Authorized Programs Under ESSA

ESSA contains nine titles, the majority of which provide funding to states and school districts. In return for funding, states and school districts must comply with the various requirements of the law.

Title IImproving the academic achievement of the disadvantaged
Title I, Part AImproving basic programs operated by local education agencies
Title I, Part BState assessment grants
Title I, Part CEducation of migratory children
Title I, Part DPrograms for neglected, delinquent, or at-risk children & youth
Title I, Part EFlexibility for equitable per-pupil funding
Title I, Part FGeneral provisions
Title IIPreparing, training & recruiting high-quality teachers, principals, or other school leaders
Title II, Part ASupporting effective instruction
Title II, Part BNational activities
Title IIILanguage instruction for English learners & immigrant students
Title IV21st century schools
Title IV, Part AStudent support & academic enrichment grants
Title IV, Part B21st century community learning centers
Title IV, Part CExpanding opportunity through quality charter schools
Title IV, Part DMagnet schools assistance
Title IV, Part EFamily engagement in education programs
Title IV, Part FNational activities
Title VFlexibility & accountability
Title VIIndian, Native Hawaiian, & Alaska Native education
Title VIIImpact Aid
Title VIIIGeneral provisions
Title IXEducation for the homeless & other laws
Title IX, Part AHomeless children & youths
Title IX, Part BMiscellaneous; other laws

Anticipated Funding Levels

Early estimates for Massachusetts project some gains and some losses for individual Titles and programs under ESSA in school year 2017-18 as compared to funding for school year 2016-17 under NCLB, and relatively flat funding across all programs combined. Federal estimates are available here: Fiscal Years 2015-2017 State Tables for the U.S. Department of Education.