DCR IS EXTEDNING THE DEADLINE FOR PROPOSALS FOR THE REHABILITATION, MANAGEMENT AND MAINTENANCE OF THE 1847 Gatekeeper’s House and Barn, Lowell Heritage State Park, Lowell, MA
Request for Proposals Available
Lowell Gatekeeper’s House
Lowell Heritage State Park, Lowell, MA
The Department of Conservation and Recreation’s (DCR) Historic Curatorship Program is seeking proposals from parties interested in the opportunity to rehabilitate, reuse and maintain the 1847 Gatekeeper’s House.
Curators are selected through an open and competitive process and proposed reuses must be compatible with the historic and natural character of Lowell Heritage State Park and the surrounding community. Proposals are evaluated according to the experience of the applicant, the quality of the reuse plan, proof of sufficient resources to undertake the project, and level of public benefit beyond providing biannual public access. Proposals will be accepted for for-profit or non-profit reuses, or a combination of both.
Responses to the RFP are due on Friday, April 4, 2014 by 3 p.m.
Interior access by appointment only contact HCP.Requests@state.ma.us or call 617-626-1361.
The Gatekeeper’s House & Barn were built in 1847 as part of the industrialization of Lowell along the Merrimack. The property was home of the gatekeeper of the Northern Canal Gatehouse and owned by Lowell Locks and Dams for since its construction until it came under the ownership of DCR in 1977. In 2001 DCR selected a family to rehabilitate, occupy and maintain the property through the Historic Curatorship Program. The Curators used the property as a single family residence and left in 2011 at the end of the term.
To request hard copies of the documents:
or Write: Historic Curatorship Program
Department of Conservation and Recreation
7th floor, 251 Causeway St., Boston, MA 02114.