Guidelines for Making a Public Record Request

MassDEP encourages you to use the contacts listed below to make a public record request (PRR) of the Department. This helps to ensure the most expeditious and accurate response to your request. While requests for public records may be made orally in person to the Primary Records Access Officer (RAO), or Secondary RAOs, such requests may not be the subject of an appeal. Telephone requests may be accepted at the discretion of the RAOs.  You may also use the Request a New Record form to make a request to the Primary Records Access Officer if you are unsure how to direct your request.

MassDEP has designated the following employee as the Primary Records Access Officer (RAO) who will assist requesters in fulfilling their requests.

Chris Voss, Primary RAO
Title:  Director of Administrative Services
Business address: MassDEP, 1 Winter Street, Boston, MA 02108
Business Telephone Number: 617-292-5524
Business email: Chris.Voss@state.ma.us
PRR email: DEP.PublicRecords@state.ma.us

Only questions pertaining to the PRR process or a PRR status should be sent to the business email account of the Primary RAO.

MassDEP Records Response Coordinators

MassDEP has designated Records Response Coordinators (RRCs) who serve as Secondary Records Access Officers for each of its bureaus, offices and regions.  If you know the program or region for the record you seek, you are encouraged to directly contact the following RRCs for fastest response to your request:

Boston Headquarters

Bureau of Air and Waste
Walter Hope
Walter.Hope@state.ma.us
617-292-5982

Bureau of Waste Site Clean Up
Margaret Shaw
Margaret.Shaw@state.ma.us
617-556-1092

Bureau of Water Resources
Julianne Ture
Julianne.Ture@state.ma.us
617.556.1172

Bureau of Administrative Services
Chris Voss
Chris.Voss@state.ma.us
617-292-5524

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
Brian Brodeur
Brian.Brodeur@state.ma.us
617-574-6802

Boston Headquarters

Office of the Commissioner
Jakarta Childers
Jakarta.Childers@state.ma.us
617-292-5891

Office of Enforcement
David Shakespeare
David.Shakespeare@state.ma.us
617-654-6543

Office of General Counsel
Jakarta Childers
Jakarta.Childers@state.ma.us
617-292-5891

Press
Ed Coletta
Edmund.Coletta@state.ma.us
617.292.5737

Strike Force
Dana Muldoon
Dana.Muldoon@state.ma.us
617-292-5764

Regions & Laboratory

Central Regional Office
8 New Bond Street
Worcester, Massachusetts 01606
Joanne Kasper-Dunne
Joanne.Kasper-Dunne@state.ma.us
508-767-2716

Northeast Regional Office
205B Lowell Street
Wilmington, Massachusetts 01887
Marc LaPlante
Marc.LaPlante@state.ma.us
978-694-3246

Southeast Regional Office
20 Riverside Drive
Lakeville, MA 02347
Irene Lavoie
Irene.Lavoie@state.ma.us
508-946-2718

Western Regional Office
436 Dwight Street
Springfield, MA 01103
Catherine Skiba
Catherine.Skiba@state.ma.us
413-755-2119

William X. Wall Experiment Station
37 Shattuck Street
Lawrence, MA 01843
Deanne Daneau
Deanne.Daneau@state.ma.us
978-242-1315

Contacting an Agency

To help avoid delay in responses, please consider whether your public record request would more appropriately be directed to a different agency.

Each secretariat and agency has a designated RAO who will receive and respond to public records requests.  

Categories of Public Records

Below is a list of links to public records maintained by MassDEP. These records may be subject to redaction if they contain information that may not be disclosed by law, is exempt under the public records law or is subject to other legally applicable privileges.