Frequently Requested Numbers

Watershed Management Fax - 617-292-5696

Municipal Services/SRF Fax - 617-292-5850

Innovative/Alternative Technology - 617-654-6514

Waterways/Chapter 91 Licensing -617-292-5615

Waterways/Chapter 91 Research - 617-292-5929

Wetlands Mapping - 617-292-5907

 

Enforcement

BRP Enforcement Coordinator
Susan.Figelman@state.ma.us - 617-556-1032

 

Drinking Water

Email Contact: Program.Director-DWP@state.ma.us

Main Number - 617-292-5770

Emergency Response (24-hour, toll-free): 1-888-304-1133

See also Drinking Water Program Contacts by Topic  doc format of Drinking Water Program Contacts by Topic
 

Consumer Confidence Reports:

Boston - Marie Tennant - 617-292-5885
WERO - Rick Larson - 413-755-2207
CERO - Liz Kotowski - 508-767-2779
NERO - Hilary Jean - 978-694-3229
SERO - Courtland Ridings - 508-946-2722

Cross Connection Control - 617-556-1085

Groundwater Supply Protection - 617-556-1070

Ground Water Rule:
Boston - Jessica Sokolow - 617-654-6547
WERO - Jim Bumgardner - 413-755-2270
CERO - Kelly Momberger - 508-849-4023
NERO - Jim Persky - 978-694-3227
SERO - Scott Sayers - 508-946-2780

Operator Certification - 617-556-1166

Private Wells Arsenic & Uranium Information:

Steve Hallem - 617-292-5681
Suzanne Robert - 617-292-5620

Public Notification & Emergency (Boston program lead) - 617-292-5885

Public Notification Web Page

Safe Drinking Water Act Assessment Fees - 617-292-5727

Small System Assistance, Viability - 508-767-2735

Source Water Assessment Program - 617-292-5727

Surface Water Supply Protection - 617-292-5727

Technical Services - 617-292-5948

Underground Injection Control - 617-292-5859

Water Quality Assurance - 617-292-5857

Wellhead Protection - 617-556-1070

Well Drillers - 617-292-5681

Drinking Water Regional Contacts:

Northeast
Thomas.Mahin@state.ma.us - 978-694-3226
James.Persky@state.ma.us - 978-694-3227
Hilary.Jean@state.ma.us - 978-694-3229

Southeast - 508-946-2760
Richard.Rondeau@state.ma.us - 508-946-2816
Charles.Shurtleff@state.ma.us - 508-946-2879

Central
Robert.Bostwick@state.ma.us - 508-849-4036
Paula.Caron@state.ma.us - 508-767-2719
Andrea.Lemerise@state.ma.us - 508-767-2723
Purnachander.Rao@state.ma.us - 508-767-2784

Western
Deirdre.Doherty@state.ma.us - 413-755-2148
Douglas.Paine@state.ma.us - 413-755-2281

Public Water Supply Contacts pdf format of MA Public Water Supplier contacts sorted by Town
xls format of                             MA Public Water Supplier contacts sorted by Town

 

Groundwater

Boston
Marybeth.Chubb@state.ma.us - 617-556-1029

Northeast
Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us - 978-694-3236

Southeast
Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us - 508-946-2757

Central
David.Boyer@state.ma.us - 508-767-2823

Western
Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us - 413-755-2218

 

Industrial Wastewater

Pretreatment and MWRA Sewer Discharges
Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us - 978-694-3236

Holding Tanks
Olusegun.Onatunde@state.ma.us - 617-556-1168

Surface Water 
Kenneth.Major@state.ma.us - 617-556-1147

Groundwater
Marybeth.Chubb@state.ma.us - 617-556-1029

Regional Contacts:

Northeast
Muhammad.Ahsan@state.ma.us - 978-694-3280

Central
Giles Steele-Perkins@state.ma.us - 508-767-2767

Southeast
Robert.Greene@state.ma.us - 508-946-2826

Western
Timothy.McElroy@state.ma.us - 413-755-2271

 

Massachusetts Estuaries Project

DEP Contact
Brian.Dudley@state.ma.us - 508-946-2753

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth, School of Marine Science & Technology (SMAST)
Brian Howes - 508-326-0912

Cape Cod Commission
Ed Eichner - 508-362-3828
Tom Cambareri - 508-362-3828

 

Municipal Services - State Revolving Funds

Director's Office - 617-292-5813

Division Director:
Steven.McCurdy@state.ma.us - 617-292-5779

SRF, Northeast & Western Regions:
Donald.St.Marie@state.ma.us - 617-292-5709

SRF, Southeast & Western Regions:
Ashraf.Gabour@state.ma.us - 617-556-1076

Water Resource Grants:
Jane.Peirce@state.ma.us - 508-767-2792

Clean Water Act S.104(b)(3) and s.604a(b):
Gary.Gonyea@state.ma.us - 617-556-1152

Clean Water Act S.319(h):
Jane.Peirce@state.ma.us - 508-767-2792

 

Residuals

Statewide Coordinator
David.Ferris@state.ma.us - 617-654-6514

Northeast
Gregory.Tomaszewski@state.ma.us - 978-694-3242

Southeast
Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us - 508-946-2757

Central
Cheryl.Poirier@state.ma.us - 508-767-2837

Western
Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us - 413-755-2218

 

Sewers

Combined Sewer Overflows

Boston & Northeast Region Contact
Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us - 978-694-3236

Southeast Region
David.Burns@state.ma.us - 508-946-2738

Central Region
Robert.Kimball@state.ma.us - 508-767-2722

Western Region
Kurt.Boisjolie@state.ma.us - 413-755-2284

Sanitary Sewers

Northeast Region
Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us - 978-694-3236

Southeast Region
Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us - 508-946-2757

Central Region
Robert.Kimball@state.ma.us - 508-767-2722

Western Region
Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us - 413-755-2218

 

Stormwater

Phase II Coordinator

Frederick.Civian@state.ma.us - 617-292-5821

Northeast Region
Thomas.Maguire@state.ma.us - 617-292-5602

Southeast Region
David.Burns@state.ma.us - 508-946-2738

Western Region
Robert.J.McCollum@state.ma.us - 413-755-2138

Stormwater - EPA Contacts:

Regional Coordinator & MS4
Thelma Murphy - 617-918-1615

EPA Multi-Sector General Permit (MSGP)
David J. Gray - 617-918-1577

Construction Activities
Susanne Warner - 617-918-1383

 

Surface Water Permitting (NPDES)

Individual NPDES permits:

Kenneth.Major@state.ma.us - 617-556-1147

General NPDES permits
Robert.Kubit@state.ma.us - 508-767-2854

NPDES stormwater permits (not permits required under the Wetlands Protection Act)
Frederick.Civian@state.ma.us - 617-292-5821

Regional Contacts:

Northeast
Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us - 978-694-3236

Southeast
Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us - 508-946-2757

Central
David.Boyer@state.ma.us - 508-767-2823

Western
Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us - 413-755-2218

EPA NPDES Contacts:

Massachusetts Coordinator; individual municipal NPDES permits
Matt Hoagland - 617-918-1361

Massachusetts Coordinator; individual industrial NPDES permits
Damien Houlihan - 617-918-1586

Administrative Issues
Olga Vergara - 617-918-1519

Discharge Monitoring Reports
Diane Boisclair - 617-918-1762

 

Title 5/Septic Systems

Title 5 Hotline: Sharon Jones - 617-292-5673

Technical questions relating to Title 5 should be addressed to your local Board of Health.

Regional Contacts for Community and Homeowner Financing:

Metro/Northeast: Nihar.Mohanty@state.ma.us - 978-694-3237
Southeast: Pamela.Truesdale@state.ma.us - 508-946-2881
Central: Stella.Tamul@state.ma.us -508-767-2763
Western: Deirdre.Doherty@state.ma.us - 413-755-2148

Soil Evaluators and Septic (On-site) System Inspectors:

Classes & Exams - New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission
978-323-7929

Corrections to DEP Lists and Questions about DEP Certification
Linda.Barba@state.ma.us - 617-292-5673

Innovative and Alternative (I/A) Technology:

Dana.Hill@state.ma.us - 617-292-5867

 

Wastewater - Reclaimed Water

David.Ferris@state.ma.us - 617-654-6514

 

Wastewater Treatment Operators

Director
Thomas.Bienkiewicz@state.ma.us - 508-767-2781

Regional Contacts:

Northeast
Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us - 978-694-3236

Southeast
Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us - 508-946-2757

Central
David.Boyer@state.ma.us - 508-767-2823

Western
Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us - 413-755-2218

New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission
978-323-7929

NEIWPCC Database of Wastewater Treatment Operators

 

Water Management Act

Section Chief

Duane.Levangie@state.ma.us - 617-292-5706

Regional Contacts:

Northeast:
Duane.Levangie@state.ma.us - 617-292-5706

Southeast:
Duane.Levangie@state.ma.us - 617-292-5706
Cranberry issues:
James.M.Mclaughlin@state.ma.us - 508-946-2805

Central:
Barbara.Kickham@state.ma.us - 508-767-2724

Western:
James.Bumgardner@state.ma.us - 413-755-2270

 

Watershed Management

Main Number - 617-292-5673

Director - 617-292-5757

Fax - 617-292-5696

Watershed Planning - 508-792-7470

Watershed Planning Fax - 508-791-4131

Environmental Monitoring - 508-767-2873

Water Quality Assessment - 508-767-2877

Nonpoint Source Pollution - 508-767-2798

Cleanup Plans (TMDLs) - 508-767-2876

 

Waterways/Chapter 91

Main Number - 617-292-5918

Email Contact: dep.waterways@state.ma.us

Program Chief:

Ben.Lynch@state.ma.us - 617-292-5615

Regional Contacts:

Western Region
David.Cameron@state.ma.us - 413-755-2138

Central Region
Michael.Girvan@state.ma.us - 617-556-1134

Southeast Region
David.Hill@state.ma.us - 508-946-2730

Northeast Region
David.Slagle@state.ma.us - 617-654-6520

Project-Specific Contacts

Northeast Region
617-654-6881

Southeast Region
508-946-2800

Central Region
Michael.Girvan@state.ma.us - 617-556-1134

Western Region
413-784-1100

 

Wetlands

Program Chief

Michael.Stroman@state.ma.us - 617-292-5526

Regional Section Chiefs

Northeast Region
Rachel.Freed@state.ma.us - 978-694-3258

Central Region
Marielle.Stone@state.ma.us - 508-767-2827

Southeast Region
Elizabeth.Kouloheras@state.ma.us - 508-946-2810

Western Region
David.Cameron@state.ma.us - 413-755-2138

General Wetlands Questions

Boston
Nancy.Lin@state.ma.us - 617-556-1109

Central Regional Circuit Rider
Judith.Schmitz@state.ma.us - 508-767-2722

Northeast Regional Office
978-694-3405

Southeast Regional Circuit Rider
christine.odiaga@state.ma.us - 508-946-2836

Western Region Circuit Rider
Mark.Stinson@state.ma.us - 413-755-2257

 

Other State and Federal Contacts

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Certified Operators - 617-727-3939

Massachusetts Plumbing Board - 617-727-9952

Northeast Rural Water Association - 800-556-3792

Rural Community Assistance Program - 508-297-5300x204; 800-488-1969 x232

National Drinking Water Clearinghouse - 800-624-8301

AWWA Small System Operational Support - 800-366-0107

Massachusetts Department of Public Health:

Bottled Water - 617-983-6747

Waterborne Diseases - 617-983-6800

Fluoride - 617-624-5941

MWRA Drinking Water Education - 617-242-7110

EPA New England:

Within NE - 888-372-7341

Outside NE - 617-918-1111