To ensure implementation of the recommendations in Getting to Zero, the Zero Net Energy Buildings (ZNEB) Task Force proposed the creation of a state "Office of Building Energy Performance" and a "ZNEB Advisory Board" made up of public, private, and non-profit representatives.

In the summer of 2009, DOER established the Inter-Agency Zero Net Energy Buildings Team to meet the intent of a state office of building energy performance. The Inter-Agency ZNEB Team meets bi-monthly to ensure communication and collaboration on ZNEB issues across state government. It is made up representatives from DOER, Energy and Environmental Affairs (EEA), Board of Buildings Regulations and Standards (BBRS), Division of Capital Asset Management (DCAM), Clean Energy Center (CEC), Mass. School Building Authority (MSBA), and Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD).

In addition, DOER established a Zero Net Energy Buildings Advisory Council, a group of private sector building and energy experts, to work with and advise the ZNEB Inter-Agency Team. The Advisory Council meets three times a year and, from time to time, provides technical assistance to help the Commonwealth achieve its aggressive energy and climate goals.

Members of the ZNEB Advisory Council include:

Francis Boucher, National Grid, Waltham, Mass.

Mike Browne, Advanced Building Analysis, Amesbury, Mass.

Bruce Coldham, Coldham & Hartman Architects, Amherst, Mass.

Penni Connor, NSTAR, Westwood, Mass.

Paul Eldrenkamp, Byggmeister, Inc., Newton, Mass.

Rick Gilles, Barnraisers, Inc., Ayer, Mass.

Jim Hunt, Mayor's Office - City of Boston, Boston, Mass.

Jonathan Kantar, Sage Builders, Newton, Mass.

Betsy Pettit, Building Science Corporation, Somerville, Mass.

Deborah Rivers, Perkins + Will, Boston, Mass.

John Rosenthal, Meredith Management, Co., Boston, Mass.

Chris Schaffner, The Green Engineer, LLP, Concord, Mass.

Carter Scott, Transformations, Inc., Townsend, Mass.

Rhonda Spector, MassDevelopment, Boston, Mass.

Mark Walsh-Cooke, ARUP, Cambridge, Mass.

Ellen Watts, Architerra, Inc., Boston, Mass.

David Weitz, Conservation Services Group, Westborough, Mass.

2011 Meetings: Upcoming meetings will be held on February 24, June 7, and October 5.

2010 Meetings:

  • November 12 ( )
  • May 5 ( )
  • January 27 ( )

This information is provided by the Department of Energy Resources.