Leading by Example logo

Leading by Example Awards

The LBE Awards recognize outstanding efforts among Commonwealth agencies, public colleges and universities, and municipalities that have implemented policies and programs that have led to significant and measurable environmental and energy benefits. 

The 2014 LBE Awards highlighted a variety of innovative public sector sustainability efforts. Recipients were Bristol Community College, UMass Dartmouth, the Division of Capital Asset Management and Maintenance, the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority, the City of Newburyport, the Town of Dartmouth, two individual awards – the Sustainable UMass Team - Ezra Small, Rachel Dutton, Craig Nicolson, Victoria Rosen, and the Town Administrator of Leverett - Margie McGinnis.


2014 LBE Award Winners  pdf format of 2014 LBE Award Winners
2010 LBE Award Winners  pdf format of 2010 LBE Award Winners
2013 LBE Award Winners  pdf format of  2013 LBE Award Winners 
2009 LBE Award Winners  pdf format of 2009 LBE Award Winners
2012 LBE Award Winners  pdf format of 2012 LBE Award Winners
2008 LBE Award Winners pdf format of lbe_2008awards.pdf
2011 LBE Award Winners pdf format of 2011 LBE Award Winners
2007 LBE Award Winners pdf format of lbe_2007awards.pdf

LBE Awards by Year Table


Eric Friedman, Director
(617) 626-1034

Charles Tuttle, Project Manager
(617) 626-1043

Maria Andrea Hessenius, Green Communities Analyst
(617) 626-7375

Jillian DiMedio, Non-Building Energy Efficiency Program Coordinator
(617) 626-7367

Trey Gowdy, Sustainability Project Coordinator
(617) 626-7328



This information is provided by the Department of Energy Resources, Green Communities Division, Leading by Example Program