Licenses to hunt and fish in fresh water (inland waters) are required of anyone 15 years and over. Trapping licenses are required for anyone 12 years old and over.
Anyone under 15 who wants to fish in freshwater may do so, no license is required; however, the young angler must follow all other freshwater fishing laws.
The minimum age for hunting in Massachusetts is 12. 12-14 year olds may hunt only when accompanied by a licensed hunter 18 years or older, provided that a single bag limit is shared and a single firearm/bow is shared between the two people. Only one minor per adult is permitted. All other hunting laws and regulations must be followed. No license is required until age 15.
License Types and Fees
Click on the link for information on the different types of hunting, freshwater fishing, sporting and trapping licenses and the costs associated with purchase.
Blind, Developmentally Disabled, or Paraplegic Application Form file size 1MB
In order to qualify for these free licenses (and obtain them online) you must first submit an application AND a letter from your physician indicating your eligibility for specific licenses to MassWildlife's Boston office. This form is only for freshwater fishing, hunting, and sporting licenses. You must be 15 years of age or older and be a resident citizen of the United States and Massachusetts. Qualifying criteria are spelled out on the form. Print the application, fill it out, and send it AND the physician's letter to MassWildlife's Boston office. Once your application has been approved, your information will be entered into the MassFishHunt licensing system and your license will be mailed to you. This is a one-time application process for anyone eligible for the free license. Once approved, you will be able to obtain and print your license online in future years on MassFishHunt without a new application.
Crossbow Permit Application
Only hunters with a permanent physical disability that prevents them from using conventional archery equipment are eligible for this permit. A physician's sign-off is also required. Successful applicants will not receive a hard copy permit. You will not receive notification through the mail of your application status. If approved, when logged into the MassFishHunt system, you will see text reading “Disabilities Crossbow” in your Customer Profile Summary and on your license. Once in the MassFishHunt system, go to “Inventory/Reprint License” to reprint your license.