Form M-2210 199
Underpayment of Massachusetts Dot
Estimated Income Tax Revenue

Enclose this form with your income tax return. Please print in ink or type.

Name(s) as shown on page 1 of return Social Security or U.S. Tax Identification number

Exceptions to the Underpayment Penalty
You may qualify for an exception to the underpayment penalty if:

[J Your 1999 income tax due after credits and withholding $200 or less.

[J You are a qualified farmer or fisherman filing and paying your full amount due on or before March 1, 2000.

[J You were a resident of Massachusetts for 12 months and not liable for taxes during 1998.

[J Your estimated payments and withholding equal or exceed your 1998 tax (where taxable year was 12 months and a return was filed).

Part 1. Required Annual Payment

1. 1999 tax (from Form 1, line 24; Form 1-NR/PY, line 28; Form 2, line 41; Form 3F, line 23; or Form 3M, line 8) ...........

2. Total credits (from Form 1, lines 27, 34 and 36; Form 1-NR/PY, lines 32, 39 and 41; Form 2, lines 42 and 48;
Form 3F, lines 24-27 and 32; or Form 3M, [IN@ 12) . . .. ... ottt

3. Balance. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Not less than “0” . . . . ... ... e e e e

4. Enter 80% of line 3 or 66%3% of line 3 if you are a qualified farmer or fisherman . .......... ... ... ... ... .. ... ..

5. Enter 1998 tax liability after credits (from 1998 return) (S€€ iNSrUCIONS) . . . . ..ottt e e

6. Enterthe smaller of INe 4 Or iNe 5 . . .. .. . e e e e e e e e e e e

Part 2. Figuring Your Underpayment

Installment due dates

a. April 15, 1999 b. June 15, 1999 c. Sept. 15, 1999 d. Jan. 18, 2000

7. Divide the amount in line 6 by the number of
installments required for the year. Enter the
result in the appropriate columns . ............

8. Estimated taxes paid and taxes withheld for
eachinstallment...........................

9. Overpayment of previous installment ... .......

10. Total. Addline8andline9 ..................

11. Overpayment. Subtract line 7 from line 10. . . . ..

12. Underpayment. Subtract line 10 from line 7. . . . .

Part 3. Figuring Your Underpayment Penalty

13. Enter the date you paid the amount in line 12
or the 15th day of the 4th month after the close
of the taxable year, whichever is earlier .. ......

14. Number of days from the due date of installment
to the date showninline13..................

15. Underpayment in line 12 x (number of days
inline14+365)%x9% .............covunn..

16. Penalty. Add all amounts shown in line 15. Enter this amount on line 41 of Form 1; line 46 of Form 1-NR/PY; line 54 of
Form 2; line 37 of Form 3F; or line 18 of FOrm BM. . . . ... o e




Form M-2210 Instructions

General Information

Who Should Use This Form. If you are an individual, or a
taxpayer taxed as an individual, you should use Form M-2210 to
determine if your 1999 estimated and/or withholding tax pay-
ments were sufficient. If they were not, an underpayment penalty
will be imposed, unless you qualify for one of the exceptions or
waivers explained below.

Filing Estimated Tax Vouchers. You are required to file
estimated tax vouchers if you reasonably expect to pay more
than $200 in Massachusetts income tax on income which is not
covered by withholding. For further information regarding estimated
taxes, see the instructions for Form 1-ES Payment Vouchers or
the publication Should You Be Paying Estimated Taxes?

Exceptions Which Avoid the Penalty. No underpayment
penalty will be imposed if:

1. Your 1999 tax due after credits and withholding is $200 or less.

2. You were a qualified farmer or fisherman who filed and paid
in full with your return by March 1, 2000. To qualify, your gross
income from farming or fishing must be at least %/ of the an-
nual gross income shown on your 1998 or 1999 return.

3. You were a resident of Massachusetts for the full 12 months
of the previous taxable year and were not liable for taxes.

4. Your 1999 estimated payments and withholding (line 8) made
on or before each installment due date in the taxable year
equal or exceed the tax shown on your 1998 return divided
among the four installment due dates provided that such
return was for a full 12-month period.

If you qualify for an exception, do not complete lines 13 through
16. Instead, check the appropriate box on the front of this form
and fill in the “EX” oval on the back of Form 1 or Form 1-NR/PY.
Enclose this form with your return. If you qualify for the first ex-
ception (your 1999 tax due after credits and withholding is $200
or less) you do not need to complete this form.

Waiver of Underpayment Penalty. A waiver of underpay-
ment penalty for one or more installments may be granted if:

1. Your underpayment was by reason of casualty, disaster or un-
usual circumstance; or

2. You retired in 1998 or 1999 after reaching age 62, or you be-
came disabled and your underpayment was due to reasonable
cause and not willful neglect.

If you qualify for the waiver, complete lines 7 through 12 for the
installment(s) for which you are claiming a waiver, and write
“WAIVER” in the appropriate box(es) in line 13. Fill in the “EX”
oval on the back of Form 1 or Form 1-NR/PY. Enclose this form
and an explanation of your reasons for claiming the waiver with
your return.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Figuring Your Underpayment and Penalty. To determine
the underpayment amount, complete lines 1 through 12, in order
of installment due dates, taking care to complete all four columns
for lines 7 through 12.

Line 5
« If you filed a return for 1998 and it was for a full 12 months,
enter your 1998 tax liability after credits.

« If you were a resident of Massachusetts for 12 months in 1998
and you were not liable for taxes, enter “0.”

« If you did not file a return for 1998, or if your 1998 tax year was
less than 12 months, do not complete line 5. Instead, enter the
amount from line 4 in line 6.

Line 8
If more than one payment is made for a given installment, attach
a separate penalty computation for each payment.

If you had any taxes withheld during the year, you may apply an
equal part of those taxes as payment on each required install-
ment(s). If you can establish the actual dates and amounts of
your withholding, you may consider those amounts as payments
on the dates they were actually withheld.

Line 11

If line 11 shows an overpayment, that overpayment may be used
as payment of any existing underpayment amount. Overpayments
used as payments of prior underpayment amounts do not
decrease the actual underpayment amount but serve to reduce
instead the period of underpayment subject to penalty. If there
are no existing underpayment amounts, the overpayment is
applied as a credit against the next installment.

Line 12

If line 12 shows an underpayment, see the General Information
section to determine whether you qualify for an exception to, or
waiver of, the underpayment penalty. If you do not qualify, con-
tinue on through line 16 to determine your underpayment penalty.

Line 14

If an underpayment remains unpaid for an entire rate period, use
the chart below to determine the number of days to enter in each
column. The chart is organized in the same format as Form M-2210.

Chart of total days per rate period
Column (€) (b) (c) (d)
Line 14 365 304 212 90

Example: If an underpayment was shown in line 12, columns
(@), (b), (c) and (d) and the date shown in line 13, columns (a),
(b), (c) and (d) was April 15, 2000, you should enter 365 in line
14, column (a), 304 in line 14, column (b), 212 in line 14, column
(c), and 90 in line 14, column (d).

Annualized Income Installment Method. If you do not
receive taxable income evenly throughout the year, you may
wish to annualize your income to adjust your required installment
amount(s). Enter any adjusted installment amount in the appro-
priate column in line 7 and calculate any underpayment penalty
from those figures. Write “ANNUALIZED” under the column in
line 16. For more information on using the Annualized Income
Installment method, please refer to the Massachusetts Depart-
ment of Revenue’s Annualized Income Installment Worksheet,
Form M-2210A. Form M-2210A may be obtained at any DOR
location or by calling (617) 887-MDOR.

Fiscal Year Taxpayers. If you file on a fiscal year basis and
are subject to an underpayment penalty, attach a separate state-
ment to calculate the penalty due based on the interest rate(s) in
effect for the period(s) of the underpayment(s).




