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AFFIDAVIT OF SURVIVING SPOUSE OR HEIRS 
 

Name of Surviving Spouse/Heir ____________________________________ 

DOB of Surviving Spouse/Heir ____________________________________ 

SS # of Surviving Spouse/Heir ____________________________________ 

 
REFERENCE: 

  Owner:   ________________________________________________ 

  Registration Number:  ________________________________________________ 

  Title Number:   ________________________________________________ 

  Boat Manufacturer:  ________________________________________________ 

  Boat Year:   ________________________________________________ 

  Hull ID Number:  ________________________________________________ 

I/We certify that the above named decedent (copy of death certificate attached) was the owner of 
the above-described boat registered in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 

 

I/We further certify that the said boat has not been disposed of otherwise by will and that under 
the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, the interest in said boat shall pass to me as 
surviving spouse or heir. 
 

    Date: _______________________Signed under penalties of perjury. 
 

    ____________________________ 
    Signature of Surviving Spouse/Heir 
 

Notary Seal: 
 
 
              (Instructions on back of form) 
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Maintaining the Boat: 
 

 Notarized affidavit of Surviving Spouse 
 Copy of Death Certificate 
 Original title, if boat is 14 feet or longer 
 Required Fees to Register and Title Boat (see fee schedule below) 
 ST-6E Tax form 
 Completed application 

 

New title and registration numbers will be issued. 
 

*NOTE:  In the event the title from the deceased cannot be located the surviving spouse/heir must 
provide a notarized letter stating the original title has been lost. The spouse/heir need not apply for a 
duplicate title. 
 

*NOTE: If the spouse/heir presents a copy of the Probate of Will, the Affidavit of Surviving Spouse 
need not be notarized. 

 
Selling the Boat 

 

 Notarized affidavit of Surviving Spouse 
 Bill of sale or gift letter, written by the spouse/heir 
 Copy of Death certificate 
 Original title, if boat is 14 feet or longer, signed by spouse/heir 

 

*Note: If the spouse/heir presents a copy of the Probate of Will, the Affidavit of Surviving Spouse 
need not be notarized. 

 

*The only time a surviving spouse or heir will be required to obtain a title in their name will be if 
the title from the deceased cannot be located. 

 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 

Boat Registration (Two Years) 
 
Under 16 ft $44    Title     $27.50 
16 to < 26 ft $66    Duplicate Title/Add Lien  $16.50 
26 to < 40 ft  $88 
40 ft plus  $110 

 


