Things You Need to Know
If you operate a small business that generates hazardous waste or waste oil, here are some important things you need to know.
- Before generating, accumulating or shipping any hazardous waste and /or waste oil, you must notify MassDEP of your hazardous waste activities and file a Massachusetts VSQG/SQG/LQG Notification of Hazardous Waste Activity Form with MassDEP and comply with all requirements that apply to your generator status. This form may also be used to notify MassDEP that you are relocating, discontinuing your hazardous waste activities or reporting a change in ownership.
- Generating and accumulating hazardous waste or waste oil without a valid ID carries fines of up to $1,000 per day. If you do not use a valid ID on a manifest, you will be making a false statement, which can result in additional fines of up to $1,000 per day. A "temporary" ID is not acceptable.
- If you generate or accumulate hazardous waste without an ID, you may be operating an unlicensed treatment, storage, or disposal facility - a violation that carries fines of up to $25,000 per day.
- Your hazardous waste transporter has the authority to refuse your shipments if you do not have your own valid ID, and might report you to MassDEP.
- Your insurance company may ask you to prove that you have a valid ID before issuing or renewing your property and/or casualty policy.
- Always use hazardous waste manifests and include your valid ID.
How to Comply With State Rules
- Download and fill out a Massachusetts VSQG/SQG/LQG Notification of Hazardous Waste Activity Form .
- Mail a completed form to the Bureau of Air & Waste in the appropriate MassDEP Regional Office .
- Always use hazardous waste manifests and include your valid ID
Hazardous Waste Management Compliance Tips
To avoid MassDEP citations and penalties:
- Keep Copy 3 of every hazardous waste manifest for at least three years.
- Be sure that your containers and tanks are: closed when you are not adding waste to them, labeled with the required information, and stored on or above a crack-free surface in a separate, designated indoor storage area marked "HAZARDOUS WASTE" or "WASTE OIL."
- Take steps to prevent spills onto the ground, or into drains or catch basins.
- Restrict storage area access to authorized staff only.
For more compliance information see the Small Quantity Generator (SQG) of Hazardous Waste Guidance .