Map of South Shore Region

The South Shore region of the Massachusetts Bays Program includes the towns of Cohasset, Scituate, Norwell, Hanover, Marshfield, Pembroke, Duxbury, Kingston, and Plymouth. The Mass Bays South Shore Region lies mostly within the South Coastal watershed and is the only region that contributes to both Massachusetts Bay and Cape Cod Bay. The primary objectives of concern for the South Shore are as follows:

  • Expand temporal and spatial extent of open shellfish beds
  • Improve continuity and habitat quality in freshwater and estuarine systems
  • Restore and protect diadromous fish habitat to help rebuild threatened fish populations
  • Manage impacts of invasive species to intertidal habitats
  • Improve local understanding and acceptance of the potential impacts of climate change and sea level rise on ecosystems

The Massachusetts Bays Program is hosted on the South Shore by the North and South Rivers Watershed Association (NSRWA) in Norwell, MA. The mission of the NSRWA is to preserve, restore, maintain and conserve in their natural state, the waters and related natural resources within the watershed.   The NSRWA was founded in 1970 by a handful of river-lovers who were concerned about the declining environmental quality of the watershed, and has approximately 1,100 members today. The NSRWA has been the South Shore regional host since 2001.

Regional Partners:

Sara Grady, Watershed Ecologist
Sara Grady, Watershed Ecologist
North and South Rivers Watershed Association
P.O. Box 43
Norwell, MA 02061
Phone: 781-659-8168