The Joint Commission periodically surveys and accredits DMH psychiatric hospitals in Massachusetts. Patients, family members, staff, and community members may contact a specific facility or The Joint Commission with safety or patient concerns.

Below are The Joint Commission Contacts for each area.

Central-West Area
Susan Sprung, Area Director
(508) 368-3300

Worcester State Hospital
Joint Commission Contact: Anthony Riccitelli, Chief Operating Officer
(508) 368-3461

Northeast- Suburban Area
Susan C. Wing, Area Director
(978) 863-5079

Tewksbury State Hospital, Hathorne Unit
Joint Commission Contact: Marilyn Feitelberg, Chief Operating Officer
(978) 851-7321 ext. 2859

Metro-Boston Area 
Patricia Kenny, Area Director
(617) 626-9210

Solomon Carter Fuller Mental Health Center
Joint Commission Contact: Mary-Louise White, Ph.D., Chief Operating Officer
(617) 626-8860


Southeast Area
Howard Baker-Smith, Area Director
(508) 897-2000

Taunton State Hospital
Joint Commission Contact: Kathleen Duke, Interim Chief Operating Officer
(508) 977-3110

Corrigan Mental Health Center
Joint Commission Contact: Roberta H. Guez, Superintendent/Site Director
(508) 235-7400,

Cape Cod & Islands CMHC (Pocasset Mental Health Center)
Joint Commission Contact: Steven Jochim, Superintendent/Site Director
(508) 564-9626


If the concerns cannot be resolved through the Department, one may contact The Joint Commission Contact at 1-800-994-6610 or by e-mailing:


This information is provided by the Department of Mental Health

Recommended Content

People also viewed...

You recently viewed...

Personalization is OFF. Your personal browsing history at is not visible because your personalization is turned off. To view your history, turn your personalization on.

Learn more on our .

*Recommendations are based on site visitor traffic patterns and are not endorsements of that content.