[bookmark: _GoBack]All individuals seeking to recertify a Massachusetts EMT-Basic certification in 2017 need to follow the steps outlined on this page. Please read it carefully.

RECERTIFICATION STEPS
Go to MASSEMT.ORG and follow the prompts to access all steps of recertification:

STEP-1: TRAINING PROFILE.
A. Create a training profile.  If you have NREMT certification, you will be rerouted to log into your NREMT account through NREMT.org.
B. Affiliate with your EMS agency.  If you are unaffiliated (and non-NREMT): select unaffiliated based on your region (more info available on massemt.org).
C. Enter all of your training hours.  Hours this cycle can be used from 04/01/2015 through 03/31/2017.
D. Pay for training profile & Submit your training profile & training profile fee electronically using the Department designated site.  MA-only EMT-Basics: $20; MA/NREMT EMT-Basics: $15.


STEP-2: PROFILE REVIEW
A. Work with TO for profile review.  Your EMS agency Training Officer (TO) will review your training profile for accuracy and document the proficiency of your skills (if applicable).
B. Make any necessary edits.  If your Training Officer recognizes the need for further explanations or edits, be sure to complete the edits & resubmit.


STEP-3: STATE APPLICATION
A. Log into state’s eLicensing website.  www.mass.gov/dph/oems/elicensing Find your eLicensing account. First time users should find their information based on SSN and birthdate.
B. Review, attest & pay state recert. fee.  Review your information for accuracy, answer questions, and submit the recertification fee ($125) electronically.
C. Submit your state application by 03/31/15.  As long as you have completed all steps you will receive your new certification card in the mail within 2-3 weeks.


CHECK!  As you approach the expiration of your current state EMT certification, be sure to check your eLicensing account to ensure you have renewed!

Non-NREMT EMTs who are unaffiliated: You must submit all of your training records (including course completion documentation) to your EMS region, who will act as your training officer (more info available on massemt.org).  Unaffiliated personnel who do not send proof of course completion (e.g., certificates) to their region may not be recertified.

Need help with steps 1 or 2? Direct your questions first to your EMS Agency Training Officer; if more help is required, contact the NREMT at 614-888-4484.  Need help with step 3? Contact the eLicensing help desk at 617-973-0935.


TIMELINE
APRIL 1, 2015	OCTOBER 1, 2016		FEBRUARY 15, 2017	MARCH 31, 2017		APRIL 30 2017
Continuing education completed after this date can be used for 2017 recertification.	Training profile & state application open for online payment & submission.	Recommended date to complete & submit all steps in order to receive your new card by 04/01/17.	Last day to compete continuing education. Last day to submit renewal application without penalty. 
After midnight, if not recertified, you cannot staff an ambulance!	Last day to have all renewal steps complete.
MASSACHUSETTS EMT-BASIC

$50 late fee will apply after April 1, 2017.

All individuals seeking to recertify a Massachusetts EMT-Basic certification in 2015 need to follow the steps outlined on this page. Please read it carefully.

SCOPE OF PRACTICE TRANSITION

WHY? Prior to this initiative, there were over 40 different EMS certification levels across the country. In many cases the same title meant very different skill sets and training requirements. In an effort to standardize all EMS certifications, there is a nationwide initiative to update all EMTs to the most modern minimum standards on top of which statewide treatment protocols will build.

HOW? At the EMT-Basic level, your transition requirement is satisfied by completing the NATIONAL CONTINUED COMPETENCY REQUIREMENT (NCCR; see below for details). There is no separate transition course.

WHEN?  EMT-Basics must transition to “EMT” by 03/31/2016 or 03/31/2017 depending on
certification cycle. This transition will automatically occur the first time you take a course meeting the NCCR.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Completing this transition process does not result in a NREMT certification. The only way to obtain NREMT certification is to successfully complete the exam process. Obtaining NREMT certification is optional for currently certified. Massachusetts EMTs. If you have an NREMT number, and it starts with an “E” you have already transitioned.


CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

OVERVIEW: Current continuing education requirements are broken into 3 categories listed below, totaling 40 hours. The requirements involve redesigned and innovative education focused on increased clinical skills and changes in practice. In accordance with the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP; Pilot version 2), personnel recertifying in 2016 may only take 1/3 of their overall continuing education using distributive education (DE), usually done online with no live instructor teaching.

APPROVAL & SUBMISSION: Course sponsors do not send rosters to OEMS, but must retain them on file and instead issue EMTs documentation of course completion. It is the individual EMT’s responsibility to retain the documentation of completed continuing education in the form of either a course certificate or copy of roster. All courses must have an OEMS approval number or CECBEMS approval number. 

NATIONAL (20 hours): Content that all EMTs nationwide need to review.  These is a defined course which takes the place of the old refresher.

LOCAL (10 hours): For 2016 recertification, this section is not defined and instead completed based on elective courses, similar to the INDIVIDUAL category (will be further defined next cycle).

INDIVIDUAL (10 hours): Elective course requirement. Courses must be within the EMS scope of practice 

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you do not have NREMT certification and elect to test into the NREMT, obtaining a 2018 expiration date during your recertification period (which is optional), you will fulfill the continuing education and transition requirements for your Massachusetts certification expiring in 2016 and can finish the state recertification process by submitting a state recertification application and fee (step 3).

