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Board of Registration in Medicine 

200 Harvard Mill Square, Suite 330 - Wakefield, MA 01880 

Telephone: (781) 876-8210    Fax: (781) 876-8383 

www.mass.gov/massmedboard 

 

 

 

 

 

REVIVAL OF A LAPSED LICENSE 

 

 

If you were ever issued a full license in Massachusetts that you did not renew, you must 

complete a lapsed license application to revive your license to practice medicine.  If your 

full license was revoked or suspended by the Massachusetts Board of Registration in 

Medicine, do not submit a lapsed license application.  Please contact the Board’s 

Division of Law and Policy to see what steps are required for possible reinstatement of 

your license. 

 

Please read the Revival of Lapsed License Instructions before sending your lapsed 

application and fee for $700.00 to the Board. 

 

 Every question on the lapsed application and supplement must be answered.  If 

you answer “yes” to questions #1-14 on the supplement, you must also complete 

the additional supplement pages and provide the required information.   

 

 When you receive the National Practitioner Data Bank Profile, do not open the 

National Practitioner Data Bank Profile envelope.   Mail it to the Board at the 

above-listed address.  If the seal on the envelope is broken, the Board will not 

accept the contents of the envelope; it will be returned to you and you will have to 

repeat the process. 

 

 If you have any malpractice or legal issues, the documents must be sent directly to 

you in sealed envelopes and included with your lapsed license application. 

 

 When a licensee applies to revive a license and more than two years have passed, 

the application must be reviewed by the Licensing Committee.  The Licensing 

Committee meetings are held once a month. 
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APPLICATION FEE 

 

The processing fee for revival of a lapsed license is non-refundable.  Please make a check in the amount 

of $700.00 payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  A certified check or money order is 

preferred, but personal checks are accepted.  Applications unaccompanied by the lapsed license fee will 

not be processed. 

 

PRACTICE OF MEDICINE 

 

The “practice of medicine” is defined in the Board’s regulations, in part, as the following conduct: 

diagnosis, treatment, use of instruments or other devices, or the prescription or administration of drugs for 

the relief of diseases or adverse physical or mental conditions.  A person who holds himself out to the 

public as a “physician” or “surgeon” or with the initials “M.D.” or “D.O.” in connection with his name 

and who also assumes responsibility for another person’s physical or mental well-being is engaged in the 

practice of medicine. 

 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

 

Social Security Number:  Your social security number may be used to facilitate the authorized sharing of 

information with designated agencies for identification of licensees for the following purposes:  reporting 

of disciplinary actions to national data reporting systems; tax default status; student loan default status; 

child support arrearages; Medicaid provider eligibility; possession of Massachusetts controlled substances 

registration; and collection of fines from Board disciplinary case.  Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405 (c) (2) (c) 

(i), (v), (vi) and M.G.L. c. 30A, § 13A, and M.G.L. c. 119A, § 16, you are required to provide this 

information.  The Board considers this information highly confidential and it is not subject to release, 

except as specifically authorized. 

 

Postgraduate Education and Hospital Appointments:  Chronologically list and date all educational and 

professional training experience and employment from the date of graduation from medical school to the 

present.  Account for all periods of time, whether or not you were engaged in the practice of medicine.  

Also enclose a copy of your updated curriculum vitae by month and year. 

 

Medical Malpractice Insurance:  Indicate whether your medical malpractice insurance is covered by an 

insurance carrier or letter of credit.  You must have malpractice coverage before your lapsed license can 

be revived, unless you are exempt.  

 

Continuing Professional Development Requirements (formally known as Continuing Medical 

Education):  In the blanks provided, list the manner in which you completed your CPD requirements 

during the past two years.  Unless exempt, you must list the number of Category 1 and 2 credits you have 

completed. Licensees enrolled in residency and clinical fellowship programs are exempt from the CPD 

requirement until the first full license renewal cycle that begins after their program has ended. 

  

Otherwise, you must have met the basic CPD requirements for the two-year period ending on the date you 

sign this form.  A brochure with more complete information on the CPD requirements is available on the 

Board’s web site at www.mass.gov/massmedboard. 

http://www.mass.gov/massmedboard


Lapsed Lic App (Instructions), Page 3 of 8, Rev. 3/15 

 

The basic CPD requirement for a two (2) year cycle requires no fewer than 100 hours of CPD credit with 

the following components: 

 

(a) At least 40 credit hours in Category 1 programs (the entire 100 hour requirement may be met 

by earning Category 1 credits); 

 

(b) Up to 60 credit hours in Category 2 activities; 

 

(c) Ten credit hours of risk management study (see below), with at least 4 hours in Category 1; 

 

(d) Two credit hours by studying the Board’s regulations in either Category 1 or 2; 

 

(e) Two credit hours of end-of-life care issues in either Category 1 or 2.  These credits may be 

used toward risk management credits.  This CPD requirement is mandatory for all physicians 

regardless of specialty.  Physicians may find a free online course at 

http://www.eolcounseling.com or may contact the Massachusetts Medical Society.  

Pediatricians may wish to check with the American Academy of Pediatrics for courses in 

Palliative Care for Children. 

 

(f) Physicians who prescribe controlled substances (Schedules II - VI) must have completed at 

least three (3) credit hours of Board-approved CPD in effective pain management, which 

shall include training in how to identify patients at high risk for substance abuse and training 

in how to counsel patients about side effects, the addictive nature, and proper storage and 

disposal of prescription medicines. Please remember that all prescription drugs are controlled 

substances in Massachusetts.  

 

Physicians are responsible for determining whether the pain management CPD requirement 

applies to them, based upon the nature of their practice.  A free online resource to obtain the 

necessary credits is available at www.opioidprescribing.com.  The three (3) credit hours of 

opioid and pain management training will qualify as either Category 1 or Category 2 credits 

and may be used as risk management credits for continuing professional education. 

 

(g) A majority of the total 100 credit hour requirement must be in the licensee’s primary area(s) 

of practice. 

 

“Risk management study” must include instruction in medical malpractice prevention, such as risk 

identification, patient safety and loss prevention, and may include instruction in any of the following 

areas: medical ethics, quality assurance, medical-legal issues, patient relations, utilization review that 

directly relates to quality assurance, non-economic aspects of practice management, electronic health 

records, end-of-life care issues and opioid and pain management. 

 

Requirement to Complete Training to Recognize and Report Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect 

M.G.L. c. 119, §51A(k) requires all mandated reporters, professionally licensed by the Commonwealth, to 

complete training to recognize and report suspected child abuse or neglect.  Physicians are one category 

of mandated reporters. 

http://www.eolcounseling.com/
http://www.opioidprescribing.com/
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Physicians may comply with the training requirement through: 

 

1. Receiving training in child abuse or neglect assessment in medical school education or 

postgraduate training; 

 

2. Completion of a hospital sponsored training program in recognizing the signs of child abuse and 

neglect; 

 

3. Completion of continuing professional development (formerly known as continuing medical 

education credits) in identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect; 

 

4. Completion of an on-line training program (i.e., The Middlesex Children’s Advocacy Center’s 

program “51A Online Mandated Reporter Training:  Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse, 

Neglect, and Exploitation” www.middlesexcac.org/51A-reporter-training); or 

 

5. Completion of a specialized certification (i.e., Child Abuse Pediatrics). 

 

This is a one-time requirement.  

  

SUPPLEMENT TO APPLICATION  

 

Instructions for answering the questions on the Supplement Form are included in the application package. 

All of the questions on the Supplement Form must be answered “YES” or “NO.”  Please be careful in 

matching your answers to questions, because incorrect answers will jeopardize and delay processing of 

your application.  Pages 5-9 must be completed if you answer “YES” to any question(s). 

 

ELECTRONIC HEALTH RECORDS (EHR) PROFICIENCY FORM 

 

Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 112, § 2, an applicant for licensure must demonstrate proficiency in the use of 

electronic health records (EHR).  This is a one-time requirement.  Complete Section 1 (Demonstrating 

Proficiency) or Section 2 (Claiming an Exemption).  Sign and date the form.  

OFFICE BASED SURGERY 

 

 “Surgery” means those procedures defined in the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS) Office Based 

Surgery Guidelines under the following specific definitions: “Surgery;” “Office Based Surgery;” “Major 

Surgery;” “Minor Surgery;” and “Special Procedure.”  You must complete the Office Based Surgery form 

if you perform any procedures in your office that are described in these definitions.  (MMS Office Based 

Surgery Guidelines have been endorsed by the Board and are available through the MMS and Board 

websites: www.massmed.org and www.mass.gov/massmedboard.)  

 

MALPRACTICE CASES 

 

If you have had a malpractice case brought against you, you will need to either request that your 

liability carrier or your attorney forward a copy of the documents to you and you must forward them to 

http://www.middlesexcac.org/51A-reporter-training
http://www.massmed.org/
http://www.mass.gov/massmedboard


Lapsed Lic App (Instructions), Page 5 of 8, Rev. 3/15 

the Board in the sealed envelope with your lapsed license application.  If a malpractice case is open, 

closed or dismissed against you, your liability carrier or attorney must indicate that fact to the Board in 

a letter containing the claimant’s name or initials.  If the malpractice case is dismissed, please include 

the date of dismissal and a statement if no monies were paid to the claimant on your behalf.  Your 

liability carrier or lawyer must also provide a copy of the complaint or summons or dismissal for every 

malpractice case filed against you.  You must complete question #10 on the Supplement Form even if a 

complaint was filed against you, but did not result in any action. 

 

MALPRACTICE HISTORY FORM 

 

You must complete the Malpractice History Form listing all of your malpractice carriers.  The original 

Malpractice History Form should be returned to the Board with your lapsed license application.  Contact 

the risk management office at the healthcare facilities for the name and address of the liability carrier(s) 

and forward a copy of the Malpractice History Form to every liability carrier.  Instruct the liability 

carrier(s) to list the dates of your coverage and whether there were any cases filed against you and the 

monies paid on your behalf.  The liability carrier(s) must forward the reports and any documents to 

you in a sealed envelope and they must be sent to the Board with your lapsed license application. 

 

LEGAL ISSUES 

 

For each criminal proceeding in which you were named a defendant, certified copies of the complaint, 

judgment or other disposition must be sent to the Board by your lawyer, the police department, the court, 

or other appropriate agency.  You must also provide a detailed explanation of the incident, including date, 

time, place, who was with you, and the court action. 

 

AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION  

 

The Authorization for Release of Information form must be completed and returned to the Board with 

your application. 

 

MEDICARE/TAX FORM 

 

All applicants for Massachusetts medical licensure must complete this form. 

 

AMA OR AOA PHYSICIAN PROFILE 

 

You may request an AMA Physician profile on line by visiting http://www.ama-assn.org/AMAProfiles 

and your AMA profile will be sent directly to the Board, or you may contact the AMA Customer Service 

for ordering assistance at (800) 665-2882 or (312) 364-5199.  Contact the American Osteopathic 

Association (AOA) for the AOA Physician profile at www.osteopathic.org for the AOA Physician profile. 

 

http://www.ama-assn.org/AMAProfiles
http://www.osteopathic.org/
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NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK 

 

To request a National Practitioner Data Bank Profile, please visit http://www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov/ and 

complete the Self-Query form online.  After completing the Self-Query form, you must print out a hard 

copy, have it notarized and forward it to the Data Bank.  Please note that the date of your signature and 

notary date must be the same, otherwise the Self-Query form will be returned to you, delaying processing 

of your application.  Also note that the Self-Query fee is payable by CREDIT CARD ONLY (Visa, 

MasterCard, Discover).  Please remember to include your credit card number and expiration date on your 

query form. You must request your National Practitioner Data Bank Profile to be sent to you in a sealed 

envelope and forwarded to the Board with your lapsed license application.  

 

LICENSE PROCESSING TIME 

 

Do not send your lapsed application to the Board until you receive the National Practitioner Data Bank 

profile and your malpractice history reports or malpractice documents in sealed envelopes.  It takes 

approximately four weeks, after the required documents are received by the Board, to process a lapsed 

license application that:  a) lapsed in less than two years; and b) where there are no legal or malpractice 

issues.  When a licensee applies to revive a license and more than two years have passed, the application 

must be reviewed by the Licensing Committee.  The Licensing Committee meetings are held once a 

month.  Lapsed license applications containing malpractice or legal issues will require more time to 

process. 

 

Lapsed licenses recommended for revival by the Licensing Committee are forwarded to the Board for 

approval at its next meeting, approximately two weeks later.  Upon approval of your application for 

licensure, your wallet-sized card will be mailed to you. 

 

CONTROLLED LICENSE SUBSTANCE REGISTRATION AND DEA REGISTRATION 

 

If you wish to prescribe or dispense drugs, you must apply for a Massachusetts Controlled Substance 

Registration.  Go to the Department of Public Health website at www.mass.gov/dph/dcp for an 

application for Massachusetts Controlled Substance Registration and follow the instructions or call 

(617) 753-8052.  For DEA registration, go to the DEA website at www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov and 

follow the instructions or call (617) 557-2468.  

 

ADDRESS CHANGES 

 

The Board’s regulations require that you notify the Board, within 30 days, in writing, when any of your 

addresses change.  Please note that only one address can be a post office box and it cannot be your 

mailing address. 

 

http://www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov/
http://www.mass.gov/dph/dcp
http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/
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BIRTH DATE RENEWAL 

 

Renewal of your medical license will occur on your first birthday after the license issuance date, unless 

your birthday falls within ninety (90) days of obtaining initial licensure.  If your first birthday after the 

issuance date falls within this time frame, you will not be required to renew your license until the 

following birthday.  Renewals thereafter will be on a two-year birthday cycle. 

 

Please be advised that under Massachusetts law you may not practice medicine in Massachusetts 

until you have received a license.  The license applicant is responsible for determining that the 

Board has issued a license prior to practicing medicine in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 

 

PLEASE MAKE A COPY OF ALL SUBMITTED FORMS FOR YOUR RECORDS. 

 

Please include the National Practitioner Data Bank Profile and malpractice history reports or any 

other documents with your lapsed license application and mail them to the Board.  The Board’s 

regulations require that you provide a copy of your completed lapsed license application and 

supplement to all healthcare affiliations.  
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TELEPHONE DIRECTORY AND WEBSITE ADDRESSES 
 

 

American Medical Association ............................................................................................. (800) 621-8335 

www.ama-assn.org 

 

Board of Registration in Medicine ........................................................................................ (781) 876-8200 

www.mass.gov/massmedboard 

 

Education Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) ..................................... (215) 386-5900 

www.ecfmg.org 

 

Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) ............................................................... (617) 557-2468 

www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov 

 

Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) ....................................................................... (817) 868-4000 

www.fsmb.org 

 

Massachusetts Department of Public Health--Controlled Substance License ...................... (617) 753-8052 

 

Massachusetts Medical Society ............................................................................................ (781) 893-4610 

www.massmed.org 

 

National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) .................................................................. (215) 590-9500 

www.nbme.org 

 

National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) ........................................... (773) 714-0622 

www.nbome.org 

 

National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) ............................................................................. (800) 767-6732 

www.npdb-hipdb.com 

 

 

http://www.ama-assn.org/
http://www.mass.gov/massmedboard
http://www.ecfmg.org/
http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/
http://www.fsmb.org/
http://www.massmed.org/
http://www.nbme.org/
http://www.nbome.org/
http://www.npdb-hipdb.com/
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CHECKLIST FOR LAPSED LICENSE APPLICATION 

 

 
Before sending your lapsed license application to the Board for processing, please refer to this checklist to 

insure that you have provided all required documentation; otherwise, your lapsed license may be delayed.   

 

HAVE YOU 

 

 Downloaded and included all pages of the Lapsed License Application? 

 

 Read the instructions, answered every question, signed the application and Authorization for Release 

of Information, and enclosed a check for $700.00 made payable to the Commonwealth of 

Massachusetts? 

 

 Completed and enclosed the Lapsed License Application Supplement if you answered "yes" to any 

question on the supplement? 

 

 Completed and enclosed a copy of the Malpractice History Report if you answered “yes” to questions 

#10-A or 10-B and sent a copy to your liability carriers? 

 

 Completed the Electronic Health Records (EHR) Proficiency form? 

 

 Downloaded the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) Self Query form from the NPDB website at 

www.npdb.com and followed the instructions for a self query?  Please note that the Data Bank form 

must be signed in the presence of a notary public and notarized before mailing it to the NPDB.   

 

 Followed the instructions for requesting the American Medical Association (AMA) Profile from the 

website at www.ama-assn.org.  The AMA Profile will be mailed directly to the Board.  You must 

contact the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) for your AOA Profile. 

 

 Included the unopened Data Bank profile with your lapsed application before mailing it to the Board? 

 

 

IF THE SEAL ON THE DATA BANK PROFILE ENVELOPE IS BROKEN, IT WILL NOT BE 

ACCEPTED BY THE BOARD.   

 

 

http://www.npdb.com/
http://www.ama-.org/
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MA License Number: _______________ 

Date license revived: _____/____/_____ 

 

Board of Registration in Medicine 
200 Harvard Mill Square, Suite 330 - Wakefield, MA 01880 

Telephone: (781) 876-8210    Fax: (781) 876-8383 
www.mass.gov/massmedboard 

 

LAPSED LICENSE APPLICATION 

 
Application Fee:  Please enclose a check or money order in the amount of $700.00 in U.S. currency, made 
payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  
 
Legal Name (do not use nicknames or initials, unless they are part of your legal name): 
 
  
Last Name (type or print clearly)   First   Middle         Suffix (Jr., etc.) 

 

Medical Degree:     M.D.     D.O.     Ph.D.     Other degree __________________ 
 
Other Name(s) Used:  List any other name(s) you have used which may appear on your identifying 
documents, such as medical education and examination records. If not applicable, check here   
 
  

Entire Last Name (type or print clearly)   First    Middle   Suffix (Jr., etc.) 

 
Date of Birth:  _____/_____/_____                Social Security Number: ___ ___ ___  -  ___ ___  -  ___ ___ ___   
             Month     Day     Year 
 

National Provider Identifier (NPI) Number _____________________________________ 
 
Place of Birth:  
   City   State/Province/Territory              Country if not USA 

 
Home Address:  
               Number and Street 

 
  
 City     State/Province/Territory    Zip (or postal) Code 
 

Business Address:  
   Number and Street 
 

  
  City     State/Province/Territory   Zip (or postal) Code 
 
Business       Home 
Telephone: (_____)________________, ext. ________      Telephone: (_____)  
 
E-mail Address:________________________________     Fax Number:   
 
Preferred Mailing Address:     Business Address   Home Address 

 



APPLICANT’S NAME:  
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Postgraduate Education 
 
List in chronological order all postgraduate training from medical school to the present, the name and address 
of the facility, your position, e.g. PGY 1, 2, fellow, etc. and dates of affiliation.  You must account for all periods 
of training or postgraduate work from the time you graduated from medical school. 

                     From        To 

Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 
Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 
Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 
Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 
Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 

 

Hospital Affiliations and Employment 
 
List in chronological order all hospital appointments where you had active staff privileges, including the name 
and address of the facility, your position and dates of affiliation in postgraduate training.  Also include periods 
of unemployment or employment outside of medicine.  Do not include postgraduate training facilities.  Attach a 
separate sheet of paper if necessary. 

                     From        To 

Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 
Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 
Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 
Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 
Facility:________________________________ Position:_____________  ____/____/____   ____/____/_____ 
Street:  _______________________________________ City: ___________________    State: ____________ 
 

 



APPLICANT’S NAME:  
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  Medical Malpractice Information 
 
  My medical malpractice insurance coverage is by:   Insurance carrier     Letter of Credit 
 
  Print name of insurer: ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
  Policy dates:     From: __________________  To:_________________ 
 
  Alternatively, indicate as follows:  I am registering with Active status but I am not covered by medical 
  malpractice insurance because:   
 
   I am not involved in direct patient care     Otherwise exempt  
 
  Explain exemption________________________________________________________________________ 
 
  _______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

  Continuing Professional Development (CPD) (formerly Continuing Medical Education) 
 
  Read instructions for CPD requirements on page 3 before completing.   
 
  Activity status:    Active   Exemption _______________________________ 
 
  Category 1 credits _______  Risk Management Category 1  ______    
  Category 2 credits _______  Risk Management Category 2  ______ 
 
  Continuing Professional Development credit requirements must be completed before the lapsed license can 
  be revived. 
 

 
1. You must complete training to recognize and report suspected child abuse or neglect.  Have you completed 

the required training?  (See instructions.)    Yes      No (Your license will not processed until you 
complete the required training.) 

 
2.  List other states (abbreviations) where you are currently or have ever been licensed: ____  ____  ___  ____ 
 
3.  A.  Are you certified by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS)?  Yes  No 
     B.  Are you certified by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA)?  Yes  No 
 
4.  List only ABMS certification(s):  

       
 
5.  Reason for requesting revival of lapsed license in Massachusetts:  

       
 
6.  Please attach your current curriculum vitae listing the months and years of education, training, 

clinical activity and work history since your graduation from medical school.   



APPLICANT’S NAME:  
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CERTIFICATIONS 
 

1) I certify that I have complied with my obligations to report abuse or neglect of children pursuant to G.L. 
c. 119, sec. 51A, and I understand the punishment for failure to comply. 
 
2) I certify that I have complied with my obligations to report abuse or neglect of disabled persons pursuant to 
G.L. c. 19C, sec. 10, and I understand the punishment for failure to comply. 
 
3) I certify that I have complied with my obligations to report abuse, neglect or financial exploitation of elderly 
persons pursuant to G.L. c.19A, sec. 15, and I understand the punishment for failure to comply. 
 
4) I certify that I have complied with my obligations to report the treatment of wounds, burns and other injuries 
pursuant to G.L. c. 112, sec. 12A. 
 
5) I certify that I have complied with my obligations to report the treatment of victims of rape or sexual assault 
pursuant to G.L. c. 112, sec. 12A 1/2. 
 
6) I certify that I have complied with my obligations to report a physician to the Board of Medicine, pursuant to 
G.L. c. 112, sec. 5F, when I have a reasonable basis to believe that person violated any provisions of G.L. 
c. 112, sec. 5 or any Board regulation. 
 
7) I certify that I have complied my obligations related to charging and collecting fees from Medicare 
beneficiaries in accordance with the Medicare fee schedule, and I understand my obligations under G.L. c.112, 
sec. 2. 
 
8) I certify that I have complied with my obligations to file Massachusetts tax returns and to pay Massachusetts 
taxes, and I understand that, pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, sec. 49A, my license shall not be issued or renewed 
unless I make these certifications under penalties of perjury. 
 
9) I certify that I have complied with my obligations related to the reporting of employees and contractors 
pursuant to G.L. c.62E. 
 
10) I certify that I have complied with my obligations related to the withholding and remitting of child support 
pursuant to G.L. c. 119A. 
 
11) I certify that I have complied with my obligations to file an Incident Report with the Board when certain 
adverse events occur in my private office, pursuant to G.L. c. 112 sec. 5 and 243 C.M.R. 3.00 et seq., and I 
understand that the Patient Care Assessment (PCA) programs at the health care facilities where I practice 
report certain Major Incidents to the Board. 
 
Under the pains and penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this Lapsed License 
Application and all of its accompanying instructions, forms and statements, and, to the best of my 
knowledge and belief, the information contained herein is true, correct and complete. 
 
 
Signature: _______________________________________________________ Date:  _____/_____/_____ 
 

MAKE A COPY OF YOUR APPLICATION AND ALL ATTACHMENTS BEFORE MAILING, FOR 
YOUR RECORDS, FOR CREDENTIALING AND OTHER PURPOSES. 
 
 



PRINT NAME: ________________________________________________________ DATE: _____/_____/_____ 
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LAPSED LICENSE APPLICATION SUPPLEMENT 
 

 

PRINT NAME: ________________________________________________________ DATE: _____/_____/_____ 

 

 

IMPORTANT NOTES 

 

For purposes of the following questions, the time period is from the time you signed your last Massachusetts 

license application to the present. 

 

If you answer “yes” to any of these questions, you must provide the additional information on pages 5-9. 
 

 

QUESTIONS YES NO 

 

1. Have you been denied a medical license, whether full, limited, temporary, or have you 

withdrawn an application for medical licensure? 

 

  

2. Have you surrendered a license to practice medicine or any professional license or has 

your license or certificate been revoked?  (You do not need to report a lapsed license.)  

 

  

3. Have you been denied American Board of Medical Specialties or American Board of 

Osteopathic Medicine certification or has your certification been suspended or revoked?  

 

  

4. Are you aware of any pending investigation or inquiry into your professional conduct by 

any entity or are any disciplinary charges pending against you?    

 

  

5-A. Have you relinquished any medical staff membership or association with a health care 

facility? 

 

  

 

5-B. Has your medical staff membership, medical privileges, medical staff status or 

association with a health care facility been limited, suspended, revoked, not renewed or 

subject to probationary conditions or has processing toward any of those ends been 

instituted or recommended by a medical staff committee, administration or governing 

board? 

 

  

5-C. Have you withdrawn an application for hospital privileges or appointment, or have you 

been denied medical staff membership, advancement in medical staff status or 

association with a health care facility, or has such denial been recommended by a 

medical staff committee, administration or governing body? 

 

  

6. Have you been charged with any criminal offense?  (You must report being arrested, 

arraigned, indicted or convicted, even if the charges against you were dropped, filed, 

dismissed, expunged or otherwise discharged.  A charge of operating under the influence 

or its equivalent is reportable.  A medical malpractice claim is a civil, not a criminal, 

matter and need not be reported for purposes of this question.) 
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  YES NO 

 

7. Has your privilege to manufacture, distribute, administer, possess, dispense or prescribe 

controlled substances been suspended, revoked, denied, restricted or surrendered, or have 

you been called before or warned by any state or other jurisdiction including a federal 

agency regarding such privileges? 

 

  

8. Has any professional liability insurance provider restricted, limited, terminated, imposed 

a surcharge or co-payment, or placed any condition on your coverage or have you 

voluntarily restricted, limited or terminated your insurance coverage in response to any 

inquiry by a professional liability insurance provider?  

 

  

9. Have you had an application for membership as a participating provider denied by any 

third-party payor, Medicare or Medicaid (any state) or have you been the subject of any 

termination, suspension or probation proceedings instituted by any third-party payor, 

Medicare or Medicaid (any state) or have you been restricted from receiving payments 

from any third-party payor, Medicare, Medicaid (any state)? 

 

  

10-A. Has any medical malpractice claim been made against you, whether or not a lawsuit was 

filed in relation to the claim or has such a suit been settled, adjudicated or otherwise 

resolved? 

 

  

10-B. Has any lawsuit, other than a medical malpractice suit, been filed against you which is 

related to your practice of medicine or has such a suit been settled, adjudicated or 

otherwise resolved? 
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CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION 
 

If answering “yes” to any of the questions, provide details on the supplemental pages for questions 11 to 13.  For 

purposes of the following questions, “currently” does not mean on the day of, or even the weeks or months 

preceding the completion of this application; it means recently enough to impact one’s functioning as a physician. 

 

 

 YES NO 

 

11. Do you have a medical or physical condition that currently impairs your ability to 

practice medicine? 

 

  

12. Have you engaged in the use of any substance(s) with the result that your ability to 

practice medicine is currently impaired? 

 

  

13. Have you refused to submit to a test to determine whether you had consumed and/or 

were under the influence of chemical substances? 

 

  

If you have a substance use disorder or mental or physical health diagnosis that impacts your ability to practice 

medicine, the Board encourages you to seek assistance voluntarily and to abide by any recommendations of your 

health care provider.  

When the Board receives notice of a substance use disorder, its primary mission is to protect the public; however, 

the Board also seeks to ensure successful rehabilitation through the physician’s participation in approved 

treatment programs and supervised structured aftercare. Similarly, when the Board receives notice of a mental 

health or physical health diagnosis that impacts a physician’s ability to practice, the Board needs to ensure that 

the physician can practice medicine safely.   

In regard to issues of physician impairment, whether the impairment is caused by a substance use disorder, or a 

mental or physical health diagnosis, the Board works cooperatively with the Massachusetts Medical Society’s 

Physician Health Services (PHS) and encourages physicians to contact PHS to determine what services may be 

available to them in order to ensure their safe practice of medicine. Please call PHS at (781) 434-7404. 

 

If your responses to Questions 1-13 change while your application is pending, you must 

immediately notify the Board of the new information. 
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CERTIFICATIONS 

 

 Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 112, § 2 and 243 CMR 2.07(15), I certify that I will not charge to or collect from a 

Medicare beneficiary more than the Medicare “reasonable charge” for services, in compliance with Chapter 

475 of the Acts of 1985.  (Note:  Signing this certification does not imply that you will participate in the 

Medicare program). 

 Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 62C, § 49A, I certify under the penalties of perjury that, to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, I have filed any Massachusetts state tax returns and paid any Massachusetts state taxes that are 

required under law.  (Note:  This applies even if you reside out of the state or out of the country.)  

 Pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, § 49A, to the best of my knowledge and belief, I am in compliance with G.L. c. 119A 

relating to withholding and remitting child support.  

 Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 119, § 51A, I certify under the penalties of perjury that I will fulfill my obligation to 

report abuse or neglect of children.   

 I will read the Board’s regulations, 243 CMR 1.00 through 3.00.   

 

I certify under the penalties of perjury that all information on this form, and all attached pages, is true, to 

the best of my knowledge. 

 

SIGNATURE:__________________________________________________________ DATE:____/_____/_____ 
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For all questions, please attach additional pages, whenever necessary, using the same format. 

 
QUESTIONS #1 & 2 – License application denial or withdrawal or license surrender or revocation  

Describe circumstances under which license application was withdrawn or denied, or license was surrendered or revoked. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

State: ______________________________Year: _________________________ 

 

You must arrange for the appropriate agency or institution to submit copies of all official documentation and 

correspondence regarding any medical license application denial or withdrawal and any license surrender or 

revocation.  The documents must specify the reason(s) and should be sent directly to you in a sealed envelope.   

 

 

QUESTION #3 – ABMS or AOA Certification 

Specialty Board:_____________________________________________________________________ Date:____/____/____ 

Explain reason(s) for loss or denial:________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Please contact the certifying board to provide a letter explaining the reason(s) for the denial, suspension, or revocation.  

The letter should be sent directly to you in a sealed envelope.   

 

 

QUESTION #4 – Disciplinary actions 

Attach additional pages where more than one action was taken or is pending. 

Name of agency or institution taking action:________________________________________________ Date:____/____/____ 

Description:___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

You must arrange for the appropriate agency or institution to submit copies of all official documentation and 

correspondence related to any disciplinary action.  Documents should be sent directly to you in a sealed envelope. 
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QUESTIONS #5-A, 5-B, 5-C – Medical staff membership, status, privileges or association with a health care facility   

Name of facility:____________________________________________________________________  Date :____/____/____ 

Address:__________________________________________ City: ___________________ State: ________Zip:___________ 

Description:___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

You must arrange for the appropriate agency or institution to submit copies of all official documentation and 

correspondence regarding any affirmative responses to Questions 5-A, 5-B and 5-C.  Documents should be sent 

directly to you in a sealed envelope.   

 

QUESTION #6 – Criminal offenses 

Court:___________________________________ Charge(s):__________________________________ Date:____/____/____ 

Describe the circumstances leading up to criminal proceedings. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Status:________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

You must arrange for your lawyer, the police department, or the court to submit copies of the indictment, complaint, 

judgment or other disposition in any criminal proceeding in which you were a defendant.  Documents should be sent 

directly to you in a sealed envelope.   

 

QUESTION #7 – Controlled substances privileges 

Type of restriction:____________________________________________________________________ Date:____/____/____ 

Describe the circumstances of restriction:____________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

You must arrange for the appropriate agency or institution to submit a copy of all official orders, findings of fact, and 

correspondence related to any suspension, revocation, denial, restriction or surrender of controlled substance 

privileges.  Documents should be sent directly to you in a sealed envelope.   

 

QUESTIONS #8 & 9 – Liability insurance provider, third-party payor, Medicare and Medicaid (any state) 

Name of Organization: ________________________________________________________________ Date:____/____/____ 

Action:_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Describe reason(s) for action: _____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

You must arrange for your liability carrier or appropriate institution or agency to submit documents regarding any 

restrictions, denials, or revocations.  Documents should be sent directly to you in a sealed envelope.   
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QUESTION #10-A – Malpractice claims 

For each instance of alleged malpractice, you must provide the following information.  

Claimant’s name:____________________________________________________________ Date of incident:____/____/____ 

Insurer’s name:________________________________________ Insurer’s Address: _________________________________ 

Description  of claim (allegations only: this does not constitute an admission of fault or liability).   

Allegation:_________________________ Allegation:_____________________  Allegation:_________________________ 

 

REQUISITE DESCRIPTIVE INFORMATION: 

1.   Patient’s condition at point of your involvement:___________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. Patient’s condition at end of treatment:__________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

3. The nature and extent of your involvement with the patient:__________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

4. Your degree of responsibility for the course of treatment leading to the claim: ___________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

5. If incident resulted in patient’s death, indicate cause of death according to autopsy or patient chart: __________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

6. Legal representative’s name:__________________________________________________________________________ 

Address: ________________________________________________________________Telephone:____________________ 

City: _______________________________________  State:  ________________________________  Zip: ______________ 

 

Current status of claim:        Closed    Pending 

 

Was the case resolved before the entry of a verdict?           Yes    No 

 

What was the decision?        Dismissed before trial        Plaintiff Verdict        Defense Verdict 
 

Decision determined by:       Judge    Jury 
 

(Question #10-A continued on next page) 
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QUESTION #10-A – Malpractice claims, continued 
 

If a payment was made:      Amount allocated to you:  $___________         Payment Date: _____/_____/_____ 

 

In addition to the information listed above, you must arrange for your lawyer or liability carrier to submit a copy of 

the following documents directly to the Board for the following malpractice cases: 

 

Open case – a copy of the complaint naming the physician as a defendant. 

 

Closed case – a copy of the complaint and final judgment, settlement and release or other final disposition of each 

claim, even if you were dismissed from the case by the court and/or  if the case was closed with or without 

prejudice and the amount of monies paid on your behalf. 

 

Dismissed  case – a copy of the dismissal if you were dismissed before the case was reviewed by a tribunal or jury.  

The dismissal must include the name or initials of the patient and confirmation that no monies were paid on your 

behalf.   

 

NOTE:  Please be advised that the Board may request pertinent medical records or additional information. 
 

 

 

 

QUESTIONS #10–B – Civil Lawsuits (other than medical malpractice) 

 

Plaintiff’s name:  ____________________________________________________________ Date of Action: ____/____/____ 

Your legal representative’s name:__________________________________________________________________________ 

Description of claim (this does not constitute admission or liability):______________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Outcome of lawsuit:_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
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CONFIDENTIAL MEDICAL INFORMATION 

 

QUESTION #11 – Medical condition 

If you answered “yes” to Question 11, please provide the specifics of your condition and any related treatment, including dates 

and diagnoses.  In addition, provide any adjustments or interventions you may have made or taken to ameliorate or address the 

impact of your medical condition on your current practice, including a change of specialty or field of practice, or participation 

in any supervised rehabilitation program, professional assistance or retraining program, or monitoring program. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

QUESTION #12 – Substance Use 

If you have obtained medical treatment related to your use of substances, please provide the specifics of your treatment, 

including dates and diagnoses.  In addition, provide any adjustments or interventions you may have made or taken to 

ameliorate or address the impact of your use of substances on your current practice, including participation in any supervised 

rehabilitation program or monitoring program. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

QUESTION #13  - Refusal to take a screening test for chemical substances 

If you answered “yes” to Question 13, please provide a description of the circumstances leading to your refusal to take the 

screening test and any resulting criminal or disciplinary consequences. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Commonwealth of Massachusetts – Board of Registration in Medicine 

200 Harvard Mill Square, Suite 330, Wakefield, MA 01880 
 
 

MEDICARE/TAX FORM 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS: 
 
Please sign this form and return it with your application.  Massachusetts General Laws 
Chapter 62C, §49A, requires that you complete this statement to obtain licensure to 
practice a profession: 
 
 

I, __________________________________________, 
                    (type or print name) 

 
certify, under the penalties of perjury, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that I 
have filed all state tax returns and paid all state taxes required by state law. 
 
 
SIGNED:  _____________________________________  DATE:  _________________ 
 
 
Social Security Number:  _________________________________________________ 
 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  

 

 

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 112, §2, and 243 CMR 2.07 (15) require that 

you complete the following statement: 
 
I will not charge to, or collect from, a Medicare beneficiary more than the Medicare 
“reasonable charge” for services, in compliance with Chapter 475 of the Acts of 1985. 
 
Note:  Signing this form does not imply that you will participate in the Medicare 
program. 
 
 
SIGNED:  _____________________________________  DATE:  _________________   
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COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS--BOARD OF REGISTRATION IN MEDICINE 

200 Harvard Mill Square, Suite 330, Wakefield, MA 01880  

www.mass.gov/massmedboard 
 

 

AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION,  DOCUMENTS AND RECORDS 

 

 

I, ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

 (type/print your complete name) 

 

request and authorize every person, institution, professional licensing board of any state in which I hold or may 

have held a license to practice my profession, hospital, clinic, government agency (local, state, federal or foreign), 

law enforcement agency, or other third parties and organizations and their representatives to release information, 

records, transcripts and other documents concerning my professional qualifications and competency, ethics, 

character and other information pertaining to me to the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine. 

 

I further request and authorize that the requested information, documents, and records be sent directly to: 

 

 Board of Registration in Medicine 

200 Harvard Mill Square, Suite 330 

Wakefield, MA  01880 

 

 Attention:  Licensing  

 

Immunity and Release 

 

I hereby extend absolute immunity to and release, discharge, and hold harmless from any and all liability:  1) the 

Board of Registration in Medicine, its agents, representatives, directors and officers; 2) other agencies, 

institutions, hospitals and clinics providing information, their representatives, directors and officers; and 3) any 

third parties and organizations for any acts, communications, reports, records, transcripts, statements, documents, 

recommendations or disclosures involving me, made in good faith and without malice, requested or received by 

the Board of Registration in Medicine. 

 

By my signature below, I acknowledge that information, documents and records required to be furnished by 

another organization, educational institution, hospital, individual or any person or groups of persons has been sent 

to me directly from the primary source in a sealed envelope and that none of the seals have been broken.  I 

understand that the Board of Registration in Medicine will not accept any such information, records or documents 

forwarded by me unless they are in sealed envelopes. 

 

A photocopy or facsimile of this authorization shall be as valid as the original and shall be valid up to one year 

from the date signed. 

 

____________________________________________  _______________________ 

Applicant’s Signature      Date of Signature 

 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

Applicant’s Printed Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial, Suffix (e.g., Jr.) 

 

____________________________________________ 

Applicant’s Date of Birth (month/day/year)   
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Board of Registration in Medicine 

200 Harvard Mill Square, Suite 330 - Wakefield, MA 01880 

Telephone: (781) 876-8210    Fax: (781) 876-8383 

www.mass.gov/massmedboard 

 

MALPRACTICE HISTORY REQUEST FORM 

 

Applicant’s Instructions: Please list the names of your liability carriers and send a signed copy of this form 
to each of your current and all past liability carrier(s).  You must provide your malpractice history reports if you 
ever had a full license in any state. You do not need to supply your malpractice history reports while 
participating in an ACGME postgraduate training program unless you had a full license or you were named in 
a malpractice case.  This form must be returned to the Board with your license application. 
 
Please provide the following information on the malpractice history report: 
 
 1. the name(s) of the claimant(s) 
 2. nature and date of claim(s)  
 3. amounts paid, if any, and  

4. other disposition or information in its possession, custody or control on my current policy number, 
and/or any other policy I have had with this or any other carrier 

 5.   dates of policy coverage must be included. 

 

Liability Carrier’s Instructions:  Please report any open or closed cases that have gone to trial, 

whether or not monies were paid, and provide a copy of the complaint or summons, disposition or 

judgment and amount of monies paid on behalf of the applicant.  If the applicant does not have any 

claims history, please indicate that on your letterhead.  If your company’s name has changed, please 

provide any former company names.  The information should be sent to the applicant. 

 
Liability Carrier: _________________________________________  From: _____/_____ To:  _____/_____ 
City: _________________________________ State: ___________  Policy #:________________________ 
 
Liability Carrier: _________________________________________  From: _____/_____ To:  _____/_____ 
City: _________________________________ State: ___________  Policy #:________________________ 

 
Liability Carrier: _________________________________________  From: _____/_____ To:  _____/_____ 
City: _________________________________ State: ___________  Policy #:________________________ 

 
Liability Carrier: _________________________________________  From: _____/_____ To:  _____/_____ 
City: _________________________________ State: ___________  Policy #:________________________ 

 
Liability Carrier: _________________________________________  From: _____/_____ To:  _____/_____ 
City: _________________________________ State: ___________  Policy #:________________________ 
 
 
Applicant’s signature: ______________________________________________      ______/______/______ 
                                  Date 
Print Name:   

Address:   

City: _______________________________ State: ___________ Zip code: _____________ 

 

Additional forms available at the Board’s website at www.mass.gov/massmedboard. 

http://www.mass.gov/massmedboard


Lapsed Lic App – Form 7 (Evaluation Form), Page 1 of 2, Rev. 4/15 

Board of Registration in Medicine 

200 Harvard Mill Square, Suite 330  - Wakefield, MA 01880 

Telephone: (781) 876-8210    Fax: (781) 876-8383 

www.mass.gov/massmedboard 
 

EVALUATION FORM 
 

I hereby authorize the representatives or staff of the facility listed below to provide the Board of Registration in Medicine 
with any and all information requested in this evaluation form, whether such information is favorable or unfavorable, and I 
hereby release from any and all liability the named facility and/or any person for any and all acts performed in fulfilling this 
request, provided that such acts are performed in good faith and without malice. 

 
Signature  of applicant:_______________________________________________ Date:____/_____/  
 
Please PRINT your name:  
 
Name of facility:_____________________________________________________ State:  
 

INSTRUCTIONS TO THE CHIEF OF SERVICE, PROGRAM DIRECTOR OR SUPERVISOR, WHO MUST BE 

A PHYSICIAN:  Please complete items #1-7 below and return to the applicant with your name affixed 

across the envelope seal. 

 
1. How long have you worked with the applicant?   From:_____/_____/_____   To:  _____/______/  
 
 A. In what capacity?   supervisory       other:  
 
 B. Date(s) of applicant's affiliation at facility:  From:  _____/_____/______   To:  _____/______/  
 
 C. Applicant's Status:   Intern     Resident     Fellow     Staff Member     Other   
 
2. Has the applicant's privileges to admit or treat patients ever been modified, suspended, reduced or 

revoked?     No      Yes (if "yes" please explain below) 
 

   
 

   
 

3. Please rate the following (if "BELOW AVERAGE or "POOR",  explain in detail on the back of this 
evaluation and/or attach a separate sheet). 

 

  
Superior 

Above 
Average 

Average 
Below 

Average 
Poor 

Clinical knowledge           

Clinical competency           

Professional judgment           

Character and ethics           

Technical skills           

Relationships with staff           

Relationship with patients           

Cooperativeness/ability to work with others           

 

 (Continued on page 2) 
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4. Has this applicant ever been the subject of disciplinary action or had staff  
 privileges, employment or appointment at this hospital or facility voluntarily 
 or involuntarily denied, suspended, revoked or has (s)he resigned from the  
 medical staff in lieu of disciplinary action?  If "yes" please explain below.   NO      YES 

   

   

 

5. PLEASE COMMENT ON THE PHYSICIAN'S STRENGTHS OR WEAKNESSES AND/OR ANY OTHER 

INFORMATION THAT YOU MAY HAVE TO ASSIST IN THIS EVALUATION. 

   

   

 

6. The above comments are based on the following: 

  Close personal observation 

  General impression 

  A composite of previous evaluations by other physicians 

  Other_________________________________________ 

7. RECOMMENDATIONS: 

  Recommend for licensure in Massachusetts. 

  Recommend for licensure in Massachusetts, with the following reservations: 

   

  Do not recommend for the following reason(s): 

   

 

Signature: __________________________________________________ (check one)  M.D.  or   D.O. 

Print Your Name:_________________________________________________ Date:  _____/_____/  

Academic title or position:___________________________________  Phone number:  

Specialty/Service or Department:  

E-mail address:  

PLEASE RETURN THE COMPLETED EVALUATION TO THE APPLICANT IN A SEALED ENVELOPE WITH 

YOUR SIGNATURE AFFIXED ACROSS THE ENVELOPE SEAL. 
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ELECTRONIC HEALTH RECORDS (EHR) PROFICIENCY FORM  

 

 
Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 112, § 2, an applicant for licensure must demonstrate proficiency in the 

use of electronic health records (EHR).  This is a one-time requirement. 

 

Complete Section 1 (Demonstrating Proficiency) OR Section 2 (Claiming an Exemption) 

and Sign in Section 3. 

 

SECTION 1.  DEMONSTRATING PROFICIENCY 

 

1. I have demonstrated proficiency in the use of EHR in one of the following ways: 

 

____ Participation in a Meaningful Use program as an eligible professional; 

____ Employment with, credentialed to provide patient care at, or in a contractual agreement 

with an eligible hospital or critical access hospital with a CMS Meaningful Use program;   

____ Participation as either a Participant or an Authorized User in the Massachusetts Health 

Information Highway. 

____ Completion of 3 hours of a Category 1 EHR-related CPD course that discusses, at a 

minimum, the core and menu objectives and the Clinical Quality Measures (“CQMs”) for 

Meaningful Use.  

 

 

SECTION 2.  CLAIMING AN EXEMPTION (Exemptions must be claimed each licensing 

cycle, if applicable.  If you are exempted from the EHR proficiency requirement, please select 

the appropriate exemption.) 

 

2. I am exempt from the EHR Proficiency requirement because I am an applicant 

 

____ who will not be engaged in the practice of medicine as defined in 243 CMR 2.01(4); or 

____ on active duty as a member of the National Guard or of a uniformed service called into 

service during a national emergency or crisis. 
 
 
SECTION 3.  SIGNATURE 

 

I, the undersigned applicant, hereby certify that all information included in this EHR Proficiency 

Form constitutes a true statement made under penalties of perjury.  

 

 

NAME:_____________________________________________DATE: ____________________ 
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