schedule A, Itemized Deductions, if 

claiming the medical expense exemption.  

Generally, deductions may be used only against 5.25% income. See Schedule C-2 for the limited 

circumstances under which deductions may be applied against interest (other than interest from 

Massachusetts banks), dividends, and capital gain income. Any deduction or exemption claimed must 

be entered first on Form 2, line 10, and then on line 17, line 26, and line 34, as appropriate; lines 

typically used by an estate or trust to claim an income distribution deduction. Such deduction is not 

allowable to a guardianship or conservatorship, however, thus, these lines are available to a guardian 

or conservator for claiming deductions and exemptions on behalf of a ward. Any deduction or 

exemption claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 2. The 

preprinted language on lines 10, 17, 26, and 34 should be crossed out and the words “see supporting 

statement” should be added.  

Should I Be Making Estimated Tax Payments?  
Generally, every fiduciary receiving income taxable at the entity level must make estimated tax 

payments on Massachusetts Form 2-ES, if the entity expects to owe more  



than $400 in taxes for the taxable year. Estimated tax payments made by a fiduciary on behalf of a 

beneficiary of a pooled income fund, charitable remainder annuity trust, charitable remainder 

unitrust, or on behalf of a non-resident grantor of a grantor-type trust or a nonresident entity 

beneficiary that is a trust or other entity also must be made on Form 2-ES. Fiduciaries required to 

deduct and withhold payments under G.L. c. 62, § 10(g) on behalf of a nonresident individual 

beneficiary, in contrast, must make estimated tax payments on the beneficiary‟s behalf on Form 1-

ES. For more information, see DOR Directive 07-4.  

Fiduciaries filing Form 2 with total net taxable income of $50,000 or more must make all estimated 

tax payments by electronic means. Fiduciaries with income less than the above cited threshold may 

make payments electronically as well, but are not required to. Generally, the first payment voucher 

must be filed on or before April 15 of the taxable year. The estimated tax may be paid in full with the 

first payment voucher or in four installments on or before April 15, June 15, September 15 of the 

taxable year, and January 15 of the following year. Fiscal year taxpayers must file their first payment 

voucher on or before the 15
th 

day of the fourth month of the fiscal year. The estimated tax may be 

paid in full with the first payment voucher or in four equal installments on or before the 15
th 

day of 

the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of the fiscal year, and the 15
th 

day of the next fiscal year. Be sure 

to use the appropriate voucher for each payment and fill in the tax year and date. Whenever a due 

date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the filing and payment may be made on the next 

succeeding business day. Fiduciaries who underpay or fail to pay their estimated taxes may incur a 

penalty. Form M-2210F, Underpayment of Massachusetts Estimated Income Tax for Fiduciaries, is 

used to compute the additional charge.  

Finally, a resident beneficiary subject to tax at the beneficiary level pursuant to G.L. c. 62, § 10 (h) 

must make estimated tax payments on his distributable share of the estate or trust income. Such 

payments are to be made on Massachusetts Form 1-ES. For more information, see DOR Directive 

07-4.  

Can Unused Capital Losses be Passed Through to Beneficiaries?  
Unused capital losses of an estate or trust are allocable to the estate‟s or trust‟s corpus and can be 

used by the estate or trust itself in future years. These losses cannot be passed through to 

beneficiaries, even in the year of termination.  

Does Massachusetts Have a 65 Day Election?  
No. In determining the amount paid, credited, or otherwise required to be distributed to a beneficiary 

(lines 3, 8, 13, and 18 of Schedule IDD, Income Distribution Deduction), Massachusetts has not 

adopted the 65 day election available to estates and complex trusts federally under Code § 663(b). 

Therefore, any distribution or portion thereof to a beneficiary made within the first 65 days following 

the close of the 2012 taxable year, treated federally as having been distributed in 2012, is to be 

treated for Massachusetts purposes in 2012 as accumulated income and is taxable at the estate or trust 

level, with one exception. Non-Massachusetts source income accumulated for a vested nonresident  



beneficiary is not taxable at the estate or trust level, but is deductible on Form 2, lines 12, 19, 28, or 

36, as applicable. Moreover, any distribution or portion thereof to a beneficiary made within the first 

65 days following the close of the 2012 taxable year will be treated in the year of distribution, i.e., 

2013 as a tax free distribution.  

Does the Pass-Through Entity Withholding Program Apply to 

Estates and Trusts?  
Although the term “pass-through entity,” as used in the pass-through entity withholding program, 

applicable to most pass-through entities and their non-resident members or beneficiaries, which 

Massachusetts adopted for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, refers to an entity whose 

income, loss, deductions, and credits flow through to members or beneficiaries for Massachusetts tax 

purposes, such as estates and trusts not taxed at the entity level, most estates and trusts are not 

required to participate in the pass-through entity withholding program because they are required to 

withhold under other Massachusetts provisions. See, e.g., G.L. c. 62, § 10(g), requiring trusts and 

estates to withhold or make estimated payments on payments to nonresidents, including nonresident 

grantors of grantor trusts.  

For more information on the applicability of the pass-through entity withholding program to trusts 

and estates, see the Guide for Pass-Through Entities – Including Registration Information. See also, 
830 CMR 62B.2.2, Pass-Through Entity Withholding.  

Filling out the Return – Line by Line Instructions  
Line items without specific instructions are considered to be self-explanatory.  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. Other 

fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Application 

for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the number is not available 

at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied in the boxes provided. Do not use a 

decedent‟s social security number for an estate. A separate Employer Identification Number is 

required for the estate and for each trust entity.  

Name and Title of Fiduciary  
Enter the exact legal name and title of the fiduciary. In case of multiple fiduciaries, one name is 

sufficient.  



Mailing Address of Fiduciary  
Enter the mailing address of the fiduciary listed on the first line.  

C/O  
If the mailing address is the address of a legal firm or of a person other than the fiduciary, that person 

or firm should be listed on the C/O line.  

Company Account Number  
If applicable, enter the company account number your firm has assigned to this entity.  

Date Entity Created  
Enter the date the trust was created. If filing a return for an estate, enter the date of death. All other 

fiduciaries should enter the date of appointment.  

Filing Status  
Select all applicable ovals. For example, if you are filing a first year return for an estate, select the 

ovals for “Decedent‟s Estate” and “Initial Return.” If filing an amended return, select the oval for 

“Increase in tax,” “No change in tax,” or “Decrease in tax,” as applicable and write “Amended” 

across the top of the return. Grantor-type trusts should file Form 2G and select the “Consolidated 

Form 2G” oval if also filing Form 2. If filing on a fiscal year basis, enter your fiscal year‟s beginning 

and ending dates in the appropriate boxes at the top of the return. If you have elected to file as a 

Qualified Funeral Trust (QFT) on U.S. Form 1041-QFT, select the oval for “Qualified Funeral 

Trust.” If you file a composite Form 1041-QFT, you may also file a composite Form 2.  

Select the oval for “Qualified Funeral Trust” and write “Composite QFT” across the top of the return. 

You must enclose a schedule with a Composite QFT Form 2 that includes the following information 

for each QFT (or separate interest treated as a separate QFT): (1) the name of the owner or the 

beneficiary (if you list the name of the owner and that trust has more than one beneficiary, you must 

separate the trust into shares held by the separate beneficiaries); (2) the type and gross amount of 

each type of income earned by the QFT for the tax year (for long-term capital gains, identify 

separately the amount of capital gain by holding period); (3) the type of each deduction allocable to 

the QFT; (4) the tax and payments made for each QFT; and (5) if the QFT was terminated during the 

year, give the date of termination.  

Schedule TDS – Inconsistent Filing Position Penalty  
Fill in the oval and attach Schedule TDS, Taxpayer Disclosure Statement, if you are disclosing any 

inconsistent filing positions. Schedule TDS is available on the DOR website at www.mass.gov/dor. 

The inconsistent filing position penalty (see TIR 06-5, section IV) applies to taxpayers that take an 

inconsistent position in reporting income. These taxpayers must “disclose the inconsistency” when 

filing their Massachusetts return. If such inconsistency is not disclosed, the taxpayer will be subject 

to a penalty  



equal to the amount of tax attributable to the inconsistency. This penalty is in addition to any other 

penalties that may apply.  

A taxpayer is deemed to have taken an “inconsistent position” when the taxpayer pays less tax in 

Massachusetts based upon an interpretation of Massachusetts law that differs from the position taken 

by the taxpayer in another state where the taxpayer files a return and the governing law in that other 

state “is the same in all material respects” as the Massachusetts law. The Commissioner of Revenue 

may waive or abate the penalty if the inconsistency or failure to disclose was attributable to 

reasonable cause and not willful neglect.  

Member of a Lower-Tier Entity  
A tiered structure is a pass-through entity that has a pass-through entity as a member. The term 

“pass-through entity” refers to an entity whose income, loss, deductions and credits flow through to 

members for Massachusetts tax purposes, and includes estates and trusts not taxed at the entity level. 

The term “member” includes beneficiaries of a pass-through entity. As between two entities, the 

pass-through entity that is a member is the upper-tier entity, and the entity of which it is a member is 

the lower-tier entity. If the estate or trust is a member of another pass-through entity, it should answer 

“yes” to this question.  

Part B Income  

Line 1. Wages, Salaries, Tips, Other Employee Compensation  
Enter wages, salaries, tips, and other compensation earned and received, and, if applicable, enter the 

amount reported as Massachusetts wages on Form W-2. For a decedent‟s estate, income in respect of 

a decedent is taxed on Form 2, line 1, in addition to being taxed on the Form M-706, Massachusetts 

Estate Tax Return, as an asset of the estate. “Income in respect of a decedent” is income the decedent 

had a right to receive prior to his date of death, but payment of which was made to the estate after the 

date of death. Wages, salaries, or other forms of compensation, including any fixed sum amount 

attributable to services rendered prior to the decedent‟s death, are to be included on line 1.  

Line 2. Taxable Pensions and Annuities  
Income from most private pension or annuity plans is taxable in Massachusetts; however, income 

from a contributory annuity, pension, endowment or retirement fund of the U.S. government, the 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts or its political subdivisions, or any noncontributory pension or 

survivorship benefits from the United States uniformed services (Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air 

Force, Coast Guard, commissioned corps of the U.S. Public Health Service and National Oceanic and 

Atmospheric Administration) is exempt. Massachusetts allows a deduction for contributory pension 

income received from another state or one of its political subdivisions that does not tax such income 

from Massachusetts or its political subdivisions. For guidelines on determining which state  



pensions are exempt in Massachusetts, see TIR 95-9. Enter the fully taxable amounts received from 

pension or annuity plans on line 2. Amounts distributed from an IRA or Keogh plan should also be 

reported on line 2.  

Line 3. Business/Profession or Farm Income or Loss  
Enter on line 3 the amount of income or loss from a business or profession from Massachusetts 

Schedule C, line 31 or 33. Also, enclose Massachusetts Schedule C with this return. Please Note: 

U.S. Schedules C or C-EZ  are no longer allowed as a substitute for the Massachusetts Schedule C. 

For entities engaged in operating a farm business, enter on line 3 the amount of income or loss from 

operating such business from U.S. Schedule F, line 34. Enclose a copy of U.S. Schedule F. 

Additionally, complete and enclose a pro-forma U.S. Schedule F to report Massachusetts differences, 

if any, such as bonus depreciation.  

Line 4. Rental, Royalty and REMIC Income or Loss  
Rental, Royalty, and Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC) residual income are 

generally taxable in Massachusetts. Enter the amount from Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule E, line 

4. Enclose Massachusetts Schedule E. Enter and explain any differences between total rental, royalty, 

and REMIC income on the U.S. Schedule E and the Massachusetts Schedule E. Possible differences 

include part-year residency, trust provisions, deductible royalties from approved U.S. energy 

conservation plants, passive losses, and “bonus” depreciation. See the Massachusetts Schedule E 

instructions for further details of possible differences in reporting rental, royalty, and REMIC income 

or loss.  

Line 5. Interest from Massachusetts Banks  
Enter in line 5 the total amount of interest received or credited to deposit accounts (term and time 

deposits, including certificates of deposit, savings accounts, savings shares, and NOW accounts) in 

all savings banks, cooperative banks, savings and loan associations, or credit unions located in 

Massachusetts. All other interest, unless exempt, should be entered on Schedule B, line 1.  

Line 6. Other 5.25% Income  
Other 5.25% income not reported elsewhere must be included here. Items reported here include: 

partnership and S corporation income or loss; gambling winnings from lotteries, raffles, races or 

other events of chance, wherever held; fair market value of prizes and awards; lump-sum 

distributions from qualified employee benefit plans in excess of employee‟s contributions; and any 

other miscellaneous income. Income received by a Massachusetts trust or estate from sources not 

previously subject to Massachusetts jurisdiction or taxed in Massachusetts is reportable on the Form 

2 as follows. Sources not previously subject to Massachusetts taxation include non-Massachusetts 

estates, trusts,  



and partnerships, wherever located. Enter the income or loss from these entities on the appropriate 

lines on Form 2 and Schedule D, according to the character and source of income. If no other line 

applies, enter the income or loss from these entities on line 6 of Form 2.  

Line 8. Deductions Allowed Decedents  
The amount of any deduction attributable to a decedent that is not properly allowable to the decedent 

as a deduction on the income tax return for the taxable period in which his death occurs, or any prior 

period, shall be specifically allowed as a deduction on this line, provided the estate of the decedent is 

liable to discharge the obligation for which the deduction relates. The following deductions are 

allowed if attributable to the decedent and paid after the decedent‟s date of death (enclose a copy of 

Form 1 or 1-NR/PY):  

1. Amounts paid into Social Security (FICA), Railroad, U.S. or Massachusetts Retirement Systems 

are deductible up to a maximum of $2,000. Payments to an IRA, Keogh, Simplified Employee 

Pension Plan (SEP), or Savings Incentive Match Plan for Employees (SIMPLE) Account are not 

deductible.  

2. Amounts paid to someone to care for one (or more) qualified child under age 13, or for a disabled 

dependent(s), or spouse so that the decedent could work or look for work, are deductible as an 

employment related expense up to a maximum of $4,800 if there is one qualifying individual or 

$9,600 if there are two or more qualifying individuals.  

3. A deduction of $3,600 for one or $7,200 for two or more dependent members of the decedent‟s 

household under age 12, or dependent age 65 or over (not the decedent or his spouse), or disabled 

dependent at the close of the taxable year in which the decedent‟s death falls. This deduction may 

only be claimed as long as the employment-related expense deduction discussed above is not 

claimed.  

4. Amounts paid for rent for the decedent‟s principal residence are deductible equal to 50% of the 

rent paid during the taxable year, up to a maximum of $3,000. Enclose a supplemental statement 

listing the landlord‟s name(s) and address(es), dates rented, and amount(s) of rent paid for each 

residence.  

5. The deduction for unreimbursed travel and transportation expenses incurred by any employee and 

unreimbursed gifts, entertainment, and other employee business expenses incurred by employees 

who solicit business for an employer away from the employer‟s place of business are allowed, but 

only if the decedent itemizes deductions on his U.S. income tax return and only for amounts that 

exceed 2% of U.S. adjusted gross income. The amount an employee is reimbursed for business 

expenses continues to be an allowable deduction.  

6. A penalty charge for early withdrawal of savings and interest is deductible but only if the interest 

that the penalty is related to is reported on Form 2.  

7. Amounts paid to a former spouse during the taxable year for alimony or separate maintenance 

pursuant to a court decree, or for excess alimony amounts recaptured, as reported on U.S. Form 1040, 

line 31a. Alimony payments specified as child support are not deductible.  



8. In addition, certain federal deductions are allowed including: interest payments due and paid on 

qualified student loans; qualified moving expenses paid or incurred with the commencement of work 

at a new principal place of work; business expenses of state and local government employees who 

are compensated on a fee basis; jury duty pay surrendered by the decedent to his employer; and 

contributions to a Medical Savings Account by the decedent as an employee of a small business or as 

a self-employed individual.  

Line 10. Income Distribution Deduction  
Enter on line 10 the amount reported on line 5 of Schedule IDD, Income Distribution Deduction.  

Guardianships/Conservatorships  
Enter on line 10 deductions and exemptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduction or 

exemption claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 2. The 

preprinted language on line 10 should be crossed out and the words “see supporting statement” 

should be added.  

Line 12. Nonresident/Charitable Deduction  
With one exception, the deductions under G.L. c. 62, § 3.B(a)(1) and (2) for Part B 5.25% income 

accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are allowed 

on Line 12. Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries is not 

deductible on Line 12 however, but is taxable at the fiduciary level.  

Please Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are not 

reportable on Line 12. Rather, they are to be included as part of the income distribution deduction 

calculation and, thus, are reportable, as appropriate, on lines 2 through 5 of Schedule IDD, Part 1. 

Enter on Line 12 the amount of Part B 5.25% income included in Line 11 accumulated or irrevocably 

set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities. Do not include on Line 12 any 

Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries or any amounts 

actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities.  

Part A Interest and Dividend Income  

Line 14. Part A 5.25% Interest & Dividend Income  
Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 39. See Schedule B instructions for detailed 

information. Complete and enclose Schedule B.  



Line 15. Part A 5.25% Common Trust Fund Interest & Dividend 

Income  
Enter the amount of Part A 5.25% interest and dividend income received from common trust funds, 

including any unrelated business taxable Part A 5.25% interest and dividend income.  

Line 17. Income Distribution Deduction  
Enter on line 17 the amount reported on line 10 of Schedule IDD, Income Distribution Deduction.  

Guardianships/Conservatorships  
Enter on line 17 deductions and exemptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduction or 

exemption claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 2. The 

preprinted language on line 17 should be crossed out and the words “see supporting statement” 

should be added.  

Line 19. Nonresident/Charitable Deduction  
With one exception, the deductions under G.L. c. 62, § 3.A(a)(1) and (2) for Part A 5.25% income 

accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are allowed 

on Line 19. Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries is not 

deductible on Line 19 however, but is taxable at the fiduciary level.  

Please Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are not 

reportable on Line 19. Rather, they are to be included as part of the income distribution deduction 

calculation and are thus reportable, as appropriate, on lines 7 through 10 of Schedule IDD, Part 2.  

Enter on Line 19 the amount of Part A 5.25% income included on Line 18 accumulated or 

irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities. Do not include on Line 19 

any Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries or any amounts 

actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities.  

Line 22. Tax from Table  
Based upon the amount on line 21, find the proper amount of tax in the table and enter the tax on line 

22. If line 21 is greater than $24,000, multiply the amount on line 21 by .0525 and enter the result on 

line 22. You must use the tax table if line 21 is $24,000 or less.  



Part A 12% Capital Gains  

Line 23. Part A 12% Capital Gains  
Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 40. See Schedule B instructions for detailed 

information. Complete and enclose Schedule B.  

Line 24. Part A 12% Short-Term Common Trust Fund Capital 

Gains  
Enter the amount of Part A 12% short-term capital gains received from common trust funds, 

including any unrelated business taxable Part A 12% short-term capital gain income.  

Line 26. Income Distribution Deduction  
Enter on line 26 the amount reported on line 15 of Schedule IDD.  

Guardianships/Conservatorships  
Enter on line 26 deductions and exemptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduction or 

exemption claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 2. The 

preprinted language on line 26 should be crossed out and the words “see supporting statement” 

should be added.  

Line 28. Nonresident/Charitable Deduction  
With one exception, the deductions under G.L. c. 62, § 3.A(a)(1) and (2) for Part A 12% capital gain 

income accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are 

allowed on Line 28. Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries 

is not deductible on Line 28 however, but is taxable at the fiduciary level.  

Please Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are not 

reportable on Line 28. Rather, they are to be included as part of the income distribution deduction 

calculation and, thus, are reportable, as appropriate, on lines 12 through 15 of Schedule IDD, Part 3.  

Enter on Line 28 the amount of Part A 12% capital gain income included on Line 27 accumulated or 

irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities. Do not include on Line 28 

any Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested nonresident beneficiaries or any amounts 

actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities.  

Part C 5.25% Capital Gains  

Line 31. Part C 5.25% Long-Term Capital Gains  
Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 18. See Schedule D instructions for detailed 

information. Complete and enclose Schedule D.  



Line 32. Part C 5.25% Long-Term Common Trust Fund Capital 

Gains  
Enter the amount of Part C 5.25% long-term capital gains received from common trust funds 

including any unrelated business taxable Part C 5.25% long-term capital gain income.  

Line 34. Income Distribution Deduction  
Enter on line 34 the amount reported on line 20 of Schedule IDD.  

Guardianships/Conservatorships  
Enter on line 34 deductions and exemptions claimed on behalf of a ward. Any deduction or 

exemption claimed must be explained via a supporting statement attached to the Form 2. The 

preprinted language on line 34 should be crossed out and the words “see supporting statement” 

should be added.  

Line 36. Nonresident/Charitable Deduction  
With one exception, the deductions under G.L. c. 62, § 3.C(a)(1) and (2) for Part C 5.25% long-term 

capital gain income accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or 

charities are allowed on Line 36. Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested nonresident 

beneficiaries is not deductible on Line 36 however, but is taxable at the fiduciary level.  

Please Note: Amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities are not 

reportable on Line 36. Rather, they are to be included as part of the income distribution deduction 

calculation and are thus reportable, as appropriate, on lines 17 through 20 of Schedule IDD, Part 4.  

Enter on Line 36 the amount of Part C 5.25% long-term capital gain income included on Line 35 

accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities. Do not 

include on Line 36 any Massachusetts source income accumulated for vested nonresident 

beneficiaries or any amounts actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities.  

Line 39. Credit Recapture  
If any Brownfields Credit (BC), Economic Opportunity Area Credit (EOA), Low-Income Housing 

Credit (LIH), or Historic Rehabilitation Credit (HR) property is disposed of or ceases to be in 

qualified use prior to the end of its useful life, the difference between the credit taken and the total 

credit allowed for actual use must be added back to the tax and reported on line 39. Complete and 

enclose Schedule H-2, Credit Recapture and fill in the appropriate oval(s) on line 39.  

Line 40. Additional Tax on Installment Sale  
An addition to tax applies for taxpayers who have deferred the gain, and the tax associated with that 

gain, on certain installment sales. This addition to tax is measured by an interest charge on the tax 

that has been deferred.  



Enter on line 40 an additional tax, measured by an interest charge on the deferred tax, on gain from 

certain installment sales with a sales price over $150,000 if you are not a dealer and the aggregate 

face amount of installment obligations arising during the tax year and outstanding as of the close of 

the tax year exceeds $5 million. For more information see G.L. c. 62C, § 32A (a) and I.R.C. § 453A 

(a)–(c).  

Also, include on line 40 an additional tax amount measured by an interest charge on the deferred gain 

from the installment sale of timeshares and residential lots, if the sale meets one of the following 

criteria: 1) the sale is of a timeshare right for 6 weeks or less; 2) the sale is for the recreational use of 

specified campgrounds; or 3) the sale is for a residential lot and neither the dealer nor someone 

related to the dealer is obligated to  

make any improvements on the lot. For more information see G.L. c. 62C, § 32A (b) and I.R.C. § 

453(l)(2)(B).  

To the extent practicable, Massachusetts follows federal income tax rules in determining the deferred 

gain from installment sales subject to the interest-charge addition to tax. For more information visit 

DOR‟s website at www.mass.gov/dor and Internal Revenue Service Publication 537.  

Line 42. Credit for Income Taxes Due to Other Jurisdictions  
This credit is available to resident beneficiaries and to resident estates and trusts. It is not available to 

pooled income funds, charitable remainder annuity trusts, or charitable remainder unitrusts. If any of 

the income reported on this return is subject to taxation in another state or jurisdiction and you have 

filed a return and paid taxes in the other state or jurisdiction, complete Form 2, Schedule F, Credit for 

Income Taxes Due to Other Jurisdictions, and enter the amount of credit allowed (from line 7 of 

Schedule F) on line 42 of Form 2. Do not include taxes paid to the U.S. government or local or city 

taxes. Enclose Schedule F. The total credit which you calculate on Schedule F is the smaller of the 

amount of taxes due to other jurisdictions (net of certain adjustments) or the portion of your 

Massachusetts tax due on your gross income that is taxed in such other jurisdictions. Credit is not 

given for a property tax due to another jurisdiction on account of capital stock or property. This does 

not refer to a tax on gain or income from the sale of capital stock or property, as included on Form 2, 

Schedule B or D however. Credit is also not given for any interest and penalties paid on a tax due to 

another jurisdiction.  

Line 43. Lead Paint Credit  
A credit for up to $1,500 for each residential unit is given for expenses incurred for removing or 

covering lead paint on residential premises in Massachusetts. A seven-year carryover of any unused 

credit is provided. A credit is allowed for interim controls, abatement measures that have been taken 

pending the complete removal of lead paint, for up to $500 per dwelling unit. This $500 amount is 

counted towards the $1,500 limit. Strict regulations govern who can cover or remove lead paint. The 

basic rules are explained in Massachusetts Schedule LP, Credit for Removing or Covering Lead Paint 

on Residential Premises. If you qualify for the credit, complete Massachusetts Schedule LP and enter 

the amount of the credit on line 43. Enclose Schedule LP with your return.  



Note: Failure to enclose Schedule LP will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return 

and an adjustment of your reported tax.  

Line 44. Economic Opportunity Area Credit/Economic 

Development Incentive Program  
The Economic Opportunity Area Credit.  Massachusetts allows a credit equal to 5% of the cost of 

qualifying property purchased for business use within an Economic Opportunity Area (EOA). If you 

qualify for the credit, fill in the appropriate oval, complete Massachusetts Schedule EOAC and enter 

the amount of the credit on line 44. Enclose Schedule EOAC with your return. Note: Failure to 

enclose Schedule EOAC will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return and an 

adjustment of your reported tax.  

The Economic Development Incentive Program (EDIP) Credit is a tax credit under G.L. c. 62, § 

6(g) and G.L. c. 63, § 38N equal to a percentage of the cost of property purchased for business use 

within a certified project as defined in G. L.c. 23A, § 3A. 

 

To be eligible for the EDIP credit the project must have been certified on or after January 1, 2010.  

As part of the project certification the Economic Assistance Coordinating Council (EACC) may, but 

is not required to, award an EDIP credit under the program and, when an EDIP credit is awarded, the 

EACC will determine the percentage of the cost of property to be used in determining the credit.  

 

Taxpayers with ongoing projects that were certified prior to January 1, 2010 may be eligible for  

credits under the prior version of the Economic Development Incentive Program; such taxpayers do 

not file schedule EDIP (see TIR 10-01 and Schedule EOAC). 

 

The EACC may also, in consultation with DOR, limit (but not expand) the credit to a specific dollar 

amount or time duration or in any other manner deemed appropriate by the EACC.  St. 2009, c. 166, 

§ 18.  For more information, see TIRs 10-15 and 10-1.  

 

If you qualify for the EDIP credit, fill in the appropriate oval, complete Schedule EDIP and enter the 

amount of the credit on line 44. Also, be sure to enter the EACC issued certificate number in the 

space provided on line 44.   

 

Line 45. Brownfields Credit  

Recent legislation extends the Brownfields credit to nonprofit organizations, extends the time frame 

for eligibility for the credit, and permits the credit to be transferred, sold, or assigned. Under prior 

law, net response and removal costs incurred by a taxpayer between August 1, 1998 and August 5, 

2005, were eligible for the credit provided that the taxpayer commenced and diligently pursued an 

environmental response action before August 5, 2005. As a result of the recent legislation, the 

environmental response action commencement cut-off date is changed from August 5, 2005 to 

August 5, 2013, and the time for incurring eligible costs that qualify for the credit is extended to 

January 1, 2014. For more information, see TIR 10-15. If you qualify for this credit, complete 

Massachusetts Schedule BC, Brownfields Credit, and enter the amount of the credit on line 45. Also, 

enter the Department of Revenue issued certificate number in the space provided on line 45. Note: 

Failure to enter the certificate number will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return 

and an adjustment of your reported tax.  



Line 46. Low-Income Housing Credit  
A low-income housing credit is available to taxpayers. The Department of Housing and Community 

Development will allocate the low-income housing credit from a pool of available credits granted 

under § 42 of the Code among qualified low-income housing projects. A taxpayer allocated a federal 

low-income housing credit also may be eligible for a state credit based on the credit amount allocated 

to a low-income housing project that the taxpayer owns. A five-year carryforward of unused credit is 

allowed. See TIR 99-19 for more information. If you qualify for this credit, enter the amount of the 

credit on line 46. Also, enter the building identification number in the space provided on line 46. 

Note: Failure to enter the building identification number will result in this credit being disallowed on 

your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax.  

Line 47. Historic Rehabilitation Credit  
Effective for tax years beginning on January 1, 2005 and ending on or before December 31, 2017, 

taxpayers may be eligible for the Historic Rehabilitation Credit (HRC). To claim this credit, a 

historic rehabilitation project must be completed and certified by the Massachusetts Historical 

Commission. Unused portions of the credit may be carried forward for 5 years. The credit may be 

transferred or sold to another taxpayer. The HRC is not subject to the 50% limitation rule for 

corporate taxpayers. If the taxpayer disposes  



of the property generating the HRC, a portion of the credit may be subject to recapture. For further 

information, see TIR 10-11 and 830 CMR 63.38R.1, Massachusetts Historic Rehabilitation Credit. If 

you qualify for this credit, enter the amount of the credit on line 47. Also, enter the certificate number 

in the space provided on line 47. Note: Failure to enter the certificate number will result in this credit 

being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax.  

Line 48. Film Incentive  
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006 and before January 1, 2023, motion picture 

production companies may claim (1) a credit equal to 25% of the total qualifying aggregate payroll 

for employing persons within the Commonwealth in connection with the filming and production of a 

motion picture and (2) a credit equal to 25% of their Massachusetts production expenses. Each credit 

has its own qualification requirements and a taxpayer is allowed to qualify for and claim both credits. 

The credits are also transferable. For more information, see TIR 07-15. If you qualify for this credit, 

enter the amount of credit on line 48. Also, enter the Department of Revenue issued certificate 

number in the space provided on line 48. Note: Failure to enter the certificate number will result in 

this credit being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax.  

Also Note: Motion picture production companies qualify to elect a refundable film credit if they have 

not transferred or carried forward a portion of the film credit for the production/certificate number to 

be refunded. If you qualify for this election, enter the amount from line 5 of Schedule RFC, 

Refundable Film Credit, in line 59 of Form 2, but only if taking the credit at the estate or trust level. 

If passing the credit out to a beneficiary(ies), see instructions for line 59 below.  

Line 49. Medical Device Credit  
Medical device companies that develop or manufacture medical devices in Massachusetts can claim a 

credit equal to 100% of the user fees paid by them when submitting certain medical device 

applications and supplements to the United States Food and Drug Administration. The credit is also 

transferable. For more information, see TIR 06-22. If you qualify for this credit, enter the amount of 

credit on line 49. Also, enter the Department of Revenue issued certificate number in the space 

provided on line 49. Note: Failure to enter the certificate number will result in this credit being 

disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax. Certificate application forms 

and additional information are available at www.mass.gov/dor.  

Line 51. Credits Passed Through to Beneficiaries  
The credits reported on lines 42 through 49 may be passed through to beneficiaries on line 51 and the 

applicable lines on Schedule 2K-1. Alternatively, they may be taken at the estate or trust level on line 

52. These alternatives are mutually exclusive. If credits are passed through to a beneficiary, any 

credits that cannot be applied in the taxable year for which a carryover is allowed may be carried 

over and applied against the beneficiary‟s personal income tax liability in succeeding taxable years. 

Carryovers may not be claimed at the estate or trust level in such cases.  



Line 52. Credits Remaining with Fiduciary  
If the credits reported on lines 42 through 49 are taken at the estate or trust level on line 52, any 

credits that cannot be applied in the taxable year for which a carryover is allowed may be carried 

over and applied against the estate‟s or trust‟s income tax liability in succeeding taxable years. 

Unused credits may not be passed through to beneficiaries on line 51. Either the fiduciary or the 

beneficiaries may take the credits, but not both.  

Line 54. Massachusetts Income Tax Withheld  

Massachusetts income taxes withheld under the employer identification number of the estate or trust, 

as indicated on your copies of Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-G, and 1099-R, should be included on line 

54 only if not passed through to a beneficiary(ies) on Schedule 2K-1, line 26. Be sure you attach 

copies of these forms to the left-hand margin of the front of your return; otherwise your claim of 

amounts withheld will not be allowed. If you have lost a form, ask the payer for a duplicate. Copies 

of Forms 1099-G and 1099-R need only be attached if they show an amount for Massachusetts tax 

withheld. For more information, see instructions for Schedule 2K-1, line 26.  

Line 56. 2011 Massachusetts Estimated Tax Payments  
Enter the total amount of Massachusetts Form 2-ES, estimated tax payments made for 2012 on line 

56. Do not include on line 56 estimated tax payments made on Form 1-ES or Form 2-ES on behalf of 

beneficiaries or the amount in line 55. See Directive 07-4.  

Line 57. Payments Made with Extension  
If an Application for Extension of Time to File Fiduciary or Partnership Return, Massachusetts Form 

M-8736, was made for 2012 on or before the due date of the return, enter in line 57 the amount paid 

with Massachusetts Form M-8736. An extension of time to file does not extend the due date for 

payment of the tax. Any tax not paid on or before the due date, without regard to the extension, will 

be charged interest. Any tax not paid within the extended period is subject to a penalty of 1 % per 

month, up to a maximum of 25% from the due date of the return.  

Line 58. Payment with Original Return  

Use this line only if you are amending the original return. Enter in line 58 the amount of tax you paid 

with the original return from line 66, “Tax Due.” If estimated tax payments were made on the 

original return, they should be reflected on line 56, as on the original return. Select the appropriate 

amended return oval on page 1. Complete the entire return, correct the appropriate line(s) with the 

new information and recompute the tax liability. On an enclosed sheet, explain the reason for the 

amendment(s) and identify the line(s) and amount(s) being changed on the amended return. If the 

change reduces the tax liability, enclose Form CA-6, Application for Abatement/Amended Return, 

and a copy of the return that you originally filed. Mail the amended return, with Form CA-6 on top, 

to:  

Massachusetts Department of Revenue  

PO Box 7031  

Boston, MA 02204  



If you owe additional tax, mail the amended Form 2 to:  

Massachusetts Department of Revenue  

PO Box 7018  

Boston, MA 02204  

Line 59. Refundable Film Credit  
Motion picture production companies qualify to elect a refundable film credit if they have not 

transferred or carried forward a portion of the film credit for the production/certificate number to be 

refunded. Transferees of the film credit do not qualify for the refundable film credit. Transferees 

should claim their credit on Schedule Z, line 7.  

If an election to refund the film credit for a production/certificate number is made, the entire film 

credit remaining after reducing the tax liability and other credits will be refunded at 90%. A motion 

picture production company that elects to claim a refund of the film credit is not permitted to seek a 

partial refund and a partial transfer or carryover of the credit. However, the refund can be applied as 

an estimated payment for the subsequent tax year.  

The refundable film credit may be taken at the estate or trust level on line 59 or passed through to a 

beneficiary(ies) on line 23 of Schedule(s) 2K-1. Enter in line 59 any amount of refundable film credit 

from Schedule RFC, Refundable Film Credit, line 5, to be claimed at the estate or trust level. Enclose 

Schedule RFC with your return. Note: Failure to enclose Schedule RFC will result in this credit 

being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reported tax.  

Also Note: If the credit is to be passed through to a beneficiary(ies), “0” should be entered on line 59 

and the words “ flowed through to beneficiary(ies)” should be noted on the dotted line.  

Line 60. Refundable Dairy Credit  
The Massachusetts dairy farmer tax credit was established to offset the cyclical downturns in milk 

prices paid to dairy farmers and is based on the U.S. Federal Milk Marketing Order for the applicable 

market. A taxpayer who holds a certificate of  

registration as a dairy farmer pursuant to G.L. c. 94, s. 16A is allowed a refundable tax credit based 

on the amount of milk produced and sold. The dairy farmer tax credit as originally enacted was 90% 

refundable. Under recent legislation, the dairy farmer tax credit is now 100% refundable.  

The refundable dairy credit may be taken at the estate or trust level on line 60 or passed through to a 

beneficiary(ies) on line 24 of Schedule(s) 2K-1. Enter in line 60 the amount of refundable dairy 

credit from the Department of Agricultural Resources‟ Dairy Farmer Certified Tax Credit Statement 

to be claimed at the estate or trust level. Also, enter the Department of Agricultural Resources-issued 

certificate number in the space provided on line 60. Note: Failure to enter the certificate number on 

line 60 will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your 

reported tax.  



Also Note: If the credit is to be passed through to a beneficiary(ies), “0” should be entered on line 60 

and the words “ flowed through to beneficiary(ies)” should be noted on the dotted line.  

Line 61. Refundable Conservation Land Tax Credit  
Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, a credit is allowed for qualified 

donations of certified land to a public or private conservation agency. The credit is equal to 50% of 

the fair market value of the qualified donation. The amount of the credit that may be claimed by a 

taxpayer for each qualified donation cannot exceed $50,000. The credit is refundable but not 

transferable. The certification process is conducted by the Executive Office of Energy and 

Environmental Affairs (“EEA”). EEA has promulgated a regulation, 301 CMR 14.00, entitled 

Conservation Land Tax Credit, which sets forth criteria for authorizing and certifying the credit. See 

also, 830 CMR 62.6.4, entitled Conservation Land Tax Credit, promulgated by DOR to explain the 

calculation of the allowable credit.  

 

The refundable conservation land tax credit may be taken at the estate or trust level on line 61 or 

passed through to a beneficiary(ies) on line 25 of Schedule(s) 2K-1. Enter in line 61 the amount of 

refundable conservation land tax credit to be claimed at the estate or trust level. Also, enter the DOR-

issued certificate number in the space provided on line 61. Note: Failure to enter the certificate 

number on line 61 will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of 

your reported tax.  

Also Note: If the credit is to be passed through to a beneficiary(ies), “0” should be entered on line 61 

and the words “ flowed through to beneficiary(ies)” should be noted on the dotted line.  

Line 64. Amount of Overpayment to be Applied to 2013 

Massachusetts Estimated Taxes  

Enter the amount of the 2012 overpayment from line 63 that you want applied to your 2013 

Massachusetts estimated taxes.  

Line 65. Amount of Refund  
Subtract line 64 from line 63, and enter the result in line 65. This is the amount of your refund.  

Line 66 Tax Due  
If line 53 is larger than line 62, subtract line 62 from line 53, and enter the result on line 66. Include 

in line 66 any additional payment for interest and/or penalty(ies) as described below. Pay this amount 

in full with the return when filed. Go to www.mass.gov/dor/payonline for online payment options.  If 

you need to mail your payment, make the check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of 

Massachusetts and write the estate or trust employer identification number on the front of the check 

or money order  in the lower left front corner.  Enclose the check or money order and Form 2-PV, 

Massachusetts Fiduciary Income Tax Payment Voucher, with your return.  Form 2-PV must be 

included with your check or money order to ensure proper crediting of your account.   

http://www.mass.gov/dor/payonline


Interest  
If you fail to pay the tax when due, interest will be charged. For an explanation of how interest is 

compounded in Massachusetts, see TIR 92-6 or call the Customer Service Bureau at (617)887-

MDOR or toll-free, in Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089.  

Penalty for Late Payment  
The penalty for late payment is 1 % of the tax due, per month (or fraction thereof) up to a maximum 

of 25%.  

Penalty for Failure to File  
The penalty for failure to file a tax return by the due date is 1% of the tax due, per month (or fraction 

thereof) up to a maximum of 25%.  

Penalty for Protested (―Bad‖) Check  
If any check sent in payment of tax or other charge is not honored by your bank because of 

insufficient funds or for any other reason, a penalty of $30 or the amount of the payment, whichever 

is less, may be charged.  

Federal (Audit) Change Penalty  
If the U.S. Internal Revenue Service changes a tax return for a prior year (generally through audit), 

file an amended Form 2 together with any required schedules or additional payments within one year 

of the final federal determination to avoid a penalty. The penalty is equal to 10% of the additional tax 

due. Remember to select the appropriate amended return oval on page 1 of Form 2. If the change 

indicates a refund, file Massachusetts Form CA-6, Application for Abatement/Amended Return, 

within one year.  

Addition for underpayment of estimated tax  
If withholding and/or estimated tax payments do not equal 80% of the total tax liability required to be 

paid, an addition to tax will generally apply if your 2012 tax due after credits and withholding is 

greater than $400. If you failed to meet these requirements, you must complete and enclose 

Massachusetts Form M-2210F to calculate the amount of penalty you must add to line 66, or to show 

which exception applies. Most taxpayers who qualify for an exception made withholding and/or 

estimated payments equal to their tax liability for the previous year. You do not have to complete 

Form M-2210F if the balance due with your return is $400 or less.  

Taxpayer’s Declaration  
At least one of the fiduciaries must sign and date the return, under penalties of perjury. Fiduciaries 

using facsimile signatures must follow the procedures in DOR Directive 89-9. Staple all state copies 

of any Forms W-2, W-2G, and any 1099 with Massachusetts withholding on the front of the Form 2. 

If making a payment, staple your check or money order to Form 2-PV. Form 2-PV can be found on 

the inside front cover of this booklet.  



Make the check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and be sure to sign 

the check. The estate or trust employer identification number should be entered on the front of the 

check. Enclose all required U.S. forms and schedules to the back. Please enclose Massachusetts 

forms and schedules first, followed by Massachusetts  

Form M-2210F.  

The return, together with payment in full, is due, for calendar year filers on or before April 16, 2013. 

Fiscal year returns are generally due on the 15
th 

day of the fourth month after the close of the fiscal 

year. Mail to:  

Massachusetts Department of Revenue  

PO Box 7018  

Boston, MA 02204  

Direct fiduciary inquiries (not returns) to:  

Massachusetts Department of Revenue  

Customer Service Bureau  

PO Box 7010  

Boston, MA 02204  

Telephone: (617) 887-MDOR  

Schedule B/R. Beneficiary/Remaindermen  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. Other 

fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Application 

for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the number is not available 

at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied in the boxes provided. Do not use a 

decedent‟s social security number for an estate. A separate Employer Identification Number is 

required for the estate and for each trust entity.  

Name of Beneficiary  
As used in this form, “beneficiary” means income beneficiary. A “trust income beneficiary” is a 

beneficiary who is entitled to receive the income from the trust. If filing for other than a trust, enter 

the name and address of the person receiving the income.  



Name of Remainderman  
A remainderman is the person or entity entitled to an estate after the prior estate has expired. In 

returns where taxable stock dividends, taxable gains from the purchase or sale of real estate, tangible 

and intangible personal property, or dividends which are wholly or in part credited to capital have 

been received by the fiduciary during the tax year covered by this return and in all cases where all or 

part of the taxable income is accumulated for remainder interests, Schedule B/R must include the 

complete name and address of each remainderman.  

Beneficiary’s/Remainderman’s Identification Number  
Enter the social security number of the income beneficiary or remainderman, if the income 

beneficiary or remainderman is an individual. Enter the employer identification number of the 

income beneficiary or remainderman, if the income beneficiary or remainderman is an entity.  

Legal Domicile  
A legal domicile is a person‟s permanent home. Enter the legal domicile of the income beneficiary or 

remainderman.  

Total Income  
Enter the dollar amount of the income the beneficiary or remainderman received during the tax 

period covered by the return.  

Percentage of Income  
Enter the percentage of total income that was paid to/or accumulated for each beneficiary or 

remainderman.  

Percentage of Taxable Income  
Indicate the percentage of total income taxable in Massachusetts for each beneficiary or 

remainderman.  

Income Summary  

Line 1. Accumulated Income  
Enter the amount of income accumulated, i.e., retained by the entity, for the year.  

Line 3. Accumulated Capital Gain  
Enter the amount of capital gain accumulated, i.e., retained by the entity, for the year.  

Schedule B. Interest, Dividends and Certain Capital Gains and 

Losses  
You must file Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule B if you have:  



1. dividend income in excess of $1,500;  

2. any interest income other than from Massachusetts banks taxed at 5.25%;  

3. short-term capital gains or losses;  

4. carryover short-term losses from prior years;  

5. long-term gains on collectibles or pre-1996 installment sales classified as capital gain income for 

Massachusetts purposes;  

6. gains or losses from the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion of property used in a trade or 

business;  

7. net long-term capital gains or losses; or  

8. excess exemptions.  

“Collectibles” are defined as any capital asset that is a collectible within the meaning of Internal 

Revenue Code (“Code”) § 408(m), as amended and in effect for the taxable year. “Collectibles” 

include works of art, rugs, antiques, metals, gems, stamps, alcoholic beverages, certain coins, and 

any other items treated as collectibles for federal tax purposes.  

You need not fill out Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule B if the only interest income you have is from 

Massachusetts banks. Report it on Form 2, line 5 instead. You must complete Massachusetts Form 2, 

Schedule B if your interest or dividend income includes: dividends taxed directly to trusts or estates 

on a Form 2, Fiduciary Income Tax Return; distributions that are returns of capital; or exempt 

portions of any interest or dividends from a mutual fund.  

Line by Line Instructions:  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. Other 

fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Application 

for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the number is not available 

at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied in the boxes provided. Do not use a 

decedent‟s social security number for an estate. A separate Employer Identification Number is 

required for the estate and for each trust entity.  

Line 1. Total Interest  
Enter total interest from U.S. Form 1041, line 1 or 1041-QFT, line 1a.  

Note. Interest from a common trust fund may be excluded here, provided it is entered on Form 2, line 

15. If common trust fund interest is included in this line, enter the amount on line 7 and on Form 2, 

line 15.  



Line 2. Total Dividends  
Enter total dividends from U.S. Form 1041, line 2a or 1041-QFT, line 2a. Dividends from a common 

trust fund may be excluded here, provided they are entered on Form 2, line 15. If common trust fund 

dividends are included in this line, enter the amount on line 7 and on Form 2, line 15.  

Line 3. Other Interest and Dividends  
Enter on line 3 any other interest and dividends not included on lines 1 and 2. Line 3 includes such 

items as interest from obligations of other states and their political subdivisions that are not taxable 

federally but are taxable in Massachusetts. Any tax exempt municipal interest, including interest 

from all Massachusetts municipalities, should be entered here for Schedule H computations.  

Line 4. Total Interest and Dividends  
Add lines 1 through 3 and enter the total on line 4.  

Line 5. Interest on U.S. Debt Obligations  
Enter the total amount of U.S. government obligation interest included on line 4. Interest from 

obligations of the U.S. government are not taxable by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  

Line 6. Total Interest from Massachusetts Banks  
Enter the total amount of interest from savings in Massachusetts banks included on Form 2, line 5.  

Line 7. Other Exclusions  
Enter any other interest or dividends to be excluded. A schedule and statement of explanation must 

be enclosed. Common trust fund interest or dividends included on lines 1 or 2 must be entered here. 

Any tax-exempt municipal interest entered on line 3, for Schedule H computations, must be entered 

here.  

Line 8. Total Adjustments  
Add lines 5 through 7, and enter the total on line 8.  

Line 9. Subtotal  
Subtract line 8 from line 4, and enter the result on line 9.  

Note. If there are any differences between U.S. and Massachusetts amounts reported on lines 12, 13, 

14, 18, and 19, be sure to enter the Massachusetts amount and enclose a statement that includes the 

line item and an explanation of the differences. Exclude short-term capital gains received from 

common trust funds from Form 2, Schedule B and enter short-term capital gains received from 

common trust funds on Form 2, line 24.  



Line 10. Allowable Deductions From Your Trade or Business  
Enter the amount from Massachusetts Schedule C-2, line 8 if you qualify for an excess trade or 

business deduction. See the instructions for Massachusetts Schedule C-2.  

Line 11. Subtotal  
Subtract line 10 from line 9, and enter the result on line 11.  

Line 12. Short-Term Capital Gains  
Enter the total short-term capital gains included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, Part I, lines 1, 2 and 

3.  

Line 13. Long-Term Capital Gains on Collectibles and Pre-1996 

Installment Sales  
Enter the total amount of long-term capital gains on collectibles and pre-1996 installment sales from 

Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 11.  

Line 14. Gain on Sale of Business Property  
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of gain from the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion of 

property used in a trade or business and held for one year or less. Be sure to enclose U.S. Form 4797 

with your return.  

Line 15. Gross Interest, Dividends and Certain Capital Gains  
Add lines 12 through 14.  

Line 16. Allowable Deductions From Your Trade or Business  
Enter the amount from Massachusetts Schedule C-2, line 11 if you qualify for an excess trade or 

business deduction. See the instructions for Massachusetts Schedule C-2.  

Line 17. Subtotal  
Subtract line 16 from line 15.  

Line 18. Short-Term Capital Losses  
Enter the total short-term capital losses included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, Part I, lines 1, 2 

and 3.  

Line 19. Loss on Sale of Business Property  
Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of loss from the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion of 

property used in a trade or business and held for one year or less. Be sure to enclose U.S. Form 4797 

with your return.  



Line 20. Prior Years Short-Term Unused Losses  
You may use short-term losses accumulated in the previous taxable years beginning after 1981 in the 

computation of short-term gain or loss for the current year. Enter here the short-term loss amount 

from your 2011 Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule B, line 41.  

Line 21. Subtotal  
Combine lines 17 through 20. If a positive amount, omit lines 22 through 25 and go to line 26. If the 

total is a loss, go to line 22.  

Line 22. Short-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and 

Dividends  
Enter the smaller of line 11 or line 21 (as a positive amount), but not more than $2,000.  

Line 23. Subtotal  
Combine lines 21 and 22. If line 23 is less than “0”, go to line 24. If line 23 is “0”, omit lines 24 

through 30 and go to line 31. If Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a loss and Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 

is a loss, omit line 24, enter the amount from line 23 on line 25 and line 41, omit lines 26 through 30 

and complete lines 31 through 39.  

Line 24. Short-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Long-Term 

Capital Gains  
If Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a loss and Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is greater than “0,” enter the 

smaller of Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 (considered as a positive amount) or Form 2, Schedule D, line 

12 on Form 2, Schedule B, line 24 and on Form 2, Schedule D, line 13.  

Line 25. Short-Term Capital Losses for Carryover in 2012  
Combine lines 23 and 24 and enter the result on lines 25 and 41, omit lines 26 through 29, enter “0” 

on line 30, and complete lines 31 through 40.  

Line 26. Short-Term Capital Gains and Long-Term Gains on 

Collectible  
Enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 21. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is “0”, or greater, 

omit line 27 and enter the amount from line 26 on line 28. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a loss go 

to Form 2, Schedule B, line 27.  

Line 27. Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Short-Term 

Capital Gains  
If Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 is greater than “0”, and Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a loss, enter the 

smaller of Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 or Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 (considered as a positive 

amount) on Form 2, Schedule B, line 27 and on Form 2, Schedule D, line 13.  



Line 28. Subtotal  
Subtract line 27 from line 26. If line 28 is “0,” omit line 29 and enter “0” on line 30.  

Line 29. Long-Term Gain Deduction  
If there is no entry in line 13, enter “0.” If line 13 shows a gain, enter 50% of line 13 less 50% of the 

losses on lines 18, 19, 20, and 27, but not less than “0.”  

Line 30. Short-Term Gains After Long-Term Gains Deduction  
Subtract line 29 from line 28. Not less than “0.”  

Line 31. Subtotal  
Enter the amount from line 11.  

Line 32. Short-Term Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends  
Enter the amount from line 22. If line 22 is not completed, enter “0.”  

Line 33. Subtotal  
Subtract line 32 from line 31. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is “0” or greater omit line 34 and enter 

the amount from line 33 on line 35. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is a loss go to line 34.  

Line 34. Long-Term Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends  
If Form 2, Schedule B, line 33 is a positive amount and Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is a loss, 

complete the Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends Worksheet for Form 

2, Schedule B, line 34 and Form 2, Schedule D, line 15.  

Note: Although under TIR 04-23, unused capital losses of a trust generally are allocable to trust 

corpus and cannot be passed through to beneficiaries, this does not preclude trustees or other 

fiduciaries from claiming on line 34 the deduction allowed under G.L. c 62, § 2(c)(4) of not more 

than an aggregate amount of $2,000 in Part A capital loss and Part C capital loss against interest and 

dividends included in Part A income.  

Line 35. Adjusted Interest and Dividends  
Subtract line 34 from line 33.  

Line 36. Adjusted Gross Interest, Dividends and Certain Capital 

Gains  
Add lines 30 and 35. Not less than “0.”  



Line 37. Expense and Fiduciary Compensation Deduction  
Enter on 37a the allowable portion of expenses as computed on Schedule H, Part 1, line 5. Enter on 

37b compensation as computed on Schedule H, Part 2, line 18. Enclose a copy of Schedule H.  

Line 38. Taxable Interest, Dividends and Certain Capital Gains  
Subtract line 37 from line 36. Not less than “0.”  

Line 39. Interest and Dividends Taxable at 5.25%  
If line 38 is greater than or equal to line 11, enter the amount from line 11 here and on Form 2, line 

14. If line 38 is less than line 11, enter the amount from line 38 here and on Form 2, line 14.  

Line 40. Taxable 12% Capital Gains  
Subtract line 39 from line 38. Not less than „0.” Enter the result here and on Form 2, line 23.  

Line 41. Available Short-Term Losses for Carryover in 2013  
Enter the amount from line 25, only if it is a loss.  

Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends Worksheet for Form 2, Schedule 

B, Line 34 and Form 2, Schedule D, Line 15. Complete only if Form 2, Schedule B, line 33 is a 

positive amount and Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is a loss. Enter all losses as positive amounts.  

1. Enter amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

2. Enter the lesser of line 1 or $2,000  

3. Enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule B, line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If “0”or less omit the remainder of worksheet. Otherwise, complete  

lines 5 and 6 . . . . . . . . . .  

5. Enter any loss from Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 as a positive amount. Otherwise, enter “0” . . .  

6. If line 4 is smaller than or equal to line 5, enter line 4 here and on Form 2, Schedule B, line 34 and 

on Form 2, Schedule D, line 15. If line 4 is larger than line 5, enter line 5 here and on Form 2, 

Schedule B, line 34 and on Form 2, Schedule D, line 15 . . . . . . . . . . .  

Schedule D. Capital Gains and Losses — Long-Term Capital 

Gains and Losses Excluding Collectibles  

You must complete Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D if you had long-term capital gains or 

losses from the sale or exchange of capital assets or from similar transactions which are granted 

capital gain or loss treatment on your U.S. return or, if you had capital gain distributions. Include 

gains from all property, wherever located. “Long- 



term capital gains” are gains on the sale or exchange of capital assets that have been held for 

more than one year on the date of the sale or exchange. “Long term capital losses” are losses on 

the sale or exchange of capital assets that have been held for more than one year on the date of 

the sale or exchange. “Capital gain income” is defined as gain from the sale or exchange of a 

capital asset. The definition of “capital asset” includes: (1) an asset which is a capital asset under 

Internal Revenue Code (“Code”) § 1221, or (2) property that is used in a trade or business within 

the meaning of Code § 1231(b), without regard to the holding period as defined in said section.  

Significant Differences Between U.S. and Massachusetts Capital 

Gain Provisions Are:  

1. Code § 1244 losses reported as ordinary losses on your U.S. return must be reported on 

Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D;  

2. If you made a federal election under § 311 of the Tax Relief Act of 1997 to recognize gain on the 

deemed sale of a capital asset held on January 1, 2001, Massachusetts does not follow the federal 

rules at § 311 for determining the basis of the asset. See TIR 02-3. If you sold a capital asset in 

2012 for which you made a federal § 311 election, the Massachusetts initial basis will not be the 

federal basis. The Massachusetts initial basis will be determined as of the date the asset was first 

acquired;  

3. Upon the sale of stock of an S corporation, the federal basis must be modified according to 

Massachusetts Income Tax Regulation, 830 CMR 62.17A.1;  

4. Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment rules to take into account differences between 

Massachusetts and federal tax laws. For more information regarding basis adjustment rules, see 

TIR 88-7; and  

5. Net ordinary losses that are itemized deductions on U.S. Schedule A are not allowable.  

Installment Sales  
Effective for sales on or after January 1, 2005, taxpayers who are treated as electing installment sale 

treatment federally will automatically be treated as electing Massachusetts installment sale treatment 

if the Massachusetts gain for the entire transaction is less than $1 million. Such taxpayers are not 

allowed to elect out of Massachusetts installment sales treatment and do not have to post security 

with the Commissioner of Revenue (“Commissioner”).  

In contrast to the above, taxpayers who are treated as electing installment sale treatment federally 

must file a separate Massachusetts installment sale election and post security with the Commissioner 

if their Massachusetts gain for the entire transaction is equal to or greater than $1 million. An 

explanatory statement must be enclosed with each return for the life of the installment sale. For 

further information see TIR 04-28 or contact the Installment Sales Unit at (617) 887-6950.  

Please Note. If you are reporting capital gains on installment sales that occurred during January 1, 

1996 through December 31, 2002, do not file Form 2, Schedule D. Instead,  



you must file Schedule D-IS, Installment Sales. If you are reporting an installment sale occurring on 

or after January 1, 2003, report those gains on Form 2, Schedule D.  

Line by Line Instructions:  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. Other 

fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Application 

for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the number is not available 

at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied in the boxes provided. Do not use a 

decedent‟s social security number for an estate. A separate Employer Identification Number is 

required for the estate and for each trust entity.  

Line 1. Long-Term Capital Gains and Losses  
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 6, column f.  

Line 2. Additional Long-Term Capital Gains and Losses  
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 7, column f.  

Line 3. Net Long-Term Gain or Loss from Partnerships, S 

Corporations, Estates, and Trusts  

Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 8, column f.  

Line 4. Capital Gain Distributions  
Enter the amount of capital gain distributions reported to you by a mutual fund or real estate 

investment trust included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 9, column f.  

Line 5. Gain From U.S. Form 4797  
Enter the gain or loss included on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, line 10, column f.  

Line 6. Massachusetts Long-Term Capital Gains and Losses 

Included in U.S. Form 4797, Part II  

Enter amounts included on U.S. Form 4797, Part II treated as capital gains or losses for 

Massachusetts purposes (not included on lines 1 through 5 above). These include ordinary gains from 

sales of Code § 1231 property; recapture amounts under Code §§ 1245, 1250 and 1255; Code § 1244 

losses (losses on small business stock); and the loss on the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion 

of property used in a trade or business.  



Line 7. Carryover Losses from Previous Years  
If you have a carryover loss from a prior year, enter on line 7 the amount of carryover loss from your 

2011 Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 19.  

Line 8. Subtotal  
Combine lines 1 through 7 and enter the result on line 8.  

Line 9. Differences  
Enter any differences between the gains or losses reportable for Massachusetts tax purposes and the 

U.S. gains or losses reported on Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D and U.S. Form 4797, Part II. 

Enter the amount of common trust fund gain included on line 8. This amount would have been 

carried over from your U.S. Form 1041, Schedule D, and is properly reported on Form 2, line 32.  

Differences include:  

1. capital gains or losses that occurred while the taxpayer was legally domiciled in another state or 

country during the taxable year;  

2. capital gains or losses from transactions reported as installment sales for U.S. income tax purposes 

but not for Massachusetts;  

3. Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment rules to take into account differences between 

Massachusetts and U.S. tax laws; and  

4. Gains from pre-1996 installment sales classified as ordinary income for Massachusetts purposes 

and reported on Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 8 should be reported on Massachusetts 

Form 2, Schedule D, line 9 (“Differences”). The amount of such gain classified as ordinary 

income should then be reported on Form 2, line 6 (“Other income”) and identified as “2012 gain 

from pre-1996 installment sale.” Any entry on line 9 must be clearly explained in an enclosed 

statement.  

Line 10. Massachusetts 2012 Gains or Losses  
Exclude/subtract line 9 from line 8.  

Line 11. Long-Term Gains on Collectibles and Pre-1996 Installment 

Sales  
Enter on line 11 the amount of long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996 installment sales 

classified as capital gain income for Massachusetts purposes that are included on line 10. Gains from 

pre-1996 installment sales are classified as either capital gains or ordinary income under the 

Massachusetts law in effect on the date the sale or exchange took place. Gains from pre-1996 

installment sales that are classified as capital gains should be reported as 12% income on 

Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule B, line 13. If the asset was held for more than one year when it was 

sold, the gain will be eligible for a 50% long-term deduction. Gains from pre-1996 installment sales 

classified as ordinary income and reported on Massachusetts Form 2, Schedule D, line 8 should be 

reported on Massachusetts Schedule D, line 9 (“Differences”). The amount of such gain classified as  



ordinary income should then be reported on Form 2, line 6 (“Other income”) and identified as “2012 

gain from pre-1996 installment sale.” “Collectibles” are defined as any capital asset that is a 

collectible within the meaning of Code § 408(m), as amended and in effect for the taxable year, 

including works of art, rugs, antiques, metals, gems, stamps, alcoholic beverages, certain coins, and 

any other items treated as collectibles for federal tax purposes.  

Line 12. Subtotal  
Subtract line 11 from line 10 and enter the result on line 12. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a loss 

and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is “0” or less, omit Form 2, Schedule D, line 13 and enter the 

amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 on Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 and enter “0” on Form 2, 

line 31. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a gain and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a loss, go to Form 

2, Schedule D, line 13. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a loss and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a 

positive amount, go to Form 2, Schedule D, line 13. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a gain, and 

Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is “0” or greater, omit Form 2, Schedule D, lines 13 through 15 and 

enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 on Form 2, Schedule D, line 16.  

Line 13. Capital Losses Applied Against Capital Gains  
If Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 is a positive amount and Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 is a loss, enter 

the smaller of Form 2, Schedule D, line 12 or Form 2, Schedule B, line 23 (considered as positive 

amount) on Form 2, Schedule D, line 13 and Form 2, Schedule B, line 24. If Form 2, Schedule D, 

line 12 is a loss and Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 is a positive amount, enter the smaller of Form 2, 

Schedule D, line 12 (considered as a positive amount) or Form 2, Schedule B, line 26 on Form 2, 

Schedule D, line 13 and in Form 2, Schedule B, line 27.  

Line 14. Subtotal  
If line 12 is less than “0,” combine lines 12 and 13. If line 12 is greater than “0,” subtract line 13 

from line 12.  

Line 15. Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and 

Dividends  
Complete the Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends Worksheet for 

Form 2, Schedule B, Line 34 and Form 2, Schedule D, Line 15 only if Form 2, Schedule B, line 33 is 

a positive amount and Form 2, Schedule D, line 14 is a loss.  

Line 16. Subtotal  
Combine line 14 with line 15 and enter the result on line 16. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 16 is “0”, 

enter “0” in lines 17 through 19. If Form 2, Schedule D, line 16 is a loss, omit lines 17 and 18 and 

enter the amount from line 16 on line 19 and enter “0” on Form 2, line 31.  



Line 17. Allowable Deductions From Your Trade or Business  
Generally, taxpayers may not use excess 5.3% trade or business deductions to offset other income. 

However, Massachusetts law allows such offsets if the following requirements are met: the excess 

5.3% deductions must be adjusted gross income deductions allowed under G.L. c. 62, § 2(d) and 

these excess deductions may only be used to offset other income which is effectively connected with 

the active conduct of a trade of business or any other income allowed under Code § 469(d)(1)(B) to 

offset losses from passive activities. Enclose Schedule C-2 with your return. Enter on line 17 the 

amount from Schedule C-2, line 14.  

Line 18. Subtotal  
Subtract line 17 from line 16 and enter the result on line 18 and on Form 2, line 31. Not less than “0.”  

Line 19. Available Losses for Carryover  
Enter the amount from Form 2, Schedule D, line 16, only if it is a loss.  

Schedule E. Rental, Royalty and REMIC Income or Loss  
Enclose a copy of the U.S. Schedule E and U.S. Form 8582.  

Please Note: Income from rental property located in or outside Massachusetts is subject to taxation 

on Form 2, Fiduciary Income tax Return, if it is accumulated for unknown or unascertained persons, 

or persons with uncertain interests. For a decedent‟s estate, if the executor is authorized or directed in 

the will to occupy the decedent‟s realty and collect rents therefrom, or in the absence of a will, the 

court decree, appointing a temporary executor or administrator, authorizes the same, then to the 

extent of any income collected, it is reported on line 1a. Generally, the income is reported on the 

personal income tax return of the heir or devisee taking either title or control and possession of the 

property, because under Massachusetts law, title to real property vests immediately upon death in the 

devisees or heirs at law. However, the income is reported on Form 2 when the real estate is under 

administration or the person taking title or possession is the executor or administrator.  

Line by Line Instructions:  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. Other 

fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Application 

for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the number is not available 

at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied  



in the boxes provided. Do not use a decedent‟s social security number for an estate. A separate 

Employer Identification Number is required for the estate and for each trust entity.  

Line 1a. Rental and Royalty Income or Loss  
Enter on line 1a the total rental and royalty income or loss from U.S. Form 1040, Schedule E, Part I, 

line 26 and Part V, line 40.  

Line 1b. Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC) 

Income or Loss  
Enter on line 1b the total Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC) residual income or loss 

from U.S. Schedule E, Part IV, line 39.  

Line 1. Subtotal  
Combine lines 1a and 1b, and enter on line 1.  

Line 2. Massachusetts Differences  
Enter and explain on line 2 any differences between rental, royalty, and REMIC income reported on 

your U.S. return and your Massachusetts return. Possible differences include part-year resident 

status, trust provisions, deductible royalties from approved U.S. energy conservation patents, and 

passive losses as described below. Explain the differences in the space provided or enclose an 

additional sheet if necessary.  

Deductible Royalties From Approved U.S. Energy Conservation Patents. Enter any income you 

received from certain U.S. patents that are approved by the Massachusetts Division of Energy 

Resources as being useful for energy conservation or for alternative energy development. For more 

information, contact the Division of Energy Resources at (617)727-4732. If such approved patent 

income is other than royalty income, use the applicable schedule and explain.  

Passive Losses. As a result of differences in U.S. and Massachusetts rules in 1987, the calculations 

you made for passive losses on your 1987 U.S. and Massachusetts returns may have differed. 

Differences in amounts reported in 1987 for U.S. and Massachusetts tax purposes should be adjusted 

when the property is disposed of or the deduction is used up. In addition, passive losses allowed for 

Massachusetts tax purposes in 1987, but carried over for U.S. tax purposes, cannot be used again for 

Massachusetts tax purposes when such carryover losses are eventually allowed for U.S. tax purposes. 

To the extent there are applicable adjustments for Massachusetts differences, taxpayers must 

calculate allowable losses on a pro forma U.S. Form 8582, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, which 

should then be attached to the Form 2.  

Line 3. Abandoned Building Renovation Deduction  
In line 3 enter 10% of the costs incurred in renovating a qualifying abandoned building in an 

Economic Opportunity Area. For further information, contact the Massachusetts Office of Business 

Development at (617) 973-8600.  



Line 4. Total Rental, Royalty and REMIC Income or Loss for 

Massachusetts  
Combine lines 1, 2 and 3. Enter the total on line 4 of Schedule E and on Form 2, line 4.  

Schedule F. Credit for Income Taxes Due to Other Jurisdictions  
Complete Schedule F to calculate your credit for income taxes paid by you to another state or 

jurisdiction on income reported on Form 2. Enclose a complete copy of the return(s) filed in the other 

jurisdictions. Do not include taxes paid to the U.S. government or local or city taxes. You are 

allowed to claim a credit for taxes paid to the following jurisdictions: (a) other states in the U.S.; (b) 

any territory or dependency of the U.S. (including Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, the District 

of Columbia); or (c) the Dominion of Canada or any of its provinces (less any U.S. credit amount 

allowable from U.S. Form 1116).  

Please Note: Canada is the only foreign country for which you may claim a tax credit on Schedule F. 

First deduct any U.S. credit amount allowable. The total credit which you calculate on Schedule F is 

the smaller of the amount of taxes due to other jurisdictions (net of certain adjustments) or the 

portion of your Massachusetts tax due on your gross income that is taxed in such other jurisdictions. 

Credit is not given for a property tax due to another jurisdiction on account of capital stock or 

property. This does not refer to a tax on gain or income from the sale of capital stock or property, as 

included on Form 2, Schedule B or D. Credit is also not given for any interest and penalties paid on a 

tax due to another jurisdiction.  

You must complete separate schedules if you had Part B 5.25% income, Part A interest (other than 

interest from Massachusetts banks) and dividend income, Part A 12% capital gain income, or Part C 

5.25% capital gain income taxed by another jurisdiction. If you use this schedule to calculate a credit 

for Part A interest (other than interest from Massachusetts banks) and dividend income, Part A 12% 

capital gain income, or Part C 5.25% capital gain income, substitute such income for Part B 5.25% 

income on lines 1, 2, and 4. You must also substitute Form 2, Schedule B, line 9 and line 15 or Form 

2, Schedule D, line 12, but not less than “0,” for Form 2, line 7 on line 2 of Schedule F, and the total 

of Form 2, line 20 multiplied by .0525 and Form 2, line 30 or line 38 for Part B 5.25% tax on line 4 

of Schedule F.  

Please Note: When using this schedule to calculate credit for Part A interest (other than interest from 

Massachusetts banks) and dividend income, Part A 12% capital gain income, or Part C 5.25% capital 

gain income, enter on line 1 such income taxed in another jurisdiction calculated as if it was earned 

in Massachusetts.  

Line 6. Income Tax Paid to Other Jurisdictions  
Enter the total tax paid to other jurisdictions on income also reported on this return unless the tax was 

paid to Canada. If the tax was paid to Canada, the amount reported on this line must be reduced by 

the amount claimed as a foreign tax credit on U.S. Form 1041, Schedule G, line 2a. Credit is only 

allowable for amount of tax paid.  



Form 2G. Grantor’s/Owner’s Share of a Grantor-Type Trust  
Massachusetts follows the Internal Revenue Code (“Code”) grantor-type trust rules as contained in 

Code §§ 671 through 678. See G.L. c. 62, § 10. Accordingly, the trustee of a grantor-type trust is 

required to file Form 2G and send a copy of it to the grantor/owner who is required to report the 

income, deductions and credits on his/her Massachusetts individual income tax return. A resident 

grantor or other owner must include grantor-type trust income in calculating his/her estimated tax. 

Generally, a grantor-type trust exists  

when one of the following is present:  

1. the trust income is distributable to/or accumulated for the benefit of the grantor or the grantor‟s 

spouse;  

2. the grantor holds a reversionary interest in the trust which is not postponed beyond a 10-year 

period;  

3. the grantor has the power to revoke the trust in his/her favor;  

4. the grantor has the power to control the beneficial enjoyment of the trust corpus or income;  

5. the grantor has retained certain administrative powers with respect to the trust; and  

6. a person, other than the grantor, has the power to obtain the trust corpus or income.  

Fiduciary expenses and compensation are not deductible. All supporting details, e.g., Form 2, 

Schedule D, if there are long-term capital gains or losses must be enclosed.  

Please Note. Massachusetts has not adopted Treas. Reg. § 1.671-4(b) regarding consolidated filing of 

grantor-type trusts.  

Consolidated Form 2G Filing  
If you are required to file more than one Form 2G, you can file on a “consolidated” basis. Use Form 

2 as the coversheet for the return and select the “Consolidated Form 2G” oval on Form 2. The Form 

2 signature section must also be completed and signed. No other section or line on the Form 2 is to be 

completed if checking the oval “consolidated Form 2G. Each Form 2G, or preapproved substitute, 

can then be enclosed with the “consolidated” Form 2 without the requirement of each Form 2G being 

signed. Mail the Consolidated Form 2G to the same address as Form 2G.  

Due Date of Return  
Form 2G is due on or before April 16, 2013. If filing on a fiscal year basis, the return is generally due 

on or before the 15
th 

day of the fourth month after the close of the fiscal year. Mail Form 2G to: 

Massachusetts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7017, Boston, MA 02204. Direct fiduciary inquiries 

(not returns) to: Massachusetts Department of Revenue, Customer Service Bureau, PO Box 7010, 

Boston, MA 02204; or call (617) 887-MDOR.  



Line 22. Massachusetts Income Tax Paid by Trustee  
Enter on line 22 the following: (1) nonresident withholding, (2) pooled income fund/charitable 

remainder annuity or unitrust withholding, and (3) Massachusetts income tax withheld on Forms W-

2,W-2G, 1099-G and 1099R. For more information, see below.  

Nonresident Withholding  
A trustee is required to deduct and withhold from any income subject to taxation (Massachusetts 

source income-G.L. c. 62, § 5A) at the applicable rates when the grantor or other owner is a 

nonresident. Form 2-ES, Massachusetts Estimated Income Tax for Filers of Forms 23M, and M-

990T-62, is to be used for this purpose. The total payments withheld must be entered on line 22 of 

Form 2G, and the nonresident grantor or owner must claim such total paid over by the trustee on 

his/her individual income tax return.  

Pooled Income Fund/Charitable Remainder Annuity or Unitrust 

Withholding  
A Massachusetts trustee of a pooled income fund, a charitable remainder annuity trust or a charitable 

remainder unitrust who makes payment to a Massachusetts beneficiary of taxable income is required 

to deduct and withhold tax on that income at the applicable rates. Form 2-ES is to be used for this 

purpose. The total payments withheld must be entered on line 22 of Form 2G, and the beneficiary 

must claim such total paid over by the trustee on his/her individual income tax return.  

Massachusetts Income Tax Withheld on Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-G 

and 1099R  
Enter on line 22 any income tax withheld on a Form W-2,W-2G, 1099-G or 1099R.  

Schedule H. Expenses and Fiduciary Compensation  
The Schedule H deductions apply to every executor, administrator, trustee, guardian, conservator, 

trustee in bankruptcy or receiver of a trust or estate, with the exception of a trustee of a pooled 

income fund or a trustee of a charitable remainder annuity trust or unitrust. Schedule H deductions 

are specifically allowed by statute and include an expense deduction and a fiduciary compensation 

deduction.  

Expense Deduction  
Fiduciaries may take an amortization deduction for premiums paid upon bonds held by the estate or 

trust, but only if the bond income is taxable. In addition, fiduciaries may take a deduction for a 

portion of their expenses for safe deposit box rentals and surety bond premiums. These expenses 

must have been incurred and actually paid during the tax year covered by the return in order to be 

allowed as a deduction. The expense deduction must be allocated between taxable and nontaxable 

Part A income, and only the taxable portion is deductible. No deduction is allowed against Part B 

5.25% income or Part C 5.25% Capital Gains. The deductible portion is calculated by computing the 

ratio of taxable Part A income, over total taxable and nontaxable Part A income, from all sources.  



Expenses of Trustees in Bankruptcy  
Ordinary and necessary business expenses of a trustee in bankruptcy engaged in the business of 

managing and liquidating a bankrupt estate are deductible against Part B 5.25% income. The 

remainder of these expenses may be taken as an excess trade or business deduction against other 

income as long as such income is derived from the trustee‟s investment of the liquidated assets which 

have not yet been distributed. For more information, see LR 82-66. Please Note: these expenses are 

not deductible on  

Schedule H. They are to be reported on Massachusetts Schedule C-2, and a copy of Massachusetts 

Schedules C and C-2 must be enclosed to Form 2.  

Part 1. Expense Deduction Computation  

Line 1  
Enter on line 1a the amount actually paid during the taxable year for safe deposit box rentals. Enter 

on line 1b the amount actually paid during the taxable year for premiums on surety bonds. Add lines 

1a and 1b, and enter the total on line 1.  

Line 2  
Add Form 2, Schedule B, line 36 and Form 2, lines 15 and 24. This is your total taxable Part A 

income for the year.  

Line 3  
Add Form 2, Schedule B, lines 4, 12, 13, 14 and Form 2, line 24; then subtract Form 2, Schedule B, 

line 6. This is your total Part A income (taxable and nontaxable) for the year. If common trust fund 

interest and dividends are not included in Form 2, Schedule B, line 4, add in the amount from Form 

2, line 15.  

Line 4  
Divide line 2 by line 3, and enter the percentage here. This is your percentage of taxable Part A 

income to total Part A income for the year.  

Line 5  
Multiply your total expenses in line 1 by the percentage in line 4, and enter the result here and on 

Form 2, Schedule B, line 37a. This is the maximum expense deduction you are allowed against Part 

A income.  

Part 2. Fiduciary Compensation Deduction Computation  

Line 6  
Enter the fiduciary compensation actually paid during the taxable year. Please Note: none of the 

following expenses are deductible on Form 2: estate administrative expenses, executor‟s expenses, 

executor‟s commissions, attorney fees, accountant fees, and tax preparer fees.  



Line 7  
Enter here the amount from Form 2, line 7. This is your total Part B 5.25% income for the year.  

Line 8  
Add Form 2, Schedule B, lines 4, 12, 13, 14 and Form 2, line 24; then subtract Form 2, Schedule B, 

line 6. This is your total Part A income (taxable and nontaxable) for the year. If common trust fund 

interest and dividends are not included in Form 2, Schedule B, line 4, add in the amount from Form 

2, line 15, but not less than 0.  

Line 9  
Subtract Form 2, Schedule D, line 11 from Form 2, Schedule D, line 8 and add Form 2, line 32, and 

enter the total here.  

Line 10  
Add lines 7 through 9, and enter the total here.  

Line 11  
Divide line 8 by line 10 and enter the percentage here. This is your percentage of taxable Part A 

income to total income (Part B 5.25% income, Part A interest, dividend, and 12% capital gain 

income, and Part C capital gain income) for the year.  

Line 12  
Multiply line 11 by line 6, and enter the result here. This represents the amount of fiduciary 

compensation actually paid on Part A income. Compensation paid on Part B 5.25% or Part C capital 

gain income is not deductible.  

Line 13  
Add Form 2, Schedule B, line 36 and Form 2, lines 15 and 24, and enter the total here.  

Line 14  
Enter the amount from line 8. This is your total Part A income (taxable and nontaxable) for the year.  

Line 15  
Divide line 13 by line 14, and enter the percentage here. This is your percentage of taxable Part A 

income to total Part A income for the year.  

Line 16  
Multiply line 15 by line 12, and enter the total here. This represents the amount of fiduciary 

compensation actually paid on taxable Part A income. Compensation allocated to nontaxable Part A 

income is not deductible.  



Line 17  
Enter here 7% of line 13.  

Line 18  
Enter here and on Form 2, Schedule B, line 37b, the amount from line 16 or 17, whichever is smaller. 

This is the maximum fiduciary compensation deduction you are allowed to take against Part A 

income.  

Schedule IDD. Income Distribution Deduction  
Estate and trust income includable in the federal gross income of a beneficiary by reason of Internal 

Revenue Code (“Code”) § 652 (the section of the Code that determines the amount and character of 

the gross income includable by a simple trust beneficiary) or § 662 (the section of the Code that 

determines the amount and character of the gross income includable by a complex trust beneficiary) 

is no longer taxable at the estate or trust level; rather it is to be taken into account in calculating the 

beneficiary‟s Massachusetts taxable income under G.L. c. 62, § 2. To avoid double taxation, a trustee 

or other fiduciary receiving income included in the gross income of a beneficiary by reason of Code 

§§ 652 or 662 is allowed a deduction on Form 2 in computing the taxable income of the estate or 

trust for that portion of Part A, B, or C income attributable to such beneficiary.  

The amount deductible on Form 2, line 10 from Part B income; line 17 from part A Interest and 

Dividend Income; line 26 from Part A 12% Capital Gains; and line 34 from Part C 5.25% Capital 

Gains is to be calculated on Schedule IDD, Income Distribution Deduction.  

Please Note: Schedule IDD does not apply when all of the income is accumulated within the estate 

or trust. Also Note: the taxation of grantor-type trusts, pooled income funds, charitable remainder 

annuity trusts, and charitable remainder unitrusts has not been affected by the above law change. The 

income from these entities continues to be taxed as it has been taxed in the past. Additionally, estate 

or trust income not includable in the federal gross income of a beneficiary by reason of the above 

Code sections continues to be taxable at the trust level.  

65 Day Election Does Not Apply  
In determining the amount paid, credited, or otherwise required to be distributed to a beneficiary 

(lines 3, 8, 13, and 18 of Schedule IDD), Massachusetts has not adopted the 65 day election available 

to estates and complex trusts federally under Code § 663(b). Therefore, any distribution or portion 

thereof to a beneficiary made within the first 65 days following the close of the 2012 taxable year, 

treated federally as having been distributed in2012, is not includible on Schedule IDD. Rather, it is to 

be treated for Massachusetts purposes in the 2012 taxable year as accumulated income and is taxable 

at the estate or trust level, with one exception. Non-Massachusetts source income accumulated for a 

vested nonresident beneficiary is not taxable at the estate or trust level, but is deductible on Form 2, 

lines 12, 19, 28, or 36, as applicable.  



Please Note: any distribution or portion thereof to a beneficiary made within the first 65 days 

following the close of the 2012 taxable year will be treated in the year of distribution, i.e., 2013, as a 

tax free distribution and will not be includible on the 2013 Schedule IDD.  

Vested Nonresidents and Charities  
Income actually paid to vested nonresident beneficiaries and or charities is to be included as part of 

the income distribution deduction calculation and is reportable on Schedule IDD, as applicable. Such 

income is not subject to the Nonresident/Charitable Deduction and is not includible on Form 2, lines 

12, 19, 28, or 36. Income accumulated or irrevocably set aside for vested nonresident beneficiaries 

and or charities, on the other hand, is not subject to an income distribution deduction and is not 

reportable on Schedule IDD.  

Schedule 2K-1. Beneficiary’s Massachusetts Information  

Purpose  
Use Schedule 2K-1, Beneficiary‟s Massachusetts Information, to report a beneficiary‟s share of 

income, deductions, and credits from a decedent‟s estate or a trust. Grantor-type trusts do not use 

Schedule 2K-1 to report the income, deductions or credits of the grantor or other person treated as the 

owner. Form 2G, Grantor‟s/Owner‟s Share of a Grantor-Type Trust, is used for that purpose.  

Who Must File  
Trustees or other fiduciaries must enclose a copy of Schedule 2K-1 for each beneficiary with the 

estate‟s or trust‟s Form 2, Fiduciary Income Tax Return, filed with the Commonwealth. Each 

beneficiary must also be given a copy of his respective Schedule 2K-1 along with instructions on 

how to report the items on the Schedule 2K-1 on his personal income tax return. One copy of each 

Schedule 2K-1 must be retained for the trustee‟s or fiduciary‟s records.  

Beneficiary’s Tax Year  
The beneficiary‟s income from the estate or trust must be included in the beneficiary‟s return for the 

taxable year in which the estate‟s or trust‟s taxable year ends.  

Nonresident Beneficiaries  
A nonresident beneficiary receiving income from an estate or trust is taxed only on income that is 

derived from Massachusetts sources. Where an estate or trust derives income from both within and 

outside Massachusetts, it will be necessary to determine what portion of the beneficiary‟s share of 

income is from sources within and outside Massachusetts so as to properly allocate and report the 

income on Schedule 2K-1.  



Massachusetts Source Income  

employment carried on by the taxpayer in the Commonwealth, whether or not the nonresident is 

actively engaged in a trade or business or employment in the Commonwealth in the year in which the 

income is received; (2) the participation in any lottery or wagering transaction within the 

Commonwealth; or (3) the ownership of any interest in real or tangible personal property located in 

the Commonwealth. Gross income derived from or effectively connected with any trade or business, 

including any employment, carried on by the taxpayer in the Commonwealth includes: gain from the 

sale of a business or of an interest in a business; distributive share income; separation, sick, or 

vacation pay; deferred compensation and nonqualified pension income not prevented from state 

taxation by the laws of the United States; and income from a covenant not to compete.  

Examples of Massachusetts source income include:  
1. all wages, salaries, tips, bonuses, fees, and other compensation which relate to activities carried on 

in Massachusetts, regardless of where or when the income is received;  

2. unemployment compensation related to previous Massachusetts employment;  

3. profit from a business, trade, profession, partnership, or S corporation conducted in Massachusetts;  

4. rents and royalties from real and tangible personal property located in Massachusetts or from other 

business activities in Massachusetts;  

5. gain from the sale of real or tangible personal property located in Massachusetts;  

6. interest and dividends, but only if derived from or connected with a Massachusetts business 

activity or the ownership of Massachusetts real estate or tangible personal property; and  

7. the definition of Massachusetts source income now includes gain from the sale of a business or an 

interest in a business, separation, sick or vacation pay, deferred compensation, income from 

covenants not to compete, and nonqualified pension income that federal law allows states to tax.  

Line by Line Instructions  

Name of Estate or Trust  
Enter the exact legal name of the entity. If an estate or trust, refer to the governing instrument. Other 

fiduciaries should use the exact legal name as their appointing court ruled.  

Estate or Trust Employer Identification Number  
Enter the U.S. employer identification number. If you do not have one, U.S. Form SS-4, Application 

for Employer Identification Number, should be used to apply for one. If the number is not available 

at the time of filing, enter “applied for” and the date you applied in the boxes provided. Do not use a 

decedent‟s social security number for an estate. A  



separate employer identification number is required for the estate and for each trust entity.  

Name of Beneficiary  
As used in this Schedule, “beneficiary” means income beneficiary. A “trust income beneficiary” is a 

beneficiary who is entitled to receive the income from the trust. If filing for other than a trust, enter 

the name and address of the person receiving the income.  

Legal Domicile of Beneficiary  
A legal domicile is a person‟s permanent home.  

Beneficiary’s Identification Number  
Enter the social security number of the beneficiary if the beneficiary is an individual beneficiary. 

Enter the employer identification number of the beneficiary if the beneficiary is an entity beneficiary.  

Name of Fiduciary  
Enter the exact legal name and title of the fiduciary. In case of multiple fiduciaries, one name is 

sufficient.  

Mailing Address of Fiduciary  
Enter the mailing address of the fiduciary listed on the first line.  

In Care of Address  
If the mailing address is the address of a legal firm or of a person other than the fiduciary, that person 

or firm should be listed on the C/O line.  

Allocable Share Items, Columns (a), (b),(c), and (d)  
Column (a). Enter the amounts from your federal 1041, Schedule K-1, allocable to the beneficiary.  

Column (b). Enter the adjustments resulting from differences between Massachusetts and federal law 

for each specific line item.  

Column (c). Combine columns (a) and (b) and enter the result in column (c). The amounts entered in 

column (c) are used to report the amount entered on Form 2 for each specific line item allocable to 

the beneficiary.  

Column (d). The amounts entered are used to report Massachusetts source income, loss, and credits 

allocable to the beneficiary, but only if the beneficiary is a nonresident of Massachusetts.  

Line 22. Estimated Tax Payments Made on Behalf of Nonresident 

Beneficiary by Fiduciary  



A trustee or other fiduciary having control of the payment to a nonresident individual beneficiary 

subject to tax at the beneficiary level under G.L. c. 62, §§ 5A and 10(h), must make estimated tax 

payments on behalf of the nonresident individual beneficiary on Form 1-ES, Massachusetts 

Estimated Income Tax. In reporting the estimated tax payments made on behalf of the nonresident 

individual beneficiary on Schedule 2K-1, the amount withheld should be entered on line 22. Such 

amount cannot be used to reduce the amount of income taxable to the beneficiary; rather, it is 

allowed as a credit on his return of income against the amount of income tax computed thereon and 

should be reported by the beneficiary on the “Massachusetts estimated tax payments” line of Form 

1NR/PY. For more information, see DOR Directive 07-4.  

A trustee or other fiduciary having control of the payment to a nonresident entity beneficiary subject 

to tax at the beneficiary level under G.L. c. 62, §§ 5A and 10(h), must make estimated tax payments 

on behalf of the nonresident entity beneficiary on Form 2-ES, Massachusetts Estimated Income Tax 

for Filers of Forms 2, 3M, and M-990T-62. In reporting the estimated tax payments made on behalf 

of the nonresident entity beneficiary on Schedule 2K-1, the amount withheld should be entered on 

line 22. Such amount cannot be used to reduce the amount of income taxable to the entity 

beneficiary; rather, it is allowed as a credit on its return of income against the amount of income tax 

computed thereon and should be reported by the entity beneficiary on the “Massachusetts estimated 

tax payments” line of Form 2, Form 3M, Form M-990T-62or other form used as an income tax return 

by the beneficiary. For more information, see DOR Directive 07-4.  

Line 23. Refundable Film Credit  
The refundable film credit may be passed through to a beneficiary on line 23 of Schedule 2K-1 only 

if not claimed at the estate or trust level on line 59 of Form 2. These alternatives are mutually 

exclusive. For more information, see the instructions for Form 2, line 59. If the credit is passed 

through to a beneficiary on line 23 be sure to enclose Schedule RFC. Failure to enclose Schedule 

RFC will result in the credit being disallowed on the beneficiary‟s tax return and an adjustment of the 

beneficiary‟s reported tax.  

Line 24. Refundable Dairy Credit  

The refundable dairy credit may be passed through to a beneficiary on line 24 of Schedule 2K-1 only 

if not claimed at the estate or trust level on line 60 of Form 2. These alternatives are mutually 

exclusive. For more information, see the instructions for Form 2, line 60. If the credit is passed 

through to a beneficiary on line 24 be sure to enter the Department of Agricultural Resources-issued 

certificate number in the space provided on line 24.  

Line 25. Refundable Conservation Land Tax Credit  

The refundable conservation land tax credit may be passed through to a beneficiary on line 25 of 

Schedule 2K-1 only if not claimed at the estate or trust level on line 61 of Form 2. These alternatives 

are mutually exclusive. For more information, see the instructions  



for Form 2, line 61. If the credit is passed through to a beneficiary on line 25 be sure to enter the 

DOR -issued certificate number in the space provided on line 25.  

Line26. Other Payments  

Enter here Massachusetts income taxes withheld under the employer identification number of the 

estate or trust on Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-G, and 1099-R, but only if not claimed at the estate or 

trust level on line 54 of Form 2. For more information, see the instructions for Form 2, line 54.  
340158/PLS 


