The Division of Fisheries and Wildlife maintains a list of waters that are considered Coldwater Fishery Resources (CFR). Identification of CFRs is based on fish samples collected annually by staff biologists and technicians. The listed CFRs are organized geographically by watershed and the information is updated annually.

What is a CFR?

A CFR denotes a waterbody that contains Coldwater Fish that reproduced in that waterbody or a tributary thereto and use such waters to meet one or more of their life history requirements. Coldwater fish include:

  1. Longnose Sucker (Catostomus catostomus);
  2. Slimy sculpin (Cottus cognatus);
  3. Lake chub (Couesius plumbeus);
  4. American Brook Lamprey (Lethenteron appendix);
  5. Burbot (Lota lota);
  6. Rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss);
  7. Rainbow Smelt (Osmerus mordax);
  8. Landlocked salmon (Salmo salar);
  9. Brown Trout (Salmo trutta);
  10. Brook Trout (Salvelinus fontinalis);
  11. Lake Trout (Salvelinus namaycush).

CFRs are particularly sensitive resources. Changes in land and water use can reduce the ability of these waters to support trout and other coldwater species. Conservation commissions, planning commissions, land trusts, consultants, and town open space committees may find this information useful for conservation planning.
Note: This is not a complete list of CFRs; the Commonwealth has more than 11,000 miles of streams and rivers, not all of which have been sampled. This list is updated annually to reflect the most current fisheries surveys.  For any decisions involving water quality in CFRs or projects (i.e., environmental review, etc.) affecting CFRs, please contact Richard Hartley at