Meg Lusardi, Acting Commissioner

Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources


photo of Meg lusardi - Green Communities Division Director

Meg Lusardi was appointed Acting Commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources in July 2014, having served as the Director for DOER’s Green Communities Division since 2011. The Division serves all cities and towns with guidance, technical expertise, and grants related to all energy matters. Following passage of the Green Communities Act in 2008, Lusardi developed the Green Communities Designation and Grant Program that now boasts 136 municipalities, home to over 50 percent of the Commonwealth’s population, as designated Green Communities. She joined DOER’s Renewable Energy team in 2005 to develop programs and policies to expand renewable energy in Massachusetts.

Lusardi chairs the Massachusetts Energy Efficiency Advisory Council, and represents Massachusetts on the Boards of the Massachusetts Clean Energy Center and the National Association of State Energy Officials, Northeast Region.

Acting Commissioner Lusardi and her team are implementing nation leading energy policies and programs that are delivering economic and environmental benefits for Massachusetts families and businesses. Solar installations surpassed Governor Patrick’s 2017 goal four years early, with solar electric systems installed at homes, businesses, and government buildings in nearly every one of the Commonwealth’s 351 municipalities. The investments and results in energy efficiency have earned Massachusetts the distinction of being the #1 state for energy efficiency for the last three years, according to the American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy.

Lusardi previously served as the Chief of Operations for Project Hope, a non-profit in Dorchester MA, as a Project Manager at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and a Consultant with Booz-Allen & Hamilton.  She earned her Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Notre Dame and lives in Jamaica Plain.


This information is provided by the Department of Energy Resources.