• Commission Overview

    The Massachusetts Water Resources Commission (WRC) is chaired by the Secretary of Energy and Environmental Affairs (EEA), Richard K. Sullivan.
  • Interbasin Transfer Act

    The Water Resources Commission (WRC) has responsibility for the review and approval of transfers of water or wastewater between any of the Commonwealth's 28 river basins (including the Massachusetts Coastal Basin) under the Interbasin Transfer Act. For more information click here.
  • Water Laws & Regulations

    Laws and regulations specific to the Water Resource Commission.
  • Water Policies & Guidelines

    Water policies and guidance developed by the Water Resources Commission.
  • Water Resources Commission Members

    The Commission's members include representatives from the EEA and its four environmental departments, the Secretary of Housing and Community Development, and five public members representing a wide range of water users and environmental interests. Public members are appointed by the Governor.
  • MA Water Resources Commission Meetings

    Monthly meetings are typically held in the second floor conference rooms at 100 Cambridge Street, Boston, MA 02114.
  • Cooperative Water Resource Planning Program

    The Commonwealth of Massachusetts has been participating in cooperative water resource planning efforts with the United States Geological Survey (USGS) since 1909.
  • Low Impact Development

    Low Impact Development is an approach to environmentally friendly land use planning that include landscaping and design techniques that attempt to maintain the natural, pre-developed ability of a site to manage rainfall and recharge groundwater.
  • Rainfall Program (DCR)

    Monthly reports of ground water, streamflow, reservoir and rainfall conditions across the State provided by the Department of Conservation and Recreation.