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Atlantic Cod 42 inches
Bluefish 35 inches
False Albacore 26 inches
Fluke 24 inches
Striped Bass 45 inches
Winter Flounder 19 inches

Eligible species and minimum 
qualifying lengths for 

Catch and Release awards

Total length

Curved fork length

Massachusetts
Saltwater

Fishing Derby

Important 
contact information

Derby Coordinator: John Boardman
john.boardman@state.ma.us

(508) 990-2860 ext. 120

Division of Marine Fisheries Offices
Headquarters

251 Causeway Street, Suite 400
Boston, MA 02144

(617) 626-1520
Fax: (617) 626-1509

Field Stations

Environmental Law Enforcement
Toll-free number: 1-800-632-8072

For more information, visit
http://www.mass.gov/dmf/saltwaterderby

Annisquam River 
Marine Station

30 Emerson Avenue
Gloucester, MA 01930

(978) 282-0308

Matt Ayer: North Shore 
and Metropolitan Boston 

Regional Biologist

South Shore 
Marine Station

1213 Purchase Street
New Bedford, MA 02740

(508) 990-2860

John Boardman: South 
Shore Regional Biologst 

Dave Martins: Cape Cod 
and Islands Regional 

Biologist

How to measure fish
Most fish must have the total length measured. This is 
from the tip of a closed jaw straight to the farthest point 
of the tail. The tail may be squeezed for easier measuring.

False albacore must have a curved fork length measured 
instead. These are measured from the tip of a closed jaw 
to the fork in the tail.



Albacore 30 pounds
Atlantic Bonito 5 pounds
Atlantic Cod 30 pounds
Atlantic Halibut 50 pounds
Atlantic Mackerel 2 pounds
Bigeye Tuna 100 pounds
Black Sea Bass 4 pounds
Blue Shark 300 pounds
Bluefin Tuna 500 pounds
Bluefish 12 pounds
Broadbill Swordfish 150 pounds
Common Thresher Shark 200 pounds
Cusk 20 pounds
Dolphin (Mahi Mahi) 15 pounds
False Albacore 10 pounds
Fluke (Summer Flounder) 7 pounds
Haddock 8 pounds
King Mackerel 6 pounds
Pollock 12 pounds
Porbeagle Shark 150 pounds
Scup 2 pounds
Shortfin Mako Shark 150 pounds
Spanish Mackerel 4 pounds
Striped Bass 35 pounds
Tautog 8 pounds
Wahoo 30 pounds
Weakfish 8 pounds
Winter Flounder 3 pounds
Yellowfin Tuna 50 pounds

Derby Rules
The Massachusetts Saltwater Fishing Derby consists of 
two parts: the Weigh-In Derby and the Catch and Release 
Derby. 

Both portions of the Derby run from January 1 through 
November 30 annually.

All saltwater anglers are eligible except:

Captains or mates of for-hire vessels or shore guides 
while under charter;

Those actively engaging in commercial fishing during 
a trip; or

Persons convicted of violating fishery laws or regu-
lations or who have had administrative permit sanc-
tions for violations of fishery laws or regulations 
within 5 years of the Derby year.

Only fish meeting eligible weights or lengths are eligible 
for awards.

All entries must be submitted on an official affidavit*.

Weigh-In affidavits must be filled and submitted at an of-
ficial weigh station. Catch and Release affidavits should be 
submitted directly by the angler.

Mailed entries must be received within 30 days of catch 
and be postmarked no later than December 10.

All fish must be caught on rod and reel or hand line and in 
a sporting manner. Powered reels may not be used.

Fish must be caught in Massachusetts waters or first land-
ed in a Massachusetts port.

Mutilated, cut, scaled, harpooned, speared, shot, or frozen 
fish are not eligible.

Fish may only be weighed in at one station.

Protests of catch must be notarized and submitted in writ-
ing within two weeks of any alleged violation of Derby 
rules.

The Derby coordinator may request additional informa-
tion at any time and for any reason.

Violations of any Derby rules may result in exclusion 
from the Derby.

Decisions made by the Derby coordinator are final.

All state record-qualifying entries must be photographed 
with a side-view of the fish on a clearly discernable mea-
suring device.

Anglers may submit multiple entries, but may earn only 
one citation per species per year. 

One trophy will be awarded for the largest of each spe-
cies per year for both the Weigh-In and Catch and Release 
portions of the Derby.

In the event of a tie for any award, the earliest entry will 
be used as a tiebreaker.

Additional rules for Catch and Release
Fish must be released alive—the use of a gaff or harpoon 
is prohibited.

Fish must be boated and measured for total length (closed 
jaw to tip of the tail; the tail may be squeezed for measure-
ment) except for false albacore, which is measured to the 
fork of the tail.

Lengths should be measured to the nearest half inch.

A photo of the fish must be submitted with the affidavit. 
The photo must be a side-view of the fish on a clearly dis-
cernable measuring device.

Catch and Release of any four eligible species by an an-
gler within the Derby year will quality for a Grand Slam 
Release award.

One Grand Slam Release award will be presented per 
Derby year for the greatest cumulative length.

*Need an affidavit? Print one out here:
 http://www.mass.gov/dmf/derbyaffidavit. 

Eligible species and minimum qualifying 
weights for Weigh-In awards


